Django posted:skeldon_man posted:Django posted:skeldon_man posted:warrior posted:VishMahabir postWarria, Now you engaging in deflection. When we see corruption, we will call it so, with evidence, but it cant be based on your, and this govt utter disdain and hatred for Jagdeo and the PPP.
Look at it this way...if the corruption is there and the coalition can win this in the courts based on thieving from state resources, why did Harmon not say they will take the matter to court and file charges.
The backlash is it sounds like they are deflecting (like you) from the current problems, and more interested in making wild statements to make themselves look good and uncorruptible....
I would say the same for the other soup drinkers out here who are waiting and wishing for the sledgehammer to fall.
If, and when the evidence is there to support corruption, and they are not playing politics, I will call a spade a spade...
u is one of the people that need a torchlight to look for things in the dark that u can see by day.someday somebody with a little sense and human decency from the ppp will apologize to the guyanese people for all the corruption that take place within the barrat and ramotar watch,then and only then the ppp will be creditable again
When you investigate corruption, you do it objectively..both PPP and PNC .
Arright..skelly let us be objective,what time line should we start'
PNC-Burnham(the despot)1994 to 1985
PNC-Hoyte 1985 to 1992
PPP 1992 to 2015.
Here is my take we all aware how Burnham ruled Guyana,upon his death under Hoyte the country was on a path to democracy,then came with free and fair elections the PPP won and was in government for 23 years ,the country improved the GDP have increased,behind that improvement there was a lot of corrupt deals under the Jagdeo-Ramoutar gov't.
The current coalition gov't will be judged when their term is up.Take your pick give us your time line.
1964 - present.
My choice will be from 1985,most of the PNC boys gone to the beyond.
Let's investigate people; not PPP or PNC. Maybe Naga and Ramjattan might find themselves in the group too.
VishMahabir posted:warrior posted:VishMahabir posted:warrior posted:skeldon_man posted:VishMahabir posted:warrior posted:skeldon_man posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:This land was already repossessed by the PPP regime after Ed Ahmed failed to make payments. Harmon May have overlooked that. They have access to the Lands and Commissions files.
Nah! Harmon is deflecting attention of his government's corrupted practices and policies.
thieves sticking together
Knucklehead, you being very foolish again. Did you read the article?
A lot of fishy business been going on under the PPP (PNC too), but why are some of the facts left out in Harmon's accusations?
Vish, please don't try to reason with this fool. He's far gone. Mankind has given up on him. Only god can help him now and it seems like god has refused to intervene.
you ppp fools trying to find excuse for all the corruption that your part did first try saying u sorry and start to rebuild with some new members
Warria, Now you engaging in deflection. When we see corruption, we will call it so, with evidence, but it cant be based on your, and this govt utter disdain and hatred for Jagdeo and the PPP.
Look at it this way...if the corruption is there and the coalition can win this in the courts based on thieving from state resources, why did Harmon not say they will take the matter to court and file charges.
The backlash is it sounds like they are deflecting (like you) from the current problems, and more interested in making wild statements to make themselves look good and uncorruptible....
I would say the same for the other soup drinkers out here who are waiting and wishing for the sledgehammer to fall.
If, and when the evidence is there to support corruption, and they are not playing politics, I will call a spade a spade...
u is one of the people that need a torchlight to look for things in the dark that u can see by day.someday somebody with a little sense and human decency from the ppp will apologize to the guyanese people for all the corruption that take place within the barrat and ramotar watch,then and only then the ppp will be creditable again
This is going to happen, I suspect at some point...but the evidence has to come out to give people in the PPP a good reason to say "aha the leadership is corrupt" and then work to change the leadership. Its not going to work when the government is playing politics and ruling by soundbites...I say investigate the corruption, lay the charges and go to court and let the chips fall where they may. Otherwise this becomes he says and she says.
i honestly hope so guyana need the ppp to make sure we get good governance not only as the ruling party but also as a opposition,but the people have to be honest with themselves to speak out against all wrong doings regardless of race only then guyana can truly move forward.as a indian i am saying lets start with the ppp,let correct all the wrong that was done and expel the ppp members that degrade the party,start from fresh with people who is interested in moving the country forward.start with yourself its the best place to start from
Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:VishMahabir posted:Mr.T posted:VishMahabir posted:From what I read,the land was already repossessed by the PPP in the year after the lease was signed...this makes Harmon an idiot...looking for corruption in the wrong places
And where exactly did you read that? Was it ine of the documents that the PPP illegally took with them when vacating the ministries?
If you were not so gung ho in seeking corruption in everything associated with the PPP, you would have missed the article in GT.
I believe there is corruption associated with the PPP, but we need the evidence....Harmon forgot to mention the part thatthe gove took back the land.
"the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President."
Any wrong doing here??
Django there is no wrongdoing here. A government can do business with whoever they choose. When Ed Ahmed defaulted on the payment of the lease, the agreement was revoked, as it should have been. I do not know what were the terms of the lease etc. But the fact that Ahmed was convicted and awaiting sentencing by the US means that he would have been prohibited from doing business with anyone. The lease was revoked long before his trial and conviction.
Now if you tell that the government should have expressed better judgement with doing business with Ed Ahmed that I would agree with since he is a questionable character.
Bibi..seriously you see no wrong Jagdeo signed the lease agreement.I will assume that should have been done under the Ministry reponsible for land allocation.
This may be true, but the information that Harmon is presenting, does not present us with all the truth. Its a reflection of the antagonistic society in which we live, perhaps, his poor communication skills also. Since he ignored a significant fact, that the land was taken away from Ahmad, who everyone expects might end up in jail for a long time, suspicion is raised about the government's intention. He is not helping to make a credible case for his govt.
VishMahabir posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:VishMahabir posted:Mr.T posted:VishMahabir posted:From what I read,the land was already repossessed by the PPP in the year after the lease was signed...this makes Harmon an idiot...looking for corruption in the wrong places
And where exactly did you read that? Was it ine of the documents that the PPP illegally took with them when vacating the ministries?
If you were not so gung ho in seeking corruption in everything associated with the PPP, you would have missed the article in GT.
I believe there is corruption associated with the PPP, but we need the evidence....Harmon forgot to mention the part thatthe gove took back the land.
"the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President."
Any wrong doing here??
Django there is no wrongdoing here. A government can do business with whoever they choose. When Ed Ahmed defaulted on the payment of the lease, the agreement was revoked, as it should have been. I do not know what were the terms of the lease etc. But the fact that Ahmed was convicted and awaiting sentencing by the US means that he would have been prohibited from doing business with anyone. The lease was revoked long before his trial and conviction.
Now if you tell that the government should have expressed better judgement with doing business with Ed Ahmed that I would agree with since he is a questionable character.
Bibi..seriously you see no wrong Jagdeo signed the lease agreement.I will assume that should have been done under the Ministry reponsible for land allocation.
This may be true, but the information that Harmon is presenting, does not present us with all the truth. Its a reflection of the antagonistic society in which we live, perhaps, his poor communication skills also. Since he ignored a significant fact, that the land was taken away from Ahmad, who everyone expects might end up in jail for a long time, suspicion is raised about the government's intention. He is not helping to make a credible case for his govt.
I don't know that Jagdeo personally signed the lease agreement. Did he? If he did he shouldn't have unless several signatures were required and he was one of them. Usually, official government docs require more than one signature.
Harmon was not smart to bring up this because we all know that Ed Ahmad will be put away for a long time - I hope. And the government have their land back. This Ed Ahmed relationship ended up being a big mistake for Jagdeo. And it cost him dearly!!
skeldon_man posted:warrior posted:jagan had his chance there is no excuse if the ppp is corrupt they must pay for their crime in the future if the new government is corrupt they must pay for their crime.guyana need a creditable opposition and the ppp with bar-rat is not it
I agree with you... I harbor no grudges, hate or dislike for you... Life is too short for this kind of ill feelings... If I ever meet you, I can still shake your hand and give you a hug with a big smile..
Xmas ent reach yet but Skelly already in Valentine Day mood.
Look out, warria!
All Gilbakka can say right now is: GNI has a few good men, indeed.
jagan had his chance there is no excuse if the ppp is corrupt they must pay for their crime in the future if the new government is corrupt they must pay for their crime.guyana need a creditable opposition and the ppp with bar-rat is not it
I agree with you... I harbor no grudges, hate or dislike for you... Life is too short for this kind of ill feelings... If I ever meet you, I can still shake your hand and give you a hug with a big smile..
Kudos to you Skelly..i can sense in the cyber world you have a good heart.
warrior posted:fella blind by race hate
Warria, why de rass you bringin raace in dis ting?
The lease was already revoked in 2009. Looks like the afc/apnu contingent desperate to show the public that they doing something about corruption. They even taking credit for PPP revocations.
Harmon says Govt to terminate Ed Ahmad lease
âĶJagdeoâs Govt already scrapped contract since 2009 â Guyana Chronicle report/KN/Stabroek/Guyana Times
By Devina Samaroo
State Minister Joseph Harmon disclosed that his government will waste no time in terminating a âcorruptâ lease agreement inked in 2008 between former President Bharrat Jagdeo and Edul Ahmad of New York.
However, this contract was already revoked in 2009 under the Peopleâs Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) administration.
The Guyana Chronicle had reported then: âthe land was leased for a brief period of time on May 30âĶ This lease was subsequently relinquished in 2009.â
The Kaieteur News also reported: âThis lease was subsequently relinquished to Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission in 2009.â
The State Minister teased the public for weeks, promising to soon release crucial information that once and for all prove corruption against former President Jagdeo and his administration.
These AFC/PNC chaps are making fools of themselves on a daily basis.
"The Guyana Chronicle had reported then: âthe land was leased for a brief period of time on May 30âĶ This lease was subsequently relinquished in 2009.â
The Kaieteur News also reported: âThis lease was subsequently relinquished to Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission in 2009.â
Harmon belongs to mental institution.
Whether the lease was subsequently terminated or not it does not take away from the fact that the lease was fraudulent to begin with.
Govtâs 7-day transactionâĶJagdeo secretly transferred Thomas Lands ground to friend, Ed Ahmad
..Here is evidence of corruption, JagdeoâHarmon
There are shocking details emerging now that former President Bharrat Jagdeo and his government
secretly approved a lease of prime property near the army headquarters in Thomas Lands, and gave it to his embattled friend, Edul Ahmad.
The 2008 transaction, was all done in just seven days- from the time Ahmad made his application to the time he received his lease that also give him the option to buy.
This is now being made public by the new administration that has been hard pressed to prove there was corruption under the Peopleâs Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government.
Ahmad is facing jail time in the US for a US$50M real estate fraud to which he pleaded guilty.
The land in question is at the corner of Thomas and J.B Singh Roads, Thomas Lands, south of Camp Ayanganna.
Months after the deal was signed, the PPP/C government battled with the Guyana Public Service Union for the lands. The union had insisted it had control on the land. The matter ended up in court with no decision to this day.
All through this time, the PPP/C Government never disclosed that it had leased the lands to Ahmad, who promised to sink US$75M to develop a hotel, complete with restaurant, bar, a casino, club, and trade exhibition hall.
Ahmad was bound to submit a business plan a month after he signed the lease- on May 30, 2008.
Yesterday, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, made public the shady deal, disclosing that Ahmad has
lapsed in his lease payments of $500,000 annually. As a matter of fact, the New York-based real estate magnate, who is to be sentenced in a New York court in February, only made one payment. This is in breach of his lease.
Government has since started moves to take back the land from Ahmad, using clauses in the 99-year lease agreement that have to do with the annual rents.
According to Minister Harmon, the new administration has been taking note of the claims by Jagdeo, that no corruption existed under his reign and that ongoing forensic audits and investigations are all but a smokescreen.
The transaction reeks of corruption, the official stated.
As a matter of fact, it was discussed Tuesday by the Cabinet.
The lease itself along with the applications would show the high interest that Jagdeo and his government paid to the transaction and the speed in which it was processed.
On May 22, 2008, Ahmad through a company called Generation Complex Inc. applied for the landâbout 2.311 acres at Plantation Thomas Lands.
It was approved and a cadastral survey was executed by May 29- five days later. It was registered that same day with Ahmad signing the lease on May 30.
âWe can call it administrative efficiencyâĶwe can probably call it that, but we in Guyana know that there is no way that the sequence of events can be completed in seven days and for a lease to be issued by May 30.
The lease allowed for Ahmad to buy the land for just about $50M once he has spent about US$30M of the US$75M investment he committed to.
âIn effect it is a sort of back door arrangement whereby the company was granted a lease within seven days and given option of purchasing land without the normal processes when it comes to purchasing lands,â Harmon yesterday.
âSo when Mr Jagdeo speaks âĶabout corruptionâĶto bring the evidenceâĶhere it isâĶâ
Harmon said that from indications, following the speed of the transaction, it appeared Ahmad saw a piece, was able to get a lease in seven days along with the necessary permission, in an area that is specifically set aside for recreational purposes.
âThe lands along the area are for thatâĶ you have clubs, you have sports facilitiesâĶâ
Questioned about what was so illegal about the transaction, Harmon insisted that one has to take into account that when conducting a survey, notice has to be served to the surrounding land owners. This is to allow for objections to the Guyana Lands and Survey Commission.
ââĶIf you are serving notice on the same day of survey, something is very wrong with that. Survey same day, issue notice same day, prepare plan same day, certify same dayâĶ you call that a one-day plan, and something is legally wrong with that,â the Minister pointed out.
The transaction would be among a number of deals done under the PPP/C government that have been questioned.
Many of the details only came to light afterwards and through documents that surfaced.
The PPP/C administration lost its 20-year grip on power for the first time in May, following early general elections.
The sports ground deal would also call to mind the secret sale of the Sanata complex at Industrial Site, by Jagdeo, to his best friend, Dr. Ranjisinghi âBobbyâ Ramroop.
The deal is being investigated by the new government.
Mars posted:Whether the lease was subsequently terminated or not it does not take away from the fact that the lease was fraudulent to begin with.
Maybe, however the title of this thread is saying that the current govt is repossessing land from Ed Ahmad which is totally untrue.
This story stinks. If Ed's wings weren't clipped by the US authorities, he might have been building his hotel and enjoying that land that he would have only made a month's payment on.
Drugb posted:Maybe, however the title of this thread is saying that the current govt is repossessing land from Ed Ahmad which is totally untrue.
Show us court documents where the PPP/C filed to reclaim the land leased to ED Ahmad.
Druggy, was the land not surveyed, approved and signed over to Ed Ahmad at a cost of $500,000 per year?