Double oil discoveries – 11th and 12th – offshore Guyana

Director of the Ministry of the Presidency’s Department of Energy, Dr. Mark Bynoe.

The Director of Energy, Dr. Mark Bynoe, Wednesday morning announced that ExxonMobil has made its 11th and 12th discoveries offshore Guyana at the Tilapia-1 and Haimara-1 wells in the southwest section of the Stabroek Block.

“This continues to be positive news for the people of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, but the real substance of these finds will come when all Guyanese are able to benefit from these discoveries, whether directly and or indirectly,” he said.

In December, Dr. Bynoe announced that ExxonMobil made its 10th discovery offshore Guyana at the Pluma-1 well. That discovery had increased the estimated recoverable resource for the Stabroek Block to more than five billion oil-equivalent barrels.

The Tilapia-1 is the fourth discovery in the Turbot area that includes Turbot, Longtail and Pluma discoveries. Tilapia-1 encountered approximately 305 feet (93 metres) of a high-quality oil-bearing sandstone reservoir and was drilled to a depth of 18,786 feet (5,726 metres) in 5,850 feet (1,783 metres) of water. The well is located approximately 3.4 miles (5.5 kilometres) west of the Longtail-1 well, Dr. Bynoe disclosed.

“The rate of these finds remains well above industry standards and continues to allow for further de-risking of the deep and ultra-deep one, but we still have a substantial way to go before we can confidently say the one has been de-risked,” Dr. Bynoe said.

He noted that the Noble Tom Maddendrillship started drilling the well on January 7, 2019 and will next drill the Yellowtail-1 well, approximately six miles (10 kilometres) west of Tilapia-1 in the Turbot area. Baseline 4-D seismic data acquisition is underway.

The 12th discovery at the Haimara-1 well, encountered approximately 207 feet (63 metres) of a high-quality gas condensate-bearing sandstone reservoir. The well was drilled to a depth of 18,289 feet (5,575 metres) in 4,590 feet (1,399 metres) of water.

“The Department continues to work assiduously with its partner institutions towards setting the requisite framework in place to ensure the benefits from these discoveries redound to the benefit of all Guyanese,” the Director added.

Located approximately 19 miles (31 kilometres) east of the Pluma-1 discovery, the Haimara -1 is deemed a potential new area for development. The Stena Carron drillship began drilling the well on January 3, 2019.

Dr. Bynoe noted too that there is potential for at least five floating, production, storage and offloading vessels (FPSO) on the Stabroek Block producing more than 750,000 barrels of oil daily by 2025.

Guyana needs democracy restored before we can look ahead at oil. First free and fair elections otherwise Guyana becomes like most African nations with oil and rampant poverty. Neighbouring Venezuela is also a classic example.

So... if the coalition win this election democratically, even by one vote, in an election certified by international observers, would that make you happy?? 

Guyana oil already has buyers waiting. Venezuela is an obstacle and the U.S. is getting rid of that threat as we speak. Alternative energy is the way to go but Guyana will get rich before that is fully introduced. 

So... if the coalition win this election democratically, even by one vote, in an election certified by international observers, would that make you happy?? 

I meant by one parliamentary vote (same as is now)...would you be willing to live with this??

Guyana oil already has buyers waiting. Venezuela is an obstacle and the U.S. is getting rid of that threat as we speak. Alternative energy is the way to go but Guyana will get rich before that is fully introduced. 

Historically, the US has a checkered record in South America. One day Venezuela will rise up again and America will be left outside. With China and Russia, Trump cannot do anything. Putin is holding Trump hostage. Trump will back down.

I always respect the democratic will of the people through a CERTIFIED free and fair election. By all means, yes. People like Carib want to see violence if the PNC loses. PPP supporters have a history of peace.

Guyanese should think about what kind of job opportunities the new oil industry will create and focus on how to get the best out of it. 

I agree but that is where the PNC fell apart, they were clueless.

Oil money is not enough for the Medical Bills for granger and Gecom Guy. I heard already 300 Million spent

O rass, he spent $ 300 million of taxpayers dollars already ? Imagine how much that could have helped the poor and unemployed young people. He would have spent about one BILLION when this is all over.

People need to talk about these issues !

Oil money is not enough for the Medical Bills for granger and Gecom Guy. I heard already 300 Million spent

O rass, he spent $ 300 million of taxpayers dollars already ? Imagine how much that could have helped the poor and unemployed young people. He would have spent about one BILLION when this is all over.

People need to talk about these issues !

If it's factual yes, how about it's a lie ?

The government will refuse to provide this information. It should be made public and not hidden prior to the election. Taxpayers have every right to know what was spent. As of now $ 300 million stands unless you and the PNC can prove otherwise. 

Amounts spent by Moses should also be made public prior to the election. 

Mr.T posted:

Jagdeo spent more than that on entertainment for his pals like Nehru.

You should be criticizing the present PNC government, they are the ones refusing your "Pay for Play". First you need a certify PNC card from Volda and two, stump up big time to Harmon the COLLECTOR.

The government will refuse to provide this information.

It should be made public and not hidden prior to the election. Taxpayers have every right to know what was spent. As of now $ 300 million stands unless you and the PNC can prove otherwise. 

Have any one asked for such information ? someone said G $300 million and you believe, banna you are gullible.

The government will refuse to provide this information.

It should be made public and not hidden prior to the election. Taxpayers have every right to know what was spent. As of now $ 300 million stands unless you and the PNC can prove otherwise. 

Have any one asked for such information ? someone said G $300 million and you believe, banna you are gullible.

If you don't believe, can you provide proof of the exact amount, otherwise don't label people as gullible. Just maybe the figure is a lot more. When Jagdeo went to the US for treatment, you guys said he broke the bank with his expenses without any proof.

It is amazing how this Banna defends PNC wastage of taxpayers dollars since the PNC is using it as their personal bank account. 

They a have responsibility to release this information. 

I have no problem if they can provide a reasonable explanation. 

You need to get off t hat crap about "african" nations is the example of bad. Oklahoma ranks 18th in the world for producing oil yet it is completely broke. They cannot pay their teachers. 

I always respect the democratic will of the people through a CERTIFIED free and fair election. By all means, yes. People like Carib want to see violence if the PNC loses. PPP supporters have a history of peace.

Caribj is telling the truth. If the PPP wins there will be instability. An the PPP does not have any history of peace. The 60 carnage began in tain where the sugar worker began chopping up black people. You ought to remember Conrad and Monroe...from Nesbit Changur's song

Guyanese should think about what kind of job opportunities the new oil industry will create and focus on how to get the best out of it. 

I agree but that is where the PNC fell apart, they were clueless.

Man shut up. The PNC has not detailed any plan as yet nor has t he PPP. The idea of a Sovereign Wealth fund per Santiago protocol needs to be coincident with spending to upgrade infrastructure and to improve lives. We are lacking from everything from prober health care delivery to education. Then we need increase policing and security infrastructure as well as transportation infrastructure. Both parties are anemic with this. The PPP are completely without any plan and if the win they will be in office before summer.

Caribj is telling the truth. If the PPP wins there will be instability. An the PPP does not have any history of peace. The 60 carnage began in tain where the sugar worker began chopping up black people. You ought to remember Conrad and Monroe...from Nesbit Changur's song

Looka rass hey, now you tun fortune teller.  What you fail to mention is that the instability during PPP tenure was caused by the PNC mo fiah slow fiah campaign and promise by Hoyte, Corbin and others to make the country ungovernable. Good thing the phantoms cleanup dem rass and foil dey wicked plans. Now yall vex badd badd that phantomizing was used so successfully to thwart your wicked plans to perform genocide on the indo population. 

VishMah, you miss out bai, you could have been rolling in dough if you were Guyanese. Instead you just have to settle for them PNC bais using de oil to lubricate yuh rass. 

Looka rass hey, now you tun fortune teller.  What you fail to mention is that the instability during PPP tenure was caused by the PNC mo fiah slow fiah campaign and promise by Hoyte, Corbin and others to make the country ungovernable. Good thing the phantoms cleanup dem rass and foil dey wicked plans. Now yall vex badd badd that phantomizing was used so successfully to thwart your wicked plans to perform genocide on the indo population. 

It is not fortune telling but inevitable conclusions based on numerous examples of what  behavioral outcomes in majoritarian systems as ours with closely matched ethnic demographics competing for power and where the prise is the state plus access to large volumes of cash.

How the hell can you predict instability under the PPP without factoring in PNC disruption via mo fiah slow fiah? You white washing dis thing. Hopefully with Jaggy in the background, yall rass will get a good dose of medicine should de man reactivate de phantoms  in response to any "instability" you planning behind the scenes in collusion with PNC criminals.