January 13 ,2021

A Dentist employed at the Fort Wellington Hospital was today hauled before the court for allegedly refusing to treat a patient because of the child’s ethnicity.

33-year-old Dr Surendrapaul Rampersaud of Cotton Three Village, West Coast Berbice (WCB), appeared before Magistrate Peter Hugh in the Fort Wellington Magistrate’s Court.

He pleaded not guilty to the charge, which stated that on September 18, 2020, while being employed as a Dental Surgeon attached at the Fort Wellington Hospital, he refused to perform a tooth extraction on a child because of the child’s ethnicity.

Rampersaud was released on his own recognizance, and the matter was adjourned to January 22, 2021. Attorneys-at-Law Horacio Edmondson and Joel Edmond are representing Rampersaud.

A dentist must focus on the welfare of each patient.

Among the number of principles, a Dentist is responsible for the health of their patients and provide care to the patients without discrimination.

Obviously this matter is still before the courts and one cannot pronounce on the behaviour of the dentist until the evidence is considered.  However, I have heard from people in the medical field who have behaved in this manner.  Such behaviour is utterly despicable.  BTW, the dentist in the picture looks black but he has a pukka Indian name.  Race is a complex matter.

@Totaram posted:

Obviously this matter is still before the courts and one cannot pronounce on the behaviour of the dentist until the evidence is considered.  However, I have heard from people in the medical field who have behaved in this manner.  Such behaviour is utterly despicable.  BTW, the dentist in the picture looks black but he has a pukka Indian name.  Race is a complex matter.

whats a pukka??

this is all confusing to me.

@VishMahabir posted:

whats a pukka??

this is all confusing to me.

Pukka (Hindi पक्का, Urdu پكّا pakkā) is a word of Hindi and Urdu origin literally meaning "cooked, ripe" and figuratively "fully formed", "solid", "permanent", "for real" or "sure". In UK slang, it can mean "genuine" or simply "very good"; see also pukka sahib.
Pukka
@Django posted:
Pukka (Hindi पक्का, Urdu پكّا pakkā) is a word of Hindi and Urdu origin literally meaning "cooked, ripe" and figuratively "fully formed", "solid", "permanent", "for real" or "sure". In UK slang, it can mean "genuine" or simply "very good"; see also pukka sahib.
Pukka

Thanks Django.  There Vish, you learnt a new word.  Used in a sentence :  he is a pukka knucklehead.

@kp posted:

Do you know yuh Mumma? if not ask Beto.

YOU, otoh, know you know your dawg papa, I'll bet! But you're still unsure of your mama. King of Pricks! Must be just another old kant!

I heard you were charged for rape, is that True? PERVERT!!

@Mitwah posted:

It's possible that 1 out of 13 men is your father. Talk about a bitch in heat.

Then you must be overlooking the dawg, huh? Poor dumb beast gets no appreciation!

@kp posted:

Reptile Iguana can hide in the bush, but the shit you post , expose yuh ground dragging ass.

@kp

Hellllllloooooooooo Kooky Puss, you miss Gwana man eh? Look how yuh flouncing around screaming meh name.

Anyway, I iz not Sally. I used to fight wid he. Sally like put on he Lululemon tights and pull he legs behind he head suh he kyan sniff he batty hole to cure he Covid.

Anyway, stop trolling fuh man and screaming out man name. Yuh embarassin' dem good kids yuh raze.

@Totaram posted:

BTW, the dentist in the picture looks black but he has a pukka Indian name.  Race is a complex matter.

De man black like me. This is what Afro Guyanese endure under these racist dogs like he. The silence of many Indians at his behavior is an even bigger crime.

Hellllllloooooooooo Kooky Puss, you miss Gwana man eh? Look how yuh flouncing around screaming meh name.

Anyway, I iz not Sally. I used to fight wid he. Sally like put on he Lululemon tights and pull he legs behind he head suh he kyan sniff he batty hole to cure he Covid.

Anyway, stop trolling fuh man and screaming out man name. Yuh embarassin' dem good kids yuh raze.

Why yuh hidin, cain? Kareful, dearie!

Iz wha de ass wrang wid you? Now I'm Cain? Ah juss peep in hay and get a good laff. Why yuh mek po Kumarie Parbattie run mad?

awrite den! Meh sarry! Kum smell mih rare end but kiss um fust !