@Lynn posted:

Hag/hog hair..

anybody ever heard of this..if so wht is it.?  How u know whn u get it .n wht did u did to remove it ??

Hag/hog hair is hard hairs on the eye lash pointing downwards pricking the eyes ,tweezers does the work the hairs are folded upwards and the sticking out downwards hairs are removed.

@Django posted:

Hag/hog hair is hard hairs on the eye lash pointing downwards pricking the eyes ,tweezers does the work the hairs are folded upwards and the sticking out downwards hairs are removed.

Omg..u know plenty..i used to have to pullout hog hair from my daddy’s eyes..(he used to say he eye ah stick he..i used a match stick to press down the lashes..

smh i cannot believe we did that..ie pulled out eyelashes

Lynn

I'm guessing too much pain causing someone to faint?

Ning ning is whn pain knack yuh that u ‘see stars’ ur yuh ears ‘ketch fiah’

unbearable pain!! Painmek yuh yuh ‘giddy

eheh..da iz anadda word..

me feeling ‘giddy’ esp after me rock in d hammock

Lynn

Ok..suh me know dat  not everybody know abt Malali..maybe ayu deez used to use Makoura ferry

but if somebody say that ‘Malali ah BLOW’ wht u  tink dem mean??

(ps..MV Malali  used to ‘blow’ whn it nearing  to reach Parika stelling to moor..)

Lynn

hey Lynn, i just remembered 2 guys were fighting and one called the other "you ugly mafudice." i think he meant hermaphrodite   

Me nevah hear dat 1 before…

talking abt that..when we. Quarrelling..we used to have some nice descriptiive words

like ‘yuh maga daad=g self/‘..ur mangy or scraalie..lol

Lynn

hey Lynn, i just remembered 2 guys were fighting and one called the other "you ugly mafudice." i think he meant hermaphrodite   

Can Hermaphrodites  reproduce by virtue of self-fertilization?

A cous of mine always used that word on a customer who was a constant pain in the ass.

@cain posted:

A cous of mine always used that word on a customer who was a constant pain in the ass.

Well .. glad u came back!!

u were missed!

hope chams comes back soon!
( btw ayuh 2 went MIA together…)

hmmmmmmm😳😳🫢🤭🤔🤫

Lynn

gyalivant or gyalavant ..(galivant/galavant)

Anybody used to galivant all ovah de place whn yuh bin lil??  Or maybe some of u still do ..lol

titivate?? Yuh titivate with d ting till yuh bruk am

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

What is "soo-soo"?

Su-su is Pee…  Ive heard it used on Indian TV shows !! I had to laugh whn i 1st heard it n realized it was a real word..hindi

other words ive heard being used on the shows r “pusr pusr” (my mom used to ‘halla’  pun we whn we used to talk in bed at night)

and 'dharpoke’

Lynn

Anyone had a PUZZLING CUP?? ..ie PIGGY BANK!

Btw why was it called ‘puzzling’ ??

if u did..wht was it made ?

I had 1 made from brunswick sardine tin , nailed to the wall!!

Some folks had old ovaltine or milo tins with the lids taped securely n a slit made in the middle.

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

डरपोक (darapok) is hindi for coward.

“pusr pusr” is whispering, etymologically from Hindi "phusaphusaana" to whisper.

My maa used these words very often!! But now I hear these words very often on the Indian shows on TV !!

As kids , my sis n i always whispered in the bed n didnt go to sleep immediately n my Maa used to say “stop d pusr pusr in deh before me come wid d belt”

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Dem folks in GT used to say that for the Kurraas fish (kurbeetee).

No KURBETTI  is the ‘fine ants” that mostly used to hide in yr clothes …n whn dem bite u , u nah done scratch!!

(Not talking abt grass-louse)

maybe Berbicians called it by a diff name

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Oh really!!

Dem filipino gat a name for that thing..palawa?? Or something similar ..my co-workers do it!!

I Guyana, it was like forced savings. Many folks were able to acquire things like a sewing machine, bicycles, beds etc... that they would not have been able to get by credit or a loan from the bank.

Wht abt Ka-Ka?? Or ‘MESS” …ie defecate

1 of my  bhoujie’s used to say “POODOO”

n “POOPOO” for fart for his lil kids

btw i grew up saying ‘BREAK-WIN” or ‘FAAT” for fart

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Ok..suh me know dat  not everybody know abt Malali..maybe ayu deez used to use Makoura ferry

but if somebody say that ‘Malali ah BLOW’ wht u  tink dem mean??

(ps..MV Malali  used to ‘blow’ whn it nearing  to reach Parika stelling to moor..)

Whn people FARTED very loudly..dem used to say “Malali ah BLOW”

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I Guyana, it was like forced savings. Many folks were able to acquire things like a sewing machine, bicycles, beds etc... that they would not have been able to get by credit or a loan from the bank.

Yes esp the poor housewives ..we never participate but i rem hearing people talk abt it!

I was shocked whn i started to work here n see my co-workers doing same..(filipino, guyanese n pakistani) ..about 10 of them ..$100 each!!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Anybody ever ketch grass-louse …?

wht r the fave spots on yr body dat  grasslouse like?

wht methods did u  use  to get rid of grasslouse??

Grass louse hard to remove..I used  to use coconut oil n a match stick to dig them out from my father skin..esp armpits.

Funny that my worked in garden n grass likemy dad n she never complained abt grass-louse…But my  dad always them n sincehe was very fair-skinned, it was easy to spot them ..orange colored dots!!

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I heard it was against the law to release your own fragrance in a hire car in Guyana. Irfon might know.

Hahaha..

i rem a former gni-er used to talk abt how he  used to ‘hold-in’ his fart n waited to let it go on the NY subway!!

Lynn