@Lynn posted:

Kaka haan(hand)..wht does this mean n why we called it kaka haan??

the hand used to wipe kaka   

just remembered old folks used to say  jabbar jasty. maybe Mits can tell us the meaning

Left hand is kaka hand…….hehehehe..u wash u bt with it..using the bottle of water ..rt hand pour n left hand wash!!!

it took me long to realize this…i e i had to grow up n figure this out !!

btw my hubby is rt handed but he uses left hand to wipe whichis weird!! hehehe

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Never heard jabbar jasty

iknow abt jabbar..or jabri..to do with messy hair ..full with ‘nat’

it may be zabardasti ..as sometimes Z n J were mispronounced..

zabardast/ zabardasti is like one is forced  or compelled to do something  

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Why do we Guyanese repeat a single word…? sometimes we even say it more than twice eg such emphasis!!

like ‘ bai dis mango sweet sweet ‘ ..

Or dat gyal “nice nice” or ‘fine fine’

Or d water “rough rough “

or me belly “full full’

or yuh foot battam “black black’

or we add ‘BAD’ after eg this mango sweet BAD! Lol

couldnt we just use “VERY” before the word like very nice or very hard!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Why do we Guyanese repeat a single word…? sometimes we even say it more than twice eg such emphasis!!

like ‘ bai dis mango sweet sweet ‘ ..

Or dat gyal “nice nice” or ‘fine fine’

Or d water “rough rough “

or me belly “full full’

or yuh foot battam “black black’

or we add ‘BAD’ after eg this mango sweet BAD! Lol

couldnt we just use “VERY” before the word like very nice or very hard!!

Lynn nah only "VERY" sweet, she izz sweet, sweet, sweet an' very, very, very pretty.  

Hahaha..i forgot abt the very very very …hehehehe

out language sweet bad bad

Lynn

Anybody still ‘chip up’ greens/fruits??

Wow..i just saw a video n the lady said she ‘chip up breadfruit’ …i havent used this words in decades n had forgotten abt it!

AS LIL KIDS , WE USED TO HELP CHIP UP PUMPKIN N OCHRO ETC ! ..n green mangoes too!!

come on guys..im am sure im missing some ‘terms’/words that we used to use as kids!! Pls share..

Lynn

Wht abt ‘FALLA” (follow)  ie to ACCOMPANY

i was talking to a relative ..going down memory lane whn i got teaching job in GT (werk-en-rust) at age of 16 n stayed in wortmanville.  I was so scared to walk alone in that area n also in ‘TOWN’.  The lil 8 yrs old kid had to ‘falla’ me to the bank n cheap st..n also whn i had teachers’ meeting which n ended late whn it started to get dark  (dusk)

Some girls were not allowed to go out alone..de bruddas had to ‘falla’ dem

Lynn

1. yuh bam-bam is itching bad, bad, bad.

2. Also, trouble is awaiting you, soon, soon, soon, soon.

Bt itch or scratch diff from ‘BITE”

whn it bite..it means u r ‘doomed’..whn u do soemthing. Wrong n u know the punishment coming!

whn it scratching/itching (physically) …myth is certain kind a people guh dead!! Hehehehe

Lynn

1. Eagerly longing for the food.

2. Also, expression of being hungry.

No….no..

whn we had dry cough n it not stopping, my maa used to say yuh palate drap..(causing the irritation)

n her ‘cure’ for it was to wrap  her index finger with a clean piece of cotton or gauze..damp it n put fireside ashes n salt b blackpepper ..then she put the finger down yr throat n rub yr palate .  Whn she done she made u gargle with warm salt n black pepper water!!

Believe it…it was painful n i bit her finger many times but it ‘cured’ the dry cough right away!!

Lynn

U ever hear dis ‘ me livva ah hut/hurt’

that is whn someone is very hurt (emotionally) ..hahaha

heart ah flatta (flutter) is like a panic attack..extreme nervous reaction ..like witnessing an accident or a near-miss accident

whn u have bun(burn) stomach…acid reflux/GERD

whn u get ‘lock-off’ ..(or me side ah ‘stick’ me) means u get ‘stitches’ in yr sides ..ie muscle spasms around yr rib area

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Eheh..me jjust rem dem bais used to talk abt ‘FAT-EYE”

is wha dem bin mean??  Hehehehe

Dat is like when dem bais see wan booooootiful gal like yuh an' dem look and look and look and look lang lang lang hadmirarin yuh beauty ... dat is how dem get wan big FAT, FAT, FAT, FAT EYE.

@Lynn posted:

Nah.. fat eye is whn a uoung lady doesnt sit like a ‘lady’

“she does give fat-eye”

ir ‘free matinee’

Soooooo Lynn ...

Dat izz lik' when dem duz allow "free matinee" wan wan wan wan tyme.

Soooooo Lynn ...

Dat izz lik' when dem duz allow "free matinee" wan wan wan wan tyme.

Hahaha..me nah know caz me nevah give ‘fat eye’ to nobady!!

I think there was a song …ic ant rem the words

’but it had ‘me cant get me cant get ’

n then there was an asnwer to that song..’u can put it on a plate of dal n rice..me nah want me nah want’

i prob have the words wrong..lol

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Hahaha..me nah know caz me nevah give ‘fat eye’ to nobady!!

I think there was a song …ic ant rem the words

’but it had ‘me cant get me cant get ’

n then there was an asnwer to that song..’u can put it on a plate of dal n rice..me nah want me nah want’

i prob have the words wrong..lol

Oiii Lynn ...

Most likely, it is this song by The Tradewinds ....

THE TRADEWINDS - You Can't Get

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WL0PgTuaYgk

https://youtu.be/WL0PgTuaYgk

Yes..that’s it..thnx

i didnt rem it is a TW song…

N that the ‘peas n rice reply’ was in d same song..lol

BTW..this reminds me of the ‘hay fatty bum bum’ song

n then there was a reply with ‘hey likkle magga boy..letme tell yuh sumting…’

oh yeah…small days !!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Anybody rem this word..”ADGE”????

I think it comes from the word "edge". For example, if I think I am faster that you in a foot race, I may give you an "adge" of about 3 to 10 yards in a 100 yard dash to the finish line. That is you will only need to run 97 to 90 yards. The less distance gives you an "adge' to win the race.

Those after school lessons can give you an adge to pass the exams with higher marks.

Isn't ADGE or "Aadgee" referring to paternal grandmother.

Nah..it used like whn people racing..esp if it is an adult an a kid..or a guy n a girl..

to patronize the ‘weaker’ one..they would give him or her an ‘adge’ ..like shorter distance..

or they would give them an earlier start…

Lynn