U.S. Supreme Court Allows Release Of Trump Tax Returns

The former president had hoped the court would help give his longtime accounting firm, Mazars USA, clearance to deny a subpoena from Manhattan's District Attorney.

POLITICS ,  02/22/2021 10:01 EST | Updated 1 hour ago, Source - https://www.huffingtonpost.ca/...c288c5b66dfc10204659

The U.S. Supreme Court on Monday paved the way for a New York City prosecutor to obtain former President Donald Trump’s tax returns and other financial records as part of a criminal investigation, a blow to his quest to conceal details of his finances.

The justices without comment rebuffed Trump’s request to put on hold an Oct. 7 lower court ruling directing the former Republican president’s longtime accounting firm, Mazars USA, to comply with a subpoena to turn over the materials to a grand jury convened by Manhattan District Attorney Cyrus Vance, a Democrat.

“The work continues,” Vance said in a statement issued after the court’s action.

Vance had previously said in a letter to Trump’s lawyers that his office would be free to immediately enforce the subpoena if the justices rejected Trump’s request.

A lawyer for Trump did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

The Supreme Court, which has a 6-3 conservative majority included three Trump appointees, had already ruled once in the dispute, last July rejecting Trump’s broad argument that he was immune from criminal probes as a sitting president.

Unlike all other recent U.S. presidents, Trump refused during his four years in office to make his tax returns public. The data could provide details on his wealth and the activities of his family real-estate company, the Trump Organization.

Trump, who left office on Jan. 20 after being defeated in his Nov. 3 re-election bid by Democrat Joe Biden, continues to face an array of legal issues concerning his personal and business conduct.

Vance issued a subpoena to Mazars in August 2019 seeking Trump’s corporate and personal tax returns from 2011 to 2018. Trump’s lawyers sued to block the subpoena, arguing that as a sitting president, Trump had absolute immunity from state criminal investigations.

The Supreme Court in its July ruling rejected those arguments but said Trump could raise other objections to the subpoena. Trump’s lawyers then argued before lower courts that the subpoena was overly broad and amounted to political harassment, but U.S. District Judge Victor Marrero in August and the New York-based 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in October rejected those claims.

Vance’s investigation, which began more than two years ago, had focused on hush money payments that the president’s former lawyer and fixer Michael Cohen made before the 2016 election to two women ― adult-film actress Stormy Daniels and former Playboy model Karen McDougal ― who said they had sexual encounters with Trump.

In recent court filings, Vance has suggested that the probe is now broader and could focus on potential bank, tax and insurance fraud, as well as falsification of business records.

In separate litigation, the Democratic-led U.S. House of Representatives was seeking to subpoena similar records. The Supreme Court in July sent that matter back to lower courts for further review.

So now after Mitch McConnell spoke against Trump's actions he now says he would back trump if he ran next election. Sleezebag Mitch should be placed on a raft and set adrift in the friken ocean.

@cain posted:

So now after Mitch McConnell spoke against Trump's actions he now says he would back trump if he ran next election. Sleezebag Mitch should be placed on a raft and set adrift in the friken ocean.

Sailing down Niagara Falls would be a better place for him.

..ahmmmm @Former Member in the interest of fairness and all that you profess to be, don't you think your "reporting" is a bit slanted? Trump gone over a month ago.

Meanwhile the governor of New York covered up nursing home deaths and is on the verge of being ousted by his own democrats. 15k dead.

The governor of New York who said every woman who claims to be sexually harassed must be believed. One of his staffers said he kissed her and felt her up. Now he tells us not to believe her.

Oh, and Biden gave the wink and nod to China in their genocide against the Uighurs, saying it's a "cultural thing".

Trump gone. Are you reading the latest newspapers?

15K dead, women being harassed, genocide permitted and you're worried about Mar El Lago Trump's tax returns. SMFH!

Strange, isn't.it?!! Men are criticized for 'kiss and tell', but these women.***k and tell and are praised by those who have ulterior motives for attacking ex-President.Trump! The BS has no end! Some purgative that which they've been.using! Must have been concocted.by the two ugly old witches, Blackie.and Whitie!

..ahmmmm @Former Member in the interest of fairness and all that you profess to be, don't you think your "reporting" is a bit slanted? Trump gone over a month ago.

Meanwhile the governor of New York covered up nursing home deaths and is on the verge of being ousted by his own democrats. 15k dead.

The governor of New York who said every woman who claims to be sexually harassed must be believed. One of his staffers said he kissed her and felt her up. Now he tells us not to believe her.

Oh, and Biden gave the wink and nod to China in their genocide against the Uighurs, saying it's a "cultural thing".

Trump gone. Are you reading the latest newspapers?

15K dead, women being harassed, genocide permitted and you're worried about Mar El Lago Trump's tax returns. SMFH!

Unfortunately, trump is still in the news because of the damage he's done to the US. Now we are learning the friken worm and his mannequin wife both had the vaccine before leaving office, why would they do so after preaching to their people it's all fake?

@cain posted:

Unfortunately, trump is still in the news because of the damage he's done to the US. Now we are learning the friken worm and his mannequin wife both had the vaccine before leaving office, why would they do so after preaching to their people it's all fake?

Damage? According to the DemonRATS! Has any previous President, Democrat or Republican, done as much for the US economy as he? Maybe the damage you see is in your friken brain, cain!

So, the SCOTUS ok'd the release of.Trump's income tax returns! I always thought, or was led to believe, that your Income tax returns were.no one else's business but yours and the IRS! This doesn't surprise.me, however. I've been sceptical of the fairness of SCOTUS ever since they got involved in deciding the outcome of the 2000.US elections! They are only human and prone to error, you say? In fact, I'm now sceptical of all judicial decisions! Examples? CCJ, Guyana's CoA, SCOTUS, Canada's SCoJ, SCOC, UK whatfingever! They, like the politicians, with.the power of kings now in their eager greedy hands, recognize no God but themselves and rape the blind lady with the scales in her hands! She doesn't even get to.put down the fing scales so as to cover her fing.nakedness! I can almost hear them panting F F F F........

@cain posted:

So friken what? He probably decided why take chances that I may be wrong! Besides, if I'm.right and it kills me, my supporters will do more than invade the Capitol! Prepare your entrances, you.Black and White.witches!

'Tis of thee I die, mah ol' ****ree!

@cain posted:

Trump's wife may be a mannequin to.you but her beauty is a stimulant to my erotic thoughts! Yuh ded nuh, sugah? Admit it!

@cain posted:

Cain ....

The modus operandi of the one and only former chubbydent --

"Do as I say; not what I do."

Cain ....

The modus operandi of the one and only former chubbydent --

"Do as I say; not what I do."

That's because he is s strong man and sees all around him nothing but weak sycophants only interested in what their country could do for them!

@cain posted:

LMFAO!!! In his 4 years:

The US had the LOWEST unemployment among blacks in history. 3.5% unemployment overall.

The economy boomed prior to Covid. All the detractors can go check their 401K accounts. Middle class income rose by more than $5K per family.

He confronted the Chinese skonts that were stealing companies' intellectual property and is the ONLY president to ever do something about China and their predatory tactics.

Do we hear any more about ISIS? AQ? bombings here in the US? Beheadings? He ended all that shit from a position of STRENGTH and destroyed all of them.

I remember when the whiners were bemoaning all the troops overseas. He withdrew American troops from the mideast without any escalation of tensions.

Many commercial deals in the mideast, an area of wars and bloodshed for thousands of years. Israel, Baharain, etc all joining together peacefully for commerce.

Bringing back the supply chains from overseas. The "swamp" in Washington since the days of Reagan shipped all the jobs and supply chains to China. Why should we be dependent on China for drugs, vaccine manufacture etc??????

Manufacturing jobs grew under his administration. For example - Intel etc. brought back manufacture of chips (not plantain chips, computer chips) to the US.

The TRAVEL BAN imposed on China when we found out about Covid. These brainless morons in Washington were accusing the man of being racist  and xenophobic. Thank goodness he SHUT IT DOWN...otherwise untold millions would have died.

Relaxed regulations where there was so much regulation for businesses. File paperwork for employees to fart in the office. You get it?

Oh, and let's not forget LOW gas prices due to America becoming energy independent. Keystone pipeline etc. Didn't need Saudi oil, he brought them to their knees.

Operation warp speed to develop a vaccine from private industry in NINE MONTHS against a virus created and spread by chinese communists!!!! Pfizer held back news of successful trials until the days after elections! That's the nasty shit commie lefties play.

There's more. Was he boorish? YES. Arrogant? YES. Big mouth? YES. Braggart? YES. Do everything right? NO. Could he have done better on having a distribution plan? YES.

"Damage he's done to the US????". Rewind and come again.I live here. I have my own business. I know what I see. America became safer from foreign enemies, energy independent and had a good economy until Covid. Why else do you think more blacks and hispanics voted for a republican in this election?

Have fun with Biden. He's already given the wink and nod for Genocide to his masters in China (you do know they OWN him, right?) and bombed Syria. Women's sports being destroyed as KP can now wear a dress and say he's a girl for a day and wants to run in a girls' race.

this Mother fker uncle Joe hasn't even been in office for 2 months. I expect you and diaper guy to be realllllllll quiet in the coming months. Much wailing about Trump "grab em by the P...ssy" but not a word about the SERIAL SEXUAL HARASSER in NY.

Oh, by the way, the weed industry boomed under his administration. He looked the other way.

LMFAO!!! In his 4 years:

The US had the LOWEST unemployment among blacks in history. 3.5% unemployment overall.

The economy boomed prior to Covid. All the detractors can go check their 401K accounts. Middle class income rose by more than $5K per family.

He confronted the Chinese skonts that were stealing companies' intellectual property and is the ONLY president to ever do something about China and their predatory tactics.

Do we hear any more about ISIS? AQ? bombings here in the US? Beheadings? He ended all that shit from a position of STRENGTH and destroyed all of them.

I remember when the whiners were bemoaning all the troops overseas. He withdrew American troops from the mideast without any escalation of tensions.

Many commercial deals in the mideast, an area of wars and bloodshed for thousands of years. Israel, Baharain, etc all joining together peacefully for commerce.

Bringing back the supply chains from overseas. The "swamp" in Washington since the days of Reagan shipped all the jobs and supply chains to China. Why should we be dependent on China for drugs, vaccine manufacture etc??????

Manufacturing jobs grew under his administration. For example - Intel etc. brought back manufacture of chips (not plantain chips, computer chips) to the US.

The TRAVEL BAN imposed on China when we found out about Covid. These brainless morons in Washington were accusing the man of being racist  and xenophobic. Thank goodness he SHUT IT DOWN...otherwise untold millions would have died.

Relaxed regulations where there was so much regulation for businesses. File paperwork for employees to fart in the office. You get it?

Oh, and let's not forget LOW gas prices due to America becoming energy independent. Keystone pipeline etc. Didn't need Saudi oil, he brought them to their knees.

Operation warp speed to develop a vaccine from private industry in NINE MONTHS against a virus created and spread by chinese communists!!!! Pfizer held back news of successful trials until the days after elections! That's the nasty shit commie lefties play.

There's more. Was he boorish? YES. Arrogant? YES. Big mouth? YES. Braggart? YES. Do everything right? NO. Could he have done better on having a distribution plan? YES.

"Damage he's done to the US????". Rewind and come again.I live here. I have my own business. I know what I see. America became safer from foreign enemies, energy independent and had a good economy until Covid. Why else do you think more blacks and hispanics voted for a republican in this election?

Have fun with Biden. He's already given the wink and nod for Genocide to his masters in China (you do know they OWN him, right?) and bombed Syria. Women's sports being destroyed as KP can now wear a dress and say he's a girl for a day and wants to run in a girls' race.

this Mother fker uncle Joe hasn't even been in office for 2 months. I expect you and diaper guy to be realllllllll quiet in the coming months. Much wailing about Trump "grab em by the P...ssy" but not a word about the SERIAL SEXUAL HARASSER in NY.

Oh, by the way, the weed industry boomed under his administration. He looked the other way.

You've told them more than they want to know, iggy! Let's wait a bit until.they start begging for Trump to return!

The mfkers played on the women voters who didn't see they were.being used!

@cain posted:

Did I forgot to mention trump is a dam Russian worm?

Imagine an American President taking the side of Russia and Saudi Arabia rather than his own people....worm.

Eh-eh Cain ...

You mean that Strumpovsky is worst than these ... 

--- cryptostrongylus pulmoni

--- halicephalobus gingivalis

--- spirometra erinaceieuropae

@cain posted:

Imagine an American President taking the side of Russia and Saudi Arabia rather than his own people....worm.

Explain, please, how you arrived at this, sugar!

Meanwhile, I'll.continue to think that both you and Delirious Goof are both NUTZ!

Explain, please, how you arrived at this, sugar!

Meanwhile, I'll.continue to think that both you and Delirious Goof are both NUTZ!

The whole world knows what I speak of.

@cain posted:

The whole world knows what I speak of.

LMFAO!!!!! Banna, what "world" you living in? Three years of investigations, special prosecutor Robert Mueller, hundreds of witnesses, thousands of documents, hundreds of interviews and at the end no evidence was found that Trump colluded with Russians. Educate yuhself about the source of the whole Russian thing against Trump. Here:

https://apnews.com/article/7b7...0997f5e755d92b775d98

"The Democratic Party-financed dossier, once celebrated by liberal Washington politicians and journalists, is officially debunked, according to a review of special counsel Robert Mueller’s 448-page investigative report.

Dossier creator Christopher Steele, who was paid with money from the Hillary Clinton campaign and the Democratic National Committee, leveled at least a dozen Russian election conspiracy charges against President Trump and associates."

You should also look up the sanctions Trump put pon he "frens" in Russia. Like this

https://www.reuters.com/articl...ration-idUSKBN28W11Q

If Trump colluded with any Russians is news to them. Ah gon leff yuh fuh digest dese in that cold up North befo ah tell yuh about de Saudi ting yuh talking about.

Ah hope Sally fren "Jangles" don't join de cancel culture now and ban meh.

LMFAO!!!!! Banna, what "world" you living in? Three years of investigations, special prosecutor Robert Mueller, hundreds of witnesses, thousands of documents, hundreds of interviews and at the end no evidence was found that Trump colluded with Russians. Educate yuhself about the source of the whole Russian thing against Trump. Here:

https://apnews.com/article/7b7...0997f5e755d92b775d98

"The Democratic Party-financed dossier, once celebrated by liberal Washington politicians and journalists, is officially debunked, according to a review of special counsel Robert Mueller’s 448-page investigative report.

Dossier creator Christopher Steele, who was paid with money from the Hillary Clinton campaign and the Democratic National Committee, leveled at least a dozen Russian election conspiracy charges against President Trump and associates."

You should also look up the sanctions Trump put pon he "frens" in Russia. Like this

https://www.reuters.com/articl...ration-idUSKBN28W11Q

If Trump colluded with any Russians is news to them. Ah gon leff yuh fuh digest dese in that cold up North befo ah tell yuh about de Saudi ting yuh talking about.

Ah hope Sally fren "Jangles" don't join de cancel culture now and ban meh.

If ee doo we awl gun kno iz ee.wuh susspine mih fuh shore, de sly wun! Ee fuhgit ah gro.yup.in Jargetung wid moaslee blak.peepul, moast uv.mih.frens, so ah kno de sly wunz an dem.wayz!

They were.never afraid! Why should they? They rule with words, the English.language and THEIR interpretation, fool!

If ee doo we awl gun kno iz ee.wuh susspine mih fuh shore, de sly wun! Ee fuhgit ah gro.yup.in Jargetung wid moaslee blak.peepul, moast uv.mih.frens, so ah kno de sly wunz an dem.wayz!

That kind of language you are talking about? Idiot?