Is Guyana’s manufacturing sector dying? Tamarind balls and coconut water from Thailand, Rice from Pakistan, Packaged plantain chips from Jamaica, Packaged roti and puri from Suriname on our local shelves

Source August 15,2015

Rice from Pakistan.
Tamarind balls and coconut water from Thailand.
Packaged roti and dhal puri from Suriname.
These are just five of many imported items that are slowly taking over local markets.
In the face of this, many entrepreneurs acknowledge that Guyana is already producing some of these products and has the potential to manufacture many other imported goods.
So what is causing the proliferation and domination of these imported products? Is it an indication that our manufacturing sector will soon lose its relevance and die a slow death? Does it signify that our manufacturers are being stifled by a less than enabling environment? Or are they just too lazy to be innovative and competitive?
According to manufacturers, one of the main reasons for the saturation of imported products which can and are being produced here, has to do with the culture of the manufacturing sector itself.
One manufacturer said: “I think this culture of the manufacturing sector has changed and there are a number of reasons why it has moved from being an extremely diverse area in our economy to one that is filled with numerous traders. And it is simple. It is just easier and cheaper to trade. It isn’t easy becoming a manufacturer here. That is like a philosophical ideal of a job now. In the 70s and 80s, Guyana’s manufacturing sector was an extremely vibrant and innovative field. We were producing all of our own jellies, matches, detergents, milk, cheese, cooking condiments, house hold appliances etc.
“Then all of a sudden, we ended up in an environment where the culture of manufacturing is about some traditional items like rums, paint, rice and sugar. This 10 to 18 percent growth rate that we keep talking about in the manufacturing sector is really false too because the only thing that keeps it up in that bracket is rice and sugar producers. Take them out and you would really see where the manufacturing sector’s growth is at. We are stagnant.”

Roti imported from Suriname

Tamarind Candy Balls imported from Thailand

Another manufacturer, CEO of Umami Products, Chris Persaud believes that the current state of the sector is due to, among other things, the failure of manufacturers to adapt to the relevant technology.
He said that manufacturers should be upset that products such as roti, dhal puri, sweet tamarind and coconut water are being imported.
“I am upset by that and we have a right to be upset. We have to be upset when we see imported plantain chips taking over the local markets. But why cry? Because we have the product already here but some manufacturers just don’t want to put the effort into doing proper and effective packaging.
“Before Umami products came into the market, there were a lot of pepper sauces on the market. But what did we do? We didn’t try to reinvent the wheel or cry about what is taking over the market. We polished the wheel and now our products are on top. Packaging and branding is a simple but effective technique. The only way we will improve is if we move away from the mindset that putting some plantain chips in a bag and sealing it with a little bit of wax is acceptable. We have to move forward from that. We can’t be content with that…”
Another manufacturer, from the agro-processing field, believes that the tardiness by the authorities in passing Investment Agreements is also hindering the sector. The manufacturer said that this is an important element in having an enabling environment to encourage manufacturers.

Karim’s Rice imported from Pakistan

Soldanza Plantain Chips from Jamaica

She stressed that some manufacturers may have the desire to be innovative but Guyana’s slow systems can place a damper on one’s plans to “shake up the industry.”
Other manufacturers believe that the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association (GMSA) needs to put an end to its annual excuse that high electricity is plaguing the sector needs to come to an end.
They posit that it was an issue in the 90s and it never killed the manufacturing sector then and it is not responsible for the state of affairs today.
“What we need are the right concessions from Government, a willingness from financial institutions to be more lender-friendly to manufacturers and the GMSA to actually do its work.”
GMSA Head, Eon Caesar was unavailable yesterday for comment. In the meantime, several other members of the GMSA Executive Committee agreed that it is indeed an embarrassment to the sector that certain products which can be produced and packaged here, are dominating the local markets.
They chalked it up to the laziness of some manufacturers and their failure to be inventive.
One member in particular opined that the saturation of the markets with some imported goods can also be attributed to the failure of agencies such as the Bureau of Standards to ensure that low quality or inferior products do not make it into the markets.
But Chairman of the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Eddie Boyer did not see anything wrong with similar products being brought into the market. For him, it all serves to promote competition.

Coconut water imported from Thailand

Sweet Tamarind imported from Thailand

He insists that consumers have the right to choose between a product that is made here and one that is imported. He said that before, there existed some level of protectionism for local manufacturers but that is long gone. The crux of his perspective was that the presence of imported products challenges local manufacturers to be more competitive and to essentially “up their game.”
Finance Minister, Winston Jordan who is expected to meet with the GMSA this week, has been unashamedly critical of the Association for crying out about the challenges it faced; challenges which have been affecting the sector “since Noah built the ark.”
He bemoaned the fact that no product of Guyanese origin is a household name in Caricom, save and except El Dorado rum.
Jordan acknowledges that strides have been made by some in the sector. Regardless of this, the Finance Minister believes that the sector can do much more and has been doing much more in the past.
“I reflect on the 1970s and 1980s – periods in our history that were characterized by economic crises that led to banning and restrictions of many items. And I recall the inventions, innovations and the sheer will to survive that those crises called forth.”
“In those trying times, more goods were manufactured, canned or assembled domestically: vehicles, bicycles, refrigerators, freezers, radio, matches, tooth paste, etc. In the agriculture sector, we had canned pineapple and orange juice, smoked and other forms of ham, salted fish, and so forth.
“Even in the 1980s, an enterprising Frenchman took heart of palm, canned it in a place not known for its electricity, and exported the finished product to French Guiana and France.”
The Finance Minister said, that too many of Guyana’s private sector players seem content to chase after the quick dollar by importing a lot of cheap products to be sold in a low-wage economy. He said that some of the items are of such poor quality and low standard that he marvels at how they could find a market in Guyana.
Jordan said that manufacturing in Guyana must become a key driver of rapid economic growth, and the associated creation of employment, both directly and indirectly.
The economist said that there is considerable accumulated evidence that manufacturing still functions as the heart of the economic development process. Jordan said that to transcend the dominant and traditional revenue earners, “we must manufacture. We must add value.”
To be continued …

"One manufacturer said: “I think this culture of the manufacturing sector has changed and there are a number of reasons why it has moved from being an extremely diverse area in our economy to one that is filled with numerous traders. And it is simple. It is just easier and cheaper to trade. It isn’t easy becoming a manufacturer here. That is like a philosophical ideal of a job now. In the 70s and 80s, Guyana’s manufacturing sector was an extremely vibrant and innovative field. We were producing all of our own jellies, matches, detergents, milk, cheese, cooking condiments, house hold appliances etc.

Then all of a sudden, we ended up in an environment where the culture of manufacturing is about some traditional items like rums, paint, rice and sugar. This 10 to 18 percent growth rate that we keep talking about in the manufacturing sector is really false too because the only thing that keeps it up in that bracket is rice and sugar producers. Take them out and you would really see where the manufacturing sector’s growth is at. We are stagnant.”

The PPP screamers will pretend as if this only happened between May 2015 when the PPP lost, and August 2015, when this article was written.  What they will gloss over will be several references to the 70s and 80s, when it was claimed that the manufacturing sector was more dynamic.

We do know that ample and cheap electricity wasn't a feature of that era, so let us take away the usual excuse.  Let us also ask why Bajan products can be found in Guyana, but virtually no Guyanese products, aside from maybe rice and fish, can be found on that island.

And why of course is the Dominican Rep a manufacturing power house when they depend on the same imported petro based energy that Guyana does.

The PPP screamers will pretend as if this only happened between May 2015 when the PPP lost, and August 2015, when this article was written.  What they will gloss over will be several references to the 70s and 80s, when it was claimed that the manufacturing sector was more dynamic.

We do know that ample and cheap electricity wasn't a feature of that era, so let us take away the usual excuse.  Let us also ask why Bajan products can be found in Guyana, but virtually no Guyanese products, aside from maybe rice and fish, can be found on that island.

And why of course is the Dominican Rep a manufacturing power house when they depend on the same imported petro based energy that Guyana does.

Battle for the survival of the fittest. If you didn't work you starve. 

Nothing to do with the above,the innovate spirit of Guyanese died imagine a poor ass tropical country importing products that can be produced in the country,whenever some one mentioned plantain chips "Burnham ghost appears".Imagine the amount of foreign currency that can be saved by producing these items in the country and the employment that can be created.

The PPP screwed that place up during their rule too much focus on Rice and Sugar the reasons why is because their support base are in these industry.

Nothing to do with the above,the innovate spirit of Guyanese died imagine a poor ass tropical country importing products that can be produced in the country,whenever some one mentioned plantain chips "Burnham ghost appears".Imagine the amount of foreign currency that can be saved by producing these items in the country and the employment that can be created.

The PPP screwed that place up during their rule too much focus on Rice and Sugar the reasons why is because their support base are in these industry.

PURE HOGWASH. PNC has wrecked the country before and is in the process of repeating history.

In the 70s and 80s, Guyana’s manufacturing sector was an extremely vibrant and innovative field. We were producing all of our own jellies, matches, detergents, milk, cheese, cooking condiments, house hold appliances etc.

And then the PPP took over and Guyna went FUH CHANNA

Pointblank

PURE HOGWASH. PNC has wrecked the country before and is in the process of repeating history.

We are aware what caused the country decline during Burnham PNC rule,the PPP took over in 1992 ruled for 23 yrs,what the country becomes importers of products that can be be produced locally.

Granger mentioned plaintain chips production,lots of funny fellas here had a big laugh.

Very shortly Guyanese will be searching for Food in Suriname, Trinidad and Brazil. After 28 years the GNI idiots did not learn and I suspect they are permanently brain dead!!!!

It's either some of you are stupid or you refuse to acknowledge that the PPP really screwed up this area of development during their long time in office....

I am not a Burnham supporter, but he had the right idea with regard producing local stuff...

Pointblank posted:

In the 70s and 80s, Guyana’s manufacturing sector was an extremely vibrant and innovative field. We were producing all of our own jellies, matches, detergents, milk, cheese, cooking condiments, house hold appliances etc.

No one ever saw this headline when the PPP was running the country.

Guyana Imports Roti,Puri,Plantain chips,Tamarind balls and coconut water.

Local people were selling all this stuff during the PPP time. Where were you? Sleeping or brain dead?

RiffRaff posted:

Very shortly Guyanese will be searching for Food in Suriname, Trinidad and Brazil. After 28 years the GNI idiots did not learn and I suspect they are permanently brain dead!!!!

It's either some of you are stupid or you refuse to acknowledge that the PPP really screwed up this area of development during their long time in office....

I am not a Burnham supporter, but he had the right idea with regard producing local stuff...

Their refusal to acknowledge,tells you the leadership qualities of the current PPP crew.

By the way some of them that does talk fuh talk sake,nothing to contribute.

SOmetimes it's just a matter of economics....maybe it's cheaper to import than make the stuff...but then, if you don't produce stuff to export...where would you get the money ti run the country

RiffRaff posted:

Their refusal to acknowledge,tells you the leadership qualities of the current PPP crew.

By the way some of them that does talk fuh talk sake,nothing to contribute.

Burnham tried to make Guyana self sufficient. He did alright. He made Guyana another Haiti. This crew of PNC thugs are following in his foot steps too.

And yet the PPP failed to build on the manufacturing sector that was developed in that era, preferring instead a nation of shopping malls, and money laundered real estate.  Shopping malls packed with imports.

I very much doubt that the goodly folks in GMSA are Burnhamites and yet the talk of a spirit of innovation of that era.

Of course when communists become ex communist money laundering and corruption is all that interests them. So we have shopping malls packed with imports, and under utilized real estate built mainly to launder money.

Then when commodity prices drop we then blame the gov't of the day for a weakening economy.

And yet the PPP failed to build on the manufacturing sector that was developed in that era, preferring instead a nation of shopping malls, and money laundered real estate.  Shopping malls packed with imports.

At least they built something rather than taking 50% raises, pardoned criminals, cannot control crime, taking subsidies from school children, brazenly stole $5M us....

Pointblank posted:

No one ever saw this headline when the PPP was running the country.

Guyana Imports Roti,Puri,Plantain chips,Tamarind balls and coconut water.

Local people were selling all this stuff during the PPP time. Where were you? Sleeping or brain dead?

That is because the PPP wasn't bothered with all of this.  But TK often complained of the decline of the non sugar/rice manufacturing sectors, and Kari also made mention of Guyana being a  nation of shop keepers.   And this was when Jagdeo was still in power.

It wasn't that this wasn't a problem. It was that the PPP thought that Providence stadium and a roti shop at the airport and fast food franchises were indicators of progress.

At least they built something

Yes.  It was always the goal of the PPP to provide job opportunities in Suriname, T&T, Venezuela, Barbados and Jamaica.  Employment of Guyanese other than low paid sales clerks was never of interest to them.

At least they built something

Yes.  It was always the goal of the PPP to provide job opportunities in Suriname, T&T, Venezuela, Barbados and Jamaica.  Employment of Guyanese other than low paid sales clerks was never of interest to them.

You haven't seen the exodus from Guyana yet. Negroes and Indians will be lining up to get visas. Guyana will be a ghost country if the PNC is allowed to rob the treasury. If every time $5M is missing, imagine what will happen.

RiffRaff posted:

SOmetimes it's just a matter of economics....maybe it's cheaper to import than make the stuff...but then, if you don't produce stuff to export...where would you get the money ti run the country

I doubt that is applicable to Guyana the raw materials are there,also producing these items locally will reduce the unemployment.

RiffRaff posted:

Chalk it up to the drug culture that washes so much money it is hard for entrepreneurs to start up local industries. Much of these imports are to bring clean money into the society

Sometimes yuh gat to Laff at the shit you hear yasuh.

Lacking an ability to digest what you hear in the fullness of their meaning you do indeed resort to laughing.

I'll provide one anecdote - a Guyanese-American businessman in New York had a proposal to open up a garment factory in Guyana during the PPP days of the mid-aughts. Jagdeo gave him a hard time and he ended up opening this garment factory in the Dominican Republic.

Last edited by Kari

No foreign investors, and local businessmen are leaving the country daily. There is already restriction on the amount of foreign currency allowed to leave the country. Very soon essential products will get banned, back to the "good" old days if you know what I mean! The old PNC manifesto is back in order, Guyline will soon start, look at the passport offices and tax clearance office.

Kari posted:

I'll provide one anecdote - a Guyanese-American businessman in New York had a proposal to open up a garment factory in Guyana during the PPP days of the mid-aughts. Jagdeo gave him a hard time and he ended up opening this garment factory in the Dominican Republic.

Time to get this businessman to invest in Guyana.  Buxtonians are excellent workers. Let him open a garment factory there. 

No foreign investors, and local businessmen are leaving the country daily. There is already restriction on the amount of foreign currency allowed to leave the country. Very soon essential products will get banned, back to the "good" old days if you know what I mean! The old PNC manifesto is back in order, Guyline will soon start, look at the passport offices and tax clearance office.

If this the only way these people know how to govern a country then we are in trouble again.  

Kari posted:

I'll provide one anecdote - a Guyanese-American businessman in New York had a proposal to open up a garment factory in Guyana during the PPP days of the mid-aughts.Jagdeo gave him a hard time and he ended up opening this garment factory in the Dominican Republic.

Quite interesting,that chap acted like Odo.

Pitiful...it is not going to happen. There is no restrictions to travel as in the past and Guyanese with money in Guyana today knows it is easier for them to keep their money and make more in Guyana than outside. The reason the owner of the jet was taking money to guyana was because he can wash it easier there than here. He lost his money because he was trying to wash it here and not because he was caught with cash he was trying to smuggle. At most he could be fined twice the amount but his washing money in the banks by his numerous less that ten thousand deposits caused him to lose all his assets.  Guyana will be a haven for money for a long time yet since it is easier to park it there than here.

Me believe you living in the past bhai.

Guyana will be a haven for money for a long time yet since it is easier to park it there than here.

We have just a few banks in Guyana.  How much parking space can we possibly have??

Park it by first importing plantain chips and rotie and tamerind ball! It then goes to the banks where it can percolate back to america as clean cash and you do not have to hide it in garbage bags to smuggle it in!

No! The past is now living with you. 

Guyana will be a haven for money for a long time yet since it is easier to park it there than here.

We have just a few banks in Guyana.  How much parking space can we possibly have??

The banks paying good interest rates,money can be made,GG is collaborating with the IRS,US citizens will have to watch out with their income declarations.

No! The past is now living with you. 

Banna the Doom and Gloom will not materialize.