I saw this 1 on fb today…(which i had forgotten..)

’WALK WITH/WID β€œ  this or that whn u coming or going’

Eg if u going to Town..

’u must β€œWALK WITH/WID” lil food whn u going in case u get hungry’ meaning to TAKE WITH you

or β€˜whn u coming by me, β€œWALK WITH” some sugar etc..meaning to β€œBRING with u”

Lynn

U ever hear whn 2 person gyaffing n 1 seh

β€˜wha u nah β€œKERR YUH TAIL” da side OR

”kerr yuh rass da side”…..??

sometimes followed by..”me nah gat time fuh badda wid u”

HOW TO EXPLAIN THIS???  HELP!

??? Maybe whn u dont believe wht the person saying..

maybe he or she trying to β€œPULL a FAST ONE on U” (ie FOOL u)??

Lynn
@cain posted:

How about when asked, what is the colour of an item? It kinda greeney greeney...or..it kinda yellowish yellowish.

Doan run cross de road you might get lick down.

Yeah yeah!!  I forgot the β€˜lick-down’

Talking abt colors..everything was RED..or maroon!  we didnt say burgundy or fuschia or wine

or purple..no mauve or lavendar

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Btw..whn u β€˜SUCK YUH TEETH” , why is it considered to be rude??

We couldnt do that in our home growing up..if not we would have gotten 2 slaps ..

I have this vague idea inmy head  that β€œsucking yr teeth β€œ is saying β€˜kiss my a$$”

I notice this is prevalent in Nollywood movies. Perhaps Indo-Guyanese copied this from their African-Guyanese. When we were in St. Martin visiting the market and  walked away after enquiring about prices and didn't patronize the vendors.... we got some long "suck teeth".

I told one of them... yuh rass can kiss meh ass not on the right, not on the leff, but right in de middle. Dem prappa rude eh.

@Mitwah posted:

I notice this is prevalent in Nollywood movies. Perhaps Indo-Guyanese copied this from their African-Guyanese. When we were in St. Martin visiting the market and  walked away after enquiring about prices and didn't patronize the vendors.... we got some long "suck teeth".

I told one of them... yuh rass can kiss meh ass not on the right, not on the leff, but right in de middle. Dem prappa rude eh.

O mi gaad.. u prappa tell dem off!!

Lynn

Whn i was a lil kid, couple of some older girls .. mid teens used to hustle n done dem house wuk early in the afternoons. Then dem bathe up n prappa DAAL up n put on dem nice DAN-DAN n guh stan up at d street head n lime. Then dem sweet bais does roam around pun den bicycles n β€˜SIP” or β€œSEEP” off dem nuce gals! N if u see how dem gals used to blush n CHAMKAY .. lord n some af dem bai were good LOONGAYRA!!

U all know abt β€˜sip off” n β€œdaal up” n β€œdan-dan”???

Lynn

I heard a guy being interviewed abt whyhe thinks women live longer than men..

he answered that β€˜women nah do nothing..only lil house work n then dem PALAVA …

wht does PALAVA mean? Is it like whn we say u β€˜LALL OFF” or β€œPASRAY”

like whn people β€œ sit down n idle/waste time”

This man  went on to say that men ah wuk ah trench etc

Lynn

Backdam stuff..rice cutting / fishing/ gardening etc  who is familiar with these names..??:-

shovel n bagrai (whts the difference?? I rem we had both..i must ask my brothers)

grass knife

hoe

pitch-fork

slide

psaila/sailah

joowaat

Beeya

biyaaree

karyaan

mashing rice

guh-round-bull

wads