Families of dead Linden protesters disappointed with compensation amountsPDF | Print |
Written by Kwesi Isles   
Friday, 01 March 2013 19:48
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
coi_opposition
President Donald Ramotar (in black and white shirt) presents copies of the Commission of Inquiry Report to Opposition Leader, David Granger and Alliance For Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan. (GINA photo)

The father of one of the Linden protesters shot dead by police on July 18 is “disappointed” with the amount being offered as compensation for his son’s life.

Twenty-four-year-old Shemroy Bouyea was killed along with Allan Lewis and Ron Somerset during a protest against electricity tariff increase in Linden which led to police intervention. The Commission of Inquiry appointed by President Donald Ramotar submitted its report to the Guyanese leader on Thursday and though there has been no official release of the findings copies have surfaced in the media.

According to the report seen by Demerara Waves Online News the families of Bouyea and Lewis are to be compensated to the tune of GUY$3M while Somerset’s family is to receive GUY$2M. Bouyea’s father Clebert Duke gave his views based on the reports that have since surfaced about the compensation.

“A 15-year-old boy, he’s still alive and he would still be able to earn, he was given $6M when his genitals was burnt, a 24-year-old, physically challenged to a point who in spite of disability still had the presence of mind to fend for himself and his family and in exercising his democratic right was denied life the extent to which his dependents are given $3M,” Duke said.

His reference was to the case of a teenager whose genitals were burnt by the police while in custody in connection with the murder of a regional official in 2009. The court awarded the youth $6.5M which the government paid last year.  

Duke said he was disappointed with the compensation since it appeared as though life was not worth much. He added that his son was healthy and even if public assistance was extended to him from July 18, 2012 to cover what could reasonably be assumed to be his life expectancy the figure offered “ain’t mek it.”

His sentiments were echoed by Lewis’s brother Clyde.

“We haven’t seen anything in black and white, it’s just people telling us they saw it on the net but based on what I heard I’m not satisfied, if what I heard is true I’m not satisfied and I guess the other families aren’t either,” Lewis said in a brief telephone interview.

Somerset’s mother Margaret Somerset migrated to Suriname shortly after her son’s funeral and could not be reached immediately.

Bouyea’s mother had testified before the Commission that her son used to do odd jobs for someone in the market for $10,000 a week, half of which he would give to her to help with his two brothers aged 15 and 29. The woman explained that her surviving sons both have mental disabilities and do not work.

However, the commissioners in their report said they did not believed Bouyea earned $10,000 a week and awarded the $3M figure in light of the “peculiar family circumstances.”

Meanwhile, Clyde Lewis had testified that his 46-year-old brother had worked intermittently as a mason, carpenter and handyman and took care of their elderly mother Daphne but he was unable to present a clear estimate of his earnings. Asked by the commission how often his brother would work Lewis averaged about three-quarters of the year in total. The Commission also heard that Lewis financially supported his 21-year-old son Rodwell at the University of Guyana to the tune of some $50,000 a month.

“We do not believe that the son, Rodwell, who attends the University of Guyana, received a monthly support of $50,000 from his father who only worked periodically. Taking all these circumstances into consideration, we feel that his estate should be awarded the sum of three million dollars ($3,000,000) …” the Commission’s report stated.

In Somerset’s case the body said it was also not sold on his mother’s testimony that the 18-year-old was providing her with financial support and it dubbed her “a most unimpressive witness.” 

They should be grateful as their family members were breaking the law and destroying property.  What compensation did Fr Darke's family receive.  The PNC and AFC should contribute to funds to these families as they incited and egged-on the protestor.

So if you break the law then the police have a right to shoot you and the family should be grateful for a lil pittance? What nonsense!

Originally Posted by God:

So if you break the law then the police have a right to shoot you and the family should be grateful for a lil pittance? What nonsense!

Actually, if you break the law, threaten life and property and disobey orders to cease and desist and the police enforce they law and you die, you could have no right to compensation.  Maybe you guys could seek compensation for Fineman and Skinny.

the precarious financial condition of these NOT atypical Linden families simply leaps out of this account

Brassington and the other fat PPP f**ks in Georgetown talking about low unemployment in the country should be jailed for even attempting that insulting lie

the dire financial condition of these NOT atypical Linden families simply leaps out of this account

Brassington and the other fat PPP f**ks in Georgetown talking about low unemployment in the country should be jailed for even attempting that insulting lie

Hmm, so were the seeking unemployment insurance payments?

the dire financial condition of these NOT atypical Linden families simply leaps out of this account

Hmm, so were the seeking unemployment insurance payments?

gibberish much?

Actually, if you break the law, threaten life and property and disobey orders to cease and desist and the police enforce they law and you die, you could have no right to compensation.  Maybe you guys could seek compensation for Fineman and Skinny.

What nonsense once again. The police are not enforcing the law by shooting protestors to death. They should disperse them or arrest them, not murder them. The Greeks had much more violent protests every day for weeks in the streets. Did you see the police shoot them dead like dogs?

As I said, I doubt it was police bullets.  I think the extremists shot the protestors to incite trouble in the nation.  They failed again.

Good thing your opinion had no weight towards the guilty verdict that the COI handed down on the police. Your judgement is clouded by your hatred for blacks so you'd come up with any loony story to blame the protestors.  On the first day of the COI, the Police Commissioner admitted that the police were responsible for the shooting so this guilty verdict is no surprise to me. 

Hello donkey god, the COI report said that the police are culpable even though there were no "direct evidence" that the shots were fired from the police guns. Ballistic test proved that the shots were not fired from the police guns. The report stated the police were the only ones with guns on the day of the riot created by APNU, however, the commission did not witness the riot, and all the testimonies given to them were from APNU supporters who sworn to lie under oath. The COI report also stated that APNU is responsible to starting the riot which killed and injured innocent people along with lost of property. 

wTF is your point?

1) Rohee is not responsible for the shooting according the COI report.

2) APNU is the main cause of the riot according to the report.

3) AFC responsible for Agricola riot.

4) We receive a third world justice when the police were found culpable without any evidence. Jackass god, in America without any evidence, the defendant goes free. The COI throw a bone for the opposition to keep them calm.

wTF is your point?

The point is what you pretend not to understand. Just push the point up your ass hole and you will feel how sharp it is.

Jackass god, the riot was instigated by politics. APNU is solely responsible for the death of innocent people and the destruction of properties. The rioters who were shot and killed should not be compensated by taxpayers dollars. The police act in a professional manner and restrain themselves during the entire ordeal.

The point is what you pretend not to understand. Just push the point up your ass hole and you will feel how sharp it is.

i doan speak ignar . . . so i need translashun

the other part about "push[ing]" stuff up "ass hole" . . . well, i just have to take your word for it; you're obviously a practicing expert

They should be grateful as their family members were breaking the law and destroying property. 

There is no evidence to support your claims that any of the murdered victims destroyed any property. What is certain is that the regime was hell bent on murdering Lindeners.

PJ the mudhead moron. The COI found that there was no "direct evidence" because there was no video tape showing the police actually doing the shooting and there was no police officer who came forward and admitted to firing his weapon on protestors. However, based on a preponderance of the evidence presented to the commission, they found the police guilty of firing their weapons on the protestors, killing some and injuring others. The commissioner of police also carried out an internal investigation within the police force and based on this investigation, he testified at the COI that the police fired on the protestors resulting in deaths and injuries. There was no ballistic test which proved that the police did not shoot the protestors. You must have dreamt that one up. The commision did not find that a riot killed the protestors, they ruled that the police killed the protestors. Guilty is the verdict - you may not like it but you have to live with it, bitch. Get your facts straight before you shoot shit.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They should be grateful as their family members were breaking the law and destroying property. 

There is no evidence to support your claims that any of the murdered victims destroyed any property. What is certain is that the regime was hell bent on murdering Lindeners.

Did the COI come to that conclusion, or you in your own demented mind.

Hear this PPP crab Baseman.  If it was his child, the whole of Manhattan would have had to hear his story.

A better deal would have been a social security annuity set up that paid the primary beneficiary what a pensioner gets for the rest of their lives. 

That means right now they get $10,000 per month and when it raise to $15,000 next month after the budget, they get that and so on for the REST OF THEIR LIVES.  The State owes these three families for allowing agents of the PPP STATE to cut them down in the prime of their lives.

In addition to that they should have gotten a lump sum to cover the funeral expenses and other distress cost of no less than G$1 million.

G$$3 million in Guyana cannot even build a simple house and will disappear.  Remember Bharat house cost $400 million.

The Jamaican Commissioners were on the PPP payroll, that is a certainty.

Originally Posted by Devindra:

Hear this PPP crab Baseman.  If it was his child, the whole of Manhattan would have had to hear his story.

A better deal would have been a social security annuity set up that paid the primary beneficiary what a pensioner gets for the rest of their lives. 

That means right now they get $10,000 per month and when it raise to $15,000 next month after the budget, they get that and so on for the REST OF THEIR LIVES.  The State owes these three families for allowing agents of the PPP STATE to cut them down in the prime of their lives.

In addition to that they should have gotten a lump sum to cover the funeral expenses and other distress cost of no less than G$1 million.

G$$3 million in Guyana cannot even build a simple house and will disappear.  Remember Bharat house cost $400 million.

And whose payroll are you on?  The PPP was very kind in agreeing to pay when the persons were involved in breaking the law.  The GoG, like baseman, may believe force was somewhat excessive even though the police was doing their job.

Both sides got something tough you may not like the outcome.

And whose payroll are you on?  The PPP was very kind in agreeing to pay when the persons were involved in breaking the law.  The GoG, like baseman, may believe force was somewhat excessive even though the police was doing their job.

I am on the PAYROLL of UNCLE SAM!

God bless America!

I pay my full taxes and I love this country.

All my children were born here and my eldest is in the Navy in Japan defending the RED, WHITE AND BLUE.

So I am on America's payroll.

To the real point

I read in the Guyana press that the PPP can pay Baseman Boss - Babby some $4,000 million every year for medical supplies, in some cases 10 times more than the real value but this PPP bunch of tief man can't pay a family a proper compensation.

That is why America is great and Guyana is a back water banana republic. 

Pay Babby less and pay the people more!

God bless America!

All my children were born here and my eldest is in the Navy in Japan defending the RED, WHITE AND BLUE.

To the real point

I read in the Guyana press that the PPP can pay Baseman Boss - Babby some $4,000 million every year for medical supplies, in some cases 10 times more than the real value but this PPP bunch of tief man can't pay a family a proper compensation.

So then butt out and enjoy the banana!!  You have no interest no wonder you are supporting instigators of mayhem, you have nothing to lose.

God bless America!

To the real point

So then butt out, you have no interest no wonder you are supporting instigators of mayhem, you have nothing to lose.

How DARE YOU CRAB tell me how to write!

Look know your place little boy.

Me and me FADA can look any person in their eyes as proud human being, not like you a crab that works for a tiefing regime washing their dirty linen.

ME AND ME FADA ARE BORN GUYANESE.

Unfortunately me FADA was a Jaganite. 

Now run into the hole you emerged from you crab!

They should have received nothing as it was not proven that the police shot any of them.  Even if the police did shoot them then it was done out of fear of life and limb from the rabid dogs rioting. 

Well said bro. I would say my dogs are more valuable than these dead thugs. The only good thug is a dead thug.

According to Baseman black people had no rights and should be grateful that they received something.  In his demented and sick mind Guyana belongs to "Indos". Had it been "Indos" who were murdered he would be singing a different tune.  As a matter of fact he is of the opinion that blacks should be shot on sight.  Baseman is lowly racist coward who like Rev and his ilk are tigers behind their keyboards.  Guyanese beware of these agents of hate.   

Originally Posted by FC:

According to Baseman black people had no rights and should be grateful that they received something.  In his demented and sick mind Guyana belongs to "Indos". Had it been "Indos" who were murdered he would be singing a different tune.  As a matter of fact he is of the opinion that blacks should be shot on sight.  Baseman is lowly racist coward who like Rev and his ilk are tigers behind their keyboards.  Guyanese beware of these agents of hate.   

An ILLITERATE Jackas like you can only spew Garbage. I never saw Baseman making such statements.

Originally Posted by FC:

An ILLITERATE Jackas like you can only spew Garbage. I never saw Baseman making such statements.

You are the leader of the illiterate on the site.

God bless America!

To the real point

So then butt out, you have no interest no wonder you are supporting instigators of mayhem, you have nothing to lose.

How DARE YOU CRAB tell me how to write!

Look know your place little boy.

Me and me FADA can look any person in their eyes as proud human being, not like you a crab that works for a tiefing regime washing their dirty linen.

ME AND ME FADA ARE BORN GUYANESE.

Unfortunately me FADA was a Jaganite. 

Now run into the hole you emerged from you crab!

I will tell you what ever I want, get used to it.

You are born Guyanese but live outside.  Let the people there decide what's right for them.