Dr Oudho Homenauth Chief Executive Officer

March 13 ,2021

After 20 years as head of the National Agricultural Research & Extension Institute (NAREI), Dr Oudho Homenauth received what he described as an “immediate dismissal” from Director General of the Ministry of Agriculture Madanlall Ramraj on March 8.

“Last Monday I was called to a meeting by the Director General at the Ministry and was told that this is my last day at NAREI,” Homenauth told Stabroek News yesterday.

While he has no intention of fighting to retain his position Homenauth told this newspaper that he is not comfortable with the smokescreen government has deployed to disguise its actions.

The Letter sent to Dr Oudho Homenauth by Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture Delma Nedd

On March 11, the Ministry of Agriculture announced that former head of the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB), Jagnarine Singh had been appointed the new acting Chief Executive Officer of NAREI.

It has been previously reported that Homenauth had been offered a post at the Ministry and chose to leave but the agronomist is denying this claim.

“He [Ramraj] said it was a directive from above that he had tried and the Minister had tried but they had no luck and that they would try to find a place at the Ministry for me. I said, ‘What are you talking about? This is a dismissal! You are dismissing me!’ And I left the meeting at around 2:30 and returned to the institute. I then went home after work and called one of the staff to tell them I had been informed I was no longer CEO so they would have to send someone to collect the institute’s vehicle the next day,” Homenauth explained.

He repeatedly stressed that the Ministry provided him with no explanation for the decision and as far as he is aware there was no complaint about his performance of his duties.

“Only on Sunday the Minister messaged me to say there was an issue with acoushi ants in Berbice that he would like me to resolve…I had just spent months, since November, working with them on the 2021 Budget explaining the projects we intend to pursue and no one said that any of my ideas or actions did not align with the government’s policy position,” he shared.

He further noted that he is confused by the actions of the government since one day after his “dismissal” he received a letter from Permanent Secretary Delma Nedd informing him that he should proceed on his annual leave from March 9.

“I responded letting her know that I had already been informed that I had been dismissed so she did not need to mince words with me and should withdraw the letter. I never asked for leave…I haven’t heard from them since,” he indicated.

According to Homenauth it was the same Permanent Secretary who had renewed his contract just seven months ago.

“I have a contract signed on August 1 by Nedd. I made a formal request last year and it was renewed for three years on that date but I know they can determine your contract. I can’t do anything because with this government once they want you gone you are gone…honestly I have no issue with them replacing me if that is what they want to do it is the way it has been done…so I really want people to know how this government operates,” he stressed.

Asked if the date of his contract, one day before the installation of the new government, likely had any impact on the action, Homenauth said he couldn’t see how that could be the case.

He bemoaned being unable to say goodbye to his staff or offer his gratitude for their work throughout the years.

“I would like to thank from the bottom of my heart all the staff for the work that they have done over the past years and I hope they continue in the same vein,” he said, adding that he hopes Guyanese farmers continue to benefit from the initiatives pursued during his tenure.

Homenauth said that he is most proud of how the work of the institute over the last two decades has positively affected the availability of food.

“I’m proud of the variety of different fruits and vegetables that is on the market. Except for one or two times there has been no shortage of fruit and vegetables in Guyana. I’m proud of the number of new crops introduced and that we’ve done a lot to adapt to climate change through shade houses and irrigation systems,” he told Stabroek News

He stressed that despite claims that he and his staff were not proactive they have consistently worked to resolve issues across the country.

“Look, recently the farmers in Wakenaam got help…those on the East Coast where they had issues with plantain and passion fruit where they had problems in the last two months. We’ve been proactive and instituted a lot of initiatives which I don’t think they know about. They are not concerned about those things they just want to get at people. That’s how I feel about this…they are mentioning my age which I feel is discriminatory. They are making it sound like I am infirm or have dementia or something like that,” he lamented.  

They are making it sound like I am infirm or have dementia or something like that,”  Homenauth lamented.  This man implemented things that no man knows about. Nobody likes to get fired but somethings happen for the best.  The department of agriculture need a variety of products such as

• Livestock (cattle, poultry, hogs, etc.)
  • Crops (corn, soybeans, hay, etc.)
  • Edible forestry products (almonds, walnuts, etc.)
  • Dairy (milk products)
  • Fish farming.
  • Miscellaneous ag products (i.e., honey)

Homenauth will only embarrass himself if he fights this dismissal.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Apologist !!!  Dr.Homenauth firing is to open space for Jagnarine Singh ,expect more kleptocracy the boys are accustomed  to.

Soil scientist, Dr. Oudho Homenauth, is a ‘Special Person’

“I am proud of what the entity (NAREI) has become; now it’s a household name and people are aware of what we do.”

Born and raised in the Corentyne as the eldest child to a farmer father and the village’s

Dr. Oudho Homenauth

“Milk Lady,” this week’s Special Person, Dr. Oudho Homenauth, is a testimony to the maxim that one can achieve anything—if one is willing to, of course.
It all began when a young Oudho, from the humble Number 67 Village, left his family at age 11 to come to Georgetown after securing a spot at Queen’s College—he would be the first person in his family to accomplish this feat.
And while everything may seem honey-glazed now, Dr. Homenauth reflects that he has had his fair share of encounters with “Lady Hardship” but like the protagonist in every story that has a happy ending, he persevered and yes, he conquered.
His many accomplishments have made him a massive contributor to the field of agricultural research in Guyana. He now serves in the capacity of Chief Executive Officer of the National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI)—the country’s premier agricultural research facility. He’s been there for the past 17 years.

EARLY LIFE
Oudho Homenauth was born on November 18, 1956, and like any little boy, he recalled playing marbles, cricket and climbing trees in the quiet village he still calls home. He is a product of a family whose foundation was rooted in agriculture.
His parents, Fred and Jasoda (now 81 and 78 respectively) were not high wage-earners.

Dr. Homenauth and his lovely family.

In fact, they sold the surplus of the produce from their kitchen garden, and milk as well as meat from cattle to provide for their seven children – the others being Paul, Moonesh, Nagwattie, Lovelyn, Deo and Kamine (the latter two now deceased).
“My parents, who now reside in New York, worked hard to ensure I got an education…It was rough most times…They sold greens, milk and cattle to pay my board and lodging in Georgetown…My mother was known as the milk lady and my father did the milking of the cattle and farming,” Dr. Homenauth recalled.
Oudho was the only one of his siblings to study in Georgetown. He attended the Number 68 Primary School and between the years, 1968 and 1975, he went on to study at Queen’s College. He was a Science nerd with aspirations for the medical field.
However, he took a slight detour and from the looks of it, he made the right decision. And while he is not a doctor in the medical field, he surely has made a tremendous impact as a doctor of the country’s soil.

ACADEMIC AND WORKING LIFE
To attend secondary school, Oudho had no choice but to travel to Georgetown and live

With his wife, Usha, when he graduated in 1992 with his Doctoral degree.

with strangers—this was a scary and challenging experience for him.
“It was extremely challenging especially when you leave your parents’ home so young and come into a new environment. I had never come to Georgetown before and I had to acclimatize in the sense that you met new people who had different values and ways of doing things.”
During his five years in secondary school, he was forced to change about nine places of lodging because the environment was not conducive enough for studying.
And, back home, while it was hard enough for his parents to sustain his siblings and themselves, they had to find boarding fees every month for five years.
“Finance was always limited in those days,” he recalled, while adding that he would communicate with his mother via letters during his time in school.
Oudho would only go home during his semester breaks, and that was a thrilling experience for him. He would hurriedly pack his bags and board the train destined for Rosignol. Upon crossing the Berbice River, he would take a bus to Corentyne.
He always travelled with his friends from school. They would share a joke or two, perform a few tricks and even eat fish and bread at a popular eatery in Mahaica. His return to Corentyne would be met with celebration.
He was like jolly ole’ Saint Nick; carrying a big sack of goodies and stories about his “adventures” in Georgetown. His siblings would listen to each story intently, satisfying their curiosities. The distance did no harm to the Homenauths’ strong family bond.

During his days at the National Service.

Dr. Homenauth briefly recalled his accomplishments in high school, where he usually came within the top three spots each academic year.
“I still remember it—in those days, the school use to give mid-term reports and they used to post it to your home (so) I didn’t see it, it went straight home and I got third (place) and my parents were happy.”
After graduating from Queen’s College, he taught a year at Manchester Secondary in Corentyne. He opted to teach there because it was close to his home and he wanted to be close to his family, since he had already been away for a number of years.
As he was teaching, Oudho sought to receive a scholarship to do medicine since he couldn’t afford it on his own. After that didn’t pan out, he decided to go to the University of Guyana (UG) where he pursued a degree in Chemistry.
He attended the University from 1975 to 1976, and from 1977 to 1978. He then joined the National Service, which had become a home away from home for him.
Collectivism was the order of the day at the institution. The billet and mess hall brought strangers together, who became lifelong friends.
Dr. Homenauth’s most valued memory of National Service was learning to shoot a Self-Loading Rifle on the range. While, he never hit the target, dressing up in the military attire and handling the rifle was a rush.
He would return to the University in 1978 where he spent two years finishing off his degree.

Dr. Homenauth and President David Granger at NAREI’s booth on World Food Day (October 16, last). The activity was held at Linden.

“After UG, I decided that I wanted to take up an academic career upon graduating. I started working at UG as an instructor in the Faculty of Agriculture from 1980 to 1983. I always knew I wanted to do something along the line of chemistry and I got to like soil fertility, and in 1983, I got a scholarship to do my Masters in Agronomy (soil) at the Mississippi State University to specialize in soil fertility, and I came back in 1985.”
“Between 1985 and 1988 I was at UG as a Lecturer One and I was promoted to Lecturer Two. I went back to study in 1988 at Cornell University, Upstate New York—on a scholarship to do my PhD.”
He spent four years there, and recalls his time there as challenging, since it was compulsory to do two minor subjects apart from the major one. He also did part time work at the campus to support his family.
Dr. Homenauth came back to Guyana in July 1992. He returned to the University of Guyana until 1999. During that time, he was a senior lecturer and Dean for the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry.
He related that it was a demanding role to be a leader, but his colleagues expressed great

A day in the field.

confidence in him. “UG was a wonderful experience…It is my cradle for whatever I have achieved…it gave me the opportunities…and made it possible for me to meet my wife who gave me four loving children,” he said.

FAMILY LIFE
A blushing Dr. Homenauth recalls how he met his wife, Usha, and also, the courtship.
“I met my wife at UG. She was a secretary in the Faculty of Agriculture and I was working in the same faculty. Both of us started working in the same field around the same time,” he says, as he journeyed back to the 1980s.
While working in the Faculty of Agriculture, he said he noticed his wife, and after sometime of “secretly” admiring her from a distance, it was time that he confirmed whether the “butterflies” were mutual.
“I had to ensure it was mutual and I had to do lots of things to find out if she noticed me too. It took some time but then I got through and after sometime, one thing lead to another and we got married,” he said.
Homenauth recounted, “In those days, you just couldn’t get a date easy. Her parents were very strict. Her father used to drop her to work and pick her up”. Usha Homenauth was from Enmore, East Coast Demerara.
By 1981, according to Dr. Homenauth, things started to work out and they started dating and subsequently got married on the 19th September 1982.
Between 1986 and 1992, Oudho and Usha produced four children. Dr. Ravi was born in 1986; Dr. Arun was born in 1989 and the twins (Esha and Navin) were born in 1992.
Now his wife, children, daughter-in-law and granddaughter, Aurora, are in Canada. It has been almost nine years since they migrated. Dr. Homenauth says that he visits them regularly.

LIFE AT NAREI
In 1999, while on Sabbatical leave, Dr. Homenauth had applied for an attachment at the National Agricultural Research Institute (NARI). He was familiar with the Institute through being a Board Member, a responsibility that comes with being the Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture.
Providing consultancy services to NARI allowed Dr. Homenauth to identify areas that needed improvements.
It was in March 2000 that he was appointed the director of NARI, and when NAREI (National Agricultural Research & Extension Institute) came into being in May 2000, he was appointed as its Chief Executive Officer.
Though his loved ones were abroad, and he obviously missed them, Dr. Homenauth selflessly opted to remain in Guyana, because he believed that making a contribution to his country’s development was paramount—and that is exactly what he has been doing in the agriculture sector to this day.
“I know I owe a debt of gratitude, because without the support from the government of Guyana, I wouldn’t have been able to achieve what I have today…and I have job satisfaction here,” Dr. Homenauth said candidly.
And of course, he is proud of where the entity he currently leads, has come under his tenure.
“I came from an academic background to manage an entire institute with over 400 staff throughout the country. With hard work and dedication, the team has been successful and today, NAREI is closer than ever to achieving its objectives, including reduction of importation, diversity, and promoting value added.”
Detailing his transition as the head of the entity, Dr. Homenauth said that he first had to ensure that whatever his plans were for NAREI, they would be beneficial to the small-scale farmers. He first crafted a five-year strategy, which was followed by another. The third strategy will end in 2020.
“I am proud of what the entity (NAREI) has become; now it’s a household name and people are aware of what we do”.
He said a lot of young people are making progress at the institute.
“We were able to get a number of persons to do post-graduate training, and that is going to help this agency in the future. We have eight persons currently in training.”
While under his command, the institute was the first to establish shade houses, re-emphasize a number of spices, establish a turmeric factory and now looks to diversify into potato and onion production.
Dr. Homenauth revealed that the entity is now looking to explore corn and soy bean production so that Guyana will be on the map as a leading exporter. With him at the helm, there’s little doubt that those goals will eventually be achieved.

@Django posted:

Apologist !!!  Dr.Homenauth firing is to open space for Jagnarine Singh ,expect more kleptocracy the boys are accustomed  to.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Nonsense.

So what the reason to fire Dr.Homenauth ? any recollection his replacement was pocketing money.

This PPP government is an incompetent dictatorship.  Irfaan Ali, a fake Ph.D., is busy firing competent professionals like Dr. Homenauth and Dr. Adams.  Note Dr. Homenauth's Ph.D. is from Cornell and he has successfully led NAREI for the past 20 years. 

Research finds locally mixed chicken feed more feasible

Was he replaced because they expect someone else can help NAREI meet the challenges ahead?  Let's not rush to score political points before ascertaining the real facts.  The doctor was appointed to that position by the PPP government by removing another person. Did the PNC condemn such a move 20 years ago as cronyism???

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Was he replaced because they expect someone else can help NAREI meet the challenges ahead?  Let's not rush to score political points before ascertaining the real facts.  The doctor was appointed to that position by the PPP government by removing another person. Did the PNC condemn such a move 20 years ago as cronyism???

Irrespective, you don't fire someone for no reason.  He had a contract and by all accounts was good at his job.  What political points are being scored?  Further evidence of an incompetent PPP dictatorship?  Is Jagnarine Singh any more qualified than Dr. Homenauth?  What challenges ahead are you talking about? 

@Ramakant-P posted:

They are making it sound like I am infirm or have dementia or something like that,”  Homenauth lamented.  This man implemented things that no man knows about. Nobody likes to get fired but somethings happen for the best.  The department of agriculture need a variety of products such as

• Livestock (cattle, poultry, hogs, etc.)
  • Crops (corn, soybeans, hay, etc.)
  • Edible forestry products (almonds, walnuts, etc.)
  • Dairy (milk products)
  • Fish farming.
  • Miscellaneous ag products (i.e., honey)

And so opines the kAnt! I see Jagdeo, the schemer, behind this! 'from above', huh? He must have said something true about the Jagged one which, of course, the Jagged one.didn't.like! And, as Jag.has.a ready.'yes man' replacement, out he goes! Or maybe he's really black! Whuh kine uh naim iz duh?.Homenauth? Dah int caincutta naim! Yuh gaffa naim.sumtimg.lyk Bha-de-rat!

And so opines the kAnt! I see Jagdeo, the schemer, behind this! 'from above', huh?

Only last week you were bytching about variety in agriculture.

Homenauth is getting old and must make room for a more younger person. Imagine if he was black, there would have been rioting by the token coolies.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Homenauth is getting old and must make room for a more younger person. Imagine if he was black, there would have been rioting by the token coolies.

If Jagdeo thinks you're black, then don't argue with him! Look, who is the bass hay?

You are the one who is arguing about race.  You cannot accept the fact that members of the PNC Coalition were fired for having no skills or being very clumsy.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Bharat Jagdeo is getting old too. How old is Jagnarine Singh and what are his qualifications and outstanding achievements in the field of Agriculture?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Younger guy? Homenauth isn't.even 65 as yet! What qualifications does Jagnarine Singh.have? And don't answer me.with 'Why' like you answered Mitwah, you kAnt!

@Ramakant-P posted:

You are the one who is arguing about race.  You cannot accept the fact that members of the PNC Coalition were fired for having no skills or being very clumsy.

Wuz becawz dey blak, blak, blak! Yuh tink yuh whyte nuh? Wate til Jag notiss yuh!

Younger guy? Homenauth isn't.even 65 as yet! What qualifications does Jagnarine Singh.have?

That is not the problem.  The man shows signs of impairment in memory, communication, and thinking.

@Ramakant-P posted:

That is not the problem.  The man shows signs of impairment in memory, communication, and thinking.

What proof of this do you have? Jag told you, huh? He seemed quite cogent explaining himself!

Jag didn't fire him.  The Director-General did what he thought was right for the country.  He had the last say.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Jag didn't fire him.  The Director-General did what he thought was right for the country.  He had the last say.

You evaded.answerimg my question! Also, I read that the decision came from 'above'! Was that the DG?.The DG (Ramraj) and the Minister said.they had tried but had no luck, the instructions to dismiss came from 'above'!

Jagnarine Singh was former head.of GRDB! Wasn't there some scandal involving him at GRDB?

I forgot to mention that I still think you are an ass, RamakAnt! But why remind you? Because you tend to forget whenever gou post kaka!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Why don't you read what's posted.  The Director indicated that he was following orders from an office higher than the minister's.  What does that suggest?  Ali? Jagdeo? Me uncle Tularam fram tapside? 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Typical Freedumb house blogger response. Where is the transparency that Ali and Jagdeo promised?

If he was born in 1956 how can he not be 65 or close to his 65th birthday???  Lol

Billy Rumgoat is confirming that his termination was based on age. Hence it is  Constructive Termination or Constructive Dismissal. Dr. Homenaught should consult with a good lawyer.

@Mitwah posted:

Billy Rumgoat is confirming that his termination was based on age. Hence it is  Constructive Termination or Constructive Dismissal. Dr. Homenaught should consult with a good lawyer.

Rumgoat, huh? That's a better description!

@Mitwah posted:

Especially when he had signed a new contract! Government.illegal? Not his fault! Let's hear from Anus!

@Ramakant-P posted:

....and you, a mentally impaired bigot with zero communication skills and lacking the faculties for thinking know this how??????

He got.this info from his Anus!