Tuschen residents struggling with deplorable roads

A resident shows the depth of water in one of the potholes

Residents of Phase 1 and 2, Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo, are at their wits end over the deplorable state of the roads in their community.

Stabroek News paid a visit to Tuschen Village yesterday and spoke with several residents who shared their concerns about the terrible state of the roads. According to the residents of Phase 2, the road has been in a state of disrepair state for about 10 years now. Ravindra Persaud, a cement-block maker spoke with this newspaper and explained that it is difficult for his customers to traverse the street on which he lives. β€œMe ask them contractor when me see them bin ah do the back road if them ah do this road too, them say them nah get the contact to do here.”

Source:

Proposals for Barnwell road repairs ignored – NDC Chairman

Pieces of lumber placed along virtually impassable sections of Barnwell access road to make traversing them possible

Representations have been repeatedly made at both the regional and national levels for the deplorable access road to Barnwell North, on the East Bank of Demerara to be rehabilitated but to no avail, according to Chairman of the Mocha Arcadia Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) Randolph Adams.

Adams made the disclosure in wake of the state of the road being highlighted by the Guyana Fire Service as a hindrance in its response to a fire that claimed the life of three children in an early morning fire on Thursday.

β€œHad there been proper road access, the fire service would have been able to get to the house that was burning. We are now all aggrieved by what has transpired and led to the demise of those three innocent children,” Adams remarked.

Adams told Stabroek News that while the area falls under the NDC map, it is still under the control of the Guyana Lands and Survey Commission.

The proposals for the road to be upgrades, Adams claimed, have been removed from the budgets of the Regional Democratic Council and national budget for the past three years.

Nonetheless, he stated that sometime ago they were able to carry out road works on a large section of road but all their efforts came to naught due to rains.

Adams pointed out that the road is critical, not only for farmers, but for the school-age population in the village. He stated that many times during the rainy season, adults and older children would have to provide assistance to the younger ones to prevent them from falling along the road.

A deplorable section of the Barnwell access road

Thursday’s fire occurred at around 01:25 hrs and claimed the lives of 8-year-old Timothy Kippins, 6-year-old Triston Kippins and 1-year-old Zhalia Flue.

Acting Fire Chief, Gregory Wickham, had told Stabroek News that due to the poor state of the road, the fire trucks were forced to stop some distance away from the scene and that resulted in fire fighters not being able to effectively respond.

During a visit to the community by this newspaper, villagers and farmers called on the relevant authorities to execute remedial works on the road.

Hopscotch
From the boundary at the head of the village, the deplorable state of the road was plainly visible.

Persons trekking through the muddy puddles looked like they were playing hopscotch as they were forced to jump the road in order to find a suitable spot to step on to complete their journey.

At present, major sections of the earthen road have become impassable to motor vehicles and even bicycles. Since the rainy season started, residents said, more craters have developed along the road.

While a few persons, who live at the front of the village can risk traversing with their vehicles through the muddy thoroughfare, many others are forced to walk for miles to get out of the village.

The villagers said that for years they have been pleading with authorities to assist in upgrading the road but all they have received are promises and minor rehabilitation works.

Villager and farmer Romel Benn, who has been residing in the village for over two decades, said many days his β€œheart is burdened” as he is unable to reap his produce and take it to market.

The man noted that produce, such as soursop, bananas, plantains, and other crops are left on his farm to rot as he cannot effectively transport it to market due to the unavailability of transportation.

β€œIt is very difficult you know. I grieve many days when I go to my farm and see these fruits ready to reap but I cannot because I don’t have the transportation and the road to bring it out. What I can afford to bring out I do and sell that but there is many more that I cannot bring out because of the condition of the road,” he explained.

According to him, while the front section of the road is in a terrible state, closer to the farms can be regarded as treacherous terrain.

β€œI want see them road this constructed for farm to market condition. Mocha and Barnwell have nuff farmers but due to the condition of this road we cannot bring out our produce from the farm… since I deh here it was a lot of promise. The amount of promises we get quarter nah come,” Benn lamented.

He stated, too, that on many occasions farms are flooded, impacting the outcome of their profits. However, while other parts of the country farmers tend to receive relief measures, they do not enjoy such benefits.

Another resident, Brittney Henry, relayed that the state of the road is frustrating to everyone. She explained that if a persons has to transport loads from the boundary separating Barnwell and Mocha, it is very costly.

β€œYou really find it hard when it comes to that time of the month when you buy your groceries and have to bring it. If it is a lot of load then it cannot come in on one trip, you have to pay for every trip until you get all your goods,” she said.

The mother of three went on to state that every trip out of the village is an expense.

Touching on the impact the deplorable state of the road has on children, she stated that many times children slip and fall while heading to school. In some cases they have to return home as they are covered in mud.

β€œMost times they don’t come home clean. Almost every day they are covered in mud or some part of their uniform and bags have mud. That is how bad it is. My children live right at the front and that happens but there are many other children living more down in the village and the roads there is deplorable,” she lamented.

Source:

Buxton laments woeful roads, streets

-in meeting with ministers

The deplorable state of Old Road Buxton

Residents of Buxton yesterday peppered a high-level government delegation, led by Prime Minister Mark Phillips, with a flurry complaints on deplorable streets, the need for a farm-to-market road and drainage issues.

At the conclusion of the lengthy session at the Buxton Community Centre, assurances were given by the governmental delegation that their concerns would be addressed.

Throughout the engagement, the Buxton residents highlighted the deplorable condition of their streets and the plight their village farmers face. According to residents, the cross-streets have been deteriorating for years, and despite recommendations to have them repaired, this is yet to be done. Region Four Councillor, Evelyn Estwick, declared that her proposal to rehabilitate several streets in the village was rejected and not included in the 2022 budget. The regional councillor pointed out that she had made several recommendations for seven roads in Buxton to be rehabilitated under the 2022 regional budget allocation.

Source:

South R’veldt Gardens residents want repairs of roads damaged during highway works

David Rose St

South Ruimveldt Gardens residents are in the dark on promised repairs to David Rose Street and Cane View Avenue, which were damaged during the construction of a new four-lane highway.

Resident Gail Haynes, in a letter to the editor published in the May 29 edition of this newspaper, explained that while the highway has been completed, the two roads have been left with huge potholes and craters.

According to the letter, there has been no communication with the residents about repairing the roads, although the contractor, Junior Sammy Guyana Limited, had assured that remedial works would be undertaken.

This newspaper contacted Junior Sammy Guyana Ltd on Wednesday and an official stated that manager who would be able to give the information about the issues was not available.Source:

Haynes said that due to the deplorable state of the roads, taxi and minibus operators are refusing to use them, leaving the residents no choice but to walk in with their bags or walk out to get transportation.

Stabroek News visited the area and spoke with Daniel McKenzie, who is living along David Rose Street. β€œThey said when they finish the new road they will do David Rose Street. Months gone they still didn’t do it. Trucks traversing β€” even the government have trucks traversing here β€” and nothing is being done! They have a few nurses and government workers living through here and they have to take off their shoes because when the rain fall you in got no road to walk on. If you ain’t got the little grass on the parapet to hop-hop on, then you have no road,” he said.

Another resident, who asked not to be named, stated that when the trucks pass by the houses would usually be shaking and some structures have even started to develop cracks. As a result, he and other residents pleaded for the relevant authorities to look into the situation.  

Source:

These States Have the Worst Roads

The District of Columbia and California have the worst-condition roads while Oklahoma and Idaho have the best, a new survey finds.

https://www.usnews.com/object/image/00000176-2ec4-d525-ad7e-6fc4b7f10000/201204bsworstroads-editorial.jpg?update-time=1607103630852&size=responsive970

Potholes along 15th Street in NW Washington, D.C., March 2, 2019. Only 2% of D.C.’s major roadways rank in good condition, according to report.(Astrid Riecken/The Washington Post/Getty Images)

Washington, D.C., has an infrastructure problem. The 68-square-mile federal district has the worst road quality in the nation, according to a new report

In the report from website MoneyGeek, the District of Columbia's highways earn an abysmal average roughness index score of 214. Yet the nation's capital also pays $107 in maintenance costs per lane mile of its highways β€’ by far the highest cost per lane mile paid by any state. Only 2% of D.C.'s major roadways rank in good condition, the report found.

MoneyGeek analyzed spending data from sources including the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Congressional Budget Office; the website also created its own composite roughness score for each state. The International Roughness Index, a standard metric used to determine highway pavement quality, measures how much a passenger vehicle body moves vertically β€’ the result of bumps from uneven roads β€’ throughout one mile of driving. A score of below 95 inches/mile is considered good condition in the index, while above 170 is considered poor.

Cities With the Worst Drivers

California and its notoriously congested highway system came in as the state with the second-poorest roads, followed by high-density Rhode Island and Hawaii.

Here are the 10 places with the worst roads by average roughness score, according to the report:

The report found more than a dozen states had average roughness scores that fell into the "good" category. These states were mostly concentrated in the South and West, with Oklahoma, Idaho and Indiana scoring best. Here are the 10 states with the best roads, according to the report.

MoneyGeek also analyzed how much each state spends on its urban roadways. While most states spend proportionately to the number of local vehicle miles traveled β€’ an overall measure of traffic β€’ MoneyGeek found no correlation between how much states spend per vehicle mile and actual road conditions. North Dakota, for example, spends $28.91 per 1,000 vehicle miles traveled and has a roughness score of 113; New Mexico spends only $2.15 per 1,000 vehicle miles traveled and has a slightly better roughness score of 110.

The data suggests that states aren't attempting to build better roads so much as keep bad ones serviceable, MoneyGeek asserts.

"Regardless of how much money they spend on road conditions," the report concludes, "states are using available funds to maintain, not fix or improve, crumbling roads."

A separate report from the Urban Institute found that state and local governments spent $181 billion on highways and roads in 2017, or 6% of general expenditures, a higher figure than they spent on police. Oklahoma, the state with the best overall road conditions in MoneyGeek's report, spends a total of $2.6 billion on its highways; California and Texas spend more than $15 billion each, according to MoneyGeek.

@cain posted:

DG, why de rass you always bring up other countries when the discussion is about Guyana?

This thread is regarding the deplorable conditions of roads in Guyana so no one gives a flying xuck about any other country at this time, so stop making excuses for poor management by pathetic government(s) in Guyana.

Cain ... note information for discussions are on ...

Guyana Community Discussions Forums --- GNI

GCDF -- GNI also has expanded explanations on sections for its site.

Basically, discussions on Guyana and the World --- panoramic rather than myopic views on issues.

=====================

Welcome !!!

Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .

Source -- https://guyana.crowdstack.io/

=====================

Oh please..we speak of other countries..no problem with that. What I am saying is, we are discussing Guyana's roads..the governments neglect to rectify the situation. You post info on roads worldwide that has no bearing on the pathetic govt.

There was discussion on rapes in Guyana...you decided to show other countries have rapes too so I guess everything is cool because it happens elsewhere, so discussing rape in Guyana is a moot point..nuh so?

@cain posted:

Oh please..we speak of other countries..no problem with that. What I am saying is, we are discussing Guyana's roads..the governments neglect to rectify the situation. You post info on roads worldwide that has no bearing on the pathetic govt.

There was discussion on rapes in Guyana...you decided to show other countries have rapes too so I guess everything is cool because it happens elsewhere, so discussing rape in Guyana is a moot point..nuh so?

None of my statements indicate that "everything is cool because it happens elsewhere".

Your exclusive choice to determine what is moot, etc..

Cain ... note information for discussions are on ...

Guyana Community Discussions Forums --- GNI

GCDF -- GNI also has expanded explanations on sections for its site.

Basically, discussions on Guyana and the World --- panoramic rather than myopic views on issues.

=====================

Welcome !!!

Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .

Source -- https://guyana.crowdstack.io/

=====================

You don't have to derail the threads with your sallied quips. You can start a new thread to discuss your absurdities.