Helloooooo

just checking in…

how y’all doing? Wht’s on  d agenda ?

we r painting d house!!

Anyway hope u r all enjoying this ‘warm’ January …

PS..today is supposed to be ‘blue monday’ whatever than means…hope nobody turn purple or white??lol

@Amral posted:

all is well here. nothing much happening yet, sweet homan playing hard fuh get now since she get pickney last year

Lol..new yr..time to find another then if she playing hard to get..lol

Lynn

Hey Lynn.....Everything okay with me gyal.

Just dreaming of sunshine!! 

We've had 4 days.....yes, 4 days of sunshine in the last 30+ days!!!

That's crazy.....even for winter in Canada.

We used to do Island vacations at this time for over 20 years......but had to stop due to some health issues with my guy.

On the non-rainy days I still go out for a walk. Try to walk 5 miles/day, 5 days/week. That's about 14K steps!!

Villagebelle
@Amral posted:

I am going to Calgary solo vacation in June will look for a cowgirl there.

Enjoy Amral.

I've always wanted to go to Alberta, BC and Nova Scotia.

I haven't travelled within Canada at all. Loved the all-inclusive Island vacations a lot while we were working.  It was the best way to do nothing and relax.

Didn't travel much in Guyana either

Villagebelle

yep and after that I will be going to Vancouver in September for a week and then take the Via Train (5 days and 4 nights on train) to come back.

The train trip is a thing I wanted to do a long time. I booked Sleeper Cabin for One  for the duration. Should be exciting I think to see Canada from a train.

https://www.vacationsbyrail.co...-via-rails-canadian/

Last  fall I went to Ottawa for a week, took the Via train both directions, it was nice

Amral
Last edited by Amral
@Amral posted:

yep and after that I will be going to Vancouver in September for a week and then take the Via Train (5 days and 4 nights on train) to come back.

The train trip is a thing I wanted to do a long time. I booked Sleeper Cabin for One  for the duration. Should be exciting I think to see Canada from a train.

Last  fall I went to Ottawa for a week, took the Via train both directions, it was nice

On my bucket list......seeing Canada via train!!

But it's sooooo expensive!! 

One summer train-trip for me and hubby to BC or Alberta is the cost of 3 Island all-inclusive vacations!!!

Villagebelle

For 2 people I am not sure, but my cost was $2644.95 including taxes, all meals are included.

Spaces sell out very fast so you have to book very early. There are usually discounts too.

Prestige Class is very expensive and more of a luxury if you have the money.

For a couple I will say go for>>>>> Its a once in a lifetime trip well worth it.

Sleeper Cabin for Two - Suitable for two guests, two-person sleeper cabins offer nearly 40 square feet of personal space for those traveling on VIA Rail's Canadian. Take in the breathtaking views through your private picture window as you lounge in your two chairs. When evening rolls around, a staff member pulls out a lower berth bed and pulls down an upper, then dresses each bed in crisp linens. Storage space for carry-on luggage is provided in the cabin, and individual climate controls ensure each cabin is a comfortable temperature. Further, each Sleeper Cabin for Two features a private washroom with a toilet, sink, mirror, and outlet. Travelers in these cabins have exclusive access to the train car's shared shower room.

• Sleeper Cabin Suite - Measuring 14 1/2 feet by 5 feet, Sleeper Cabin Suites are the largest of the Sleeper Plus cabins on the Canadian. Essentially, these cabins are two combined two-person sleeper cabins with the wall removed. This means guests have access to four folding chairs during the day, two private restrooms and four beds at night - two upper-berth beds and two lower-berth beds. Groups traveling in this sleeper train option also have access to the train's shared shower room.
Amral
@Amral posted:

I dont think I cAN HANDLE A LONG TRAIN RIDE..IF IT IS ANYTHING LIKE VA RAIL??

My girlsn I took a ride to Montreal..it was abt 5-6 hrs i think..i believe it was in 2008??

we got the facing seats in front..but we were 3..omg back then we didnthave cell phones etc..the girls had ipodsn listened to music..i tried to read bu the constant movement of train n the ‘humming’ ..it nearly droveme crazy as i couldnt sleep or read n had no one to chat with n ..whn we got to the 2nd to last stop..i was a tthe end ofmy patience n i was getting aggravated..

we had comfy seats..but with. Nothing to do..5 hrs is way too long..it was my 1st train ride here in the last..

i have never used the subway here..(dontlaugh) n once i used the go bus ..not go-train

i used the NY subway abt 3 times …(y’all dont laugh)

Lynn
@Amral posted:

gyal yuh terrible @Lynn

I know bai…

me lil shame to admit this

It is  funny as i used to travel with train fromparika to de willem 1971 up to whn it was scrapped .i think June 1974

n i LOVED that train journey!!

there was a conductor that allowed 2 of my gfs n I to sit in 1st class..nice leather seats!! (Ie whn we took that last train (5-530pm) to parika..whn we reached to parika n it parked up, we sat in 1st class n completed our home work in style!! )

years ago, i think it was 1995, my cuz daughter took us in Ny subway n before that i used it for a return trip to NYC in 1994.

then in 2016 i think..my gf from st lucia was visiting  her son in brooklyn n i went to spend a few days with her ..n we used the subway a few times to go to NYC .  I enjoyed that as we didnt travel during rush hrs so the arriages were kinda empty.  Boy, it was DEJA VU sitting n enjoying that train ride with my gf (my batchmate from UG..friends since we were 18 yrs old) ..

whn my lil girl was smalli had promised to take her for subway ride here..well sheis 25 yrs now n i never took that ride ..hahaha

nah laff 2 much bai…

Lynn
@Amral posted:

you have to be lil adventureous  yuh know

U right….my girls esp d lil 1 always tell me that im ‘BORING”

i am a house-bug fuh tru-tru

lol

who knows?….maybe 1 day..hehehe

my sis wants us to go together to Gy for easter…

i find travelling very stressful

which is weird..since i enjoyed every min of daily commute to sch ..those long hrs in ferry / train n Tata bus..long waits at the stelling..

long walks down that de willem mud dam from the train platform (esp in rain) …..i loved every min ..but then later whn i moved to GT i didnt enjoy travelling at all …

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Amral posted:

Look at this you might want to try it then

Looks nice…im not sure i can sleep with the constant ‘clickity clack’  n ‘shaking’ ..

maybe a shorter trip like the Montreal , now that I have phone n ipad!! Lol

thnx BM

Lynn
@Amral posted:

not me and Guyana, prefer to see more of Canada, I already have Halifax on the horizon

Re :GY..I left in 1990 n went back in 94(just for police clearance n immig medical ) for few days.  Then again in 1995 just before relocating to cda..next time it was 2010 whn my mom was in hosp..thn 2014 whn she died n 2017 whn my sis was sick…

but my sis who lives in cayman will-be 65 in April n wants me to go with her for easter holds(she is a teacher) as she wants to spend time with my 3 bros n I (1 bro n 2 sis died ) …otherwise i am not too keen on gy either.

i took the bus trip (chinese tour bus) twice ..once the 7 days to Maritimes n other was to Mont Tremblanc via Ottawa, Quebec Kingston etc.  i really enjoyed it as I took my younger girl n my nephew from cayman (they were teens) .

Lynn
@Amral posted:

not me and Guyana, prefer to see more of Canada, I already have Halifax on the horizon

I want to go back to PEI ..the tour was just afew hrs but i would love to overnight …

n i want to go to banff, hopefully this yr

Lynn

I looked into PEI also, not sure yet.  But Halifax downtown is good area and close to many things. I know you can get from Calgary downtown to Banff via public transit. As I do not drive I do my research about getting around everywhere with transit.

Sleeping on a moving train I think is great, it is just like being rocked to sleep. As it is I get sleepy just being in a car moving after an hour or so

I rather do without a tour group, explore more freely and experience the places more in my own time at my own pace. I watch  many videos and street views during my research so that when I reach my destinations I am not at a loss. I have many printouts and screen shots downloaded .

When I go to Calgary the bus from the airport to my hotel (drops me one traffic light from my hotel) and in Vancouver, the skytrain station that I will be coming off from is right in front of my hotel. And the Via Rail station in Vancouver is a few stations away.

Amral
Last edited by Amral
@Amral posted:

I looked into PEI also, not sure yet.  But Halifax downtown is good area and close to many things. I know you can get from Calgary downtown to Banff via public transit. As I do not drive I do my research about getting around everywhere with transit.

Sleeping on a moving train I think is great, it is just like being rocked to sleep. As it is I get sleepy just being in a car moving after an hour or so

I rather do without a tour group, explore more freely and experience the places more in my own time at my own pace. I watch  many videos and street views during my research so that when I reach my destinations I am not at a loss. I have many printouts and screen shots downloaded .

When I go to Calgary the bus from the airport to my hotel (drops me one traffic light from my hotel) and in Vancouver, the skytrain station that I will be coming off from is right in front of my hotel. And the Via Rail station in Vancouver is a few stations away.

Hats off to u BM..very adventurous.

my older daughter travels a lot ..i think shehas visited more than 50 places already.  She has 1 of those maps that u pin the spots of places u visit.  She goes alone n sometimes with groups or another friend.  She makes abt 3 trips per yr!!  She was in Calgary 3 times..twice last yr because he bff from high sch moved there.  She drives so she does road trips too.  She n her sis were in CA (..SD n LA  ) last yr.  She has been to Whistler n Banff 2 times ..also The stampede …

well u enjoy n stay safe!!  My exp makes me  nervous to do an overnight .  I think I will have to retry the Montreal 1 n see ifitis better ..lol

Lynn
@Amral posted:

Good morning all and belated Valentines Day greetings to all. Day off today, I have to cook, sweet homan only feed me dessert yesterday.

Lol..u can’t live pun desert alone eh??

w=so wht’s cooking??

Lynn