Moses and Ramjattan are appeasing the aggressive segment of the AFC leadership by allowing the AFC to concede to APNU's demands. This is not the change that people were promised. allying yourself with former dictators is not change.... it's a politically regressive move.
quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Moses and Ramjattan are appeasing the aggressive segment of the AFC leadership by allowing the AFC to concede to APNU's demands. This is not the change that people were promised. allying yourself with former dictators is not change.... it's a politically regressive move.
How can the AFC align itself with the PPPNC Inc. when these past 20 years they were autocratic and parasitic? The people have decided and elected a minority government. The AFC now have the dog by the tail.
quote:Originally posted by Mitwah:quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
How can the AFC align itself with the PPPNC Inc. when these past 20 years they were autocratic and parasitic? The people have decided and elected a minority government. The AFC now have the dog by the tail.
You need a dose of reality. You would know what bang you on the head until it happened. People like you are so caught in the rhetoric of politicians that you have lost the ability to reason and see things clearly. You need to step back and watch the chess game being played between the PPP and PNC. The AFC has so far compromised its independence by allowing itself to become a springboard of aggression against the elected PPP government.Berbicians are watching Ramjattan and Naga closely. Any wrong moves on the AFC or on the part of these two men will automatically result in expulsion from the political psyche of the Berbicians.
You are clearly without appropriate functioning reasoning faculties. The berbicians voted for the AFC and if in the future they do not think they were represented well they will withhold their vote. Unfortunately for you, the people are getting exactly the kind of representation they voted for. They get the ability to put a wedge in the wheels of the PPP autocracy.quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:quote:Originally posted by Mitwah:quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
You need a dose of reality. You would know what bang you on the head until it happened. People like you are so caught in the rhetoric of politicians that you have lost the ability to reason and see things clearly. You need to step back and watch the chess game being played between the PPP and PNC. The AFC has so far compromised its independence by allowing itself to become a springboard of aggression against the elected PPP government.Berbicians are watching Ramjattan and Naga closely. Any wrong moves on the AFC or on the part of these two men will automatically result in expulsion from the political psyche of the Berbicians.
Guyana hogtied by Jagdeoâs âsecret dealsâ
January 20, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
âĶbacking out will incur âonerous penaltiesâ-Dr Luncheon
There is a convention that prevents incumbent governments from entering into new contracts, signing new agreements and undertaking new projects in the weeks leading to elections.
However, former President Bharrat Jagdeo signed some multi-million-dollar contracts and committed the new government to the binding contracts.
Executive President Donald Ramotar, his administration and by extension the country are now bound to the contractual obligations that have been negotiated and signed into effect by Bharrat Jagdeo.
This was confirmed by Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon, who conceded that the government cannot cancel these contracts and agreements causing the country to incur onerous penalties.
Some of the âsecret dealsâ signed onto by Jagdeo just weeks and days before the elections include the US$52M Marriott Hotel project, the US$140M extension of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport and the US$835M Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Plant.
There was also the US$40M communication cable from Brazil that is being installed with Chinese labour.
Dr Luncheon, who was at the time being questioned about the international contractual obligations that Jagdeo has committed Guyana to.
First pressed on the exit clauses embedded in the agreement with Sithe Global for the Hydro Project, Dr Luncheon said that he preferred to defer the questions to Winston Brassington of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited.
Dr Luncheon suggested that Brassington would be the better person to answer the queries given that he is much more âcurrent than I am and his comprehensive grasp of the issues surrounding the main activity (the building of the hydropower facility) far exceeds mine.â
The Cabinet Secretary told the media that in each of the instances where agreements have been inked there is embodied in those agreements commitment and obligations by both parties.
He said that while there is absolutely nothing that prevents the agreements from being rescinded it is not simply a case of one party âjust backing out.â
Dr Luncheon explained that in most cases there is a process with conditions under which this would be done.
He pointed to an example in the Hydropower agreement where there is a âforce majeureâ and a number arrangements that cater for unforeseen and unlikely events but warned that these are things that âthe lawyers address in the body of the agreement to say that in these instances, were the agreement to lapse here is to say that who is at fault and here are how they are to be dealt with.â
âForce majeureâ is a common clause in contracts. It essentially frees both parties from liability or obligation when an extraordinary event or circumstance beyond the control of the parties, such as a war, strike, riot, crime, or an event described by the legal term act of God (such as hurricane, flooding, earthquake, volcanic eruption, etc.), prevents one or both parties from fulfilling their obligations under the contract.
When pressed to simplify whether the Government can back away from the projects Dr Luncheon said that âit cannot be done without causeâĶit cannot be just, I feel like backing outâĶthese things carry onerous penalties.â
Dr Luncheon illustrated his point by drawing reference to neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago where the Patrick Manning administration had committed that administration to have âbuilt and even supply considerable security hardwareâĶThey had committed to spending enormous sums of money.â
He said that when the new administration took office the Kamla Prasad administration pulled the plug on the project, âat tremendous cost to the taxpayers of Trinidad.â
January 20, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
âĶbacking out will incur âonerous penaltiesâ-Dr Luncheon
There is a convention that prevents incumbent governments from entering into new contracts, signing new agreements and undertaking new projects in the weeks leading to elections.
However, former President Bharrat Jagdeo signed some multi-million-dollar contracts and committed the new government to the binding contracts.
Executive President Donald Ramotar, his administration and by extension the country are now bound to the contractual obligations that have been negotiated and signed into effect by Bharrat Jagdeo.
This was confirmed by Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon, who conceded that the government cannot cancel these contracts and agreements causing the country to incur onerous penalties.
Some of the âsecret dealsâ signed onto by Jagdeo just weeks and days before the elections include the US$52M Marriott Hotel project, the US$140M extension of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport and the US$835M Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Plant.
There was also the US$40M communication cable from Brazil that is being installed with Chinese labour.
Dr Luncheon, who was at the time being questioned about the international contractual obligations that Jagdeo has committed Guyana to.
First pressed on the exit clauses embedded in the agreement with Sithe Global for the Hydro Project, Dr Luncheon said that he preferred to defer the questions to Winston Brassington of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited.
Dr Luncheon suggested that Brassington would be the better person to answer the queries given that he is much more âcurrent than I am and his comprehensive grasp of the issues surrounding the main activity (the building of the hydropower facility) far exceeds mine.â
The Cabinet Secretary told the media that in each of the instances where agreements have been inked there is embodied in those agreements commitment and obligations by both parties.
He said that while there is absolutely nothing that prevents the agreements from being rescinded it is not simply a case of one party âjust backing out.â
Dr Luncheon explained that in most cases there is a process with conditions under which this would be done.
He pointed to an example in the Hydropower agreement where there is a âforce majeureâ and a number arrangements that cater for unforeseen and unlikely events but warned that these are things that âthe lawyers address in the body of the agreement to say that in these instances, were the agreement to lapse here is to say that who is at fault and here are how they are to be dealt with.â
âForce majeureâ is a common clause in contracts. It essentially frees both parties from liability or obligation when an extraordinary event or circumstance beyond the control of the parties, such as a war, strike, riot, crime, or an event described by the legal term act of God (such as hurricane, flooding, earthquake, volcanic eruption, etc.), prevents one or both parties from fulfilling their obligations under the contract.
When pressed to simplify whether the Government can back away from the projects Dr Luncheon said that âit cannot be done without causeâĶit cannot be just, I feel like backing outâĶthese things carry onerous penalties.â
Dr Luncheon illustrated his point by drawing reference to neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago where the Patrick Manning administration had committed that administration to have âbuilt and even supply considerable security hardwareâĶThey had committed to spending enormous sums of money.â
He said that when the new administration took office the Kamla Prasad administration pulled the plug on the project, âat tremendous cost to the taxpayers of Trinidad.â
quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:quote:Originally posted by Mitwah:quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
BRB you do not comprehend the disatisfaction of the Berbicians with the parasitc PPPNC Inc. I have no argument against your sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.
become a springboard of aggression against the elected PPP government..
What interests me as that many in berbice either refused to vote, or voted PPP...yet you think they care whether the AFC becomes a lap dog of the PPP.
If indeed it became a lap dog of the PPP those who voted AFc would have wanted to know why did the AFC think they got their votes if all the AFC was doing to do was to sniff the PPP's toes.
People refused to vote PPP for a reason and the PPP needs to admit why.
quote:Originally posted by caribj:quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
What interests me as that many in berbice either refused to vote, or voted PPP...yet you think they care whether the AFC becomes a lap dog of the PPP.
If indeed it became a lap dog of the PPP those who voted AFc would have wanted to know why did the AFC think they got their votes if all the AFC was doing to do was to sniff the PPP's toes.
If you can't see that those in berbice who voted for the AFC was because of two of their own, Ramjattan and Moses, then you are very ignorant.. Nobody thoughtb that Moses would have sided with the PNC to defeat the PPP.
No matter what the PPP does, Indo_guyanese are going to stick with them... just like the AFros stick with the PNC.. Next election will be a diffeent scenerio.
quote:Originally posted by Ramakant_p:quote:Originally posted by caribj:quote:Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
If you can't see that those in berbice who voted for the AFC was because of two of their own, Ramjattan and Moses, then you are very ignorant.. Nobody thoughtb that Moses would have sided with the PNC to defeat the PPP.
No matter what the PPP does, Indo_guyanese are going to stick with them... just like the AFros stick with the PNC.. Next election will be a diffeent scenerio.
Nonsense. But then you are drunk.
quote:Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Nobody thoughtb that Moses would have sided with the PNC to defeat the PPP.
Rama that is only half the result - Moses wanting to make the PPP a minority government. Te other half is to keep the PNC from power. He achieved both so the statement that he sided with the PNC to defeat the PPP is not wholly correct. He wanted both the PPP to be a minority government and the PNC to remain an opposition. He knew that the historical situation and mathematics are against a 3rd party winning a majority in 2 election cycles. For the AFC to win a majority (50% and up of the votes cast, the PNC must self-destruct and the Indians have to be weaned off the traditional vote-for-the-cup-regardless mentality. To keep the mas a 3rd party the PPP must govern wisely and the PNC is needed to be a strong opposition to hold the winner-take-all feet to the fire.
Oh, the beauty of divided government. Just look at the great USA. We have divided government - a Congress (and two houses at that) and an Administration (the Federal Government). We also have States' government and a Supreme court.
What made Moses think that the PPP would have given him the speakership.?
Rama, whoever said Moses thought or wanted PPP support for the Speaker position? AFC + APNU 33 is enough to give it to him. The point is that President Ramotar and Robert Persaud both spoke as if Moses is a spy for them and he is welcomed back, etc. So the APNU took that bait.
Comprende?
Comprende?
quote:Originally posted by Mitwah:
]
No Rama, like the other Indofascists (sledge, yuji,rev al, etc), are too just to enraged that an Indian (Nagamootoo) has allowed to black man (Granger and Trotman) to tell the Indo govt what to do, and can block them too!!!
It turns out that "ahbe nah pan tap no more"
quote:Originally posted by caribj:quote:Originally posted by Mitwah:
]
No Rama, like the other Indofascists (sledge, yuji,rev al, etc), are too just to enraged that an Indian (Nagamootoo) has allowed to black man (Granger and Trotman) to tell the Indo govt what to do, and can block them too!!!
Carib always tries to hide under the racist umbrella and like a typical PNC thug, refuses to engage in debates. It may now appear that the AFC has mutiny in it's rank. The PPP will come out as king.
Trotman is now showing his true colours and do not want to be an impartial speaker. Nagamootoo was rejected by your beloved PNC because he is Indian. Just speak the truth and it will make you free.
This is the harsh truth, now who is racist ? The PNC is now back to their old tricks but times have changed and it is backfiring on them.
PPP will always govern Guyana, put up or shut up you PNC thug and racist Indo Guyanese hater.
quote:Originally posted by yuji22:quote:Originally posted by caribj:
Carib always tries to hide.
Why because every time you show your black hating fascist self I slam you down?
Understand this.
1. The Indian population is declining.
2. More Indians are freeing themselves from the PPP plantation.
quote:Originally posted by caribj:quote:Originally posted by yuji22:quote:Originally posted by caribj:
Understand this.
Carib, you are everything anti Indian like your beloved PNC. Your statements speak for itself.
Nemakaram....is a catchy phrase...
quote:Originally posted by albert:
Nemakaram....is a catchy phrase...
I agree, Albert Nemakaram does have a really nice ring to it.
Snap elections may see the A.F.C out of the National Assembly...
shut yo snapper!
Moses move achieved one objective and created a problem for himself and the nation .... he is now voiceless and powerless with all the votes he brought for the AFC.
The gist of the current issues and situation.
quote:Originally posted by albert:
Snap elections may see the A.F.C out of the National Assembly ...
Whether a snap election or an election at a later date, the AFC's standing will be determined by their actions.
quote:Originally posted by yuji22:quote:Originally posted by caribj:quote:Originally posted by yuji22:
Understand this.
Carib, you are everything anti Indian like your beloved PNC. Your statements speak for itself.
Da man hate abie baad. He seh coolie population declining, but he nah see, we gatt da Chinee increasin'.
quote:Originally posted by yuji22:quote:Originally posted by caribj:
Understand this.
And I see that you think my statements above reflect anti Indian hatred? Why do you think so?
quote:Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Da man hate abie baad. He seh coolie population declining, but he nah see, we gatt da Chinee increasin'.
Do you know you are a caricature giving credence to all those wholaugh at PPP supporters as being dumb idiots?
266 online (1 member
265 guests)