Well..whn I started high sch, I found out that many words used in our home had a different name..haha( I guess this was because my Nani came from India n hardly spoke any English..my mom used a lot of Hindi words/terms) so Let us start..

I grew up hearing n using (some of) these  :-

Chaddar-bedsheet

bhartan-dishes

jaaray (shake out as in shaking our mats)

manjay- scouring as in dishes

, manjinnah -coconut husk used as dish sponge

rakhi..ashes from fireside

, baylay ..roll out dough for roti using a. BELNA (rolling pin)

chunkay ..bhunjay

goatay ..using dhal gutney (swizzle)

chaatay- lick yr fingers after eating

saanay..mix food with fingers

joota..eating food that someone else was eating,

korehee -clumsy/lazy

pagli..stupidy

pooharβ€”not doing chores properly

pooknee ..poke’

chimta..tongs for fireside

saykay..as in putting sada roti in fireside to swell up

chilla roti ..chota or as Berbicians say, DOSAY..pancakes

saapie ..pot holder

gir-gir-a

maswah

My mom used words like these..:

kutnee,

dharpoke

pussr pussr

loongayra

lagu bagu

?sp chooch-wai

gurmusaha

chulchul

labayray

janacrown

ghinjay

pasray

jagjoray

kinnah,

jharay/ owchay

pls share yours..thnx

@Wildflower posted:

When dem ppl cuss and say β€œ ker u stink *****’

Is really that stinky animal 🦨

I think that came from the white man…just like β€˜arse’

I know it’s not anything to do with Hindi words but it’s been on my mind

Lrad have mercy gal!

iz dubday n u mind on stinky$$!!! Gwan b bathe yuh stink skin lol

haha

u gat me laughing my a$$ off here

nah crank up d putts!!

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

When dem ppl cuss and say β€œ ker u stink *****’

Is really that stinky animal 🦨

I think that came from the white man…just like β€˜arse’

I know it’s not anything to do with Hindi words but it’s been on my mind

Btw dat ting gat so many names !!
i shud start a guyanese words/slang/terms n ra$$ thread lol

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Why is it that some people who speak Hindi etc cannot pronounce β€˜V’ my. coworkers used to say TWee for TV among other words

Is it Diwali or Divali?

Tell them to say: β€œGrapes of this vine make excellent wine.”

The Hindi sound for ΰ€΅ in Devanagari is between V and W β€”a voiced labiodental, the bottom lip + top teeth. It also differs by regions. Some also pronounces it as B... Bishnu for Vishnu, Bindravan for Vindravan

Last edited by Mitwah
@Wildflower posted:

Oh yes I noticed them saying Bictoria for Victoria

I rem whn Jo was 8 yrs old n a family came to the church with kids her age..she asked me why they say β€˜yeers’ for EARS!!

I work with may Ind..n they come from all States..Punjab, Gujrat, Kerala etc..different accent!, n yes that W sound for V

i rem this GUJ..  lady who used to say β€˜fly’ for FRY..it took me a long time to get wht she was saying(talking abt FRYING foods)

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Is it Diwali or Divali?

Tell them to say: β€œGrapes of this vine make excellent wine.”

The Hindi sound for ΰ€΅ in Devanagari is between V and W β€”a voiced labiodental, the bottom lip + top teeth. It also differs by regions. Some also pronounces it as B... Bishnu for Vishnu, Bindravan for Vindravan

How bout Wagina?

They would screw up this part if ever trying out for the awesome movie "V for Vendetta" 

When asked who he was V replied;

VoilΓ ! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin vanguarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous.

Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it's my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.