Let AFC have the Speakership

January 4, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under Letters

Dear Editor,

The two most important positions for the opposition in the current parliament are: (1) the Leader of the Opposition and (2) the Speakership.

Both positions carry the salary and benefits of a Minister of Government.

In the scheme of things APNU on its own would only be entitled to the position of Leader of the Opposition with its 26 seats.

The AFC on its own would be entitled to nothing. But, those seven seats that the AFC has is what has given the combined opposition the numerical strength to be entitled to the Speakership.

Further if APNU wants a long-term collaboration with the AFC to keep the Government in check and to correct some of the past excesses then as a matter of principle the Speakership should be given to the AFC.

It seems unfair that APNU should seek to benefit from both these positions.

Otherwise the three parties go it alone, the PPP with its 32 seats gets the speakership and the opposition parties collaborate only on a case by case basis in the Parliament.

Ms. Backer and Mr. Ramsaroop are no more qualified for the position of Speaker than Mr. Nagamootoo. All three are Attorneys-at-law and all have parliamentary experience of varying degrees.

The converse of the argument propounded by APNU is more likely to be true with respect to Mr. Nagamootoo. Having just contributed in a major way to the loss of an out-right majority by the PPP, he is more likely than not, not to lean towards them but to hold the scales evenly.

Fairplay dictates that the AFC should get the position of Speaker.

Analyst

Not to favor Abidha but Commonwealth Tradition and practice has been so.
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Does the AFC know what entitlement is? The speakership belong to the executive branch of government.
would you provide us with the source of this reasoning in our system? The habit of taking everything is not reason enough.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Originally posted by D2:
Does the AFC know what entitlement is? The speakership belong to the executive branch of government.
would you provide us with the source of this reasoning in our system? The habit of taking everything is not reason enough.

Well, it ain't so in England.
Too many fags in Parliament. partybanana partybanana yippie yippie
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Originally posted by D2:

the man said ENGLAND,not the ppp in parlament
How little you know of the World. Frown
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by D2:

bai its friday,go to your alter and pray that mother will forgive you for all your hate and injustic that you help the ppp do unto the guyanese people
Rass yuh Blind and deaf too. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by D2:

bai its friday,go to your alter and pray that mother will forgive you for all your hate and injustic that you help the ppp do unto the guyanese people
Rass yuh Blind and deaf too. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by D2:

the ppp have to be proud of you,you is one evil thing
Originally posted by D2:

Partially true... except in this case for the first time the executive branch does not have the majority of seats. There in lies the conundrum. I feel it would be easier for the PPP to make concessions with the AFC in the interest of all Guyanese. Half a loaf is better than no loaf. Smile
Originally posted by Mitwah:
Originally posted by D2:

Partially true... except in this case for the first time the executive branch does not have the majority of seats. There in lies the conundrum. I feel it would be easier for the PPP to make concessions with the AFC in the interest of all Guyanese. Half a loaf is better than no loaf. Smile
the ppp have too much skelton in their closet,if the AFC support them they will have to disclose certain thing that will expose they couruption
Originally posted by D2:

the ppp have too much skelton in their closet,if the AFC support them they will have to disclose certain thing that will expose they couruption

How paradoxical! APNU will have the position of leader of the Opposition and primarily it will be their responsibilty to expose the corruptions.
Originally posted by D2:

How paradoxical! APNU will have the position of leader of the Opposition and primarily it will be their responsibilty to expose the corruptions.
apnu will try to expose the government,but with out the marjority in parlament the ppp will just brush it off,for guyana to move forward the two oppisition have to stick together and let the government compromise
Originally posted by D2:

England does not dictate our policies anymore.
For all the OBVIOUS reasons available to reasonable people, there is NO sane option available to APNU or the AFC where either of them bargain to give the PPP the Speakership.

AFCites who, for whatever reasons, feel that THIS PPP card is an option, have forgotten (OR DON'T CARE) what the 2011 election was really about.

Nothing wrong in strongly advocating for an AFC Speaker (the best result, IMHO), but this must necessarily be negotiated exclusively (& privately) between the 2 OPPOSITION PARTIES . . . "negotiations" BTW, mean COMPROMISE!

THe AFC parliamentary swing vote(s) are precious, and should be used ruthlessly to 'manners' both the PPP and PNC legislatively in the interest of PROBITY and GOOD GOVERNANCE, not bargained away because of pique, narrow ambition or empty notions of entitlement.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by redux:

AFCites who, for whatever reasons, feel that THIS PPP card is an option, have forgotten (OR DON'T CARE) what the 2011 election was really about.

[QUOTE]

They havent forgotten (the Nagamootoo faction). They punished the PPP and now are ready to go back home...but will want to squeeze the PPP alittle bit to esnure that they arrive home with goodies.

Poor Ramjattan. He cant return with them and will be left with a shell and by 2016 will join TUF in irrelevance.
Originally posted by caribj:
Moses will be the speaker. Ramotar will act with wisdom.

yes. Revealing to all of us that the AFc is PPP jr led by Nagamootoo and that all the true AFC leaders are weakened shells with no base.

You are behaving like Albert.

Remember this moment when Nagamootoo returns to the PPP as a hero.

Where will the AFC be then? Revealed to Guyanese as a group og simpletons used by PPP folks as they fight their INTERNAL war?
Moses will be the speaker. Ramotar will act with wisdom.

yes. Revealing to all of us that the AFc is PPP jr led by Nagamootoo and that all the true AFC leaders are weakened shells with no base.

You are behaving like Albert.

Remember this moment when Nagamootoo returns to the PPP as a hero.

Where will the AFC be then? Revealed to Guyanese as a group og simpletons used by PPP folks as they fight their INTERNAL war?

Tell us! You are the one with the gift of darshana.

Mitwah,

I see Trotman giving up the speakership to the PNC just before the next election so he can be the AFC presenditial candidate.

So much for Moses and Ramjattan's hopes for a shot at the presidency. Trotman is a very slick politician.

BTW, Gerhard is a good candidate for the speaker of the house.