Here's another one for the scoffing hyenas! I love Ella's singing.so I.often play her recordings at Amazon Music! Because of this, the criminals play different songs they.choose.in my head! Too.bad I had read.of Dr. Penfield Wilder's experiments on.his brain patients! So, I deliberately play.or think of other of her songs! You ******* criminals! Who do you think owns this fing brain? You, you.sh*t for brains? Why don't.you.kill me? Scared of spirits? You can only control.matter like your alien 'god' of Genesis! The fker, like you, was afraid of.familiar spirits! Me? I want to fk.one! Maybe if you.kill me I'll have the chance! But after I.fk you, of course!

One.keeps lying on.my.chest and.moaning, even.though I try to console it and tell it.I would help it if it helped me, first!

A history of Georgetown’s cemeteries

A Stabroek News file photo shows broken and cracked tombs in the neglected Le Repentir cemetery

After evicting the Dutch, it was the British in 1781 who chose the site of what was later to become this country’s capital, although they did little to translate their vision into reality.  The French displaced them in 1782, and they were the ones who first started constructing the infrastructure for a new town which they were to call La Nouvelle Ville. They were not here for long, however, and when the Dutch returned in 1784, they renamed it Stabroek after the President of the Dutch West India Company, who rejoiced in the grandiloquent title of Nicolas Geelvinck, Lord of Castricum, Backum and Stabroek.

While the living were taken into consideration in the very first years of the town’s existence, it is not really known what arrangements were introduced before 1785 to cater for ordinary members of the public, free or enslaved, who had died. We can be more confident, however, about where the white population of status was laid to rest. Stabroek was surrounded by plantations, the front lands of which eventually came to accommodate a number of suburbs which in 1812 were combined with Stabroek to form Georgetown. Each of these estates had its own burial ground where the planters, their friends, anyone of note as well as a very few African servants, either enslaved or free, were interred.

Source:

..did you ever hear from him or see him again?

Up to the point of his death. He became religious-in the occult. Before his passing, I had to pass Rosignol to get to Albion. The Ferry took a long time to get boarded. The first get together is about four hours, we(all school friends, word gets around real quick) settle in at a cake shop, the lady mix up some sardines and blait bread, along with Heinekin beers. My next visit is like a whole day, with a pot of cook-up going. When were kids, Walter and I with some other guys always made a cook-up the first week after school closes. Muffy Dam had all kinds of fruit tree at the Backdam, Mr. Mac claims he own dem all. Dat nevah bothered us, we tek wah ever we want. He fite up bout it. And for about 10 years.

Walter, had eyes for a red-skin gurl in the village. suh the man join the Seventh Day Adventist Church. The gurl's grandmother din care for him, so he had a fall out wid the chuch. He went to Surinmae.

After a few months, he returned to Guyana. Soon after, he passed away. I knew he went to Suriname. Not until my next visit to Guyana I learn't of his passing. Three yeas had passed.

The car stopped by his yard. I went to the gate. Mildred, his sister answered to my calling out. Looking out the window, she rushed down the stairs in tears, "Lionel! Walter dead now a long time."

I remembered my recent dreams of him, plungng in the Sidelines, picking water nuts and pitching marbles and taggah.

Soon, the other friends gathered, I wasn't too sad, but I missed him not being there. But, like the dreams had told me about his passing. We had drinks that day to Walter Nathaniel Arthur.

The boys told me, he returned home, not of sound mind. Seems he was with the juka people of Suriname-ju ju spirits are some badass spirits according to my Nigerian pastor.   

Here's another one for the scoffing hyenas! I love Ella's singing.so I.often play her recordings at Amazon Music! Because of this, the criminals play different songs they.choose.in my head! Too.bad I had read.of Dr. Penfield Wilder's experiments on.his brain patients! So, I deliberately play.or think of other of her songs! You ******* criminals! Who do you think owns this fing brain? You, you.sh*t for brains? Why don't.you.kill me? Scared of spirits? You can only control.matter like your alien 'god' of Genesis! The fker, like you, was afraid of.familiar spirits! Me? I want to fk.one! Maybe if you.kill me I'll have the chance! But after I.fk you, of course!

One.keeps lying on.my.chest and.moaning, even.though I try to console it and tell it.I would help it if it helped me, first!

The doctor is actually Dr. Wilder Penfield.  Wasn't he at McGill University?  A street in Montreal is named after him.  He was a pioneer in brain research. 

@Totaram posted:

The doctor is actually Dr. Wilder Penfield.  Wasn't he at McGill University?  A street in Montreal is named after him.  He was a pioneer in brain research.

I stand corrected! Must be my disdain for.know-it-all.doctors! He kept searching in the brains of his patients for.the.soul.or spirit! The intangible! With.instruments of tangible matter? At.least.he.came.to.conclude it.is intangible!

@Mitwah posted:

I used to walkup Guy or Drummond, crossed it and take the track up to Mount Royal look out. Lots of student rentals in that area.

In the 70s many Guyanese went to Montreal with student visas. When we visited my brother, we met his many Corentyne friends and they gave us a grand tour. I still remember St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal.

I have visited St. Joseph's many times.  Some believe that it was built by a miracle and that miracles still happen there.  Do you remember seeing a pile of crutches in the church? 

@Mitwah posted:

Every summer we had picnics up there in the summer and would stay late to listen to bands by the pond. The Racoons were very tame and friendly.

Last time I was there there was some kind of drumming (I think its called Tam Tam).  I sat on a bench enjoying the music and observing the sale of ganja.  Apparently the police turn a blind eye to the smoking of the stuff but not to the sale of it. 

All.is energy, either intangible, spirit, or latent, matter! Miracles? What you don't yet understand!

Ah gun sen de djinn fuh.look yuh hup, Mits! Yuh can chase.him away, though! Just.look in the Apocrypha of the.Bible fer.de.book "Tobit"for.how! I'm prevented from getting the necessary.materials! I made.do.with 2.smaller.fishes but.that.didn't.work, though.I felt somethimg.clingimg on to me for dear life! Bet you doubt me!

@Totaram posted:

I have visited St. Joseph's many times.  Some believe that it was built by a miracle and that miracles still happen there.  Do you remember seeing a pile of crutches in the church?

Brother Andre was the guy who caused those crutches to be left there. Their owners used them to walk into church. There is also a small room in there with a small bed which was used by him, he was quite a guy.

I have seen some pilgrim climb those darn concrete stairs ( 283 total ) up to the chapel on their knees.