@Former Member leh we talk something else. So they're saying crypto like Bitcoin is actually a legitimate currency, a form of exchange and the future of money, a digital currency if you will.

I don't see how this can be. Currently I'd have to exchange about $44K USD to buy one Bitcoin. Talk about exaggerated "exchange rate". Bitcoin is basically a line of code generated after "proof of work/stake" and backed by nothing. How can this even be considered a currency?

Plus the volatility of bitcoin makes it almost impossible to use for everyday needs like groceries etc.

Do you agree? China already seems to  have their digital yuan. Can it be that the US and other nations come up with a digital form of their currency, rendering bitcoin useless?

I believe in cryptocurrency and the future of digital currencies. I just don't think it's bitcoin as is being said by the hexperts.

Your thoughts?

30 Sep 2021

Shenzhen, China – Moves by Chinese authorities to close regulatory loopholes around cryptocurrency trading and mining late last week essentially banned all such activities in China overnight. And many crypto holders are still scrambling to deal with the fallout.

For many companies that made big bets on crypto over the past several years – particularly companies in the tech industry – options may be limited for cashing in their holdings.

https://www.aljazeera.com/econ...slams-door-on-crypto

Bhai Guana ...me don't invest in anything that me doan know to value. Is nuff right wing libertarians investing in crypto. Dem is survivalists. Dem doan want government dat can do good. But we killing crypto soon. As soon as Fed set up dem own crypto is game over. If I is you Guana, me would buy index fund and some real estate fund.

@Django posted:

30 Sep 2021

Shenzhen, China – Moves by Chinese authorities to close regulatory loopholes around cryptocurrency trading and mining late last week essentially banned all such activities in China overnight. And many crypto holders are still scrambling to deal with the fallout.

For many companies that made big bets on crypto over the past several years – particularly companies in the tech industry – options may be limited for cashing in their holdings.

https://www.aljazeera.com/econ...slams-door-on-crypto

China pegged the yuan to the USD. Doesn't let its currency float freely, so it maintains an advantage with "cheap" labor. The Chinese want this currency manipulation. Bitcoin threatens that.

The Chinese "digital currency" will allow the CCP to continue controlling and manipulating the currency, thus the banning of other cryptos like bitcoin.

I'm not advocating for bitcoin, but these govts, including the US, need to keep this fiat currency shit going. How do you pay off $28 trillion in debt? You debase the currency, which means the poor man cannot afford to buy a loaf of bread because the lil money he got is worth nothing compared to the prices for goods.

Bhai Guana ...me don't invest in anything that me doan know to value. Is nuff right wing libertarians investing in crypto. Dem is survivalists. Dem doan want government dat can do good. But we killing crypto soon. As soon as Fed set up dem own crypto is game over. If I is you Guana, me would buy index fund and some real estate fund.

I don't know how to value a line of code either, thus my question to you. To me these cryptocurrencies have no intrinsic value whatsoever, so thought I was missing something and deferred to your genius economic self

It's not just libertarians bro, it's the "woke" folks too. They want to de finance the system, do away with banks etc. who they see as parasites on the populace with its fees and "extorting" the poor.

I agree with you. As I said in my opening post "Can it be that the US and other nations come up with a digital form of their currency, rendering bitcoin useless?"

When that happens, note this line in the aljazeera article Jangles posted:

For many companies that made big bets on crypto over the past several years – particularly companies in the tech industry – options may be limited for cashing in their holdings

To all you bitcoin holders, caveat emptor!

I don't know how to value a line of code either, thus my question to you. To me these cryptocurrencies have no intrinsic value whatsoever, so thought I was missing something and deferred to your genius economic self

It's not just libertarians bro, it's the "woke" folks too. They want to de finance the system, do away with banks etc. who they see as parasites on the populace with its fees and "extorting" the poor.

I agree with you. As I said in my opening post "Can it be that the US and other nations come up with a digital form of their currency, rendering bitcoin useless?"

When that happens, note this line in the aljazeera article Jangles posted:

For many companies that made big bets on crypto over the past several years – particularly companies in the tech industry – options may be limited for cashing in their holdings

To all you bitcoin holders, caveat emptor!

Hehe. Ah see we bai TK seh he is writing about crypto in he Stabroek column today. Guana like de man does listen to you and read GNI or wah?

He lacks creativity, so I'm not surprised he gets ideas from people like me. No coincidence the thread posted and then he runs with an article on it.

He seems like a follower, the fat kid in high school who adopts something so he can be accepted into the group. Gets kicked in the ass by them, adopts a new set of values to please his new group.

Tell him I won't only tell him about crypto, but be willing to explain blockchain and the impact on society over the next 20 years to him, detailing specific blockchains and what they will do. I don't think he'll be sitting behind a desk marking papers, lecturing or "crunching numbers" for too long. He is about to be displaced.

PS - things like index funds and real estate index funds etc. are  passe. We are at a time of advancement in technology that will dwarf that of the internet. You're missing out.

He lacks creativity, so I'm not surprised he gets ideas from people like me. No coincidence the thread posted and then he runs with an article on it.

He seems like a follower, the fat kid in high school who adopts something so he can be accepted into the group. Gets kicked in the ass by them, adopts a new set of values to please his new group.

Tell him I won't only tell him about crypto, but be willing to explain blockchain and the impact on society over the next 20 years to him, detailing specific blockchains and what they will do. I don't think he'll be sitting behind a desk marking papers, lecturing or "crunching numbers" for too long. He is about to be displaced.

PS - things like index funds and real estate index funds etc. are  passe. We are at a time of advancement in technology that will dwarf that of the internet. You're missing out.

Hehehe...meh like Dem passe strategy like old boring stocks and bonds and one one option. Kapa gat 25 years to cash out ðŸĪĢ😁ðŸĪ“. I left crypto to international terrorists, drug pushers, tax evaders and polluters...hehe...Kapa not touching it until de Feds regulate these hustlers pon CNBC ...😁ðŸĪĢ

Former Member posted:

I left crypto to international terrorists, drug pushers, tax evaders and polluters...hehe...Kapa not touching it until de Feds regulate these hustlers pon CNBC ...😁ðŸĪĢ

You don't know one rass about crypto or how it will work re blockchain. Of course the "currency" aspect of it has to have backing of banks, the Federal Reserve and the banking industry will not surrender their control of money supply and the currency. I'm not talking about that.

I bet you said the same about the internet in the 90's.

"Wha ecommerce? Wah dah? People gon buy ting pon internet? Stewwwppps. Dat is fuh tax evaders, hustlers and pushers".

Now you can order yuh cane juice and mauby online and stream yuh Indian movie pon Netflix.