Jagdeo denied it but I'm not so sure.
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...against-amerindians/
Jagdeo denies derogatory remark against Amerindians
By Staff Editor
Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo today denied making a derogatory remark about Amerindian persons.
A statement from the Opposition Leader follows:
It was brought to my attention that the government and its cohorts have been circulating a clip from my last press conference with the claim that I made derogatory remarks about our Amerindian people .
The audio of two words β everybody ( cut short by me ) and people taken out of context is being used to substantiate this false claim .
The truth is, in context of my criticism of the AFC for its lack of credibility and betrayal of Guyanese and the consequent loss of political support for that party I said β it is an avalanche , itβs not trickles , itβs a deluge β everybody ( cut short ) , people who believed that they stood for something that was different , have now seen the true nature of the AFCβ . The discussion had absolutely nothing to do with Amerindians .
This statement was made at a press conference with the entire media Corp present including all the Newspapers and not a single person there thought I made a derogatory statement . In fact there was an extensive question and answer session and the matter never came up .
Only warped minds or desperate politicians ( and there are many around now ) would think that after a lifetime of struggling for greater respect , rights and development for our Amerindian brothers and sister , I would resort to the use of a word that I find personally reprehensible .
I will address this issue further at my upcoming press conference .
Really?/ Well I must be deaf. In Guyana since before Independence, even before Slaves and Indentured labor went to Guyana, "Buck" was widely used to describe our Amerindian brothers and sisters.
Also, the clip is not dated and therefore President Jagdeo may have use the term a very long time ago. In any case there is nothing racist but Amerindians may see it as disrespect and insensitive
Others will use it for Political mileage and self ego..
These sloppy seconds boys trying to make mileage out of a commonly used Guyanese word. While the president should have been more mindful of being politically correct, it is a commonly used word and widely accepted. But what is important is that Jagdeo is not running for president so I don't follow what sloppy boys are looking to gain here.
Drugb posted:These sloppy seconds boys trying to make mileage out of a commonly used Guyanese word. While the president should have been more mindful of being politically correct, it is a commonly used word and widely accepted. But what is important is that Jagdeo is not running for president so I don't follow what sloppy boys are looking to gain here.
You Piss Pot Porters would defend the indefensible even if it hurts your Goadie in the process. There are other racist slurs that are commonly used but it doesn't mean that politicians can demean the people by using them. The "N" word is commonly used in America too but you don't see politicians running around using it in public. Jagdeo realized that he erred and he ran right away to cover up his mistake. Can you imagine the uproar if Granger had used the commonly used "C" word racist slur to describe Indo Guyanese.
Mars posted:Drugb posted:These sloppy seconds boys trying to make mileage out of a commonly used Guyanese word. While the president should have been more mindful of being politically correct, it is a commonly used word and widely accepted. But what is important is that Jagdeo is not running for president so I don't follow what sloppy boys are looking to gain here.
You Piss Pot Porters would defend the indefensible even if it hurts your Goadie in the process. There are other racist slurs that are commonly used but it doesn't mean that politicians can demean the people by using them. The "N" word is commonly used in America too but you don't see politicians running around using it in public. Jagdeo realized that he erred and he ran right away to cover up his mistake. Can you imagine the uproar if Granger had used the commonly used "C" word racist slur to describe Indo Guyanese.
Jaggy did err, but he is not running for president. We have yet to see 1 buckman complain.
Mars, the audio sounds different every time I replay it. 1stly I hear "duck people". 2ndly I hear " puck people ". 3rdly I hear "suck people". 4thly I hear "juck people". Wha yuh hear?
I'm sure you've heard about Freudian slip of the tongue. BJ made a Freudian lapse seh.
I have to agree with gilly, it sounded like muck people. perhaps andrea is off base on this.
Gilbakka posted:Mars, the audio sounds different every time I replay it. 1stly I hear "duck people". 2ndly I hear " puck people ". 3rdly I hear "suck people". 4thly I hear "juck people". Wha yuh hear?
I'm sure you've heard about Freudian slip of the tongue. BJ made a Freudian lapse seh.
Jagdeo in his statement claimed that he said βeverybodyβ then he paused and said βpeopleβ afterwards. Heβs lying through his teeth. I heard βbuck peopleβ every time and I listened to it at least five times. Also you can look at the video and there is no pause in his mouth which matches the voice. I think he made a mistake but he was probably thinking about the word βbuckβ when he used it incorrectly. Like you said, a Freudian slip. Apologize is the manly thing to do instead of lying.
Gilbakka posted:Mars, the audio sounds different every time I replay it. 1stly I hear "duck people". 2ndly I hear " puck people ". 3rdly I hear "suck people". 4thly I hear "juck people". Wha yuh hear?
Regardless of what u hear, as long as the statement had something to do with amerindians it would most certainly mean buck people
I listened and heard the term Buck.
Jagdeo should apologize as he used the B word. How would Indians react if Granger or Harmon used the βcoolieβ term in reference to Indians?
In fact Jaggy should resign from PPP leadership role as he is out of the running for president. He is now a liability and serves no purpose being in the public eye other than to give his critics opportunity to badmouth the PPP for his actions.
Mars posted:Drugb posted:These sloppy seconds boys trying to make mileage out of a commonly used Guyanese word. While the president should have been more mindful of being politically correct, it is a commonly used word and widely accepted. But what is important is that Jagdeo is not running for president so I don't follow what sloppy boys are looking to gain here.
How come you weren't crying when Amna Ally called PPP Member of Parliament Alistair Charlie, a stupid buck in the National Assembly in the presence of the Speaker of the House who overlooked her comment. People, y'all give me a break.
Bibi Haniffa posted:How come you weren't crying when Amna Ally called PPP Member of Parliament Alistair Charlie, a stupid buck in the National Assembly in the presence of the Speaker of the House who overlooked her comment. People, y'all give me a break.
When was that ? you have the clip ?
Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Mars, the audio sounds different every time I replay it. 1stly I hear "duck people". 2ndly I hear " puck people ". 3rdly I hear "suck people". 4thly I hear "juck people". Wha yuh hear?
Jagdeo in his statement claimed that he said βeverybodyβ then he paused and said βpeopleβ afterwards. Heβs lying through his teeth. I heard βbuck peopleβ every time and I listened to it at least five times. Also you can look at the video and there is no pause in his mouth which matches the voice. I think he made a mistake but he was probably thinking about the word βbuckβ when he used it incorrectly. Like you said, a Freudian slip. Apologize is the manly thing to do instead of lying.
Indeed, first time I listened to the audio I heard the B-word, but I was just making light of the lapse. BJ's critics however will go for his jugular with this one. A political leader of his stature ought to be circumspect with his utterances.
Jagdeo is guilty of calling Amerindians "Buck" people,tough for him to wiggle out of this one.
Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
Gilbakka posted:Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
I would never compare Amna to Jagdeo. Why should she be excused? Are PNC Ministers now above the law?
I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
I cant remember when a Guyanese politician apologize for anything.
By the way, what is the correct word he should use??
VishMahabir posted:I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
I agree, I did not see the apology and if he did, kudos to him!
Did the PNC ever apologize to the racism against the Indian masses as Trotman had proposed when he was with them? No, they deny any wrongdoing!
The correct word is Amerindian! Buck = Coolie = Ni66er
Gilbakka posted:Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
She should not be excused. No official Rep of any national political establishment should be exempt from basic minimum standard. Referring to the various ethnicities in derogatory terms has to be a "basic minimum" in any political circles!
Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
I would never compare Amna to Jagdeo. Why should she be excused? Are PNC Ministers now above the law?
Yes. They've been behaving above the law a good while. Examples: Volda's bottle throwing in front Red House, Simona's removal of No Parking signs that don't belong to her, Granger painting State House green against National Trust Act etc.
Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
Yes. They've been behaving above the law a good while. Examples: Volda's bottle throwing in front Red House, Simona's removal of No Parking signs that don't belong to her, Granger painting State House green against National Trust Act etc.
Sooo.....what's your point?
Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:Don't compare Jagdeo to that foulmouthed Amna. She could be excused because she doesn't know better. BJ should know better.
Jagdeo thinks he is still above with his usual race baiting.
Alyu confusing de hell ah our Chinese home-stay students, who read GNI.
Dem want to know if they can go shoot ah buck [animal in our forest].
But me tell dem me hear BJ said bruk people, like some low life on GNI who put down others, instead ah building dem up.
Gil bhai, me had some sweet curry Gilbakka recently in London, but me disappointed fa na having tea wid de queen. Stay good y'hear.
Tola posted:Alyu confusing de hell ah our Chinese home-stay students, who read GNI.
But me tell dem me hear BJ said bruk people, like some low life on GNI who put down others, instead ah building dem up.
Gil bhai, me had some sweet curry Gilbakka recently in London, but me disappointed fa na having tea wid de queen. Stay good y'hear.
Hey bhai, when yuh bin all dis time?
Gilbakka posted:Tola posted:Alyu confusing de hell ah our Chinese home-stay students, who read GNI.
Water projects at the country of 'the White Massai' and nearby places.
Also some places south of Guyana.
Me read about your injury. Ageing is a bytch. Fortunately, I can still move around.
Take care and I hope you document your rich personal history.
I am dealing with some museums in India re my historical collection/photographs from the 40s/50s/60s. They want to form a link with descendants of Guyanese Indenture Labourers.
Tola posted:Gilbakka posted:Tola posted:Alyu confusing de hell ah our Chinese home-stay students, who read GNI.
Water projects at the country of 'the White Massai' and nearby places.
Also some places south of Guyana.
Me read about your injury. Ageing is a bytch. Fortunately, I can still move around.
Take care and I hope you document your rich personal history.
I am dealing with some museums in India re my historical collection/photographs from the 40s/50s/60s. They want to form a link with descendants of Guyanese Indenture Labourers.
Good luck with your ventures, Tola. Stay healthy; it's the great asset in your senior years.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:Drugb posted:These sloppy seconds boys trying to make mileage out of a commonly used Guyanese word. While the president should have been more mindful of being politically correct, it is a commonly used word and widely accepted. But what is important is that Jagdeo is not running for president so I don't follow what sloppy boys are looking to gain here.
How come you weren't crying when Amna Ally called PPP Member of Parliament Alistair Charlie, a stupid buck in the National Assembly in the presence of the Speaker of the House who overlooked her comment. People, y'all give me a break.
I never heard of the incident with Amna Ally but if she said that then she should also be admonished. We should not allow this kind of bigotry coming from foul-mouthed people who are leaders in our society.
VishMahabir posted:I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
If Granger used the "C" word to describe Indians I bet you wouldn't accept an apology from him. You would be in front of the UN HQ citing that as evidence that Indians in Guyana face a looming holocaust.
True dat.
caribny posted:VishMahabir posted:I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
If Granger used the "C" word to describe Indians I bet you wouldn't accept an apology from him. You would be in front of the UN HQ citing that as evidence that Indians in Guyana face a looming holocaust.
Bai, Thatβs a whole different scale and dimension. Trotman asked the PNC to apologize to Indians for the wrongs done to us under the Burnham era. The PNC refused saying no wrong was ever done, is only in we head!!
Mars posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:
I never heard of the incident with Amna Ally but if she said that then she should also be admonished. We should not allow this kind of bigotry coming from foul-mouthed people who are leaders in our society.
Hey Marsy, if I seh Putagee, is that offensive to Portuguese people?
caribny posted:VishMahabir posted:I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
Difference is that Granger is in power and is held to a different standard while Jagdeo is a has been. In all those years that Jagdeo serves as president did he call people nyggas and buckman?
Baseman posted:Mars posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Mars posted:
Hey Marsy, if I seh Putagee, is that offensive to Portuguese people?
I think it has offensive connotations in some ways which it was used. The "Putagee Bumba, fart Cucumba" ditty for example, but some people don't care if you call them that.
Drugb posted:.......in all those years that Jagdeo serves as president did he call people nyggas and buckman?
Nope..he just had them killed.
Oh yeh, he only said black people does knock drum an dance an they gonna rape yo girl chiren dem.
Drugb posted:caribny posted:VishMahabir posted:I understand the need to be politically correct, but de man did apologise...does that count for anything?
Difference is that Granger is in power and is held to a different standard while Jagdeo is a has been. In all those years that Jagdeo serves as president did he call people nyggas and buckman?
Total gibberish, one will say you argue like a goat.
Jagdeo always pull the race card to keep East Indians in fold.Granger is much smarter and will never address Guyanese using derogatory terms.
Baseman posted:Bai, Thatβs a whole different scale and dimension. Trotman asked the PNC to apologize to Indians for the wrongs done to us under the Burnham era. The PNC refused saying no wrong was ever done, is only in we head!!
The PPP has yet to apologize for what they did to blacks. They do love to have their House Slaves spending all day lying though. One of them screamed that 90% of GECOM were blacks and then it turned out that LESS than 50%.
We are still waiting for Jagdeo to answer why there were no black heads of overseas missions and why almost all of the heads of state owned commissions and corporations were Indians.
So here is what we do. The PPP apologizes for what they did to blacks and the PNC for Indians TOGETHER. If the PPP refuses than the PNC has NO reason to oblige.
Now I know that Indians think that they are better then blacks. Crying about their lost sugar jobs while they howled with glee when bauxite workers lost theirs. Screamed "black man lazy and ungrateful". Well here is what the gov't should do...β¦β¦β¦β¦..give sugar workers cheap electricity. After all that was sufficient for the laid off bauxite workers so you should be happy if the laid off sugar workers get the same!