Lateness is Guyanese pastime

Jun 28, 2021 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, News, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...is-guyanese-pastime/

I know a man who was late fuh he own funeral. “How is dat?” yuh ask. Well, he was not only late, he was absent.

De parlour prepare de wrang body. Was one big confusion! First time a funeral dat start had to get push back.

But it got dem wah does late fuh weddings tuh. Some people got to explain why dem like keep people waiting.

“One of these days, you are going to be late for your own wedding,” one man tell he friend.

“Weddings are always late in Guyana. Almost always! Hardly a wedding does start on time. So being late for my wedding will not be unusual,” de friend replied.

“Okay, but I know of one thing which no Guyanese is ever late for,” de man seh.

“What is that?” deh friend ask.

“Guess.”

“ The fire service?”

“Wrong!”

“The police responding to a 911 call?”

“Wrong!”

“Your flight?”

“First day at school.”

“Wrong!” but you are getting closer. There is de one thing dat Guyanese do not tun up late fuh. “De one thing is Church!”

“Wrong!”

“I give up.”

“No Guyanese is ever late for his immigrant visa interview,” de man announce.

Talk half and see all who gan reach home late tonight.