Former APNU/AFC Minister signed off millions in contracts to own company – record reveals

Records have revealed that Executive Member of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and former Telecommunications Minister under the David Granger-led Administration, Cathy Hughes signed off on a number of contracts from her then Ministry to her own company.
AFC MP Cathy Hughes

Hughes’ company, Videomega Productions, has previously been in the spotlight owing to it receiving Government contracts. However, Hughes had previously claimed that after 2015 she relinquished all control of her company.
According to a tax invoice dated June 19, 2018, and seen by this publication, the former Minister and now AFC parliamentarian signed off on a number of contracts related to the company boosting the Public Telecommunications Ministry’s Facebook page.
Contracts were dated January, February, March, April, May and June 2018. According to the invoice, payments became due upon the receipt of the invoice, which carried Hughes’ signature, as well as the stamp of both Minister and Permanent Secretary of the Public Telecommunications Ministry.
In a breakdown seen by this publication, it was revealed that between 2016 and July 2018, the company received $6 million in payments from the Public Telecommunications Ministry. The first payment dates from 2016 and amounts to $1.137 million for ads.

The invoice signed off by former Public Telecommunications Minister Cathy Hughes

The company then received payments for television and radio advertisements during an unspecified period in 2017. But in December 2017, it received $68,400 in payments for the collation and transfer of footage for a Community Information Communication Technology (ICT) hub.
More contracts followed. On January 1, 2018, Videomega Productions received $956,519 in payments for the publishing of advertisements for ICT planning and education officers and business analyst, as well as an advertisement for a technical administrative assistant. With the exception of the assistant, all the ads were 8×38 in size. The ad for the assistant was 10×38.
The company got another payment of $119,670 on January 1, 2018, for boosting the Ministry’s Facebook page. It then went on to receive a plethora of contract payments in the month of July 2018, amounting to $2.332 million in total and all pertaining to the Caribbean ICT Roadshow.
They include payments of $333,564 and $276,222 for 33-second radio and television broadcasts for the show. There was also a payment of $1.156 million for advertising, $235,980 for television and radio broadcasts and $287,052 for camera-ready artwork.

A list of the transactions done by the Ministry with the then Minister’s company

It had come to light back in 2019 that Videomega Productions had received contracts not only from the Public Telecommunications Ministry, but from several other Ministries. In fact, the company seemed to be the APNU/AFC Government’s go-to company for video production and advertisements.
The company itself released several invoices for work it did to arrange advertisements for various Ministries. A total of $3.6 million was paid to the media houses, but according to Videomega Productions, all it pocketed was a 15 per cent agency commission totalling $481,577.
For instance, the Natural Resources Ministry commissioned Hughes’ company to produce full-page full-colour camera-ready artwork that was placed in almost all the dailies on March 22, 2018. This cost $406,501.
Ads were also placed in all the dailies for the tobacco legislation media campaign, on behalf of the Ministry of Public Health, in October and November of 2018. These two campaigns cost $1 million each.
Videomega Productions further received contracts from the Energy Department to produce television Public Service Announcements (PSAs) for the department, which was coordinating preparations for Guyana’s oil and gas sector.
It had been reported that the company was also contracted to produce brochures. It is unclear at this point in time what, if any, tendering process the then Minister’s company went through to get these contracts.
When the transactions had come to light, Hughes had insisted that she played no part in the running of her company after 2015 and had no knowledge of the Government contracts it was receiving.
“In May 2015 upon my assumption of the role of Minister of Tourism, I relinquished any involvement in the day to day running of Videomega Productions. Russel Lancaster was appointed Manager and is responsible for the operations of the company. I have since been informed that the contract was for the production of three sixty-second television Public Service Announcements,” the then Minister said in a statement in April 2019.
“The value of the contract is $832,200. The award of this contract was never brought to my attention neither would I have been aware of it in the normal conduct of the company’s business,” she had also said. Efforts to contact Hughes for a comment on the latest revelations were futile. (G3)

https://guyanatimesgy.com/form...pany-record-reveals/

How many times will this be posted?.

Find us some of the theft by BJ and his cronies then it will be discussed. Go to the thread where plagiarismn occured  (PPP fraudsters) that's good for a starter.

Even in this biased report from Guyana Times there is no allegation of fraud.  Work was done for fees charged.  The issue then is whether Ms. Hughes should have been making governmental decisions regarding a company she was involved in.  If she was then there would a case for conflict of interest.  However, when this story first surfaced Ms. Hughes indicated that she had relinquished management of the company to others.  Why is Guyana Times flogging a dead horse? 

@cain posted:

How many times will this be posted?.

Find us some of the theft by BJ and his cronies then it will be discussed. Go to the thread where plagiarismn occured  (PPP fraudsters) that's good for a starter.

The issue here is not about BJ.  This is the first time it was posted but you cannot bear to know that your idols are crooks. Why is it every time the coalition is exposed for some kind of fraud, you all try to evade the issue and blame the PPP for something else that may or may not happen.

@Totaram posted:

Even in this biased report from Guyana Times there is no allegation of fraud.  Work was done for fees charged.  The issue then is whether Ms. Hughes should have been making governmental decisions regarding a company she was involved in.  If she was then there would a case for conflict of interest.  However, when this story first surfaced Ms. Hughes indicated that she had relinquished management of the company to others.  Why is Guyana Times flogging a dead horse?

That does not excuse her from taking responsibility for her actions. Why do you think that it is a biased report?  Guyana Times has the right to expose criminal activities whenever there is one to be investigated.

@kp posted:

Take your out of the sand, this one is NEW.  Or is it too many you lose count.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The issue here is not about BJ.  This is the first time it was posted but you cannot bear to know that your idols are crooks. Why is it every time the coalition is exposed for some kind of fraud, you all try to evade the issue and blame the PPP for something else that may or may not happen.

$12B in health contracts awarded in four months, $2.1B by single sourcing - -names of awardees still to be released

Check this article out.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What is it you are trying to say?

There is no fraud involved here..

Are you trying to make excuses for the Coalition inconsistencies?

LOL ,take off the glasses.

No excuse for anyone ,crooks on both side of the fence . Everyday one can see how the PPP is inept, they running around like headless chickens ,harassing citizens of the country.

@Ramakant-P posted:

That does not excuse her from taking responsibility for her actions. Why do you think that it is a biased report?  Guyana Times has the right to expose criminal activities whenever there is one to be investigated.

You are as chupid as ever.  Your comments are totally divorced from facts. Gwan daside.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Guyana Times..beacon of bullshit.

@Django posted:

LOL ,take off the glasses.

No excuse for anyone ,crooks on both side of the fence . Everyday one can see how the PPP is inept, they running around like headless chickens ,harassing citizens of the country.

Where did you get that from? Who is running around the country harassing citizens? The PPP is inept you say?  boy, look at the progress made in the last six months of their rule and you will find out how progressive they are. You should be ashamed to become a barefaced liar.

The issue here is about the Former APNU/AFC minister, not the PPP. please stay focus on the issues.  Also, please call out those idiots who are still harassing posters.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Where did you get that from? Who is running around the country harassing citizens? The PPP is inept you say?

boy, look at the progress made in the last six months of their rule and you will find out how progressive they are. You should be ashamed to become a barefaced liar.

The issue here is about the Former APNU/AFC minister, not the PPP. please stay focus on the issues. Also, please call out those idiots who are still harassing posters.

Out of touch what happening on the ground in Guyana.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What is it you are trying to say? There is no fraud involved here..  Are you trying to make excuses for the Coalition inconsistencies?

Your PPP promised transparency. Why are you being so asinine?

@Totaram posted:

Yuh gotta hoap it gun get up wen dere is no udder harse in site! Whuh else yuh gun do? Doo.doo?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Face it! This is all a distraction for what the PPP is even now.planning.to do! Take this all with.a grain of salt but keep on watching.their every.move, starting with.the $200 to $500 million gas-to-shore.scam! Lots of opportunities for kickbacks.and preferred awardees!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Let's hear you on Pradoville, Jagdeo's friendship with.drug lord Roger Khan, Jagdeo.and Ali's mansions, please!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Where did you get that from? Who is running around the country harassing citizens? The PPP is inept you say?  boy, look at the progress made in the last six months of their rule and you will find out how progressive they are. You should be ashamed to become a barefaced liar.

The issue here is about the Former APNU/AFC minister, not the PPP. please stay focus on the issues.  Also, please call out those idiots who are still harassing posters.

What progress? Promises, promises, handing out free money and contracts to their friends with no names mentioned? Say, which country are you.posting from?

Let's hear you on Pradoville, Jagdeo's friendship with.drug lord Roger Khan, Jagdeo.and Ali's mansions, please!

This is irrelevant!  The PNC minister stole millions of dollars from the Government. 

Roger Khan was a PNC drug Lord. He had 20 black drug runners working for him.

The PNC controlled Roger  Khan.

@Ramakant-P posted:

This is irrelevant!  The PNC minister stole millions of dollars from the Government.

Roger Khan was a PNC drug Lord. He had 20 black drug runners working for him.

The PNC controlled Roger  Khan.

I understand your explanation! I don't agree with it but.I understand it! At.least.where.it's coming from!

Now address.Roger Khan's relations with.Jagdeo! Khan's ventures were during.PPP governments, weren't.they?

Pradoville.and the mansions.and their financing can wait! Waiting.mind you, but not.forgotten!

Then, perhaps, we can discuss Jagdeo 's avoidance of meeting with US Secretary.of State, Mr. Pompeo!

I understand your explanation! I don't agree with it but.I understand it! At.least.where.it's coming from!

Now address.Roger Khan's relations with.Jagdeo! Khan's ventures were during.PPP governments, weren't.they?

Pradoville.and the mansions.and their financing can wait! Waiting.mind you, but not.forgotten!

Then, perhaps, we can discuss Jagdeo 's avoidance of meeting with US Secretary.of State, Mr. Pompeo!

I am not aware of any relationship Roger Khan had with Jagdeo. During the PPP governments, the Freedom fighters and drug lords were controlled by the PNC. They used to buss ayuh coolie rass. You seemed to forget that. Pradoville and the mansions are water under the bridge.  I don't know anything about them, but I do know something about Ramjattan's mansion in the United States. It's very funny you seem to evade that.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I am not aware of any relationship Roger Khan had with Jagdeo. During the PPP governments, the Freedom fighters and drug lords were controlled by the PNC. They used to buss ayuh coolie rass. You seemed to forget that. Pradoville and the mansions are water under the bridge.  I don't know anything about them, but I do know something about Ramjattan's mansion in the United States. It's very funny you seem to evade that.

How could I evade what I never knew about? Tell us what.you DO profess to.know about that! I respect few, if any, of.Guyana's.politicians!

I understand Khan.paid a visit.to Jagdeo on.his return.to Guyana! Why would a formerly incarcerated criminal visit.a former President of Guyana? If the drug.lords were PNC.controlled, how is.it.that.only.Khan.was.arrested and jailed in the US?

You know nothing about.Pradoville and the.mansions yet they.are 'under the bridge' to you! Well, go ask someone who you think.might know! Not Jag or.Ali, they wouldn't know! And if even.they.did, i'm sure.they wouldn't tell.you!

'buss ayuh coolie rass'? I thought you were.a coolie yourself! Now I have to adjust my.thinking to a.lower level or. standard! Which.do.you.think.more suitable, k..ant?

Rama, I now agree with the other guys who put you down, you are a bloody liar about not knowing Jagdeo had/has a relationship with RK, everyone knows that and if you don't you should be no part of any discussion here because it's obvious you know nothing.

Whether.Ms Hughes was an employee of her company or not, etc., whatever, what I want to know is, where did.the money go and for what government purpose was it used?.Her defensive statements are highly risible! And she's such an attractive MP!

@cain posted:

Rama, I now agree with the other guys who put you down, you are a bloody liar about not knowing Jagdeo had/has a relationship with RK, everyone knows that and if you don't you should be no part of any discussion here because it's obvious you know nothing.

What is it that you know?  If everyone knows that then why are they asking those who don't know?  Are they as stupid as you are?

You also agree with Donald Trump and Granger, that the elections were rigged.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What is it that you know?  If everyone knows that then why are they asking those who don't know?  Are they as stupid as you are?

Huh????

@Ramakant-P posted:

What's with the incoherent rambling? You must be the only person not knowing there are pictures showing BJ and his good pal RK together.