@Lynn posted:

What abt …

Settee!!!!!  (Sofa set or a couch)

or some of u probably had a CHESTERFIELD set if ayuh bin lil rich!

I hadn't heard that word in ages until a few years ago while listening to a song by an English group "Artic monkeys" they mentioned being on a settee.

D word MASH..

Eg ‘mash’ flour to make roti ie , knead

then whn u tired u get someone to ‘mash’ yuh skin ie give a massage

n “skin” means body

like me skin sore or or me skin a hutt .. body aches

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

D word MASH..

Eg ‘mash’ flour to make roti ie , knead

then whn u tired u get someone to ‘mash’ yuh skin ie give a massage

n “skin” means body

like me skin sore or or me skin a hutt .. body aches

Mash paddy with dem Steers before the tractors teck over.

@Mitwah posted:

Mash paddy with dem Steers before the tractors teck over.

Yeah we say ‘mash rice’ ..i used to guh round d bull to mash d rice whn i was a lil girl..i used to holdon to the til of 1 of the 4 bulls that were yoked  together n tied to a post in the ‘watch house/backdam kitchen’

Lynn

I saw this 1 on fb today…(which i had forgotten..)

’WALK WITH/WID “  this or that whn u coming or going’

Eg if u going to Town..

’u must “WALK WITH/WID” lil food whn u going in case u get hungry’ meaning to TAKE WITH you

or ‘whn u coming by me, “WALK WITH” some sugar etc..meaning to “BRING with u”

Lynn

U ever hear whn 2 person gyaffing n 1 seh

‘wha u nah “KERR YUH TAIL” da side OR

”kerr yuh rass da side”…..??

sometimes followed by..”me nah gat time fuh badda wid u”

HOW TO EXPLAIN THIS???  HELP!

??? Maybe whn u dont believe wht the person saying..

maybe he or she trying to “PULL a FAST ONE on U” (ie FOOL u)??

Lynn
@cain posted:

How about when asked, what is the colour of an item? It kinda greeney greeney...or..it kinda yellowish yellowish.

Doan run cross de road you might get lick down.

Yeah yeah!!  I forgot the ‘lick-down’

Talking abt colors..everything was RED..or maroon!  we didnt say burgundy or fuschia or wine

or purple..no mauve or lavendar

Lynn

Btw..whn u ‘SUCK YUH TEETH” , why is it considered to be rude??

We couldnt do that in our home growing up..if not we would have gotten 2 slaps ..

I have this vague idea inmy head  that “sucking yr teeth “ is saying ‘kiss my a$$”

Lynn

Can anyone help to explain this..

if somebody say u have ‘SWEET-MOUTH”..it has to do with whn u like certain types of food..like meat n fish etc

( not referring to those who give SWEET-TALK ….ie flattery)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Btw..whn u ‘SUCK YUH TEETH” , why is it considered to be rude??

We couldnt do that in our home growing up..if not we would have gotten 2 slaps ..

I have this vague idea inmy head  that “sucking yr teeth “ is saying ‘kiss my a$$”

I notice this is prevalent in Nollywood movies. Perhaps Indo-Guyanese copied this from their African-Guyanese. When we were in St. Martin visiting the market and  walked away after enquiring about prices and didn't patronize the vendors.... we got some long "suck teeth".

I told one of them... yuh rass can kiss meh ass not on the right, not on the leff, but right in de middle. Dem prappa rude eh.

@Mitwah posted:

It's either fornication or adultery.

It is common-law wife or husband .. live-in arrangement !

oh whn a man or woman having an AFFAIR .. we say that dem ‘deh wid each odda’

‘so n so deh wid so n so ‘

lol

U have to love GYese gyaff!!

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I notice this is prevalent in Nollywood movies. Perhaps Indo-Guyanese copied this from their African-Guyanese. When we were in St. Martin visiting the market and  walked away after enquiring about prices and didn't patronize the vendors.... we got some long "suck teeth".

I told one of them... yuh rass can kiss meh ass not on the right, not on the leff, but right in de middle. Dem prappa rude eh.

O mi gaad.. u prappa tell dem off!!

Lynn

Whn i was a lil kid, couple of some older girls .. mid teens used to hustle n done dem house wuk early in the afternoons. Then dem bathe up n prappa DAAL up n put on dem nice DAN-DAN n guh stan up at d street head n lime. Then dem sweet bais does roam around pun den bicycles n ‘SIP” or “SEEP” off dem nuce gals! N if u see how dem gals used to blush n CHAMKAY .. lord n some af dem bai were good LOONGAYRA!!

U all know abt ‘sip off” n “daal up” n “dan-dan”???

Lynn

I heard a guy being interviewed abt whyhe thinks women live longer than men..

he answered that ‘women nah do nothing..only lil house work n then dem PALAVA …

wht does PALAVA mean? Is it like whn we say u ‘LALL OFF” or “PASRAY”

like whn people “ sit down n idle/waste time”

This man  went on to say that men ah wuk ah trench etc

Lynn

The wealth of the nation are in the hands of the widows. They are the Latchmies.

Advances in medicines is probably one factor that women are living longer than men.

Who can endure pain better?

Other ways to express ‘eat food’

me just lash down some nice  7 curry

me had some nice JERTS/JURTs

ifu see how d bai 'nack  down’ d plate of food

U NYAM out all d curry n leff bare rice

whnu eat fast..dem say u ‘gobble down’ d food

Lynn

Long ago clothing..

half slip ( i still own a couple..lol)frack..nice dandan  like a flounce dress

never wore these:

cyancyan

lining

camisole

petticoat

Dem bais had buckta n beach pants(sharts) , singlet (inside tshirt/vest)

Lynn

Backdam stuff..rice cutting / fishing/ gardening etc  who is familiar with these names..??:-

shovel n bagrai (whts the difference?? I rem we had both..i must ask my brothers)

grass knife

hoe

pitch-fork

slide

psaila/sailah

joowaat

Beeya

biyaaree

karyaan

mashing rice

guh-round-bull

wads