NBS enjoys windfall from Berbice Bridge

June 3, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

The New Building Society is one of the largest beneficiaries of the Berbice River Bridge. Minister of Labour Dr. Nanda Gopaul told Kaieteur News that NBS invested $1.8B in the Bridge and so far has collected $532M in returns.
Private investors in the Berbice Bridge currently enjoy a secure rate of return between nine and 11 percent. Until recently, the names of the investors have always been withheld.
This publication has learnt that apart from Government one of the significant investors is Queens Atlantic Investment Inv (QAII), owned by Dr. Ranjisinghi β€˜Bobby’ Ramroop. Another is the National Insurance Scheme.
The other private investors include Hand in Hand Insurance Company, New Building Society, Demerara Distillers Limited and Beharry Group of Companies, Automotive.
Dr. Nanda Gopaul had also said that all of the commercial banks have invested in the Berbice Bridge as did some insurance companies.
According to Gopaul, who spoke on behalf of NBS, the investment was a good one and he is happy that the company went ahead. He told Kaieteur News that investors are enjoying a hearty rate of return which is guaranteed.
The minister said that if traffic increases to Suriname the bridge would be a β€œmilking cow”, to investors. Gopaul said that there should be nothing hidden in this investment because investors saw it as a lucrative deal which would benefit the community.
Gopaul said that the cost of crossing was reduced after the bridge was built. He said that all the business documents were produced and that convinced the companies to invest into the bridge. The minister also noted that government, in an effort to ensure that investors got back their shares, is prepared to increase the toll.

An entrepreneurial risk is normally rewarded by income or punished by loss. How many of you folks would have invested in the Berbice bridge?  When the project was in its early stages many of you naysayers were criticizing it  as a failure and waste of money. Now it is making money you twist your mouth. Don't hate the investors as they reap the reward for taking risks.

ummm, no . . . fool. Nothing you have posted is relevant to my comments.

Please address why the Gov't, as a major investor with the people's money, is 'donating' profits rightly belonging to the treasury to the local barons.

Man, seriously, you are a Professor??? You claim of being an Economist is very questionable right now. I believe you are the biggest Fraud since Geraldo Rivera opened AQl Capone's Vault.

===

You should know when I say something I do so openly with my real identity. If I want to curse you I would do it openly. Only last week Brahmin Yuji was threatening that he would report me to my work place. He even went and create several online threads saying I made racist statements. Do you see me perturbed?

And here is piece on the Guyana oligarchy: http://www.scribd.com/doc/8788...and-Economic-REVISED

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

===

You should know when I say something I do so openly with my real identity. If I want to curse you I would do it openly. Only last week Brahmin Yuji was threatening that he would report me to my work place. He even went and create several online threads saying I made racist statements. Do you see me perturbed?

And here is piece on the Guyana oligarchy: http://www.scribd.com/doc/8788...and-Economic-REVISED

And your point is?????

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

===

TK, I want to go on record and state that I did not contact your workplace. Never did I create any online threads about you. That was probably done by political hacks.

I start and end my debates and politicial differences right here on this forum. If anyone is using my name or pretending to be me on the internet, then shame on them.

I publicly stated here that you mentioned that you worked very hard to get where you are today and you owe no one anything for being who you are and I respect that position.

We may differ politically and do not see eye to eye on the "C" word but it all ends right here on this forum.

In fact you lie like a dog, govt is not donating profits. It was reported that "if" it were necessary they would forgo their profit to give some assurance to investors. So far they have not. hahahahaha

Goadee walla, do you actually read what you post?

The minister also noted that government, in an effort to ensure that investors got back their shares, is prepared to increase the toll.

Why the Gov't, as a major investor with the people's money, is channeling profits rightly belonging to the treasury to the local barons? Is this not robbing the poor taxpayers for the rich?

No wonder you still drive wan bruck dunk smoke pot for a van.

In fact you lie like a dog, govt is not donating profits. It was reported that "if" it were necessary they would forgo their profit to give some assurance to investors.So far they have not. hahahahaha

ahmm . . . moron, do some proper research before you bray. Stop getting your information 3rd & 4th hand.

[helpful hints for the slow-witted: "NICIL" and "BBCI latest annual report"]

Originally Posted by Prashad:

A bunch of family Oligarchs runing the economy of the country.  That is not what Comrade Cheddi had intended.  The PPP needs to restore Jagan leadership of the party.

Correct.

The PPP will eventually spilt into the Jagan and Jagdeo camps. I prefer to be in the Jagan camp.

Originally Posted by TI:
Ah, so the communist bashers are now capitalist bashers? Interesting!

nice try . . . actually, we just want to jail the PPP criminals.

[You're another one who needs to look up non sequitur . . . educate yourself]

Unfortunately I don't subscribe to the argumentum ad hominem fallacy.
TI

Jagdeo did many good things for Guyana BUT The Amelia Falls project was a disaster. What was this Guy thinking giving a Toilet Cleaner a Contract to build Roads. Also, there are some questions about the Skeldon Factory. For that much money, the Factory should have been problem FREE. No warranty was negotiated???? Who was advising him???

See Nehru Bhai,

No one is perfect. Jagdeo allowed  his government to be held hostage by a few corrupt individuals. President Ramotar must flush out these rats and being honesty and integrity back to the PPP once again.

We need to reflect on what Nadira said. 

See Nehru Bhai,

No one is perfect. Jagdeo allowed  his government to be held hostage by a few corrupt individuals. President Ramotar must flush out these rats and being honesty and integrity back to the PPP once again.

I agree Bhai and I am very confident of President Ramotar efforts in this regard. Guyana going all the way to the Moon!

See Nehru Bhai,

I agree Bhai and I am very confident of President Ramotar efforts in this regard. Guyana going all the way to the Moon!

I hope that the rats are flushed out of the spaceship when it launches.

See Nehru Bhai,

I say Nadira Jagan or grandson Cheddi,  the next President of Guyana.  No more Clement Roti for me.

See Nehru Bhai,

Make sure the moon you are seeing in the future dos'nt have a crack in the middle...it may turn out to be Ramoutar butt yuh seeing in your vision...