Professor David Hinds (left) and former Foreign Minister Carl Greenidge.

Former Foreign Minister Carl Greenidge has confirmed that the Guyana government does not favour direct cash transfers into the hands of ordinary Guyanese on the grounds that it will encourage unemployment, a position that was roundly rejected by Chairman of the Buxton First of August Movement (FAM-Buxton), Professor David Hinds.

“I don’t know that one can give a definitive answer to it but it is felt in the government that the consequences of that negative impact are consequences that maybe [sic] are not prepared to take on at this stage. It isn’t that’s something to be ruled out forever but consideration is influenced by that fear,” he said.

Greenidge, an economist, made known government’s position one year after Working People’s Alliance (WPA) executive member, Distinguished Economics Professor Clive Thomas had tabled the controversial proposal at the FAM-Buxton. “I’m afraid I can’t offer you that solution which Clive was privileged to offer,” he said

The former Finance Minister said government was wary about cash disbursements directly to Guyanese could result in them becoming dependent on the state.

“The economists speak about the price of labour for the price of labour. How will those who are working feel about those who are not working getting a grant and whether you”ll find…that they might as well stay home if that sort of money is being shared. ‘Let me stay home and collect it’,” said Greenidge.

However, Professor Hinds rebutted Greenidge, arguing that it is government that has to plan to ensure that ordinary people benefit from some of the oil revenues while the state uses the remainder for other things. “We have to give them some hope that there is something in this for them…They want money, they want cash in hand. It is the responsibility of the government to find work for them,” said Hinds, an outspoken critic of the coalition of which the WPA is a member.

Attendees at the Buxton First of August Movement (FAM-Buxton) Annual Eusi Kwayana Emancipation Symposium 2019.

But, the strongest rebuttal came from WPA Executive Member, Tacuma Ogunseye who slammed Greenidge’s position from the floor of the well-attended forum at the Friendship Primary School, East Coast Demerara.

Noting that Afro-Guyanese do not own 10 percent of the country’s economy, he rhetorically questioned whether they were really not interested in having a greater stake.

He challenged Greenidge’s logic that cash-transfers might be an incentive not to work. “We so stupid that we don’t want to own it and you’re going to tell me if we give people cash transfers…You want to tell me that all employed persons, because their households getting cash transfers, let us say one time per year on the 31st of October, he or she won’t work for the whole year just to wait until that cash transfer to come to eat? Nonsense!”

Ogunseye called on the authorities to “stop playing games with the poor”. He warned that the governing coalition risked being back in the opposition if at least five percent of the unemployed do not vote.

He acknowledged that at least one or two percent would not be employed.

Professor Thomas has said each poor Guyanese household should get US$5,000 annually and that money could be linked to set targets for moving children from work into school and improving nutrition.

The US $5000. Per annum these moron David Hinds and   Tacuma Ogunsey said must be given to every poor Guyanese is equivalent to $4000. per day the Private Sector is paying currently to there employees. 

He choose Buxton as his target area to fight this cause. 

Let's say there are a 100,000 households in a population of 750,000 to 800,000.  If we give US5k to each family every year that would amount to a total of $500 Millions Dollars.  Where would Guyana get so much money from to provide each household that amount of money?

Right there is the trouble with your calculations...  the Afros are fed wrong info and they will believe people like David Hinds, as a result, these people will riot for this money. 

Sounds to me like another BS like the PNC's promise of "House, Clothe, and Feed the Nation by 1976." Never happened!!!

Exxon expects the first Stabroek oil to flow to the Liza Destiny, a storage and offloading vessel, in early 2020, with production quickly ramping up to 120,000 barrels a day and rising by 2025 to 750,000 a day (roughly on a par with last year’s daily output in Indonesia, which has a population of 264 million).

As for Guyana, the government estimates the Exxon deal will bring in $300 million in 2020, or about a third of the country’s entire tax revenue, and surge to $5 billion by 2025.

The World’s Newest Petrostate Isn’t Ready for a Tsunami of Cash Guyana is investigating oil leases at a rocky political moment.

You didn't see this figure from the article posted.

Are you saying that the 5k proposal is possible by 2025 when earnings from oil is projected to be 5 billion year?

It's plausible. I am not for handouts, create employment that's the way to go.

Are you saying that the 5k proposal is possible by 2025 when earnings from oil is projected to be 5 billion year?

Hey Django, I saw on Bloomberg TV last night that Guyana goldfields are up for sale. Any news about this?

Haven't seen any news in Local Media.

I was looking at David Hinds video section on YouTube.  The man has interview with Edward Seaga.  Yet no President Jagdeo.  The only East Indian that I can see being interviewed is Rupnarine.

Oh please! Why da heck would he want to interview BJ? He should treat BJ the way the PPP should, ignore him, let him take a back seat.

Hay bai, seen any girls through the moose herds in fenelon falls? Better get the snow mobile repaired and ready for winter. Only a few months away.

Lots of flesh all over Fenelon, no snow mobile here, since shoes do the job for me....noooo rush. I have looked at some machines but more interested in an ATV, could be lots of fun here.

President Jagdeo is the Edward Seaga of the Guyanese East Indian people.

Blacks feel they are the rightful owners of the oil. It all belonged to Mother Africa some 300 million years ago with Panjaeo  Now they feel they have found their lost treasure. Indians trying to take it away.  Them ain’t giving it up!

Since 1961 blacks in Guyana have behaved like they own everything there. They don’t even behave like they need to work for it. Hinds is shamelessly furthering that attitude.

Blacks feel they are the rightful owners of the oil. It all belonged to Mother Africa some 300 million years ago with Panjaeo  Now they feel they have found their lost treasure. Indians trying to take it away.  Them ain’t giving it up!

yeah banna, let's talk about who is actually confiscating the nation's resources

let's reflect on REAL things

let's talk about battam house Idris Dookie being gifted a vast oil field FOR NOTHING Obiang Nguema style by the prior INDIAN criminal Jagdeo/Ramoutar/Robert Persaud ruling triumvirate

let's talk about ON Energy and the no-cost "RIGHTS" to vast oilfields the Beharrys and CGX still holding on to

let's talk about the brazen giveaway of the PEOPLE'S broadcast spectrum that enriched the mostly INDIAN NEPS friends & family of Bharrat Jagdeo

let's talk about the obscenity of puja shop operator Fip Motilall being awarded the RIGHTS to develop the biggest industrial (hydro power) project in the nation's history . . . is the $US 15 million "rights" fee from Sithe Global still pending?

there is NOTHING even close to this racial barefacedness, this monstrous THEFT of the Nation's patrimony by the "INDIAN" PPP in the record of the so-called "Black" government of David Granger

and, oh yes . . . a kings ransom awaits Babby and the Jagdeoite (INDIAN) tiefman collective for the Berbice Bridge taxpayer RAPE if the "INDIAN" PPP is returned to power

and all that is just the tip of a very dutty racial iceberg

another 20 years on when the flush new INDIAN billionare oligarchy is funding death squad ARMIES to maintain the contrived criminal status quo and keep aggrieved Afro-Guyanese in their place, people like you will be curling yuh lip and throwing shade about the lack of 'vigor' on wealth-creating by dem Black people

but all y'all can talk about today is diversionary shyte about "pangaea," and reify all kind of dark fantasies about Black people to justify alyuh evil deeds and intentions

yes banna, let's talk about REAL things

Black people are not stupid!

Blacks feel they are the rightful owners of the oil.

It all belonged to Mother Africa some 300 million years ago with Panjaeo  Now they feel they have found their lost treasure.

Indians trying to take it away.  Them ain’t giving it up!

GNI is a classy forum, the more you live the more you learn.

Base what's "Panjaeo" ? the closest word i have found is "Pangaea" .What the the modern theory of plate tectonics , have to do with ownership of resources in Guyana.

Facts About Pangaea, Ancient Supercontinent.

Here is an interesting paper to read. Maybe of great interest to VishMahabir, also  Laba.

Intermarriage, 'Douglas,' Creolization ofIndians in Contemporary Guyana: the Rocky Road of Ambiguity and Ambivalence

by Yoshiko Shibata

LInk to paper

https://www.academia.edu/

yeah banna, let's talk about who is actually confiscating the nation's resources

let's talk about battam house Idris Dookie being gifted a vast oil field FOR NOTHING Obiang Nguema style by the prior INDIAN criminal Jagdeo/Ramoutar/Robert Persaud ruling triumvirate

let's talk about ON Energy and the no-cost "RIGHTS" to vast oilfields the Beharrys and CGX still holding on to

let's talk about the brazen giveaway of the PEOPLE'S broadcast spectrum that enriched the mostly INDIAN NEPS friends & family of Bharrat Jagdeo

let's talk about the obscenity of puja shop operator Fip Motilall being awarded the RIGHTS to develop the biggest industrial (hydro power) project in the nation's history . . . is the $US 15 million "rights" fee from Sithe Global still pending?

there is NOTHING even close to this racial barefacedness, this monstrous THEFT of the Nation's patrimony by the "INDIAN" PPP in the record of the so-called "Black" government of David Granger

and, oh yes . . . a kings ransom awaits Babby and the Jagdeoite (INDIAN) tiefman collective for the Berbice Bridge taxpayer RAPE if the "INDIAN" PPP is returned to power

another 20 years on when the flush new INDIAN billionare oligarchy is funding death squad ARMIES to maintain the contrived criminal status quo and keep aggrieved Afro-Guyanese in their place, people like you will be curling yuh lip and throwing shade about the lack of 'vigor' on wealth-creating by dem Black people

but all y'all can talk about today is diversionary shyte about "pangaea," and reify all kind of dark fantasies about Black people to justify alyuh evil deeds and intentions

Nice of you to delineate the crimes of the PPP but given the trajectory of the PNC why are they the better option?  They have a well established provenance of ethnic preference, a mean a dictatorial streak and they seem to be headed that way again resolutely with no compromise. That is talking about real things. I guess Indian people are like black people... not stupid! My hope is they act to mitigate their conclusions by defecting from these two parties to some third party. I prefer Shuman.

Blacks feel they are the rightful owners of the oil.

It all belonged to Mother Africa some 300 million years ago with Panjaeo  Now they feel they have found their lost treasure.

Indians trying to take it away.  Them ain’t giving it up!

GNI is a classy forum, the more you live the more you learn.

Base what's "Panjaeo" ? the closest word i have found is "Pangaea" .What the the modern theory of plate tectonics , have to do with ownership of resources in Guyana.

Facts About Pangaea, Ancient Supercontinent.

Here is an interesting paper to read. Maybe of great interest to VishMahabir, also  Laba.

Intermarriage, 'Douglas,' Creolization ofIndians in Contemporary Guyana: the Rocky Road of Ambiguity and Ambivalence

by Yoshiko Shibata

LInk to paper

https://www.academia.edu/

How come you don't know this little fact?  Exxon applied the theory that the continental drift brought the oil with it.  They looked at the Coast of Africa where oil was found and tabulated the equivalence and proximity then applied satellite and sonar to improve their chances of a hit.

How do you think Exxon figured the proximity to explore.  Now according to Exxon and the experts, it this is true, then there is much more oil in the deeper ocean bed (30k feet) which will make the current find play school!

Hey hey hey...

Well, you was missin' so I thought I'd up the IQ till you show up!

Hey Labba, I gatt you a question:

Does the Inverted Curve signal a recession or does it Trigger a recession?  Jess asking becazz me 3rd form high school education dint cover thatt!

Hey hey hey...

Well, you was missin' so I thought I'd up the IQ till you show up!

Hey Labba, I gatt you a question:

Does the Inverted Curve signal a recession or does it Trigger a recession?  Jess asking becazz me 3rd form high school education dint cover thatt!

Well yuh know me tigah teet and wiri wiri peppahs tree does yield mo when me mix de cow dong with lil burn soil. Fertilizer doan increase me yield...hey hey hey 

How me cyant wait foh dat 5000 US dalla every year when de aile money come. Me go stop plant peppahs and throw back and knack fish cuttahs and 5 year ole. Pavi gin to spen he one pon Garmount...hey hey hey.

hey hey hey...dem coolie peopkle deh juss wake up drink dem dhal and seh lewe go fund wan death squad foh koll dem virgin Afrikan yuts. Dem yuts was so church goin...hey hey hey. De police and army was ketchin dem virgin Afrikan yuts...hey hey hey. 

and, oh yes . . . a king's ransom awaits Babby and the Jagdeoite (INDIAN) tiefman collective for the Berbice Bridge taxpayer RAPE if the "INDIAN" PPP is returned to power

hey hey hey...dem coolie peopkle deh juss wake up drink dem dhal and seh lewe go fund wan death squad foh koll dem virgin Afrikan yuts. Dem yuts was so church goin...hey hey hey. De police and army was ketchin dem virgin Afrikan yuts...hey hey hey. 

???

and, oh yes . . . a king's ransom awaits Babby and the Jagdeoite (INDIAN) tiefman collective for the Berbice Bridge taxpayer RAPE if the "INDIAN" PPP is returned to power

???

Wha 'appen bai...de labba just jump out he hole laka wan dutty racial ice berg  and hit yuh he own laka wan flush new indian billionare..with curling lip..reify all kind of yuh dark fantasies...

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:

???

Wha 'appen bai...de labba just jump out he hole laka wan dutty racial ice berg  and hit yuh he own laka wan flush new indian billionare..with curling lip..reify all kind of yuh dark fantasies...

Hehe 😜!!

???

Hey hey hey...dem black bais yuts was so innocent virgin freedom fightas...hey hey hey...likka de police and army na go do dem wuk.

Yuh talking bout dem chuch mouse yuts who enjoyed a martyr's salute by de PNC ole heads, Guyana flag and all?