@Mitwah posted:

I think it comes from the word "edge". For example, if I think I am faster that you in a foot race, I may give you an "adge" of about 3 to 10 yards in a 100 yard dash to the finish line. That is you will only need to run 97 to 90 yards. The less distance gives you an "adge' to win the race.

Those after school lessons can give you an adge to pass the exams with higher marks.

Not sure abt the lessons..

i rem it being used mostly for a race!!

Lynn

Well..now explain this..( someone once askedme to explain n i had great difficulty in doing so)..

whn u eat green mango or tambrin..it ‘edge’ yuh teeth..

or yuh  teeth “edge”  with dat green mango/tambrin

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Perhaps "adge" also means "advantage".

I think so too…..

or maybe itis a ‘hindi’ derivative??

It is like MAGA (maga daag) …it is scrawny..skinny right..

so is it from meagre??  Or is it from ‘hindi’ (bhojpuri)??

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Well..now explain this..( someone once askedme to explain n i had great difficulty in doing so)..

whn u eat green mango or tambrin..it ‘edge’ yuh teeth..

or yuh  teeth “edge”  with dat green mango/tambrin

It's taken from the bible. It's the acid from the fruit and its effect on the nerve endings on the teeth.

The fathers have eaten sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge. Jeremiah 31:29b

@Lynn posted:

I think so too…..

or maybe itis a ‘hindi’ derivative??

It is like MAGA (maga daag) …it is scrawny..skinny right..

so is it from meagre??  Or is it from ‘hindi’ (bhojpuri)??

Perhaps colloquial or Pidgin.

@Lynn posted:

Wha we mean if we say

‘somebody HOONCH me “

whts the correct word? Hunch?? But that doesnt mean the same thing!!

Eh-eh Lynn .... yuh get lats ah HOONCH an' yet yuh nah kno wh eet mean?

HOONCH ... eet izzz like when yuh walk in a crowded place an' yuh get wan, wan knack fram people.  Dut is how yuh get a HOONCH ---  an' most tymes yuh fall pon yuh bambalams..

HOONCH cyan halso mean ... yuh get wan feeling 'bout wha ah 'appen.

Eh-eh Lynn .... yuh get lats ah HOONCH an' yet yuh nah kno wh eet mean?

HOONCH ... eet izzz like when yuh walk in a crowded place an' yuh get wan, wan knack fram people.  Dut is how yuh get a HOONCH ---  an' most tymes yuh fall pon yuh bambalams..

HOONCH cyan halso mean ... yuh get wan feeling 'bout wha ah 'appen.

I kno wht itmeans..

but i iz testing ayuh deez ..lol

Im guilty of that (whn i waz lilttle) ..ina crowd n any body too close to me.1 hoonch(elbow) in dem side ,,,hehehe

Lynn

Going back to ‘whn yu teeth edge’

how do i explain to a non-guyanese or a “TOWN” Gyese..

Pls explain it in ‘english’…

n also explain in english…wht we mean by ‘cassa or kassa ’. As in whn u eat certain fruits n it not fully ripe..we say it kassa!!

( i know ‘kassa-kassa’ can refer to whn u nah do house wuk prappa.. ie like U do ‘lab-lab’ work..like a poohar person

Or like if u sweep d house kassa kassa…it not done properly..u do it ‘here n there’)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Going back to ‘whn yu teeth edge’

how do i explain to a non-guyanese or a “TOWN” Gyese..

Pls explain it in ‘english’…

n also explain in english…wht we mean by ‘cassa or kassa ’. As in whn u eat certain fruits n it not fully ripe..we say it kassa!!

( i know ‘kassa-kassa’ can refer to whn u nah do house wuk prappa.. ie like U do ‘lab-lab’ work..like a poohar person

Or like if u sweep d house kassa kassa…it not done properly..u do it ‘here n there’)

Esteemed, wonderful and beautiful Lynn ...

KASSA or CASSA --

Something that tastes quite bitter.  Most often you quickly get it out of your mouth.  

@Lynn posted:

Sooooo ... yuh luv tu du kassa kassa wuk all dee tyme, eh Lynna.

Nah..me iz wan country gal…

me big sissy buss me lil tail since i small small fuh do house wuk prappalie….

im METCULOUS!!! ..that is the word that is used by almost everyone who knows me…n very organized..

thnx to my big sista!!

she knew how to set me right..hehehe since me was d baby n a pet-spile pickney..full a dulaar!!

whn she putme to wipe d house..i just wipe d floor n didnt move chairs etc.i wiped around..plus i did ‘dry-wipe’ ( u know wha da mean??

well whn didi see how fast me dun wipe..she come examine d wuk..she move d chairs n lo n behold..dry floor!!

well now dulaarie beti in big trouble esp since maa n daddy not home to rescue me …

shem ek me wipe over d whole house..eheh..see how she staan?? De whole house!! N she repeated the process..chking every nook n corner for ‘dry spots’

suh u guess rite!! Afta a few times..dis gyal pickney tek she time n do it 1 time…(my play time was shortened whn i had to do it overn over)

Lynn

Me laarn not to be ‘dunkay-dam’ fast fast …

anodda lesson dat my sissy taught me…sweeping d house!!

O Lard….my daddy used to mind plenty birds in cages ..all over the house, kitchen n battam house!!

..whole day bird seed falling in the house n u know in countryside, all d windows n doors open n plenty plenty breeze blowing the birdseed all over d house. Suh me sissy send me all d time to ‘brush-out’ the brd-seeds from the “hall” floor..eheh..me think me smaat!! So i just sweep  all d birdseed behind chairs n cabinet n under d doormats etc…but again me done too fast (didi smaat more dan me eh?) so my sissy decided to peep n see how come me ah dun d wuk so fast.  Guess wht she did(a few times) ..she tek d pointa broom n bringout all d stuff from where i swept them..n scatter it all ovah d house..n mek me sweep from 1 end to d odda.  Well..as u can guess..me stap doing dat kassa-kassa jaab !!

thank Gaad fuh big sissy(she was 9 yrs older than me) …today I can say I AM METICULOUS!!

Lynn

Btw..me used to hustle  fuh dun d wuk fast fast so dat me get to go n rock in d hammick in d battam house!! From marnin till nite, me deh down deh in d hammick!! Me kerry me foodn eat in d hammick too!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:
Well..as u can guess..me stap doing dat kassa-kassa jaab !!

thank Gaad fuh big sissy(she was 9 yrs older than me) …today I can say I AM METICULOUS!!

Yuh duz doo prappa, prappa, prappa, prappa wuk now, eh Lynn.

Sooooo Lynn ..... yuh duz hustle ???   

Suh u ah call me a ‘hustler’ or what?

lol

me big sissy prappa put licks in me lil tail fuh ‘lal off’ in d hammick ..plenty  hibiscus tree whip bruk up !! Hehehe. Me laarn  faas faas!  

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Statement to someone who has done something wrang, wrang, wrang, wraaannngggg.

Correct..u get wan star ..yuh brite brite!! No dunce cap fuh yuh today!!

Whn yuh disappoint someone…u didn't meet their expectations..like u disgrace yr parents who expected better from u..dem seh ‘u mek me haan fall’

Lynn

Most likely both mean --- yuh kook berry berry berry berry well.

Another star u get for today!! Lol

yuh haan taste sweet means u r a very good cook…yuh food taste prappa sweet!!

n whn u want somebody to cook for u..u tell them u want to ‘taste their hand’ !!

U get top marks for today’s class!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Correct..u get wan star ..yuh brite brite!! No dunce cap fuh yuh today!!

Whn yuh disappoint someone…u didn't meet their expectations..like u disgrace yr parents who expected better from u..dem seh ‘u mek me haan fall’

my neighbor in guyana was bright all her life, but didn't study for GCE because they were migrating to NY soon. so she got 2 subjects GCE when all her friends got 4 and above. her parents were ashamed, they felt she disgraced them, then she studied, wrote GCE again and got 4 subjects and 2 lower grades. soon after, they migrated

Oiiiiiiiii Lynn --- tank yuh, tank yuh, taaannkk yuh much, much, much.

Fram last eeen dee klass, yuh now place mee first een dee klass.

U get promoted from back bench to front bench…eheheh….

Lynn

“WATCH-MAN”…means:-

d man who does repair watches..

like u r a security guard..u stand watch..then  r a ‘watch-man’

or ‘keeping an eye “ on someone..like to carry back news ( eg if a nice gal ah go cinema..parents guh send a brother to watchman she so she nah  gyaff with no bai

well..i know abt another kind of ‘watch-man’…

anybody can tell me wht it is??

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

“WATCH-MAN”…means:-

d man who does repair watches..

like u r a security guard..u stand watch..then  r a ‘watch-man’

or ‘keeping an eye “ on someone..like to carry back news ( eg if a nice gal ah go cinema..parents guh send a brother to watchman she so she nah  gyaff with no bai

well..i know abt another kind of ‘watch-man’…

anybody can tell me wht it is??

if a girl went to cinema and an acquaintance saw her, news reached her parents before she got home, then the parents waited with a whip to beat her

Hehehe..yeah prezzy, such was life in our ‘days’ !!

i rem whn i started high sch n had to commute a long way..my big bro warned me..’if he only hear me talking with boys..he guh tek me outa sch n put a grassknife in me hand “

hear this story …after I graduated from UG n was wrking at PHG, my gf li sister came to stay with me to attend North GT high sch ( I was renting a flat in Garnett St).  The oldlady who lived in the front apt toldme that after sch, thisyoung lady used to stand n gyaff with a boy at the street corner. So imade the lil gal walk n come to the hosp to wait for me n then we walked home together…I tek away d house key from her plusi timed her too..she had to reach at the hosp by 315-320 pm. Oh boy..I was only 21-22 yrs oldns he called me ‘mom’ as i had ‘rules’ for her ..omg!!

Lynn

If my sisters were standing on the ‘platform’ ( our lil house didnt have  veranda) n boys were passing with biccycles n looked in..my maa used to ‘chase’  my sisters in d house..

dis time nah lang time boy!!

Back then bf n gf dates were just going to movies n holding hands as they walks down the road!! Those r ancient days!!

ps ( i know of a young lady here in Cda , in her early 20’s n her bf sleeps over at her parents’ home in their living room..parents come out to use washroom at nights n have to pass them there …dis time nah  lang time bwoy!!)

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Lickrish!! Hung-ish

laang tongue

laang belly

dung-guts!!

is wha dis mean??

Lickrish = sweet & sour. It's also a fruit with small black seeds.

Laang tongue = talkative . BTW, a girafe tongue is 18 inches longue.

Laang belly = someone with an insatiable appetite..

dung-guts...... black pudding? constipated?

Wutliss -- Perhaps wan wid similar 'abits like dee wan an' honly wonderful Lynn.  

OMG! D_G getting too personal and to treating Lady Lynn with such insolence, indignity and contempt. It's not funny.

. Wutliss means "good for nothing" from the word "worthless'.

Anybody else used to say ‘drown-gid’..drungid??

Like d pickney DRUNGID in d trench..meaning DROWNED???

wht abt these words..lord have mercy!!

weeble..weavil

nable..navel

bakkle..bottle

likkle..little

flim show..film show

Lynn