@Mitwah posted:

Lickrish = sweet & sour. It's also a fruit with small black seeds.

Laang tongue = talkative . BTW, a girafe tongue is 18 inches longue.

Laang belly = someone with an insatiable appetite..

dung-guts...... black pudding? constipated?

No no bhaiya..u talking abt LICORICE

LIKRISH aka SCRAVEN ..ie GLUTTON n LANG TONG means the same thing..u too GLUTTON

DUNG0sguts..u right.whn u CONSTIPATED..u belly swell up n get stiff..or whn u eat too much n get fat belly..dem say u gat DUNG-GUTS ( S h i t n d belly) lol

Lynn

My Aajaa had one that was similar with lots of holes as shown. He probably got it from his Estate Scottish Manager. He called it the Fundaling cup ..... probably meant puzzling cup. He kept it on a colonial type of furniture called the "Dinner Wagon". Back in the day, dem white people used to give away their stuff when they moved back to Scotland, Ireland or England.

Nice memories there Lynn.

@Mitwah posted:

My Aajaa had one that was similar with lots of holes as shown. He probably got it from his Estate Scottish Manager. He called it the Fundaling cup ..... probably meant puzzling cup. He kept it on a colonial type of furniture called the "Dinner Wagon". Back in the day, dem white people used to give away their stuff when they moved back to Scotland, Ireland or England.

Nice memories there Lynn.

Wow..this is unique!! Never seen it before.

i’ve herd abt the dinner wagon..not sure if i’ve seen it though!

well..my puzzling cup was a cut out brunswick sardine can..nailed to the wall with a slot on the top end!!

My ma has a lil shiny silver cup(i think she got it from the pharmacy, most likely an empty pill container) n she kept her $$ in that )

Lynn

Wht abt β€˜yuh BIG-EYE” or yuh β€˜eye too big’ ?

lol..mek me rememba..i used to fight my sissy for the β€˜bigger’ half..(poor people u cantget a whole β€˜something’ , u had to share everything..cut in half or quarter…

My big sista used to get vex with me, saying half is half n not bigger..but i used to β€˜show her’ that the 2 pieces were not the exact size..hehehe

U can say me eye was too big eh?? (Greedy)

Lynn
@cain posted:

Anytime I ask my sister something such as, " what colour was the coat?" She'll answer "it was kinda greeny greeny."

Sometimes her rice would come out lumpy lumpy.

Sometimes she would say the day lil grey-e grey-e.

Yeah yuh face white white wid powder..

or yuh skin nasty nasty whn u come from d backdam or weed a trench

We used β€˜ish’ like yellowish !!

It’s like saying it once didnt convey the meaning..saying it twice tells u how BAD /severe it-is eh!!

de tank watah cold-cold fuh bathe with early marning!!

How abt leff-leff!! Hahahaha

Lynn

De place smell stink stink..

or d place dark dark or bright bright

rIver watah  rough rough

low low

high high

oh boy! talking abt low low …this mek i rem how my gf laff mek me laff whn  i lived in st maarten

u see-my gf is GYese but married to Indian guy..Sindi n they owned  a lil clothing shop beneath our apt. Soi sed to visit her  home n watch how she prepared Indian dishes ( she came to my place to eat Gyese food ..she didnt cook it at her home)

So she mek a kinda pancake roti thing where she added mashed potato to flower n all the indian seasoning like coriander /methi leaves, masala , chili powder etc n friend onions n made a batter like pancake..so tasty !!

she was so wicked .  She asked-me if i liked it n i told her it was very tasty n that i enjoyed it

den d gyal told me i was eating Lowlee

n explained that is the SINDI word for the roti/pancake

how we laughed..she kept teasing me that  liked to eat lowlee

her bro in law’s wife was there( she is from India)n was looking perplexed..she-had no idea why we were laughing so hard …my gf told her that it was a Gyese joke n she wont understand .. n she asked me not to explain it to her…

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn