Kari posted:

Islam consists of five pillars .

1. You must believe in One God.

2. You must pray five times per day.

3. You must fast during the month of Ramadan.

4. You must pay the Zakaat.

5.You must perform the pilgrimage if you can afford to.

That's a lot of compulsions

That's  what it is , plain and simple.

Some folks estimate that only 30 % of the World's 1.5 billion Muslims are in compliance with all the five aspects.

Those compulsions are similar to Commandments.....and switching to secular matters are similar to laws that say don't kill somebody or else you hang.

archaic. 

Kari posted:

Islam consists of five pillars .

1. You must believe in One God.

2. You must pray five times per day.

3. You must fast during the month of Ramadan.

4. You must pay the Zakaat.

5.You must perform the pilgrimage if you can afford to.

That's a lot of compulsions

That's  what it is , plain and simple.

Some folks estimate that only 30 % of the World's 1.5 billion Muslims are in compliance with all the five aspects.

Those compulsions are similar to Commandments.....and switching to secular matters are similar to laws that say don't kill somebody or else you hang.

archaic. 

Oh Rass yuh calling Kari old donkey.

Every Religion gat Pillars and Posts.

Christianity have none of that. Believe in Christ,and He sends the Comforter with host of ministering angels for guidance towards the oceans of perils in day to day living.

I also saw with my owm eyes the blind see, the cripple walk and the deaf hear at my village.  Dem people were very special.

Hallelujah!

Christianity have none of that. Believe in Christ,and He sends the Comforter with host of ministering angels for guidance towards the oceans of perils in day to day living.

I also saw with my owm eyes the blind see, the cripple walk and the deaf hear at my village.  Dem people were very special.

Hallelujah!

Someone please say " Praise the Lord"

Today's NY Times Editorial was not too kind to the J'ouvert event.

No Courage, No Peace in Brooklyn

A man held up a fake rifle during this year’s J’Ouvert celebration in Brooklyn.
Mark Kauzlarich/Reuters

Mayor Bill de Blasio needs to wake up and shut down the carnage of J’ouvert, the overnight ritual of music, dancing, shootings and stabbings that precedes each year’s West Indian American Day Parade.

Elected officials in Brooklyn need to demand it, even if it means breaking with the mayor and facing angry constituents. Somebody needs to show courage in defense of innocent lives and challenge a well-loved but chronically violent event in the Caribbean heart of the city.

Mr. de Blasio does not seem up to the fight. He has ruled out canceling J’ouvert. Even though four people were shot, two fatally, during Monday’s festivities. Even though last week he promised the safest J’ouvert ever, and even though the Police Department flooded the neighborhood with 3,400 officers, double last year’s number, dozens of security cameras and 250 light towers to make the streets blaze with noonday brightness at 4 a.m. Even though the police tried to keep the peace in advance with a gun buyback, a gang takedown and sternly worded fliers that said: β€œDo not shoot anyone. Do not stab anyone.”

It didn’t work. Not for the bystanders who lost their lives: Tyreke Borel, 17, who was shot in the chest, and Tiarah Poyau, 22, who was shot in the face. Two other shooting victims, a 72-year-old woman and a 20-year-old man, are expected to survive. There were also reports that two people were stabbed.

Each year, officials promise that J’ouvert, whose name is a French-derived term pronounced joo-VAY, will be safe. Each year proves them wrong, and then a cloud darkens that day’s enormously important and popular West Indian parade. Last year’s victims were Carey Gabay, a Cuomo administration lawyer, who was fatally shot, and Denentro Josiah, who was stabbed to death.

The incoming police commissioner, James O’Neill, needs to insist that his officers will not be drawn again into a futile effort to protect neighborhoods from an event that is a magnet for gang violence, in the predawn dark, amid an estimated quarter-million revelers.

The Council speaker, Melissa Mark-Viverito, was vague on Tuesday, about J’ouvert’s future, saying through a spokesman that all options need to be reviewed. A Brooklyn council member, Jumaane Williams, said he wanted an β€œhonest discussion” but wouldn’t commit to any changes β€” though he warned that ending J’ouvert would be like imposing β€œmartial law.”

He and others are right that controlling J’ouvert and J’ouvert-inspired revelry is a challenge β€” the partying and parading sprawl across several Council districts, including backyards and nightclubs, and people will be out no matter what the mayor and the N.Y.P.D. say. But chaos and carnage are not inevitable. The daytime parade, once plagued by violence, is now a peaceable event.

J’ouvert needs to be shut down or altered so it can be policed effectively. Suggestions include starting it at daybreak, not the middle of the night, and screening the crowds, forbidding backpacks and deterring guns, the way Times Square is secured on New Year’s Eve.

Kari posted:

Today's NY Times Editorial was not too kind to the J'ouvert event.

No Courage, No Peace in Brooklyn

A man held up a fake rifle during this year’s J’Ouvert celebration in Brooklyn.
Mark Kauzlarich/Reuters

J’ouvert needs to be shut down or altered so it can be policed effectively. Suggestions include starting it at daybreak, not the middle of the night, and screening the crowds, forbidding backpacks and deterring guns, the way Times Square is secured on New Year’s Eve.

Yes I can see jouvert being like Time Square.  Do they plan to shut down the entire neighborhood because the only way that they can secure it is if the shut down the thoroughfares to restrict people from entering. So Nostrand, Bedford, Franklin, NY Ave, all of those closed off? 

Do they think that people will stand up in one place for an hour and then go home?  Do they think that it is a concert.  The concert is behind the Brooklyn Museum, and yet those old farts also want that shut down, even though there has NEVER been violence.

Listen let those who know about what jouvert is chat about this, and let the ageing rich Jewish men, so called liberals, who don't step outside of the Upper East side, scream their hatred of Bill Deblasio. 

What do they prefer.  People roaming all over the neighborhood on Labor Sunday, making the area even harder to police?  That is what it was before jouvert and there was MORE violence then!  Those who want to be out on the streets on Labor Day Sunday will be in one place.  Brooklyn on Labor Day Sunday was QUIET if one wasn't around where jouvert was.

Why don't they declare martial law while they are at it?  Institute a dusk to dawn curfew.  When I see nonsense like this editorial I see people who don't live in the neighborhood.  The problem isn't jouvert.  Its gunplay. 

Jumaane Williams is very connected to the week end festivities, and also comes out of organizations which have focused on dealing with youth violence.  I will suggest that he knows where more about these central Brooklyn communities than some ageing Jewish NYT old fart who never leaves the Upper Eastside.

What people want is for the gang bangers to be dealt with so that they can go about their business 365 days of the year.  How come NYPD decided to suddenly arrest 34 people and seize a stash of weapons.  Does any one really think that NYPD suddenly made that discovery?  No they did a PR gimmick to "clean" up the area for jouvert.

People were shot all over NYC that night.  Any word of these other deaths?  No!

While we are at it why not ban July 4th, because that weekend is the most dangerous, with gangbangers firing guns in lieu of fire crackers, or thinking that their gun play wouldn't be reported as people would think that it is fire crackers. Or NY Eve with the same problems.

The issue is gun play NOT jouvert and those who know these communities will say exactly that!

This is giving the entire West Indian  Community a black eye.

Time to stop the J'ouvert and let the day parade continue.

Oi Chief, you were doin the math in the thread you started on Hajj and those injured. Check the math in the post by carib,by that I can't see why they should close down J'ouvert.

"250,000 people were there.  Fewer than 10 people behaved like goons, but you condemn the entire group. WHY?"

Cain

Is shooting and stabbing others an accident?

Chief was the only shooting and stabbing on Labor Day Sunday in NYC at jouvert?  NO.  The problem is criminals, NOT scantily clad females wining down the street!

Aaahhhh Ah see what you sayin, ahaaaa, chief gettin scared ah dem iron clad thingamerries nuh?

Kari posted:

That's a serious, impassioned, reasoned argument by CARIBNY. The debate will continue and a solution will be found. Shutting down J'ouvert is a knee-jerk response. I remember after the anthrax scare powder was taken off the streets at the Richmond Hill Parade....but was allowed in the Park....go figure!

Although Carib may not be inclined to afford a Muslim similar opportunity to issue perspective regarding militant Muslims and the 2.5 or so billion Muslim world population.

Unfortunately the dregs of society are attracted to this event..

Did you go? No. So why don't you carry your racist behind elsewhere.  Best place for you will be at a KKK rally.

250,000 people were there.  Fewer than 10 people behaved like goons, but you condemn the entire group. WHY?

SO why do you condemn the religion of Islam because of the actions of a few?

RiffRaff posted:

Did you go? No. So why don't you carry your racist behind elsewhere.  Best place for you will be at a KKK rally.

250,000 people were there.  Fewer than 10 people behaved like goons, but you condemn the entire group. WHY?

Because the Afro cause is the only one he protects regardless.  He would have protected Jeffery Damer if he was Afro.  Come on Ray, was your question necessary?? You here long enough!!!!!!

Jim Jones????

I have been to a few of these functions in support of my Caribbean heritage only to be disappointed with the vulgarity and hooliganism on display by some of the participants. I know this is your cup of tea, but those of us with impressionable children would rather shield them from these characters.  In fact I don't condemn the entire group, I clearly stated that the dregs of society are attracted to it. But so are other people.  

Kari posted:

. I remember after the anthrax scare powder was taken off the streets at the Richmond Hill Parade....but was allowed in the Park....go figure!

The idea is that if the "Muslims" kill off each other who cares.

And in fact there are also those who wish to shut down Phagwah.  Claiming that it creates a mess, in addition to the public urination which allegedly occurs.  If I were Druggie I wouldn't be in open celebration.

!

Although Carib may not be inclined to afford a Muslim similar opportunity to issue perspective regarding militant Muslims and the 2.5 or so billion Muslim world population.

Caribj is against Muslims being stigmatized because of the behavior of some.  Caribj is vocal against Muslims (and those who look like people's perception of Muslims) from being seized off planes, or being subjected to extra scrutiny.

Caribj does suggest that Muslims cease allowing MUSLIM CLERICS from damaging the religion. Caribj also suggests that non Arab Muslims tell Arab Muslims to stop conflating the primitive aspects of their culture with Islam, and to cease brain washing converts, or Muslims poorly attached to the religion that Arab tribal culture is "true" Islam.

If Jumaane Williams (a NYC councilperson of Caribbean descent) went out to jouvert urging gang bangers to attack and kill I would condemn Jumaane and condemn those in his district ho vote for him. If he made excuses for this behavior, I would also similar condemn him.'

Given that you aren't the sharpest knife in the drawer, and in fact are one of the dullest lamps in the room, maybe this logic escapes you.

In fact Jumaane wants the conversation to be on what the true problem is.  Gunplay and not jouvert because he knows full well that July 4th is an even MORE violent night.

Now because some clowns think that firing guns is a good substitute for fire crackers, I don't think that there is a sane person why would demand that July 4th celebrations be banned.

RiffRaff posted:

Riffraff maybe having to interact with Nehru has dulled you a bit. 

I don't condemn Muslims. I condemn Muslims clerics who use their religion to create mayhem. I suggest that Muslims who want to ensure that their religion develops a better image then deal with the problem which renegade Muslim clerics create.

I have been to a few of these functions in support of my Caribbean heritage only to be disappointed with the vulgarity and hooliganism on display by some of the participants.

If you don't know how to wine then you aren't a Caribbean person.

Better go and collect that Indian passport, but then I see Indians wining too! 

Life is so harsh for the prudish!

I have been to a few of these functions in support of my Caribbean heritage only to be disappointed with the vulgarity and hooliganism on display by some of the participants.

Vulgarity is not my forte, this is for the crass people like yourself who want to be Black so bad that they act even more lewd than the Blacks themselves. 

Given that you aren't the sharpest knife in the drawer, and in fact are one of the dullest lamps in the room, maybe this logic escapes you.

Gee. Thanks dude. No one has ever said such wonderful things about me. 

How you think Druggie, Skeldon and o few more ah dem now feels, carib has never used such elegant words while describing them,?

Be proud Sir Kaz, hold that head up high and chest stuck out, yessss?

Vulgarity is not my forte, this is for the crass people like yourself who want to be Black so bad that they act even more lewd than the Blacks themselves. 

ai ai ai ai ai, dat dam putagee rass carib getting attacked here, hehehehe