Claudette Singh reconsiders live stream of recount

Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Chair (ret’d) Justice Claudette Singh SC is now reconsidering a live stream of the national recount, following a proposal by the Private Sector Commission (PSC).
Commissioners spoke to reporters following a statutory meeting yesterd

Commissioner Sase Gunraj

ay about this development.
Commissioner Vincent Alexander told reporters that a proposal was brought to the electoral body in correspondence from the Private Sector Commission (PSC) and what is “ostensibly” Channel 28.
The Chair had decided against a live stream of the count, last Friday, but allowed the matter to be reopened. Commissioner Sase Gunraj said, having her own concerns and “preferences” about the stream, that she committed to considering the technical aspects of it and determining which aspects she would be comfortable with implementing.
Alexander sought to note that the proposed streaming from the letter GECOM received from the PSC was specific in that it was suggested for the observers who may not be able to be physically present, and given that only one local and one international observer will be allowed to be at each of the 10 counting stations.
Alexander said that one Commissioner sought to reopen the question of public streaming but it appears that he is not inclined to support that.
The Government-nominated Commissioner said that it was suggested that a certain media outfit stream the recount live, but that some Commissioners would not be inclined to support that proposal since they held the view that the outfit showed bias in its reporting. Chair of the PSC, Gerry Gouveia, had told Kaieteur News in interviews that it is the online publication, Newsroom that should be allowed to stream the count live as it has the capability to do so.
Gunraj told reporters that the Commission is set to meet with election stakeholders, to share with them the work plan that GECOM has constructed, as well as the order.

Commissioner Vincent Alexander

No communication from CARICOM yet
While the public is aware of approval being granted to CARICOM by the National COVID-19 Task Force for the high level delegation to come to Guyana, Commissioners said yesterday that GECOM had received no direct communication notifying it of the development, and that they learnt of the development from the press.
Gunraj told reporters that the Chair said she expected to receive information from CARICOM yesterday. But there was no indication from GECOM up to press time, that CARICOM had responded.
Hence, GECOM is not yet in a position to set a date for the recount or gazette the order, as those matters depend on the arrival of the CARICOM team.
The Task Force gave approval for the team to arrive today, but CARICOM has given no indication that the team would arrive today,
Kaieteur News was also lately informed by GECOM Public Relations Officer, Yolanda Ward, that the Organisation of American States (OAS) has already indicated that it will be sending a team to observe the recount.
Daily recount hours extended
GECOM had previously decided that the recount would go for 10 hours of each day, from 8:00 hrs to 18:00 hrs. With the blessing of the Task Force, that period has now been extended by one hour, from 8:00 hrs to 19:00 hrs.
This now gives GECOM additional time, and leeway to complete the recount in a shorter period. But no revised duration has been given. GECOM is still working with the Chair’s suggestion of 25 days, subject to review in the first week of the recount.
Secretariat in preparation mode
Commissioners indicated that GECOM has been on the ground at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre since yesterday doing preparatory work; including having briefings with the GECOM officials who are meant to staff the count.
Alexander said he thinks that the Secretariat is well on its way to being prepared. Though there appear to be doubts in some sections of society about GECOM’s preparedness, Alexander said the matter of unpreparedness was not considered at the level of the Commission.
There had been some amount of public discourse about whether GECOM would have the requisite supplies for the recount. This stemmed from a guideline in the recommendations made by the Public Health team that persons at the recount would have to change their masks every 30-60 minutes. This means that if the centre were at full capacity, a 25-day recount would require 33,000 masks. While this is a high number, it is not likely that the centre will be at full capacity. Additionally, Ward told Kaieteur News that GECOM is prepared to provide all the supplies needed to ensure the recount runs smoothly, even incorporating the recommendations of the Public Health team.
Commissioners are expected to be at the Convention Centre today to watch over the preparatory work of the Secretariat.  KN.

KP ....

I have provided advice on posting the correct title of the article, name and other relevant information.

Adequate respect must be given to publishers and the sources for articles used at places by individuals.

Should you publish other articles without adequate references, they will be closed.

Look, I posted the CORRECT title of the article, the CORRECT DATE of the article and at the bottom, I typed KN, ie:Kaieteur News  . I did not edit the article, I just post what is written in the paper. 

You guys are getting Hot and Heavy on someone that is trying to keep the forum current.  Save the embarrassment, I will watch and see. 

It will good to curtail posters who are derailing threads and Never contribute a POST, tks. 

@kp posted:

Look, I posted the CORRECT title of the article, the CORRECT DATE of the article and at the bottom, I typed KN, ie:Kaieteur News  . I did not edit the article, I just post what is written in the paper. 

You guys are getting Hot and Heavy on someone that is trying to keep the forum current. 

Save the embarrassment, I will watch and see. 

It will good to curtail posters who are derailing threads and Never contribute a POST, tks. 

No Sir,

Link to article should be posted. All have to be done is copy and paste the link from the URL.

DG,isn't showing the  "News and comments" as at the top of the article be considered good enough? At least when I click on it it shows where it was taken from which is what we need to see. 

I do agree with removing ads between the article to be good practice because ads take away what's being conveyed.

@cain posted:

DG,isn't showing the  "News and comments" as at the top of the article be considered good enough? At least when I click on it it shows where it was taken from which is what we need to see. 

I do agree with removing ads between the article to be good practice because ads take away what's being conveyed.

All that is needed to show the source, is to copy the URL and paste it. This will take you directly to the article and one does not have to search the site.  Posters should edit out the ADS also. Some of these ADS have cookies to read your postal address as well as your Email address. All of a sudden you get spammed. 

@cain posted:

Cain ....

Basic process for posting articles from news sources, etc., requires ...

-- name/title of article, -- date, -- source/URL, -- author, -- other relevant information, as apt.

All stated information is readily available with the article.

Indeed, unrelated information such as adds, etc., should be deleted.

This is another stall tactic. They going to have to do a feasibility study how to broadcast etc and then after another month, the conclusion will be that livestream of the recount is not possible. I wonder how many people she jailed while being a judge. She is very crafty to say the least.

Ace
@Ace posted:

This is another stall tactic. They going to have to do a feasibility study how to broadcast etc and then after another month, the conclusion will be that livestream of the recount is not possible. I wonder how many people she jailed while being a judge. She is very crafty to say the least.

How is it a stall tactic when it is Sase Gunraj who brought the motion for reconsideration?  Gunraj and Jagdeo have been as guilty as anyone in delaying GECOM actions.  

@Ace posted:

@Totaram You have been misinformed about the facts.

It has been widely reported .  Moreover, the PPP's business arm, the PSC, wrote to GECOM asking for the consideration of a new proposal for livestreaming.  For Justice Singh it is damn if does, damn if she doesn't. If she plows ahead without live streaming they will say no transparency; if she considers it they say it is a delaying tactic.  In any case, the recount can't start until the CARICOM observers arrive and there is no word on that.  "Booker bad number" Singh will be blamed for that too?  

@Totaram posted:

It has been widely reported .  Moreover, the PPP's business arm, the PSC, wrote to GECOM asking for the consideration of a new proposal for livestreaming.  For Justice Singh it is damn if does, damn if she doesn't. If she plows ahead without live streaming they will say no transparency; if she considers it they say it is a delaying tactic.  In any case, the recount can't start until the CARICOM observers arrive and there is no word on that.  "Booker bad number" Singh will be blamed for that too?  

The PSC is not an "business arm" of the PPP. Perhaps they has gotten smart to what the coalitiojn has done to the business community.

The Chairperson already has a reputatation for being incompetent and impartial (or maybe senile). If she is being blamed for anything it should be for not being transparent.

@Totaram posted:

How is it a stall tactic when it is Sase Gunraj who brought the motion for reconsideration?  Gunraj and Jagdeo have been as guilty as anyone in delaying GECOM actions.  

Dummy, They prevented another rigging. One that you have been dying to see.    You know you should tell the boys why you hate Jagdeo so much.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Dummy, They prevented another rigging. One that you have been dying to see.    You know you should tell the boys why you hate Jagdeo so much.

Eh look mook man Rama wake up!  But e sleep, wake up and still a talk stupidness. Wonder if e does talk stupidness in e sleep too.  Stupidness na gat cure. Ramakant prove da.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Wag yuh argue with boldface PNC props.  These are the same people who would dance on the streets as the GDF hijacked the ballot boxes under Burnham.

@kp posted:

Fraudette Singh reconsiders live stream of recount

Commissioner Sase Gunraj

Face of integrity and honesty!👍

Commissioner Vincent Alexander

Face if fraud and dishonesty👎

Here you go!!

Watch Caricom will leave again in frustration. The PNC intent of rigging. Their intentions have not changed one bit.

There will need to be an ultimatum which will lead to the de-recognition of the government and expulsion from regional and international institutions.

Mi know PNC people right here.  Dem all powerful.  They don’t recognize any authority other than their own. 

@Baseman posted:

Watch Caricom will leave again in frustration. The PNC intent of rigging. Their intentions have not changed one bit.

There will need to be an ultimatum which will lead to the de-recognition of the government and expulsion from regional and international institutions.

Mi know PNC people right here.  Dem all powerful.  They don’t recognize any authority other than their own. 

The PNC won the elections, dey juss doan want Jagdeo to throw a tantrum. So, they holding off on the results. Maybe permanently.

After this much time, the PPP is sure to loose. Dem PNC bais and gurls ain stupid, dey gat the ting all sew up already.

@seignet posted:

The PNC won the elections, dey juss doan want Jagdeo to throw a tantrum. So, they holding off on the results. Maybe permanently.

After this much time, the PPP is sure to loose. Dem PNC bais and gurls ain stupid, dey gat the ting all sew up already.

When did the PNC win the elections..  If that was so, they would have declared it.  The PPP and the PNC had the same SOP's.   The PPP published theirs' but the PNC didn't.  After 60 days, GECOM does not have a solution to their dilema.  Claudette Singh is now suffering from a nervous breakdown after she was threatened by the PNC goons. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

When did the PNC win the elections..  If that was so, they would have declared it.  The PPP and the PNC had the same SOP's.   The PPP published theirs' but the PNC didn't.  After 60 days, GECOM does not have a solution to their dilema.  Claudette Singh is now suffering from a nervous breakdown after she was threatened by the PNC goons. 

Fraudette say they win!  She ain't got no breakdown.  She is an all around fraud!