as a kid i loved Fry egg with plenty onions n pepper with oil  roti or rice ( n i still love it)

hot (fat) sada roti n plenty butter (still love it)

suga roti .. my sis made a lil 1 everyday for me ( but now avoid it for health reasons).. used to make for my kids whn they were small

Cogue… ie the liquid before u make custard.

i had a cup every morning

my sis made custard with her ie after food was cooked, she put her cogue in an enamel cup on the coals to make her custard

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Do you have the recipe on how to make ice?

If you get the recipe send it to Irfaan Ali.  He will set up an ice factory in Unity to supply the whole world.  There is a market for ice in the world--nice cold Unity ice.

All of the above except   dhalpitee…didn’t like dhal growing up and would gag n vomit if I had to drink cogue ( can’t believe u drank that every morning)😆

Enjoyed  fresh cooked rice with brown sugar…eat before the sugar melt and blamange *sp

now I am hungry reading about all those foods

tennis roll n chz with  cream soda n milk or mauby…( mauby makes me think of KM, he used to request my mother make mauby for him)

W
@Wildflower posted:

All of the above except   dhalpitee…didn’t like dhal growing up and would gag n vomit if I had to drink cogue ( can’t believe u drank that every morning)😆

Enjoyed  fresh cooked rice with brown sugar…eat before the sugar melt and blamange *sp

now I am hungry reading about all those foods

tennis roll n chz with  cream soda n milk or mauby…( mauby makes me think of KM, he used to request my mother make mauby for him)

Never had sugar n hot rice

oh yeah .. i loved the pink ’blahmanj’.. damn , that ting was super yummy

Girl we cooked dhal n roti for dinner almost everyday.. poor people food esp whn u have 8 pickney, u had to ‘stretch the curry”

i still love dhal.. we used to put young ochre n saijan in it whn it almost finished cooking.. so delicious.

we were poor.. never had bread or tennis roll at home..

My sis maggie felt the same way as u do about my cogue!! Thought it was ‘gross’ but that thing yummy.. used boiling milk n essence ( beat eggs with orange peel) n it was so creamy.. used to ‘cold’ it in 2 cups so it had the ‘fraaf’ . I am salivating just thinking abt my cogue!! Lol

Lynn

Now i feel like eating chilla roti n drinking a large mug of cornmeal porridge .. long time i didnt drink plantain porridge.

Growing up we dried green plantains ( thinly sliced) n tgen filled it in flour bags n pounded it to make plantain flour! That thing was so tasty/flavorful!  

Lynn

Milo n ovaltine in cow milk!

loved cocoa ‘tea’ .. me made our own cocoa sticks as we had cocoa trees in our  farm (Hogg Island) .. we boiled the seeds into paste n rolled it into sticks n dried in sun!!

Lynn

Buru buru..loved it!

anyone remembers this?
i rem eating a lot n then deliberately  spit on the ground near so my mom would see if (she got nervous thinking it was blood)

hahaha .. mischief maker!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn