New York's PIX11 / WPIX-TV

2 dead, several injured after violence erupts at J’Ouvert celebration in Crown Heights
POSTED 4:12 AM, SEPTEMBER 5, 2016, BY ANDREA CAVALLIER AND MYLES MILLER, UPDATED AT 02:01PM, SEPTEMBER 5, 2016
FACEBOOK10K+ TWITTER TUMBLR REDDIT PINTEREST EMAIL

CROWN HEIGHTS, Brooklyn — Two people are dead and at least four others are injured as violence erupted along the bustling parade route during the J'Ouvert celebration in Brooklyn early Monday morning, despite a heightened police presence, according to the NYPD.

Police initially said five people had been shot, but later said four people were shot, one was stabbed an another was cut by flying glass during the annual West Indian Day heritage festivities.

The first shooting happened around 4 a.m. at Flatbush Avenue and Empire Boulevard in Crown Heights.

Police initially said a man in his 20s died. A 73-year-old woman was also shot in the arm as she sat on a bench outside a Wendy's. She is expected to live, police sources say.

The male victim was later identified as a 17-year-old, and the woman was found to be 72.

A 22-year-old woman was killed when she was shot in the head at Washington Avenue and Empire Boulevard, police say. She was pronounced dead at the hospital.

Another man in his 20s was shot in the leg near Clarkson and Rogers avenues around 7 a.m., police say.

A fifth person was injured by shattered glass in the area of Nostrand Avenue and Linden Boulevard. Police initially said that person had been shot.

And a woman was stabbed just before 5 a.m. at Empire Boulevard and Ocean Avenue. Her condition is not known.

The violence erupted in the "heart of J'Ouvert," police said

In addition to the shootings, several gun arrests were also made overnight along the parade route, police sources said.

Follow
esteban girón @gaytheologian
I heard shots and hid behind a vendor cart while a couple hundred people sprinted down empire Blvd. #jouvert2016 https://twitter.com/MylesMill/...s/772711836026281984
4:43 AM - 5 Sep 2016
2 2 Retweets 2 2 likes
The city announced earlier that it will double the amount of officers patrolling the event celebrating Caribbean culture after Carey Gabay, a top aide to Gov. Cuomo, was fatally shot last year while passing by the celebration.

Fliers circulated in the surrounding neighborhoods telling people not to shoot or stab anyone during J'Ouvert. The city has said it will not tolerate any violence during a celebration that leads up to the West Indian Day Parade.

But the messages have left some skeptical. An internet blog called "Thee Rant" mocked the security at J'Ouvert festival and asked people to "place your bets gentlemen, the mayhem is about to start."

PIX11's Ashley Soley-Cerro contributed to this report.

Time to get serious about eliminating gang violence.  THAT and not jouvert is the issue.  If they didn't kill there then they might move on to the parade as it is clear that some remain committed to mayhem.

BTW telling gangbangers not to shoot or stab is so cute.  I am sure that they laughed at this exhortation,  much as they laughed when they hid their guns and the cops under Kelly frisked down the good boys on the way from church, jobs or school.

I find it interesting that NYPD was able to suddenly arrest 34 people before the parade. What prevented them from arresting them, and others before, in order to impress upon at risk kids that this lifestyle isn't an option?

Time to get serious about eliminating gang violence.  THAT and not jouvert is the issue.  If they didn't kill there then they might move on to the parade as it is clear that some remain committed to mayhem.

BTW telling gangbangers not to shoot or stab is so cute.  I am sure that they laughed at this exhortation,  much as they laughed when they hid their guns and the cops under Kelly frisked down the good boys on the way from church, jobs or school.

I find it interesting that NYPD was able to suddenly arrest 34 people before the parade. What prevented them from arresting them, and others before, in order to impress upon at risk kids that this lifestyle isn't an option?

Apparently Black PNC members were in the crowd, they carry their bad habits everywhere. 

Donald will fix the lazy and violent traits in the African communities.

Caribj was there.

Y'all really need to spend the Labor Day weekend in Brooklyn to see the joy, the essence and the need for both the J'ouvert and WI Day Parade. Violence happens at other large gatherings too and you bet that the organizers and the NYPD are doing everything they can to eliminate this so that the reputation of the parades are not smeared by gang-bangers.

Kari posted:

Y'all really need to spend the Labor Day weekend in Brooklyn to see the joy, the essence and the need for both the J'ouvert and WI Day Parade. Violence happens at other large gatherings too and you bet that the organizers and the NYPD are doing everything they can to eliminate this so that the reputation of the parades are not smeared by gang-bangers.

Yeah. At Black Lives Matter and the KKK rallies.

Kari posted:

What joy? It is just an excuse to sport. If these people hear a car misfiring they mistake it for music and start dancing.

This is giving the entire West Indian  Community a black eye.

Time to stop the J'ouvert and let the day parade continue.

There are fatalities every year at the Hajj. Maybe it's time to stop the Hajj too.  

Druggie you disappointed me.  I actually thought that you would have been screaming about this since yesterday morning at 6AM.

Now set about and prove that a bunch of 50 year old men did this, because I don't think that some 20 y/o kid born in NYC with one parent from Trinidad, and another from Jamaica cares about the PNC.

Kari posted:

What joy? It is just an excuse to sport. If these people hear a car misfiring they mistake it for music and start dancing.

Life is hard for you.  Cannot dance, cannot do other things?  Hmmm.  No wonder you hate black people so.

I thought that Guyana couldn't support tech companies.  Now you let a "PNC" man do it.  So how come you are always telling people to go back to Guyana, and you didn't when your criminal hero Jagdeo was in power? Now it isn't because Guyana cannot support ICT because this guy has been quite successful.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....is-a-special-person/

.and the KKK rallies.

Of course you are an expert on the KKK rallies. Violence occurs when you and the rest of the Indo KKK arrive and the white KKK try to kill you all.

Druggie you disappointed me.  I actually thought that you would have been screaming about this since yesterday morning at 6AM.

Now set about and prove that a bunch of 50 year old men did this, because I don't think that some 20 y/o kid born in NYC with one parent from Trinidad, and another from Jamaica cares about the PNC.

It is quite possible that the PNC boys has an influence on these youths. What a disgrace you folks bringing to the parade every year. Soon the city will shut it down. 

.and the KKK rallies.

Of course you are an expert on the KKK rallies. Violence occurs when you and the rest of the Indo KKK arrive and the white KKK try to kill you all.

Show the proof.  Stop making things up over and over and over and over! 

It is quite possible that the PNC boys has an influence on these youths. What a disgrace you folks bringing to the parade every year. Soon the city will shut it down. 

Yes ageing 70 y/o men from Guyana telling NYC gangbangers what to do. Druggie they will sooner attack those old men to get their cell phones.

.and the KKK rallies.

Show the proof.  Stop making things up over and over and over and over! 

Proof about what? 

1.  That you are an Indo KKK?......Well you support Jagdeo and his racism.

2.   That the Indo KKK goes to KKK rallies? Well they have the same attitude towards blacks that the real KKK have.  They also love Trump as much as the real KKK do.

3.  The KKK beat up the Indo KKK?  Well Guyanese Indians are on the list of the folks who the KKK hate.  First they think that you all are blacks because of how you sound and act....and then they think that you all are Muslims because the fools think that India is an Arab nation.

Now cease your tears and screams.  Jagdeo the Grand Wizard of the Indo KKK, who wants to "tek back Guyana for Indians" (after all he defined the PPP as a coolie people party, and boasted that he has mobilized the East Indian support base). 

He also demonized blacks as a bunch of savages who would attack and rape Indians if the PPP wasn't there to protect them.  He also told Amerindians that blacks planned to kill all straight haired people if the PNC won.  Now that is what David Duke would say.

Yes ageing 70 y/o men from Guyana telling NYC gangbangers what to do. Druggie they will sooner attack those old men to get their cell phones.

Those same old men use the youth to do their dirty work of mo fiah slow fiah. You must have forgotten this tiny detail.

I repeat. Why would a slick NYC gangbanger, full of swag and arrogance, and a belief that NYC leads the rest of the world listen to some 70 year old man from Guyana?  Do you even see any one copying any aspect of Guyanese culture outside of Guyana?  Even Dominica is considered more "with it" than Guyana is.  The islanders love to tease Guyanese that Guyana has no "culture".

Kari posted:

Life is hard for you.  Cannot dance, cannot do other things?  Hmmm.  No wonder you hate black people so.

I thought that Guyana couldn't support tech companies.  Now you let a "PNC" man do it.  So how come you are always telling people to go back to Guyana, and you didn't when your criminal hero Jagdeo was in power? Now it isn't because Guyana cannot support ICT because this guy has been quite successful.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....is-a-special-person/

Just as I suspected, not all Blacks are as dumb as you are. Here we have a man who put his money where is mouth is under the PPP and continues to do so under the PNC despite constant attempts to shake him down. Kudos to him. He is a doer but you are a talker. 

I repeat. Why would a slick NYC gangbanger, full of swag and arrogance, and a belief that NYC leads the rest of the world listen to some 70 year old man from Guyana?  Do you even see any one copying any aspect of Guyanese culture outside of Guyana?  Even Dominica is considered more "with it" than Guyana is.  The islanders love to tease Guyanese that Guyana has no "culture".

Just like the mullahs get suicide bombers to do their dirty work, many blacks are vulnerable to the hatred you spew.  When they can't find Indians to beat and rob, they turn on their own. 

There are fatalities every year at the Hajj. Maybe it's time to stop the Hajj too.  

Kari posted:

Kari I know the joy for I have been to the parade year after year up to 2003. I have also been a participant at Trinidad Carnivals in my yoUnger days. As a matter of face I used to enjoy J'ouvert the best. Nothing beat coming down Federick street or pushing a steel pan back to St James fore day marning.

My point is that Jouvert right now in Brooklyn is not necessary. Remember that this was not started with the Labor Day Parade and WICDA. J'ouvert is a spin off from the original Carnival Day celebrations. 

Too many lives are wasted with this early morning fete.

Kari posted:

That is the beauty of Trinis and Trinidad.

That is what makes them special and contribute their rich culture. 

I know you did not use the words "Blackman" but don't be fooled every Trinis is like that from both major races. THEY LOVE TO PARTY and cannot hear a sound and yes it's bacchanal! 

Just as I suspected, not all Blacks are as dumb as you are. .

I am not in tech.  You are.  You screamed that you couldn't return under your Jagdeo because Guyana had no use for your schools. Well a "PNC" man showed you up.  His name is mentioned frequently in APNU circles. 

I am fortunate to have attended both Carnival and Hajj and both has to one thing in common large crowds.

At Hajj there are in excess of 5 million persons and yes due to the large amount of people there are accidents every year.In Islam Hajj is a must for the adherents of the faith. J'ouvert  on the other hand is attended by 300, 000  persons, a choice people make  and if violence continue  to Mar the celebrations then the authorities will be forced to cancel the  party..Mayor Deblassio said that all options are on the table.

My point is that Jouvert right now in Brooklyn is not necessary. Remember that this was not started with the Labor Day Parade and WICDA. J'ouvert is a spin off from the original Carnival Day celebrations. 

Too many lives are wasted with this early morning fete.

The problem isn't jouvert.  Its the gang bangers.  They can and do show up to the main parade, and will likely do so if jouvert is canceled.

So getting rid of the gang bangers is the issue.  Not letting them run mayhem and then arresting a few of them just because jouvert was coming up. 

NYPD was quickly able to find and arrest 34 of them before the event, and have no arrested one of the shooters based on forensic evidence, clearly suggesting that this person has priors.

Instead of harassing normal people because they have a soda can in a paper bag, they need to focus on the gang bangers, and work with the violence interrupters.

CaribJ stop being foolish no one ain't carrying soda in paper bag.

You know the deal.

People buy soda in a paper bag. They walk out the store with the stuff in the bag so that the stupid Arab doesn't think that they are stealing from them.  If the soda is cold then they keep it in the bag. 

Some stupid cop thinks that they are an easier mark than a gangbanger, so throws them against the wall, does an illegal search, and then notches up his quota.  If the person objects to this treatment he is then arrested.

The gangbangers, with their guns hidden in garbage cans, watch this, laugh, and resume their mayhem as soon as the police move off.

All of this from community based people who are trying to reduce violence.  I suggest that they know more about what happens in black communities in Brooklyn than you do.

I am fortunate to have attended both Carnival and Hajj and both has to one thing in common large crowds.

At Hajj there are in excess of 5 million persons and yes due to the large amount of people there are accidents every year.In Islam Hajj is a must for the adherents of the faith. J'ouvert  on the other hand is attended by 300, 000  persons, a choice people make  and if violence continue  to Mar the celebrations then the authorities will be forced to cancel the  party..Mayor Deblassio said that all options are on the table.

Attending Hajj is a decision that someone takes just as attending a carnival. It is not compulsory to survive. Belonging to a specific religion and practicing its tenets are personal choices.  

Mars , Hajj is compulsory upon every Muslim if they can afford it and it is not a choice.

Aren't you the same clown who runs around saying that there is no compulsion in Islam? Now you're cornered with facts you're trying to say that Hajj is compulsory. Well which one is it?

Belonging to a specific religion and practicing its tenets are personal choices. It is not compulsory for someone to be a Muslim and practice the faith or we would all be brainwashed like you.

You know the deal.

You're right on! They carrying halal bhoonjal pork. Maybe you should try some.

Mars , Hajj is compulsory upon every Muslim if they can afford it and it is not a choice.

Aren't you the same clown who runs around saying that there is no compulsion in Islam? Now you're cornered with facts you're trying to say that Hajj is compulsory. Well which one is it?

Belonging to a specific religion and practicing its tenets are personal choices. It is not compulsory for someone to be a Muslim and practice the faith or we would all be brainwashed like you.

"There is no compulsion in religion"  as stated in the Holy Quran is different  from what is compulsory for an adherent of the faith.

You know the deal.

You're right on! They carrying halal bhoonjal pork. Maybe you should try some.

I choose not to respond in kind.

Have a lovely day.

"There is no compulsion in religion"  as stated in the Holy Quran is different  from what is compulsory for an adherent of the faith.

Is it compulsory to repeat the shahada before you become a Muslim? 

You're confused. One time you're telling me there's no compulsion in religion, then in the same breath you telling me you're compelled to attend Hajj. Which one is it? It has to be one or the other. It can't be both at the same time.