GINTASTIC CILANTRO LIME SHRIMP

Return to Dinner

Return to Main Course

Return to Lunch

It’s quick and easy and oh-so-tasty any time of year. Be warned, the shrimp cook FAST! Be careful not to overcook them – over-cooked shrimp are rubbery, tough, and just blah. Cook the shrimp, stirring frequently, until the shrimp are nice and pink and opaque. Then, get them out of the skillet!

INGREDIENTS

• 1 lb Shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 21 tbsp Olive oil
  • 4 Cloves garlic, minced
  • β…› tsp Red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 tbsp Cilantro, chopped
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 3 tbsp Fresh lime juice (approx. 1 1/2 limes)
  • 1 tsp Lime zest
  • Β½ tsp Salt (or to taste)
  • Β½ tsp Fresh ground pepper (or to taste)
  • ΒΌ cup Gin

DIRECTIONS

1. Peel and devein the shrimp, leaving the tails on or off to your preference.

2. In a medium-sized bowl (or a large resealable plastic bag). Combine 2 tablespoons of olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes, cilantro, honey, lime juice, lime zest, salt, and pepper. Give it a good whish (or squish) to combine all the ingredients.

3. Add the uncooked shrimp and toss to ensure all the shrimp are covered with the marinade. Put the bowl (or bag) in the fridge and let the shrimp marinate for 15 to 20 minutes. Don’t go longer than 20 minutes.

4. When you are ready to cook, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Using a slotted spoon remove the shrimp from the marinade.

5. Add the drained shrimp to the hot oil and cook quickly for 2 minutes, flip, and then add the marinade to the skillet. Let it cook for 30 seconds and then add the gin to the skillet. It will sizzle and steam. Scrape up any bits on the bottom of the pan to deglaze it and continue cooking for about 2 minutes or until the shrimp are opaque and orange-pink. Do not overcook!

6. Adjust the seasoning, if necessary. Remove the shrimp from the pan and cook the sauce a minute or two longer to reduce, if desired OR use the sauce the way it is and pour it onto your rice or noodles.

7. Serve immediately over rice, rice noodles or zucchini noodles topped with additional cilantro and garnished with lime slices.

8. Optional garnishes: chopped cilantro, lime slices

@Wildflower posted:

Twenty one tbsp of olive oil???!!!

no ginger? Oh ginπŸ˜πŸ˜„πŸ˜†

I know.. lord they can say 1:4 cup olive oil eh!!

i didnt notice thus whn i posted if not i would have edited .. i think its an error , it should be 2 tbsp oil!!
Hmmm Gin!!  Sounds interesting!

i use red n white cooking wine in certain dishes but never heard abt Gin

Cain might like this! πŸ˜€

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@cain posted:

What Cain might like? Hope is not that half a bucket hoil mix up with wine an gin...that sounds like a wicked enema in da house.

Belly wuk in yuh tail hahaha

runnings..

u evah had  brooklax??

Me n my sissy teef 1 time..nah mek me tell u wht happened..esp since we latrine was a mile away from d house..

my sis saw the shiny silver wrapper n she tatsed it..then called me..n we had a feast!!

My big sista notice we running to the latrine every 5 mins n couldnt figure out why..eventually he had a brain wave n went to look in the cu where they brooklax  was kept..lown behold she ….

we beety sore like hell..plenty vaseline to coll um down..

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn