Good morning all. Saltfish practically finished. Wildflower are you after the curry or the Gilbaka? Lol.

Well to be honest I asked my sister in law to come and cook it for me. When I cook it the fish does end up a bit mash up.

And me nah like no mash up fish that look like it run over by a Mac truck. I like my fish nice and plump so when I sink my mouth into it I can say yes this is nice juicy fish.

Amral
Last edited by Amral
@cain posted:

Jane you need to get some Melatonin to help sleep. If you sleep during the day the room has to be dark or use an eye covering. Natural Melatonin is produced when in the dark.

I know .. i sleep in until 1130-12 noon

***shift work n then menopause
I was considering trying Ashwagandha .. whts yr take on this??

n i will try Chams cure! Lol

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I know .. i sleep in until 1130-12 noon

***shift work n then menopause
I was considering trying Ashwagandha .. whts yr take on this??

n i will try Chams cure! Lol

I heard of Ashwagandha but never used it nor did anyone that I am aware of. I mentioned Melatonin..if used it should be only for a short while..not constant

Good stuff there Mits. I sleep with socks..not the ones I wear during the day, I can cover my feet only and have no problem sleeping but if I covered my whole body but kept my feet out I feel uncomfortable. Usually soon as my head hit the pillow I am in lala land. Reading does it for me also tv. Put me in front of a tv and that's it.

@Lynn posted:

1 of my  girls use melatonin as she started with anxiety during universityâ€Ķ.

See...See, dat is what school does do to people. I learn dat at a young age so I lef early..Iman doan stress out at all at all.

Seriously now, she should try yoga/meditation. She can also try using Essential oil of Lavender..Ylang Ylang..Frankinsense..Neroli..Bergamot..Vertiver..Rose (this one is quite expensive) Use alone or try various blends. Only one I would advise used on the skin without a carrier oil (Jojoba/Almond) is Lavender..the oils can also be used in a difusser. These oils can be found in health food stores..they tend to carry better quality.

@cain posted:

See...See, dat is what school does do to people. I learn dat at a young age so I lef early..Iman doan stress out at all at all.

Seriously now, she should try yoga/meditation. She can also try using Essential oil of Lavender..Ylang Ylang..Frankinsense..Neroli..Bergamot..Vertiver..Rose (this one is quite expensive) Use alone or try various blends. Only one I would advise used on the skin without a carrier oil (Jojoba/Almond) is Lavender..the oils can also be used in a difusser. These oils can be found in health food stores..they tend to carry better quality.

Thnx

I did get the blend whn she was away (at Univ ).. she didnt use it.. wasted my $$

i bought all the supplements Vit D n B , C , Omega 3/6.. all expired. Got the light therapy visor as her dorm n apt were tiny cubby holes ..she didnt use !!

after she graduated n came home she was eating healthy ie my kind of food n she did much better.. now she is on her own n at times (esp now that she is studying again) she gets ancious now n again ..she works out regularly .. not sure if she does yoga , her big sis does  yoga

( some kids  own way n think they  know more than momma lol )

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Marning Janey gyalâ€Ķoh wait is afternoon and since u worked last night u prob ðŸ’Ī  ðŸ˜ī 🛌

U right!!

happy Saturday to all ayuh!

Sat menu: low carbs !

1. zucchini lasagna with ground chkn( I dont eat beef/turkey)

2. fish curry ( cuz gave me Cdn fish) .. for hubby

3. cauliflower chicken fried ‘rice’

4. black bean salad :- with grape tomato,celery, diced sweet peppers  cucumber, dried cranberries, pine nuts, sliced almonds, chopped sunflower n pumpkin seeds .. dressing with lemon juice, olive oil minced garlic n onions.

I have steamed ochro n brocolini n roasted baigan wedges in fridge..

Then I’m looking at SaReGaMaPa at 830 pm

No cooking for next 3 days in case u guys think im a FOODIE!!

Going shopping tomorrow ! ..then back to work on Monday n Tues

ciao!

tata

hasta la vista mi amigos/amigas

stay safe !!

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Most of our Hindi words in Guyana comes  from Bhojpuri dialect spoken in Bihar; Ghat means a place where we bathe or wash clothes over a body of water.

In India, it is a flight of stairs leading down to the rivers.

I know .. also the pronunciation

I work with many folks from India n they dont know our Hindi words.. some do but they pronounce it differently

eg baigan .. sounds more lije bHaingan

Bellna .. they say baylan or bhelna ( like bailna)

they say maama for our mamoo

Lynn

@ Wildflower

chams .. i never daab fireside or battam house but my ‘ job’ was to pickup  d cow dung n dig the caddy for the PuTNA.
My eldest sis delegated chores in our home.

My mom spent all day in backdam with my dad n they took  me with them (being spoilt baby). My dad felt I was too small to do house since I had 3 older sisters. So i used to help ‘graze ‘ cows n take them to our pasture. Used to  Catch fish n shrimps with maswah n hooks ,I  helped   To water the veg plants n also to pick greens. I delivered water to the people who used to cut our rice. I used to ‘guh round’ bulls to mash the rice etc.

My dad tied an extra hammock under our troolie “watch house/kitchen” n i had my own lil transistor radio to listen to Radio Radhika n Rani!! Luxury life eh!

I travelled on donkey cart 3 miles from home n my dad sheltered me with a huge umbrella. He treated me to the best of the  crop, monkey apples n papoose.. ie my share was the fattest n ripest! Did I mention I was SPOILT??
Unfortunately after i finished form 1 in high sch , my adventures  n leisure life ended because my big sis left home to teach n the 3rd went away to high sch after writing CP.

Then my chores were to ‘make up’ beds, sweep n wipe house, sweep bottom house, bring up firewood, fetch pond water to wash bhartan, fetch up water to drink from  the drums n coppers, feed dogs n parrots. No kitchen duty except helping to cut up greens.
Then i stayed away from home ie board n lodged for high sch n only went home on weekends.

I only knew to cook paratha roti as i used to fight my sister to cook my own roti!!
I had seen my sisters cook fry bora n ochro n dhal .

yeah man.. dis gal pickney nevah cook  at home. Whn i grad high sch n moved to GT in 1976 , i board n lodged whn i was teaching n also at UG. During  my final  yr at UG my gf n batchmate n i rented an apt. She knew to cook but not our typical  â€˜Indian’ food. She taught me to make a good stew, cook-up , fried rice, chowmein.. n yes  HER version of Curry! She marinated the chicken with the spices like stew.. no bhunjal of masala lol!
That’s how I cooked curry!! Ie until I asked my neighbor how her curry tasted so good n she gave me a cooking lesson!

ayuh enjoy a good laugh.. go ahead i have a great sense of humor so i can take  it ..

Enjoy yr sat

TBC .. more to come!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Sat:-Dhal n rice, Saltfish n tomato, fry baigan with chicken/aloo. Bhajee(spinach) n Lentil/spinach soup.

Sunday..d gal pickeny dem coming over to look at the game with Pops -

Lunch :-boil n fry channa, duck curry n dhal puri(Alima’s), stuffed (ground chicken) sweet peppers.

Dinner :-Church’s chicken meal SNACKS for the game:—home made nachos, veggie pakoras with granny smith apple sour, cheese rolls, cream cheese danish( using frozen puff pastry)

Happy Sunday

Lynn