The PPP are out of office right now because they gave the voters the chance to chose their government and they chose the Coalition.

This is the reason they gotta stay in govt, they were placed in govt by the people and only by the people should they be removed....not by the party that was tossed aside by the people.

The recent LGE emboldened the PPP to bring a constitution facilitated NCV against the government. This kind of instrument is used in many parts of the world including countries that have far better records of being democratic than Guyana has been. Those countries' governments were also voted by the people but yet tossed out by parliamentarians. What the PPP did regarding the NCV is nothing unheard of.

The PPP are out of office right now because they gave the voters the chance to chose their government and they chose the Coalition.

This is the reason they gotta stay in govt, they were placed in govt by the people and only by the people should they be removed....not by the party that was tossed aside by the people.

The recent LGE emboldened the PPP to bring a constitution facilitated NCV against the government. This kind of instrument is used in many parts of the world including countries that have far better records of being democratic than Guyana has been. Those countries' governments were also voted by the people but yet tossed out by parliamentarians. What the PPP did regarding the NCV is nothing unheard of.

Well, there is always talk of amending Burnham's constitution now seems a good time.

Shahrazad posted:

Democracy should prevail in Guyana, but we know the history of the PNC aka APNU  - destruction.  If the situation in Guyana were reversed, APNU supporters would take to the streets and do their ills. 

We also know the PPP were tasked to transition us into a deliberative democracy but instead carved out a few labels from burnham's constitution and kept all its dictatorial authority in place because they felt they had the majority to remain in office forever.  Well we are here now after two decades of PPP looting the state with an APNU deciding they had enough and are struggling tooth and nail to stay in office. I do not blame them given the PPP walked all over black people. I pity what would happen if either party get absolute majority and are able to lay their kleptocratic hands on oil money with now restraint.  Pray for a middle way else Sudan, here we come. 

D2, the PNC has had much more years of walking all over Indian people. In fact, their infractions go back to even before Independence. Why then are you holding the PPP to more blame than the PNC. The most recent act of defiance is being perpetuated by the PNC led coalition government as they drag their feet regarding the holding of early elections. I remember telling you before the 2015 elections that I was sure that the PNC would do just as they are doing right now regarding elections and you assured me that times have changed and with intelligence and surveillance everywhere, they will not be able to do so. I am still counting on you being right on that. The PPP are out of office right now because they gave the voters the chance to chose their government and they chose the Coalition. The PNC still has to demonstrate that they will do so by March 19th 2019.

Never said the PPP  or the PNC can ever change. Our constitution encourages them to be crooks. I am also never of the opinion that humans are naturally evil. I am convinced the go evil if they have the opportunity to commit evil acts and not get caught. I believe in systems that coerce humans to be their best so you got it wrong that I could ever agree the PNC could ever by anything but crooks like the PPP in our present system

I am sorry. I didn't mean that you felt that the PNC could not be crooked. I was referring to your reassurance that with today's technologies via social media, and other intelligence, the PNC would not be able to act as they did prior to 1993. I am not contesting whether the PPP and PNC are crooked. I loosely regard all politicians as crooked. I was just pointing out that the PNC has had more years of walking all over Indians than the PPP has had of walking all over blacks. In fact, the PNC has been walking all over Indians even before Independence and ever during the years of PPP governments with their slo fiah mo fiah violence. If the criteria is based on who walked more over people, the PNC are more guilty and as such they hold more blame.

Well, there is always talk of amending Burnham's constitution now seems a good time.

I agree. The PPP did some work. They should have done more. The Coalition promised to complete it within their first 100 days. It is now 1262 days since the end of those first 100 days.

D2 posted

B78B102E-C308-4928-B79E-197E3B00FEB1

Bannas yuh wicked yeah, d2, cribby, mars, t, dj, cain and the sloppy boys will go into epileptic convulsions and incessant ranting and ravings just at the sight of this man's photo. 

No we dont. We just pity people like you who think that he is a God.

Btw folks are laughing at "President" Irfat.  He will do you all proud in September at the UN.

ore years of walking all over Indians than the PPP has had of walking all over blacks. In fact, the PNC has been walking all over Indians even before Independence and ever during the years of PPP governments with their slo fiah mo fiah violence. If the criteria is based on who walked more over people, the PNC are more guilty and as such they hold more blame.

Hmmm. Ksazma NEVER talks about race.

We must advocate and fight for Legalizing Marijuana Now. What ya tink?

Btw folks are laughing at "President" Irfat.  He will do you all proud in September at the UN.

Nonsense, you can't go a day without a good dose of Jagdeo bashing. Your type still angry about events that happened more than 8 years ago when the man was last president, this is a sick obsession.  Now run along and enjoy your daily does of Jagdeo. 

The sight of Jagdeo picture  have him stupid ... he’s making up stories on the other thread.. I see Kaz slamming his arss  

Funny, girl. Did you kill Drugb and take his nick? 

I noticed you posted about aids, how is that working out for you?

Girl, we're working on eradicating it; I help a Dr. teach a medical course at GWU; etc. Some of us noticed you've been using Druggy's nick for many months now. He was a respectable debater and we hope he's ok. Late at nights you pour vile language on Carib, Cain, Mr. T and Django.

Sure..you start I'll follow.

Girl, we're working on eradicating it; I help a Dr. teach a medical course at GWU; etc. Some of us noticed you've been using Druggy's nick for many months now. He was a respectable debater and we hope he's ok. Late at nights you pour vile language on Carib, Cain, Mr. T and Django.

As a health practitioner I am qualified to offer her some good advice. 

She should request someone in Guyana to send her some cowitch and place them in her panty....should quench that thirst.

Guyana should legalize weed. The courts have been backlogged with these unnecessary cases and charges. It is legal in Canada and life is Normal here. 

I have to dig out that Peter Tosh vinyl.

I visited one of the 75 dispensaries while in Calgary (Ontario only getting 25) to check out their wares and I must say the prices are much higher than off the street plus taxes are added. They carry various brands with the most expensive being one by Snoopdog.

I was expecting to see smoke billowing all over the place but it ain't so. I might be wrong but it seems once legal I think the appeal is lost.

Guyana should legalize weed. The courts have been backlogged with these unnecessary cases and charges. It is legal in Canada and life is Normal here. 

I visited one of the 75 dispensaries while in Calgary (Ontario only getting 25) to check out their wares and I must say the prices are much higher than off the street plus taxes are added. They carry various brands with the most expensive being one by Snoopdog.

I was expecting to see smoke billowing all over the place but it ain't so. I might be wrong but it seems once legal I think the appeal is lost.

I had four trees last year of which I collected 10 peanut jars full. I gave them out as Xmas gifts to my Jamaican Bros and I made a big jar of tea, some still in the fridge. I have some seeds which I will start around April in a green house. Four plants per family, maybe plant 4 up north and 4 in TO. Try the tea, 1/4 pt at night and the best sleep ever.

Buying from the Government outlet is expensive, so the underground trade is still flourishing.

Legalizing it is the way forward. As you observed, I also did not see smoke bellowing everywhere. It makes it safer too and reduces crime. The market will sort itself out. 

When it was illegal I saw more people puffing freely, now people are more discreet. You smell but can't see.

I agree. Canadians are very civil about it. Guyana should follow the same path. 

Three years ago while in Jamaica, I never saw anyone smoking, but I would smell the herb. I was at Ocho Rios and just outside of my patio there was a small tree, I showed the gardener, he took me to an area in the compound that had trees about 6 foot tall, I touched the bud and the smell lingered for a long while, I made sure I washed it off before returning to Canada.

Even though I don’t drink or smoke, I respect people’s right to legally engage In what they feel is right for them. 

Legalising weed is the best way forward, it reduces crime and people will still smoke it if they want to. They don’t have to risk going into crime infested areas to purchase their weed.

Hehe, well I hope he’s being amply rewarded. I know I was when Immy nick was loaned!

GNI has slowly become a lil brothel.

Hehe, well I hope he’s being amply rewarded. I know I was when Immy nick was loaned!

GNI has slowly become a lil brothel.

Ok Skites !!!! No wonder you hearing about lube,oiling .. etc..

Shahrazad posted:

Democracy should prevail in Guyana, but we know the history of the PNC aka APNU  - destruction.  If the situation in Guyana were reversed, APNU supporters would take to the streets and do their ills. 

We also know the PPP were tasked to transition us into a deliberative democracy but instead carved out a few labels from burnham's constitution and kept all its dictatorial authority in place because they felt they had the majority to remain in office forever.  Well we are here now after two decades of PPP looting the state with an APNU deciding they had enough and are struggling tooth and nail to stay in office. I do not blame them given the PPP walked all over black people. I pity what would happen if either party get absolute majority and are able to lay their kleptocratic hands on oil money with now restraint.  Pray for a middle way else Sudan, here we come. 

D2, the PNC has had much more years of walking all over Indian people. In fact, their infractions go back to even before Independence. Why then are you holding the PPP to more blame than the PNC. The most recent act of defiance is being perpetuated by the PNC led coalition government as they drag their feet regarding the holding of early elections. I remember telling you before the 2015 elections that I was sure that the PNC would do just as they are doing right now regarding elections and you assured me that times have changed and with intelligence and surveillance everywhere, they will not be able to do so. I am still counting on you being right on that. The PPP are out of office right now because they gave the voters the chance to chose their government and they chose the Coalition. The PNC still has to demonstrate that they will do so by March 19th 2019.

Never said the PPP  or the PNC can ever change. Our constitution encourages them to be crooks. I am also never of the opinion that humans are naturally evil. I am convinced the go evil if they have the opportunity to commit evil acts and not get caught. I believe in systems that coerce humans to be their best so you got it wrong that I could ever agree the PNC could ever by anything but crooks like the PPP in our present system

I am sorry. I didn't mean that you felt that the PNC could not be crooked. I was referring to your reassurance that with today's technologies via social media, and other intelligence, the PNC would not be able to act as they did prior to 1993. I am not contesting whether the PPP and PNC are crooked. I loosely regard all politicians as crooked. I was just pointing out that the PNC has had more years of walking all over Indians than the PPP has had of walking all over blacks. In fact, the PNC has been walking all over Indians even before Independence and ever during the years of PPP governments with their slo fiah mo fiah violence. If the criteria is based on who walked more over people, the PNC are more guilty and as such they hold more blame.

I also never made any assurances that the PNC will be curtailed by social media. The political class in our society has always been barefaced shameless. They are actually facilitated in their larceny by supporters on social media. 

Take a look here and then on face book.  The PPP exist as if they are saints. The reality is they are black hearted crooks. The same goes for the other side. My contention is that the only constraint on excessive use of power and crookedness are systems to auto correct when things skew one way.

We see that happening in the US. The first two years of the trump administration was unfettered. Congress never did due oversight. It has been one  month now since the people send in new stewards and there are multidimensional auto correction checks being hurled at the presidency. With congress not doing its due intelligence only the courts curtailed his excesses.

In Guyana, we have no checks to the authority of the ruling party except lack of knowledge at the nuances of graft or an entrenched system of patrimony.  The PPP had patrimony at multilevel deep. They made most civil servants into contract workers so they were devoid of union representation and therefore were completely at t he mercy of the minister. The PNC dismantled that system but they are slowly rebuilding it with their own supplicants. That is what I said would curtail thievery; the social and political knowledge and capacity to execute wide spread graft. It takes years to build up to capacity here. This is why I do not care if we flip flop between the two in the absence of systemic checks and balances.   

I agree. The PPP did some work. They should have done more. The Coalition promised to complete it within their first 100 days. It is now 1262 days since the end of those first 100 days.

The PPP did no work. They stripped away the overt socialist garb and clothed that with democratic verbiage. Every other burnhamite prerogative still exist in the document. 

The document was created by a self thought legal scholar with no training in constitutional law. It was like a class project where he and his associate had sole discretion and where they cut and paste from various Westminster models to craft this loathsome document. There is no scholarly commentary on the various sections as we have with the US constitution in Publius.

Our constitution came whole as Athena from Zeus's head except it is a deformed child and not the goddess of wisdom, We have no documentation on deliberations as to why or how any position is taken. Furthermore, it was foisted on us via a rigged referendum. Even the PPP had the mantra that it was a fraud and not t he people's will. Until they came into power of course!

We need to trash this document and debate the best plan ie federalism, non territorial federalism, bicameralism, unicameral ism, republicanism, multi constituencies vs single constituencies, one person one vote vs multi vote etc. We also want a bill of rights at  the beginning and it must be concise...not more than 30 pages long. This one is in the hundreds. After  deliberations a new one should rise. That is about a two year process.

I had four trees last year of which I collected 10 peanut jars full. I gave toon we will see commerc ials like the ones for meds; use only as directedbbbncentrations of CBhem out as Xmas gifts to my Jamaican Bros and I made a big jar of tea, some still in the fridge. I have some seeds which I will start around April in a green house. Four plants per family, maybe plant 4 up north and 4 in TO. Try the tea, 1/4 pt at night and the best sleep ever.

Buying from the Government outlet is expensive, so the underground trade is still flourishing.

They have now found too high concentrations of CBD (used for pain) can cause pressure buildup in the eyes. Soon we will see ads like those for meds; Use as directed. Can cause headaches,  dry mouth, hives, goady, liver failure, rotted teeth, death.

I had four trees last year of which I collected 10 peanut jars full. I gave toon we will see commerc ials like the ones for meds; use only as directedbbbncentrations of CBhem out as Xmas gifts to my Jamaican Bros and I made a big jar of tea, some still in the fridge. I have some seeds which I will start around April in a green house. Four plants per family, maybe plant 4 up north and 4 in TO. Try the tea, 1/4 pt at night and the best sleep ever.

They have now found too high concentrations of CBD (used for pain) can cause pressure buildup in the eyes. Soon we will see ads like those for meds; Use as directed. Can cause headaches,  dry mouth, hives, goady, liver failure, rotted teeth, death.

Are we speaking about the same herb?

***** ... you should stop smoke this herb.

Hope you notice I said.."we will see ads like those for meds" over the counter and prescription meds come with those warnings.

The way I heard it, medical erb containing CBD oil is not for smoking it is ingested.

cain posted

Sure..you start I'll follow.

I was hoping I would get a health care expert with some experience. I was once around some dudes who smoked it. Never tried cigs or any illegal drugs. I see some medical professional advocating for legalizing it with strict controls.

The man is Burnham's mentee, and as evil as Burnham was so he deserves to be chastised.

But you can grovel and kiss his toes as this is all that you can do in life.

We need to trash this document and debate the best plan ie federalism, non territorial federalism, bicameralism, unicameral ism, republicanism, multi constituencies vs single constituencies, one person one vote vs multi vote etc. We also want a bill of rights at  the beginning and it must be concise...not more than 30 pages long. This one is in the hundreds. After  deliberations a new one should rise. That is about a two year process.

You are still with this Federalism.   What Guyana needs is stronger local gov't and representation at a national level can be built from there.  Guyanese need to learn that they have to hold their leaders accountable. This is easier when they can force those responsible for drainage, sanitation and other functions of local gov't to perform.

I was hoping I would get a health care expert with some experience. I was once around some dudes who smoked it. Never tried cigs or any illegal drugs. I see some medical professional advocating for legalizing it with strict controls.

I find it interesting that all of those who lecture us on maintaining proper diets and lifestyles now encourage another vice.  Yes marijuana should be decriminalized but legalization outside of medicinal use is a non starter in the short term. 

It does have adverse medical impacts if not used under the supervision of a healthcare professional and there are still no fraud proof standards in place for standardizing the composition and type of marijuana which is sold.

In a country like Guyana which is incompetent and corrupt I suggest that they stay away from legalizing recreational use for the time being.  That is until we can assess what is happening in Canada, CA and other places where they have done this.