Afro-Guyanese should now speak of anti-African sentiments

April 21, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
The PPP has now officially responded to Mr. Jagdeo’s remarks that there is a resurgence of anti-East Indian sentiments in Guyana. The PPP’s position is an unambiguous support for the judgement of Mr. Jagdeo. One would like to think that there is also a continuing resentment against African Guyanese in Guyana, and African Guyanese should now make their voices heard about this racist cancer seeing that Mr. Jagdeo and the PPP have spoken their minds.
One would like to think that the same way the PPP and Mr. Jagdeo feel that dislike is rising against the East Indians in Guyana, African rights leaders believe that African Guyanese are being deliberately marginalized. One hopes that when these African rights leaders adumbrate their sociological concepts, there is no resulting storm from the PPP. One recalls the outburst from Mr. Jagdeo, while as President, Roger Luncheon and others, when Tacuma Ogunseye said at an ACDA public meeting in BV on the East Coast that African security forces should not allow their brothers and sisters to be used against each other by an Indian regime.
One hopes that when these themes as pronounced by African rights activists, there is no denunciation from Luncheon and his cabal. If Jagdeo can tell an Indian crowd that there is a rising bias against East Indians, one would like to think African Guyanese leaders have a right to inform the security forces that there are moves in society by powerful people to use Africans against each other for the purpose of preserving Indian hegemony.
I would like to use the avenue of this letter by first saying at the time when Ogunseye made his now famous BV remarks, I supported him within the context of continuing ethnic domination in our country. I would now like to repeat that outline of Ogunseye. Is it right for Mr. Jagdeo to tell a large gathering of Indians at a public building (Convention Centre) the following; (A), in the past there was a racial hatred against East Indians, (B) Indians were told not to send their children to school but to keep them at home which was all part of the anti-Indian strategy at the time, (C), this very attitude has returned to Guyana.
If it is right and it appears to the PPP that Mr. Jagdeo was in order when he made those observations, then by what logic can someone disagree with an African rights activist if he/she appeals to the security forces not to be led astray by ethnic groups who do not like Africans, have practiced racism against Africans, have used power to marginalize Africans, and want to use the security forces to quell African anger in order to maintain ethnic supremacy over African Guyanese.
My question is why is Mr. Jagdeo entitled to say that he sees a rising tide of anti-Indian feelings in Guyana, but an African spokesperson cannot proclaim that what he/she sees
in this country is a deliberate policy of reducing the role of African Guyanese in the political economy of Guyana with the intention of extirpating any future power of Africans. We should be thankful for Mr. Jagdeo for openly venting his feeling because it should release the restraint African leaders have lived with in this country since the PNC lost power in 1992. No one has disapproved of this incredible restraint with more energy and anger than Dr. David Hinds
I have seen many African activists denounce their fellow African rights colleagues for being ashamed to speak out on racism against African Guyanese but David Hinds keeps reminding us of this major fault in the politics of African organizations. The question now is seeing that Mr. Jagdeo was not intimidated and the PPP was not ashamed in their opinion that Guyana is witnessing a blowing wind of anti-East Indian resentment, will African rights organizations like ACDA, political parties like the PNC and others openly vent their feelings about the policy of the power-wielders to reduce to nothing the power of African Guyanese ?
I close with a lament I hear all the time from my friends who silently say to me what they are publicly afraid of speaking. Will they now be free from their self-imposed bondage? That lament is about the policy of Mr. Jagdeo as President, which is being continued, to bring in Brazilians and Chinese so as to alter the demographic makeup of Guyana that will see a drastic imbalance with a resulting disadvantage to African Guyanese.
Readers may ask what my position is on this irrationality that is being pursued by the PPP Government. It was a section of my research on ideological racism that I left out because statistics were hard to come by. But my unambiguous position is that I believe the encouragement of Brazilians and Chinese are directed to achieving a demographic shift designed against African Guyanese. Like Mr. Jagdeo, I see a wave of ethnic resentment crashing into the shores of Guyana. Unlike Mr. Jagdeo, the targeted ethnic group is not East Indians but Africans.
Frederick Kissoon

PNC Indian Mitwah defends their racist PNC brothers and sisters. At this pace, a Wismar incident will repeat itself and the PNC Indians will remain silent. An Indo Guyanese was left for dead at the airport while Afro Guyanese officials and workers did nothing to help him.

Carl Greednige has ignited racial war against Indo Guyanese while the AFC remains silent. What a disgrace.

I see a wave of ethnic resentment crashing into the shores of Guyana.

Never again must afro terrorists be allowed to reign freely in Guyana---they must ALWAYS be exterminated.

The next group that needs to be evaporated in Guyana is the Dirty PNC Indians.

These scoundrels are working 24/7 to put the PNC back into office.

Dirty PNC Indians are longing for a "Fineman" to emerge in Guyana and terrorize and murder decent and honest East Indians in Guyana.

=

Dirty PNC Indians are "PNC" LOVERS---and they will do anything to get the PNC back into office.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Never again must afro terrorists be allowed to reign freely in Guyana---they must ALWAYS be exterminated.

These scoundrels are working 24/7 to put the PNC back into office.

This is what PNC Indians like Mitwah, Raymond and others are just happy to see return to Guyana once again. We must never allow the PNC Indians to assist racist people like Carl Greenidge to return to office.

The PNC Indians here just post toilet paper reporting from KN and other PNC mouthpiece papers and are 100 percent supporting Neemakharam like Moses, Ramjattan, Nigel and other in creating another Wismar incident in Guyana.

We must stand vigilant against the PNC Indians assault on Indo Guyanese. They dish it out and they better be able to take it back. 

Dirty PNC Indians are longing for a "Fineman" to emerge in Guyana and terrorize and murder decent and honest East Indians in Guyana.

=

Dirty PNC Indians are "PNC" LOVERS---and they will do anything to get the PNC back into office.

This rotten PNC Indian was accused of stealing books from UG. 

He should be asked what he did in Canada.

These are the dirtbag Indians hellbent on destroying Guyana and handing over the country to a racist like Carl Greenidge.

===============

These are the dirtbag Indians hellbent on destroying Guyana and handing over the country to a racist like Carl Greenidge.

Yuji:

The greatest impediment to peace, progress and prosperity in Guyana are the DIRTY PNC INDIANS.

Right now, they are colluding with the Chechens(PNC politicians) to destabilize Guyana---thankfully the Guyanese people are fully aware of their evil ploy.

===============

Yuji:

The greatest impediment to peace, progress and prosperity in Guyana are the DIRTY PNC INDIANS.

Right now, they are colluding with the Chechens(PNC politicians) to destabilize Guyana---thankfully the Guyanese people are fully aware of their evil ploy.

Rev,

I can see another Wismar Incident occur again in Guyana. These PNC Indians are now so bold to accept a racist like Carl Greenidge as their hero and remain silent in Parliament while Carl Greenidge promotes his racist agenda against Indo Guyanese. He said that Indo Guyanese are a government problem. Indirectly saying that Indo Guyanese are useless.

PNC Indians attempted their first Chechens style attack in Linden and Agricola. Guyana needs another hero like Bharat to put them in their place. They try to tarnish the Image of Indo Guyanese who stood up for their people but adore and worship racists like Carl Greenidge.

It was the monster Carl Greenidge who made Guyana a basket case economy and Indo Guyanese has to risk their lives to smuggle food, yes food into Guyana to feed their families. Hindu Guyanese had worship items like Ghee etc banned.

Staple Indo Guyanese items like wheat, dhall, onion, garlic, sardines, tomato paste, potatoes, cooking oil, and list so long that it will fill this page. Yet today the PNC Indians are now working 24/7 to bring back this racist monster Carl Greenidge and he PNC to power.

Indo Guyanese women were made prostitutes in places like Suriname etc, under the tyranny of a PNC led government under racist Carl Greenidge.

This must never happen again in Guyana. The PNC Indians are dishing it out, they better be able to take it back.

=============

PNC Indians attempted their first Chechens style attack in Linden and Agricola. Guyana needs another hero like Bharat to put them in their place. Thy try to tarnish the Image of Indo Guyanese who stood up for their people but adore and worship racists like Carl Greenidge.

When Fineman was exterminated the uncivilized elements in the PNC went into hibernation.

THERE WAS PEACE In GUYANA.

RIGHT NOW THE DIRTY PNC INDIANS ARE MAKING TONS OF NOISE.

But if their noise leads to violence across Guyana---then the leaders of the Dirty PNC Indians must be given the "fineman" treatment.

This is what PNC Indians like Mitwah, Raymond and others are just happy to see return to Guyana once again.   

Actually, this is what is currently happening under the current Govt...but you too idiotic to see that

.Indo Guyanese has to risk their lives to smuggle food, yes food into Guyana to feed their families. Hindu Guyanese had worship items like Ghee etc banned.

Staple Indo Guyanese items like wheat, dhall, onion, garlic, sardines, tomato paste, potatoes, cooking oil, and list so long that it will fill this page. ..

Firstly I was unaware that only IndoGuyanese were involved in smuggling items into Guyana.  Indeed I had the impression that the majority of the higglers were poor AfroGuyanese women trying to earn a living.  At least so it seemed on those BWEE flights out of Piarco to GEO.

In addition I was unaware that the items which you mention are "Indian".  I was of the impression that wheat bread was an important staple of ALL Guyanese.  As are split peas, and the other items mentioned.  Indeed black eye peas was also not available at the time and you do know that cook up rice is very important to many Guyanese, and not just those of African descent either.

And dont make me laugh about sardines.   That was ba vital source of protein for many poor families in urban areas, and extremely so in the interior!

ALL Guyanese suffered when Burnham became a socialist. ..I wonder when Burnham nationalized the economy, with the intent of controlling the lives of Guyanese, and rendering us vulnerable to his dictatorship, WHERE WAS JAGAN?

Listen

Continue to post and we are seeing more and more of your staunch defence of PNC racism. You can sugarcoat your words about Afro Guyanese suffering under Burnham but your support for Carl Greenidge and the PNC is quite disgusting.

Listen, we understand that you are a closet PNC member and supporter. You cannot fool us.

And yes, Indo Guyanese survived an attempt by an Afro led dictatorship to exterminate them. Now move along and try to fool someone else.

Listen

Continue to post and we are seeing more and more of your staunch defence of PNC racism. You can sugarcoat your words about Afro Guyanese suffering under Burnham but your support for Carl Greenidge and the PNC is quite disgusting.

Listen, we understand that you are a closet PNC member and supporter. You cannot fool us.

And yes, Indo Guyanese survived an attempt by an Afro led dictatorship to exterminate them. Now move along and try to fool someone else.

Your every post shows that you are a lover of white supremacists (even though you arent white) and share all their opinions about blacks.

You see I concede that anti Indian racism exists amongst many blacks.

You lambaste blacks as criminals, this while you endorse a 90% domination of all leadership positions in Guyana to Indians.

So who is the racist here?

ALL Guyanese suffered when Burnham became a socialist. ..I wonder when Burnham nationalized the economy, with the intent of controlling the lives of Guyanese, and rendering us vulnerable to his dictatorship, WHERE WAS JAGAN?

And I suggest that yuji, nehru,baseman and rev al and all the other Indo Nazis who go to bed with Hitlerite and KKK literature every night to read this.

Your attempts to justify your hatred of blacks and your notion that we are all criminals who have not made any poistive contributions to Guyana, so that we should be confined to being slaves of the PPP bwill be revealed for what it is.

A black man tells you the truth of racism in 2013.  You immediately paint him as supporting genocidal acts against Indians.  

No wonder the PPP will panic every time an election is held and are left to panic Indians as this is all they have to offer them, a fear of blacks.

Listen

Your every post shows that you are a lover of white supremacists (even though you arent white) and share all their opinions about blacks.

You see I concede that anti Indian racism exists amongst many blacks.

You lambaste blacks as criminals, this while you endorse a 90% domination of all leadership positions in Guyana to Indians.

So who is the racist here?

You are now lying like your PNC friends. Where did I state that blacks are criminals ? Post it.

The problem with PNC supporters like yourself is  that when Indo Guyanese speak out against PNC racists you try to label them as racist. How is that racist ? It is always an attempt by the PNC to mask it racism and you clearly support Afro Racism.

You have remained silent as Greenidge label Indo Guyanese as useless in Parliament. Now that is racist.

Stop the name calling and stick to the facts. Carib, you are racist PNC sympathizer.

Mr. Moses  was afraid that the administration’s approach and the marginalization of Africans would be detrimental to Indians. He wrote, in his article of September 10, 2006, captioned, ‘Being Indian in Guyana: The challenges’ the following. “Indians will never prosper in Guyana if Africans become impoverished, and they will never live securely unless Africans are secure.”

So how come Whites prosper in America while Blacks continue to occupy the lower rungs of the economic ladder here? Maybe these Blacks who claim to be marginalized in Guyana should take their own destiny in hand by taking examples from those who prosper. One of the downfall of Blacks in Guyana is that they don't help each other like the Indians do, there is almost never a concept of family passing down inheritance and family business. Just the other day a study was done in the US that confirmed the same here and credited this with the downward mobility of Blacks. 

Well, katahar Kissoon speaketh.  Why did he got find his as in Buxton during the 2000's and ask the terrorists to stand down?  No, his ass was too scared, he stayed far from the action.

WHy dont you address his article rather than go off on a tangent like the race button pressers above? Actually, Freddie was the only one speaking out against it and even listing who were involved and their tentacles in the political arena. It is clear that Freddie is beginning to emerge as the only real voice not mired in self deception or living in the reflected glow of awee pon tap mentality.

African Guyanese will only progress when they have strong leaders and are interdependent

Dear Editor,

I refer to F Skinner’s letter in SN of April 8, `The African Guyanese Community has to find a way to develop strong financial independence.’
My journey through the history of African Guyanese communities/villages, and my community ‒Kwakwani ‒ and  the bauxite industry, shows that progress for African Guyanese comes when there is strong leadership backed by the interdependence of the people.
The slaves had to fight collectively before slavery was abolished. After slavery was abolished, they pooled their money to buy villages. Local government first came into being in relation to their villages.
We can also recall the benefits of boxhand in the absence of a banking system, where we collectively pooled our money and patiently waited on our turn to draw our hand. We planned what we would do with our money and we did what we planned to do.
In my community, strong leadership and a spirit of interdependence enabled it to build a teachers hostel to make the teachers of our children comfortable, a secondary school to reduce the cost for our children to acquire a secondary education and the Kwakwani- Ituni Road. The secondary school was built with workers pooling money matched by the bauxite industry at that time.
There were also systems put in place to help bauxite workers (who were predominantly African Guyanese) to be financially strong. The Bauxite Industries Thrift Plan was developed by strong leaders who were concerned about workers after retirement. The destruction of this plan can be discussed at another level.
How we arrived in this state and whether we can get out must be of serious concern for anyone who considers him or herself to be a leader today.
As it relates to the financial status of the bauxite workers, I always recall a statement by Mr John, Deputy General Manager of GNCB Trust at one of our management committee meetings. He said: “It is not that the workers’ money is too small; it is their inability to manage it.” His  reference was to the fact that workers were withdrawing money and not borrowing from the fund.
There is no denial that quite a lot of our people squander scarce financial resources on pleasure and waste educational opportunities that are available. Mr John Lewis, CEO of Bermine, was one of the great leaders who had in place a system to refund employees for any course they successfully completed to make them more qualified.
I must admit that I am no expert on the subject of African Guyanese behaviour, but what I am seeing and experiencing around me is enough to convince me that as a people, we will only progress when we ensure the leaders we select/elect are strong in every sense of the word, and we are prepared to be interdependent.
Yours faithfully,
Jocelyn Morian

You have remained silent as Greenidge label Indo Guyanese as useless in Parliament. Now that is racist.

Stop the name calling and stick to the facts. Carib, you are racist PNC sympathizer.

I am aware that there are many blacks who work in the sugar industry.  Maybe you arent.  Given that Greenidge mentioned the sugar industry and not race why do you jump to imply that he directed anything towards Indians.

And why should Guysuco be treated any different from Guymine.  The bauxite industry was a money loser and so the govt dumped it.  The new owners laid off thousands of workers and so now we see Linden deteriorating into  a scrap heap as a result.

So why doesnt the PPP sell Guysuco to the Chinese, and then stand aside as they decimate its labor force and cut back benefits and wages.

When the Chronicle EXPLICITLY stated that blacks are violent criminals what did you say?  Given its STATED hostility to AfroGuyanese, who make up 30-40% of the taxpayers who support this piece of toilet paper, why should Guyanese continue to support it.  Let the PPP take it over a PRIVATELY run it.   Then they can scream their Indo supremacists rants all day long.

Whe n next you make a racist post I will; let you know, as I have on many other occasions.  Your reputation on GNI as am anti black racist by many here is proof anough.

.”

So how come Whites prosper

I suggest that you read US history before making such a dumb comment.

Also Guyana would be a very sad country if the blacks became as clannish as Indians are.

Also despite the clannishness your average IndoGuyanese has done much worse than did the descendants of the other indentureds who came to Guyana, and some will argue, no better than the descendants of the slaves.  And this is despite all the psychological baggage that this group developed during slavery and in the early post slave period.

Oh yes there is a 5% Indo elite who totally control Guyana.  But what of the remaining 95% who people like you EXPLOIT, much the same as you also exploit non Indians?

I suggest that you read US history before making such a dumb comment.

Also Guyana would be a very sad country if the blacks became as clannish as Indians are.

Also despite the clannishness your average IndoGuyanese has done much worse than did the descendants of the other indentureds who came to Guyana, and some will argue, no better than the descendants of the slaves.  And this is despite all the psychological baggage that this group developed during slavery and in the early post slave period.

Oh yes there is a 5% Indo elite who totally control Guyana.  But what of the remaining 95% who people like you EXPLOIT, much the same as you also exploit non Indians?

Where did you pull 5% from, your rear?  95% of Indians are poor? ahahah

You have not gone to Guyana recently so I forgive you. Even the Blacks have prospered under the PPP. 

This talk of clannishness is foolish after all these years. You are buried in the past. You have bought into the stereotypes of yesteryear:

British planters characterized Africans 
as physically strong but lazy and irresponsible. East Indians were stereotyped as industrious but clannish and 
greedy. Views that are still present today.

Originally Posted by Prince:

Freddy Kissoon is causing racial disharmony to our country.

No, it is the dumb a-holes in the PPP and those here who love them so much they are not living there, they are the ones responsible for racial disharmony. Freddie is doing a fine job.

it is people like Freddie who will save Guyana while the PPP race men hightail it outta there with their anchor babies and bags full of stolen money

exterminated.......evaporated.............that's the kind of language used by the Hutus at the onset of their genocide. Is there a more raw, naked example of your vile racism and bigotry?

Wow!!!

This dude is sick - get him outta here.

exterminated.......evaporated.............that's the kind of language used by the Hutus at the onset of their genocide. Is there a more raw, naked example of your vile racism and bigotry?

Wow!!!

Exterminate, evaporate, phantomize of the Buxton/Agricola FF terrorists is fitting.  These evil scoundrels should never be allowed to gain traction ever again.  This is not a reference to the 99% peace loving Afro population but to the few who spread mayhem and destruction mostly against the peaceful Indian population.

http://www.guyana.org/massacre_lusignan.html

Wow!!!

According to that looney, any Indian who does not support the PPP is by default a "PNC Indian" (translated - a "n1gger Indian").

In his sick mind, any Indian who does not support the PPP should be murdered.

==========

Exterminate, evaporate, phantomize of the Buxton/Agricola FF terrorists is fitting.  These evil scoundrels should never be allowed to gain traction ever again.  This is not a reference to the 99% peace loving Afro population but to the few who spread mayhem and destruction mostly against the peaceful Indian population.

http://www.guyana.org/massacre_lusignan.html

Well said Mr. Baseman! You are a man of incredible wisdom.

Wow!!!

ahmmm, baseman . . . u forget dis 'fascinating' part:

"The next group that needs to be evaporated in Guyana is the Dirty PNC Indians."

elide much? mr low-rent smartman

kari:

You conveniently did not post this sentence that followed the evaporation of dirty PNC Indians----here it is:

"These scoundrels are working 24/7 to put the PNC back into office."

==============

It's the dirty PNC Indians who are working 24/7 to return the dastardly PNC to power---they are the ones who deserve to be evaporated----they are seeking to destroy Guyana by supporting the chechens(PNC politicians).

Of course a "Chechen" like karimulla will be grossly offended by any calls to exterminate or evaporate terrorists---it's a brotherhood thing---brotherhood love.

UN Report Status of Minorities in Guyana by Gay McDougall

Here is the link to the complete Report http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/49bfa6ec2.pdf:

Summary –

The independent expert on minority issues, Ms. Gay McDougall, visited Guyana between 28 July and 1 August 2008. During her visit, she travelled to Georgetown and surrounding communities. She held consultations with the State President, ministers and other senior government representatives, NGOs, civil society groups, political parties, religious leaders, academics and others working in the field of minority issues and anti-discrimination.

The independent expert visited communities, including Buxton, and talked to community members about their lives and issues.  =

In July 2003, the Special Rapporteur on contemporary forms of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance highlighted that he found that every level of Guyanese society is permeated by a profound moral, emotional and political fatigue, arising out of the individual and collective impact of ethnic polarization.1 In 2008, the independent expert witnessed a continuing societal malaise that shows evidence of having deepened and transformed in some instances into despair, anger and resistance. This is particularly evident among Afro-Guyanese individuals and communities that reported feeling excluded, discriminated against and criminalized. 

Ethnically divided political and administrative structures and failed political processes have created deep frustrations and distrust in the institution of government. A climate of suspicion, rumour and conspiracy theory exists in Guyana which has been fuelled by exceptionally violent incidents in 2008. Two separate and conflicting narratives and perceptions of reality have emerged among Afro- and Indo-Guyanese, which threaten to undermine shared values and common goals that are essential to a united, prosperous Guyana.

The independent expert recognizes commendable steps on the part of the Government to date to address issues of ethnic tensions, criminal activities and economic underdevelopment.

However, further effective action is required urgently to restore confidence in good governance and the rule of law among all communities, and prevent an inexorable slide into further polarization and possible violence. A new era of political will and strong, visionary leadership is required to realize change and reverse the economic and social stagnation that is evident in a divided Guyana.

Afro-Guyanese with whom the independent expert met described feeling excluded from having a full voice and stake in the national polity and equal enjoyment of rights in many fields of life including employment and economic participation. They reported stigmatization of young Afro-Guyanese males and entire African communities. Derogatory stereotypes of criminality colour wider societal perceptions of Afro-Guyanese individuals and communities.

Particular challenges affect women from minority communities, including a scarcity of employment opportunities for women from Afro-Guyanese communities, the extremely heavy burden of care shouldered by single mothers, and a disturbing culture of domestic violence, often fuelled by poverty and unemployment in their communities. Women feel that domestic violence cases are not treated seriously by the criminal justice system. Additionally, women’s participation in political processes remains well below levels of equality.

Current anti-discrimination legislation and policies are insufficient to address discrimination, exclusion and ethnically based bias. A new and robust anti-discrimination and equality plan of action is required to be applied across all sectors of society to break down the barriers that have become ingrained in Guyana.

A bitter and destructive political environment has infected the wider society and is failing the people of Guyana. It must give way to a climate of truth, reconciliation and compromise.

Reforms must be far-reaching and highly consultative. However, consultation and process must be time-bound and action-oriented, and must lead to concrete, achievable outputs that ensure non-discrimination and equality.

Promises must be delivered upon, including the urgent creation of five credible human rights commissions, to deliver change to the lives of individuals, families and communities and put in place new foundations upon which to build. An open and constructive dialogue on inclusive governance remains an essential component of this process. The Government of Guyana is urged to take the lead in initiating such a dialogue, however, political will must be demonstrated by all parties.

kari:

You conveniently did not post this sentence that followed the evaporation of dirty PNC Indians----here it is:

==============

It's the dirty PNC Indians who are working 24/7 to return the dastardly PNC to power---they are the ones who deserve to be evaporated----they are seeking to destroy Guyana by supporting the chechens(PNC politicians).

Of course a "Chechen" like karimulla will be grossly offended by any calls to exterminate or evaporate terrorists---it's a brotherhood thing---brotherhood love.

Rev, I like your style brother.

kari:

==============

You're as confused and confusing as those stchupidee font colors. You're not worthy of dialog.

kari:

==============

Rev, I like your style brother.

Personally, I think he's a friggin' moron.

He finally learned a new word, "Chechen" he now uses it every chance he gets..a moron indeed.

How?

Prince, what exactly FK did to cause racial disharmony?

That's like questioning how "Inspire" assist terrorism.

How?

Prince, what exactly FK did to cause racial disharmony?

That's like questioning how "Inspire" assist terrorism.

Your analogy makes no sense.
See how the Prince is quiet like a mouse?