Canada has announced that its envoy here, Lilian Chatterjee, has been appointed as the new High Commissioner for Barbados.

Chatterjee was accredited as High Commissioner here in September of 2017.

Along with other western envoys, Chatterjee played an important role in ensuring the upholding of a fair result at the March 2nd general elections.

According to a statement released by the Canadian High Commission, Chatterjee’s appointment was among a number of others announced today by Canadian Foreign Minister FranΓ§ois-Philippe Champagne.

Chatterjee replaces Marie Legault. Her replacement was not named.

Canadian envoy has crossed the line

A few days ago, I watched Mr. Enrico Woolford’s interview with the Canadian High Commissioner, Ms. Lilian Chatterjee.  This interview was aired on national television for all the world to see and hear. Ms. Chatterjee’s posture throughout the interview leaves much to be desired. Her comments raise questions as to whether she has a full understanding of her role, as a diplomat assigned to an independent sovereign nation.

Unless you had prior knowledge that Chatterjee was a member of the foreign diplomatic community, you could not have assumed or contemplate this to be a fact, based [on] her display during the interview.  There was nothing diplomatic about Ms. Chatterjee’s demeanor. In fact, throughout the interview, she came off as being snobbish who appeared to have embroiled herself into Guyana’s domestic political affairs. We have seen GECOM commissioners complained about her actions at the GECOM office on March 3rd. Many Guyanese have expressed their dissatisfaction with her actions on that day, however, my opinion of her was solidified after seeing the Woolford interview.

During the interview with Mr. Woolford, Ms. Chatterjee said a lot of things that were undiplomatic. However, the most disrespectful moment during that interview was her blunt refusal to apologise for the β€œfrivolous” comment she made about the Ulita Moore case. Prior to the Woolford interview, Ms. Chatterjee decided that she had more authority than the Appeal Court of Guyana. So, she decided that a case that the Appeal Court entertained (The Ulita Moore Case) was β€œfrivolous.” What audacity! Chatterjee’s β€œfrivolous” comment demonstrated that she does not understand her role as a diplomate or that she simply believes that she can disrespect the Guyanese people at her will.

During that interview, the Canadian High Commissioner was given several opportunities to apologise to the people of Guyana for her comment and each time she refused. In fact, I was shocked to hear her boldly state β€œNO” when asked if she wishes to apologise. I was speechless! By her actions, Ms. Chatterjee seems to be saying to Guyanese that she can care less about what they think about her disregarding their judicial system. Her comments and ensuing posture amount to a grave insult and disregard for the government of Guyana, the people of Guyana and the institutions that help to preserve democracy in Guyana. Ms. Chatterjee ought to have known that the Guyanese people find her β€œfrivolous” comment to be highly offensive, but clearly, she did not care. Is this the way a diplomat behaves! Her attitude throughout the interview seemed abrasive and grossly undiplomatic!

What was also very disturbing about Ms. Chatterjee’s comments during that interview was her remark that she is β€œfriends” with β€œDavid and Sandra”, referencing the president of Guyana and his wife.  Her decision to insert this caveat into the comments when she was being asked to apologise for her β€œfrivolous” comments seems to be deliberate. It appeared that her motive was to suggest to Guyanese that because she might be friends with the president and his wife, whom she decided to call by first names, provides her the latitude to say and do as she pleases. This thinking amounts to a boldface assault on the intelligence of the Guyanese people. It is perplexing that the Guyana government has not yet place a formal request with the Canadian government to have Ms. Chatterjee recall. Her β€œfrivolous” remarks amount to a direct attack on the judicial arm of the state. I am therefore, surprised that, to date, the usually vocal Bar Association has not issued a statement to condemn her actions.

I am also amazed that the β€œall involved” Private Sector Commission remains mute on this matter. It is also disappointing that the β€œpress ready” opposition PPP refused to denounce Chatterjee’s attack on the nation’s democracy. Remaining mute on such a fundamental attack on Guyana’s democracy is not how we β€œguard democracy.” Chatterjee’s disrespect for the judicial arm of the state crosses political sides. Whether you are in the corner of the opposition or the governing parting you ought to be outraged by her obvious insult. An attack on the judicial branch of the state is an attack on all Guyanese.

She has abandoned her diplomatic training and has clearly embroiled herself into the local political controversies. Her pronouncements, during the interview, regarding Canada’s assistance to get the CARICOM team to Guyana to observe the recount process, does not provide an additional opportunity to her to expand her intrusion into the domestic political affairs of Guyana. Ms. Chatterjee has demonstrated a brazen contempt for the Guyanese people whom she seems to believe are a bunch of dupes, but I guess she has not done her research prior to taking up her assignment in the country.

Her blatant political inference seems to have no bounds. So, on Saturday May 15, 2020, a social media account in her name and bearing her photo came to my attention. Under this account, Ms. Chatterjee took to social media to attack the Guyana government. I wonder if she has adopted a policy of conducting diplomacy by tweet, maybe that is her level. So, at 19:42 pm Saturday, Lilian Chatterjee took to her twitter account and posted her anti-Guyana Government sentiments regarding the Carter Center.

Which diplomat worth his/her salt, will do this! Doesn’t Chatterjee understand the concept and purpose of diplomatic channels! This woman seemed to have also appointed herself GECOM’s spokesperson on this matter; a total misunderstanding of her diplomatic portfolio. What was clear in Chatterjee’s twitter political commentary is that she sought to believe that, for some reason, the CARICOM Team is somehow given some kind of preferential treatment that the Carter Center is entitled to. Herein lies the political damage and fall out she might be desperately trying to create and promote. This appears to be a flagrant attempt at stirring up political mischief.

Hence, I conclude that perhaps Chatterjee’s seeming acute interest in meddling in Guyana’s internal politics may have connection to a more sinister motive. Guyanese must therefore ask, what political interest does Ms. Chatterjee have in Guyana, as there is nothing diplomatic about her actions. Clearly, she seems to have partisan or selfish political interest. Guyana, over the years, has had a long and healthy diplomatic relationship with Canada. However, it appears that Lilian Chatterjee’s mission is to ruin that relationship, especially while the APNU-AFC government is in power and during this period of political tension. I also noted that in Ms. Chatterjee’s twitter diplomacy, she took the decision to tag the local media to her anti-Guyana Government twitter post. What diplomat engages in such bold face political malice! Guyanese are a peaceful, hospitable people who roll out the red carpet to welcome diplomats and visitors alike.

However, they will not stand idly by and watch those that they welcome take advantage of their hospitable nature. This disrespect must be of concern to all, as some matters are apolitical and must be treated that way. Lilian Chatterjee must know that Guyana is an independent, sovereign nation. I am quite sure she would not dare refer to the US judicial system as β€œfrivolous”. So, if she cannot display her ignorance in a country like the US, she must understand that similarly, she must be equally respectful to Guyanese. Maybe, it is time that the Guyana government make a formal request to the Canadian government to have Ms. Lilian Chatterjee recalled.

Sincerely
Lurlene Nestor

@Totaram posted:

Chatterjee acted like a bully rather than as a diplomat in Guyana.  She should have been recalled rather than reassigned.  Hers was a political appointment by the Trudeau government.  She is qualified for other jobs but not High Commissioner.

The woman didn't like the jackass in the PNC circus ....you should join the circus next time around maybe she would like your performance better.....

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

The woman didn't like the jackass in the PNC circus ....you should join the circus next time around maybe she would like your performance better.....

Is this the level of your intelligence?  The jackass in this you because only someone who is intellectually barren engages in ad hominem attacks.  The fact remains that Chaterjee is a poor diplomat and you are just backward. You are a typical PPP coolie supporter--intellectually barren but deep in the gutter. 

@Totaram posted:

Is this the level of your intelligence?  The jackass in this you because only someone who is intellectually barren engages in ad hominem attacks.  The fact remains that Chaterjee is a poor diplomat and you are just backward. You are a typical PPP coolie supporter--intellectually barren but deep in the gutter.

I am not the one who brays constantly the same line constantly "chupidness nah gat cure" at posters...talking about intellectually barren you should take a good look in the mirror...

@sachin_05 posted:

I am not the one who brays constantly the same line constantly "chupidness nah gat cure" at posters...talking about intellectually barren you should take a good look in the mirror...

"Chupidness na gat cure" is reserved for idiotic statements like yours.   As they say, where ignorance is bliss it is folly to be wise.  The issue being discussed is the diplomacy of Chaterjee but like a stupid coolie idiot you have to start talking about circus and jackass.  Perhaps that's the level of your contribution because you know nothing about the role of a diplomat. 

Totaram, you should stop with this crap. When Bryan Hunt called it for APNU/AFC in 2015, when the votes were still being counted, where were you? Show us where you criticized it? Here was a diplomat, a charge de affairs, no less, that inserted himself in the declaration of the votes and GECOM's business. And YOU were a dumb dumb.  

2. Lilian Chatterjee sat alongside the diplomats, and other observers, and saw with her own eyes Mingo producing a bedsheet to read a spreadsheet. The numbers were not discernible and she said so. Where were You to comment on this? Do you expect Chatterjee to shut her mouth at Mingo's 6 for 9?  She didn't, and neither did the US Ambassador, or the Brits, or the Commonwealth, or Caricom, or Ramphal, or Ron Sanders (who is also a diplomat), or Hillary Beckles, or the Brazilians, and the list goes on and on.

3. In fact, NOT a single international body stood up for Granger and his gang and the excuse is that the PPP bought them over. Yeah right! How about APNUs rigging was too blatant?

Now put that in your rusty old pipe and smoke it!    

LB
@Totaram posted:

"Chupidness na gat cure" is reserved for idiotic statements like yours.   As they say, where ignorance is bliss it is folly to be wise.  The issue being discussed is the diplomacy of Chaterjee but like a stupid coolie idiot you have to start talking about circus and jackass.  Perhaps that's the level of your contribution because you know nothing about the role of a diplomat.

When Chatterjee made that comment to Woolford on march 4 that Ulita more case was "frivolous", the US, OAS, Caricom and the rest of the world of diplomats had already concluded from the charade they witness from the Mingo/Lowenfield election result was flawed and would not be recognized.

The "chupid na gat cure" you view as wisdom and bliss is seen by others as a jackass braying. You can twist and spin as much as you like to counter views of folks who join the civilized world to call your PNC sanctimonious gangster what they really are but it does not make you sound intelligent...wake up and smell the coffee....

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

When Chatterjee made that comment to Woolford on march 4 that Ulita more case was "frivolous", the US, OAS, Caricom and the rest of the world of diplomats had already concluded from the charade they witness from the Mingo/Lowenfield election result was flawed and would not be recognized.

The "chupid na gat cure" you view as wisdom and bliss is seen by others as a jackass braying. You can twist and spin as much as you like to counter views of folks who join the civilized world to call your PNC sanctimonious gangster what they really are but it does not make you sound intelligent...wake up and smell the coffee....

Your disjointed comments are really not worthy of a response but its the sabbath and one must be generous.   Diplomats are not supposed to interfere in the internal affairs of a country and elections are internal.  Would you want diplomats in the US to fan out across the country on Tuesday and barge into meetings of election officials? Should/can Guyana's HC to Canada barge into a meeting of Elections Canada?  It is not a question of election rigging.  It is a question of proper diplomatic conduct, which is governed by international law.  And, if the ABC whatever diplomats were so concerned about democracy in Guyana how come we haven't heard from them about the shooting of women and children at Success or the appointment of a sitting MP to prosecute an elections case etc.

@Totaram posted:

Your disjointed comments are really not worthy of a response but its the sabbath and one must be generous.   Diplomats are not supposed to interfere in the internal affairs of a country and elections are internal.  Would you want diplomats in the US to fan out across the country on Tuesday and barge into meetings of election officials? Should/can Guyana's HC to Canada barge into a meeting of Elections Canada?  It is not a question of election rigging.  It is a question of proper diplomatic conduct, which is governed by international law.  And, if the ABC whatever diplomats were so concerned about democracy in Guyana how come we haven't heard from them about the shooting of women and children at Success or the appointment of a sitting MP to prosecute an elections case etc.

That is a stupid response.