Reply to "Guyanese words /phrases/slangs/terminology"

@cain posted:

This morning I told my cous I had eyeturn after bending to get something and quickly straightened up ..he didn't know the word, it's same as head a swing me.

Belly a bile probably means hungry or feel a fart brewin.

Watchin a binnie bend ova an I fall in luv..me heart a flatta.

Dunno about belly a kalbali.

I was constantly being told, "bai I gon tend to yo memory" but somehow I never got tended.

Very good!!

1st time i heard ‘mi heart a flatta’ I was a lil kid n my mom came home n looked like she was going to feint..literally shaking.  She sat down on the steps n asked for a cup of tea..n said ‘o laad..me heart a flatta’..apparently she had witnessed an accident, where a person died or almost died.

so she meant a ‘nervous heart’ i think..’racing’heart, anxiety attack??

Whn i hear the word, i also think of a chicken after u cutoff d neck..it flatta till he dead..lol ( my dad used to kill fowl for us..he used to step on the wings..pull a few feathers from the part of neck to be cut..i had to bring lil water whoch my dad fed to fowl before he cut the neck. He didnt cut off the entire neck..just half way n left thebird to bleed over a bucket ..so d chicken used to flatta until its life went out!

Guess it can refer to whn u see a nice chick/guy as well

kalbalai i think meant anxiety/ being worried,  that gives u a nervous tummy..

or maybe u see food n yuh hungry n longing for that food..im not sure which of the above..maybe both??

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn