I do not visit Guyana; I live in Guyana

Kaieteur News – I refer to a letter critical of me published by Dr. Asquith Rose in the yesterday’s edition of the Kaieteur News. What an ironic letter. He ends it with the words: “engage your brains before opening your mouth.”

Dr. Rose has a Freudian mind larger than the parts of Guyana that he visited when he came to Guyana, assuming that he was in Guyana. He brought out his Freudian mind when he used those words, maybe borrowed from someone where he lives in the US.

The identical quote can apply to him. It was buried in his mind when he applied it to me but he really meant it for himself. He should engage his brain and do research on my country before he opens his mouth on Globe-Span each week and interview people living in Guyana.

1 – Dr. Rose has not responded to the one and only point raised in my column. Maybe he did not understand it. I will repeat it for him. A person cannot live outside a country and interview citizens living in that country. That foreign interviewer before he opens his mouth to talk, he should do research on Guyana so he will know which relevant questions to ask his Guyanese guests.

2 – Dr. Rose is right. I write on many foreign countries. I do not support the Russian invasion of Ukraine and I wrote on that. For the education of Dr. Rose, that is called un-researched opinions that all humans have. Un-researched opinions transform themselves into verifiable facts when the opinion-holder goes to the country and do research. He/she then has the credibility to work as a columnist, journalist or war correspondent and write authoritatively on the country involved.

I have opinions on Ukraine, the US and other countries. I have more than opinions on Guyana. I have facts on Guyana because I live in Guyana and investigate Guyana. I know what the president is doing. I know what the opposition leader is doing. I have the authority to interview Guyanese on what is taking place in Guyana because I know what is taking place in Guyana.

3 – Dr. Rose mentioned that social media has brought all countries together. That is a stupid point in an argument about journalism. Social media cannot substitute for a word Dr. Rose loves to use – Research. You have to take your smart phone and your social media presence and go to the country, do the research, then you can interview people.

Just one commonsensical answer should educate Dr. Rose. You live in Afghanistan and with your smart phone, you see the batsman from Afghanistan moved down the wicket to the spinner of the opposing team, in a match played in Barbados. The batsman got bowled. So you saw live the action of being bowled.

If you were not in Barbados, you would never know why he reacted to the spinner like that. But the journalist in Barbados would know that because the batsman was asked why he did that and he explained that the coach instructed him to treat the spinner like that.

4 – We can write how much we want on foreign countries, but we must be in those countries to properly understand the nuances in the society. I was shocked when in his bid for a second term, Barack Obama, advocated same sex marriage. I thought it would hurt his re-election bid because his major constituencies – Afro-Americans – are not keen on gay marriage. But Obama knew what he was doing. He had a better sense of his country than I, who lived far away.

5 – Dr. Rose informed me on the places he visited while in Guyana, assuming that he did visit. I am under no obligation to believe him. Well he had to visit them. I don’t have to visit them. They belong to me and the 800,000 Guyanese who live here. They are available to us 24 hours a day. Dr. Rose will see them in the future if he chooses to visit. I can see them anytime.

In conclusion, I reiterate the essential point in my column that Dr. Rose took umbrage at. And I repeat my advocacy to Mr. Nohar Singh. I cannot disclose what the reaction was by Mr. Singh when I spoke to him. Globe-Span should not have a weekly programme in which the interviewer questions Guyanese living in Guyana but the interviewer does not live in Guyana. It is highly improper and makes a mockery of journalism.

Equally obnoxious is the foreign-based Guyanese interviewing another foreign-based Guyanese on life in Guyana. What do both of them know about Guyana? I end with throwing back at Dr. Rose what is essentially his problem – engage your brain, and do decent research before opening your mouth and talking to other people about their country.

Source:

FREDDIE KISSOON IS WAY OFF TRACK

Dear Editor,

My respect and admiration of Kaieteur News columnist Freddie Kissoon took a nosedive last week when he asserted that persons not living in Guyana cannot make – or are not entitled to make – any form of comments or analyses of events in the country. He was referring to Paul Tennessee, Vishnu Bisram, Charles Sugrim, and Dr. Asquith Rose – none of whom need any assistance in this matter however, as a commentator on many Globe-Span TV shows I feel compelled to respond to his baseless and wild comments.

Kissoon, who is not a political scientist, but claims to be one should realise that he is a very poor and mediocre political analyst who thinks he is the only person in Guyana who should control the political domain. It is time someone like me tells this columnist to hush and stop making himself a fool. He is yesterday man in his thinking.

Freddie seems to have a problem with his identity as he constantly mentions in his columns that he grew up among blacks in Wortmanville and that his sisters dated and married black men. Apart from his immediate family and his dog, Freddie seems to radiate scant love for anyone else.

Freddie has a deep-rooted hatred for Guyanese who reside in the Diaspora and has stated on several occasions that Guyanese who reside in the Diaspora should not write or discuss anything about the issues in Guyana because according to him, they have abandoned the country when things were bad. He has relegated Guyanese in the Diaspora to second-and third-class citizens by stating that they should not be given jobs in Guyana even though they are qualified. At the same time, he has welcomed non-Guyanese foreigners into the country with open arms. He is also ignorant of the fact that remittances from the Diaspora have contributed to more than 30 percent of Guyana’s GDP.

Yet, this recluse who resides in Guyana writes about issues in the United States, Canada, Europe, the Caribbean and other countries. What a hypocrite? However, I believe that if Freddie is aware of the worldwide impact and the power of the social media, he would not criticise his fellow Guyanese in the diaspora for their involvement in the country’s affairs.

But many believe that his writings are simplistic and they are based on bogus information.

Leyland Chitlall Roopnaraine

Source:

@Mitwah posted:

FREDDIE KISSOON IS WAY OFF TRACK

Dear Editor,

Kissoon, who is not a political scientist, but claims to be one should realise that he is a very poor and mediocre political analyst who thinks he is the only person in Guyana who should control the political domain. It is time someone like me tells this columnist to hush and stop making himself a fool. He is yesterday man in his thinking.

Leyland Chitlall Roopnaraine

Source:

Bang, bang, bang, bang ... hitting the nail directly on the head about Kissoon.  .

@Ambedkar posted:

Alyuh ease up on Freedie, the man must be over 70 years old.

He lives on the ECD, how can write about BBP or Blairmont /Rosignol without living there, according to his line of argument? Anyway I enjoy his essays about his dog.

Last edited by Mitwah
@Mitwah posted:

He lives on the ECD, how can write about BBP or Blairmont /Rosignol without living there, according to his line of argument? Anyway I enjoy his essays about his dog.

Freddy is an idiot just like you, you believe y’all pnc is the only rightful ruler of Guyana because you supported them, [rigging, jumbie votes allegations and all] he believes he is the only one who knows all and has exclusive rights to write about Guyana news because he lives there. Y’all need to wake up and smell the coffee, social media [which Freddy snobs] brought down not only government like Egypt but Russians use it to influence US elections. Freddy, after being used and abused finally realize his ‘Indianess’ how much more patkay you can take from the PNC before you realize yours…hahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@sachin_05 posted:

Freddy is an idiot just like you, you believe y’all pnc is the only rightful ruler of Guyana because you supported them, [rigging, jumbie votes allegations and all] he believes he is the only one who knows all and has exclusive rights to write about Guyana news because he lives there. Y’all need to wake up and smell the coffee, social media [which Freddy snobs] brought down not only government like Egypt but Russians use it to influence US elections. Freddy, after being used and abused finally realize his ‘Indianess’ how much more patkay you can take from the PNC before you realize yours…hahahaha [maniacal laughter]

So Slop Can Man, how  your jumbee was able to vote?

Grainja is looking for you. PNC doesn't need my support. Almost 1/2 of the nation voted for them. Why are Indians, who have migrated,  are still on the voters list?

@Mitwah posted:

So Slop Can Man, how  your jumbee was able to vote?

Grainja is looking for you. PNC doesn't need my support. Almost 1/2 of the nation voted for them. Why are Indians, who have migrated,  are still on the voters list?

Lots of Guyanese migrate all over the world, not necessarily to settle/live. Majority in places like Barbados, Trinidad, Surinam, Brazil, Venezuela, Kayan  etc. still has a Guyanese passport with work permit [I know that because I was one]  work and send remittances home for their families. Can you PNC rigging supporters give reason why those migrant workers should be denied voting rights by removing their names from the list? What is their crime?

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Lots of Guyanese migrate all over the world, not necessarily to settle/live. Majority in places like Barbados, Trinidad, Surinam, Brazil, Venezuela, Kayan  etc. still has a Guyanese passport with work permit [I know that because I was one]  work and send remittances home for their families. Can you PNC rigging supporters give reason why those migrant workers should be denied voting rights by removing their names from the list? What is their crime?

Moron, many left in the 70's and 80's. They have no interest in Guyana. Some have never returned. You want them on the list, because you can get someone to vote for them. You PPP riggers don't want HtH registration. Why?

Say hi to Miss Ivy Legs.

@Mitwah posted:

Moron, many left in the 70's and 80's. They have no interest in Guyana. Some have never returned. You want them on the list, because you can get someone to vote for them. You PPP riggers don't want HtH registration. Why?

Say hi to Miss Ivy Legs.

The problem is not the list, Yuh Pnc win with the same list in 2015. Y’all didn’t have a problem with it then. hypocrite. y’all just mad because the rigging attempt didn’t work…does Ramjattan still see Russians mind hackers wid he kak eye….. hahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

The problem is not the list, Yuh Pnc win with the same list in 2015. Y’all didn’t have a problem with it then. hypocrite. y’all just mad because the rigging attempt didn’t work…does Ramjattan still see Russians mind hackers wid he kak eye….. hahahaha [moraniacal laughter]

Your response shows that you are a person with mild intellectual disability having a mental age of from 7 to 12 years and generally having communication and social skills enabling some degree of academic or vocational education.

Have a great day.

@sachin_05

PPP statement after elections in 2015 ,why the change of mind now ?

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...r-electoral-reforms/

PPP wants fresh voters list among other electoral reforms

The opposition PPP today called for electoral reforms to be placed on the front burner including a fresh voters list, improved bio-metrics, electronic voting and a new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

Having refused to accept the results of this year’s general elections, the PPP said that after twenty-three years with “absolutely no reforms” at GECOM to cater for institutional strengthening through more transparent and impartial practices, the time has come for reforms to be placed on the front burner. The PPP was in office over that period and would have been able to introduce the reforms it is now seeking. While the party has rejected the results of the election, which it lost by a narrow margin, the international community has affirmed the validity of the polls.

The PPP called for the following reforms:

1. Enhanced bio-metrics
  2. Electronic voting
  3. Bringing the GECOM Secretariat under the purview of the Commission to enable the Commission to give the Secretariat general orders and directions.
  4. Recruitment of GECOM’s key election officials such as Returning Officers and Presiding Officers and Poll Clerks through improved transparent and impartial processes.
  5. A new voters’ list to be compiled on the basis of a fresh house to house enumeration.
  6. Review the process that allows for voting by the Disciplined Services.
  7. Amend the relevant sections of the Representation of the People Act to allow for the enactment of appropriate legislation to facilitate implementation of agreed reforms.
  8. Selection of a new Chairman of GECOM

The PPP provided no details on the enhanced bio-metrics that it is seeking. Fingerprinting is used at the moment. The voters list for this year’s elections was thought to have been swollen with the names of tens of thousands of people who have migrated or have died and this had raised concerns for all parties.

Following its loss of the election, the PPP began calling for the removal of GECOM Chairman Dr Steve Surujbally and its statement today continues this demand.

With local government elections likely to be held in the coming months, the PPP’s sought-after reforms raises the question of the minimum that it would like to be in place before it contests.

The PPP pointed out that prior to 1992 elections the following reforms were instituted:

1. Counting of the votes at the place of poll;
  2. A new voters’ list compiled on the basis of house to house enumeration;
  3. Expansion of the Elections Commission and the selection of a new Chairman;
  4. International and local observers to be present at polling stations.

The PPP said it is convinced that with its new proposed reforms enjoying the support of APNU+AFC, the donor community and other stakeholders, “Guyana’s electoral system supervised by GECOM will see the cleansing of the Augean stables thus enabling GECOM to make a `fresh start’”.

The PPP said it will be seeking clarification on proposals by Canada and the US to assist in the area of electronic voting. It noted that legal steps would have to be instituted to facilitate the introduction of machines for electronic counting and for tabulation of votes at any elections in Guyana.

It stated that GECOM must be integrally involved at all stages in relation to these offers by the US and Canada and “must, in the final analysis, be a key decision-maker on the matter, not the government alone.”

The PPP added that the introduction of machines for electronic counting must be discussed with all the stakeholders in a timely and transparent manner.

Further, such offers must not remain exclusive to the Granger-led APNU+AFC Coalition Administration, the party said.

Back in October 2015;

The PPP called for the following reforms:

1. Enhanced bio-metrics
  2. Electronic voting
  3. Bringing the GECOM Secretariat under the purview of the Commission to enable the Commission to give the Secretariat general orders and directions.
  4. Recruitment of GECOM’s key election officials such as Returning Officers and Presiding Officers and Poll Clerks through improved transparent and impartial processes.
  5. A new voters’ list to be compiled on the basis of a fresh house to house enumeration.
  6. Review the process that allows for voting by the Disciplined Services.
  7. Amend the relevant sections of the Representation of the People Act to allow for the enactment of appropriate legislation to facilitate implementation of agreed reforms.
  8. Selection of a new Chairman of GECOM

The PPP provided no details on the enhanced bio-metrics that it is seeking. Fingerprinting is used at the moment. The voters list for this year’s elections was thought to have been swollen with the names of tens of thousands of people who have migrated or have died and this had raised concerns for all parties.

@Mitwah posted:

@Django posted:

@sachin_05

PPP statement after elections in 2015 ,why the change of mind now ?

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...r-electoral-reforms/

PPP wants fresh voters list among other electoral reforms

You shooting your self in the foot, Mitwa says the ppp doesn’t want a new voters list but you not only contradict him you brought proof the ppp wanted a new voters list. Your PNC was in power when that reform request letter was published, why y’all didn’t compile a new voters list? I tell you why, Granger plan to bring back Burnham’s glory days - rigging election, he didn’t need stupid list he had Mingo and Lolobai hahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@sachin_05 The Maniac posted:
You shooting your self in the foot, Mitwa says the ppp doesn’t want a new voters list but you not only contradict him you brought proof the ppp wanted a new voters list. Your PNC was in power when that reform request letter was published, why y’all didn’t compile a new voters list? I tell you why, Granger plan to bring back Burnham’s glory days - rigging election, he didn’t need stupid list he had Mingo and Lolobai hahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Maniac, I can't argue with your stupidity. You are too proud of it.

@Mitwah posted:

Maniac, I can't argue with your stupidity. You are too proud of it.

You can’t even figure out I wasn’t talking to you, the brain damage you suffer from PNC programming needs uncle Ramakant expertise ASAP….

@sachin_05 posted:
You should advise your leader  RatPutiniske about shooting himself in the foot for objecting to new voters list.
@Django posted:
You should advise your leader  RatPutiniske about shooting himself in the foot for objecting to new voters list.

You are the one posted thelink that PPP wanted a new voters list, who’s fault is it y’all can’t run the cake shop - ‘allow RatPutiniske’ to call the shots while y’all at the helm, that alone says a lot about y’all political acumen…..

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

You are the one posted thelink that PPP wanted a new voters list, who’s fault is it y’all can’t run the cake shop - ‘allow RatPutiniske’ to call the shots while y’all at the helm, that alone says a lot about y’all political acumen…..

Only a maniac would make such an idiotic generalization. Like yuh born suh.

@sachin_05 posted:

Supporting hypocrisy by RatPutiniske.

@Django posted:

Supporting hypocrisy by RatPutiniske.

Me a hypocrite? I wasn’t the one in charge, Yuh need to place the blame squarely on Granger for allowing RatPutiniske to get his way when he was in charge of the cake shop…

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Me a hypocrite? I wasn’t the one in charge, Yuh need to place the blame squarely on Granger for allowing RatPutiniske to get his way when he was in charge of the cake shop…

You are as phony as a three-dollar bill. You're dishonest, you could be called a professional liar.

Hypocrisy is an addiction. Get help. It's never too late.

@sachin_05 posted:

Does supporting hypocrisy makes you one ?