Granger need some lash.
84 year old person . Where are all the younger fellas. This is the type of move that makes this Governmebt looks stupid.
Granger need some lash.
84 year old person . Where are all the younger fellas. This is the type of move that makes this Governmebt looks stupid.
Gilbakka posted:Oh, it's rigging time again, you won't believe me/ I can see that faraway look in your eyes ....
If the 84-year-old man dies before 2020 Jagdeo will have to submit a new list.
Brother Gil,
Rewind back and look at my warnings about President Granger and the potential of installing a dictatorship.
We need to read between the lines and the U.S ambassador gave his blessings about a week or so ago, in effect that Granger was acting in accordance to the constitution. That was a full endorsement and a green light for Granger to implement his rigging machinery.
This is one of the saddest days in Guyana's history. This decision takes Guyana back to pre 1992.
Oil will be flowing and the investors prefer an administration which can play according to their rules. Search GNI forums and D2 at some point in time had some very nice posts about oil and corruption. They ring true to this day.
There is no need for an election in 2020, Granger can announce the results tomorrow.
The PPP cannot do much as we look back into the history books. This will be another 30 years into the wilderness. Oil would have stopped flowing by then and Guyana would have retuned to a brutal dictatorship era with the people worse off than they are today.
News Outlet like KN and others will have to tow the line.
This is no longer about Bharat Jagdeo and the PPP but this is now about the future of Guyana and the return to rigging and dictatorship. Everyone will suffer, the only exception are politicians in the administration feeding at the oil trough.
The AFC has served their purpose and Granger no longer needs them. History is repeating itself. The AFC leadership can either tow the line or step aside, I believe that many in the AFC will tow the line.
Non cooperation from the PPP will mean nothing, we walked down that road already.
Priya and her other PPP friend insulted the US ambassador in his residence and guess who is now having the last laugh ?
Very, Very sad day for our country.
Yuji22
BGMAN posted:cain posted:Granger should be made to explain how he came about with his choice. Out of eighteen persons he found none to be worthy of that position but one ole goat he was able to find. I thought for sure the last list had a couple for the job.
I tell yall he get he eyes an pass BJ.
President Granger is not a democrat. He idolizes President Burnham the dictator. Instead of winning the hearts of the Guyanese people through responsible governance, he is about to take away their democratic right to choose the government of their choice. This is not about Jagdeo , this is about the entire nation.
Granger missed a golden opportunity to galvanize the nation. He opted for the Dictatorship route.
yuji22 postedThis is one of the saddest days in Guyana's history
Priya and her other PPP friend insulted the US ambassador in his residence and guess who is now having the last laugh ?
Very, Very sad day for our country.
Yuji22
This is the gist of it.
cain posted:Django posted:Zed posted:Jagdeo said that he will take them to court and gave non cooperation.
Who the President ??
I thought you were gonna ask the banna for "proof"
Lol
Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:Today I had a discussion with my cousin and told him Granger have the power not pick the GECOM Chairman from the list Jagdeo submitted,not because the PPP did that,Granger is obliged to do so,he was mad with me,i told him the Constitution of Guyana gives too much power to the President.
I knew all along Granger will use this power and nominate some one of his own choice.The game begins from now to 2020.
Only problem is that this government had promised the Guyanese people that they will be different.
True,
the people have to start a movement for Constitutional Amendments to reduce the power of the President,I have been saying this for awhile.
I agree with you on the need for the people to start a movement to reduce the power of the president.
But, think about it. Immediately prior to having an executive president, did Guyana have a democracy? The answer to this simple question will shed light on what is needed?
From Stabroek
President David Granger has made a disastrous decision by unilaterally appointing a Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission. In acting unilaterally the President has shredded to pieces what had been an involved engagement with the Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo. The unilateral appointment has also defenestrated the Carter-Price formula for the selection of the Chairman which had been followed for the 1992 general elections onwards.
The Presidentâs decision has poisoned the political climate as evidenced by the PPP/Câs declaration yesterday of non-co-operation. It will also taint the manner in which the public perceives the conduct of the new Chairman, Justice James Patterson. He will be seen to be beholden to the President. This will cast a pall over election preparations.
Aside from the fact that at 84 the rigours of GECOM will be a severe challenge for Justice Patterson, there is also the prospect that this could necessitate a replacement in the period approaching elections and thereby presenting a prospect for a delay.
Further, the President cannot be oblivious to the public skepticism that the party he leads, the PNCR, which unashamedly rigged general elections in 1968, 1973, 1980 and 1985, is yet to establish its commitment to electoral democracy.
cain posted:Granger should be made to explain how he came about with his choice. Out of eighteen persons he found none to be worthy of that position but one ole goat he was able to find. I thought for sure the last list had a couple for the job.
I tell yall he get he eyes an pass BJ.
This is worrying and ominous. For those of us who lived through the PNC dictatorship and witnessed how Guyana slid into dictatorship, it is like dÃĐjà view.
this is a lesson for us all if we can discern what we need to learn from it. I hear all this talknabout constitutional change but no one has really addressed how we create a culture in the political elite of Guyana where the democratic spirit prevails over arrogance, avarice, ignorance, service for self or own, etc. Institutions are created by man. We think that they can guarantee freedom. They cannot. The human is the critical element! They can suck the substance out of institutions, laws, etc, leaving just a shell, a facade that does not fool the majority of people they rule, but gives the corrupt some respectability in the eyes of some.
Mitwah posted:Gilbakka posted:Gilbakka deplores Granger's unilateral decision. Non-cooperation is in order.
Passive resistance is in order. "With one foot in the grave " epic comes to mind.
I will collect you at the airport when you arrive so we can start. I need to learn from you about this passive resistance. I know that it was successfully used by Gandhi in India.
some friends tried to get me to go demonstrate in front of state house last night but I declined. Told then that we all old, like old bulls that can only shit on its tail.
Chief posted:Granger need some lash.
What about all the other stupid moves previously? Are they of different type? What is the common element in them all?
Very bad move by Granger! Not good for Guyana
Zed posted:Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:Today I had a discussion with my cousin and told him Granger have the power not pick the GECOM Chairman from the list Jagdeo submitted,not because the PPP did that,Granger is obliged to do so,he was mad with me,i told him the Constitution of Guyana gives too much power to the President.
I knew all along Granger will use this power and nominate some one of his own choice.The game begins from now to 2020.
Only problem is that this government had promised the Guyanese people that they will be different.
True,
the people have to start a movement for Constitutional Amendments to reduce the power of the President,I have been saying this for awhile.
I agree with you on the need for the people to start a movement to reduce the power of the president.
But, think about it. Immediately prior to having an executive president, did Guyana have a democracy? The answer to this simple question will shed light on what is needed?
Guyana never had a true Democracy,with rigging and one party rule, due to a slight ethnic majority support at the polls.Some of the Politicians used divisive methods in the multi ethnic society to stay in power, race based voting is encouraged,hopefully the Guyanese people will wake up and stop being sheep.
True Democracy is in the hands of the people,Guyanese wake up cast the divisive politicians in the Atlantic Ocean,a small nation with abundant resources can benefit all,choose political leaders who have the whole nation at heart and not the ones who are there to fatten their bank accounts and receive hefty pensions.
As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
So Granger have immortality,too much slop in your head.
The only government official present was Minister of State Joseph Harmon.
October 20,2017
President David Granger yesterday unilaterally chose retired justice James Patterson, 84, to be Chairman of GECOM, rejecting a third list that had been submitted by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and plunging the country into its worst political crisis since APNU+AFC came to power in 2015.
Patterson was last night sworn in as the new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) hours after he was first contacted by Granger and just after Jagdeo declared a campaign of non-cooperation with the government over the decision. (See other story on page 4.) It would appear that the hasty swearing in was held to avoid a legal challenge. Patterson will be 87 when the next general elections are due in 2020.
âBeing desirous of fulfilling the requirements of the constitution and given the need to appoint a Chairman âĶand in light of the failure of the Leader of the Opposition to present me with a list that was not unacceptable I have decided that it would be in the publicâs interest to resort to the proviso in the Constitution Article 165 (2) which permits the President to act independently to appoint a person in the judicial category to be Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, that is a person who is presumptively fit and proper. I have accordingly appointed Justice James Pattersonâ, Granger told reporters during a ceremony at State House which did not see any appearance of Pattersonâs relatives or friends or members of coalition partner, the Alliance for Change (AFC). The ceremony got underway just after 8:30 pm, almost two hours after the Ministry of the Presidency sent out an urgent media advisory.
The swearing in of Patterson came two and a half hours after Granger met with Jagdeo informing him of the rejection of the list and his selection of Patterson.
On August 25, Jagdeo submitted a list comprising Joe Singh, a retired Guyana Defence Force Major General, who previously served as GECOM Chairman; former long-serving magistrate Krisndat Persaud; attorneys Teni Housty and Sanjeev Datadin; pilot and biodiversity advocate Annette Arjoon-Martins; and Adventist pastor and agriculturalist Onesi La Fleur.
GECOM has been without a Chairman since Dr. Steve Surujbally resigned in February this year. The search for a replacement in keeping with the Constitution began late last year.
In brief remarks after issuing the instrument of appointment, Granger urged all Guyanese to support the constitution of the full commission so that âwe can get on with the business of conducting Local Government elections and General and Regional elections in this countryâ.
He said too that Jagdeo during a meeting which started around 6pm was informed that the third list was unacceptable within the meaning of the constitution. He said that he paid careful attention to the ruling of the acting Chief Justice Roxane George in arriving at his decision to appoint Patterson.
An application was made to the Constitutional court by businessman Marcel Gaskin for declaratory orders on the meaning of Article 161(2), which provides for the appointment of the Chairman, in hopes of it providing clarity for the selection process. Justice George delivered her oral ruling in July and her written ruling last month.
Shortly
Contacted shortly after the swearing in ceremony had ended, AFC Executive member Khemraj Ramjattan appeared shocked that party leader Raphael Trotman did not put in an appearance and that Harmon was the only government official present. Stabroek News despite efforts was unable to make contact with Trotman.
Ramjattan however said that he was aware that Patterson was going to be appointed. âI donât know more than that except that the president did call the leader of the partyâ, he said.
Asked if he agreed with Pattersonâs appointment, Ramjattan said âI certainly would agree with the choice yes because it is the presidentâs choice and he didnât find it acceptable the other names and he found that one acceptable. Thatâs my opinion on the issueâ.
The government will be criticized for appointing Patterson who is 84 years old given that persons holding several constitutional offices were earlier this year sent home because of their age. Among them was former Chairman of the Police Complaints Authority (PSC) Justice Cecil Kennard who was in his late 70s.
Granger did not directly justify the appointment of the aged Patterson when asked. He stressed that government had to search after depending on Jagdeo for the last ten months to come up with a list that is not unacceptable. âWe have been searching as well and we feel that given his experience, he is a former Chief Justice of Grenada, he has long judicial service and we feel he is a fit and proper person. So it is important for the reason I have mentioned that we bring this search to an end and we get on with the business of governing Guyanaâ. Asked why the highly favoured and qualified Singh was not chosen, Granger responded âI am not prepared to discuss the individual qualities of the nominees. Taken as a whole the list was unacceptable and that is all I need to say in accordance with the constitutionâ.
Excellent
The President said that Patterson was an excellent choice given his long judicial service as well as integrity, impartiality and independence. âI think he is a person who is independent minded, he is impartial and I think he has all the qualities which we requireâ, he said.
Granger acknowledged that he never approached Patterson prior to the receipt of the third list and has not dragged out the process. Patterson would later inform reporters that he only became aware of his selection hours before the swearing in ceremony. âA few hours ago âĶI was never approached prior to tonightâ, he said when asked when he became aware that he was the chosen person. He went on to explain that Granger called him, made the offer and he accepted.
Granger stated that his search for a fit and proper person commenced after he realized that the list before him was unacceptable and that âwe could not go forward with that list. I would say from September over the four, five weeks we have been searchingâ.
Justice George ruled that the President is required to give reasons for deeming the names on the list as unacceptable.
However, Granger, when asked if he plans to give reasons why he rejected the third list responded âI have searched the constitution and the only reason I found âĶis that I am not obliged to appoint anybody who is not fit and properâ, he said before dismissing suggestions that the non-disclosure of reasons is not in keeping with the democratic principles. âI believe that it is in accordance with the constitutionâ, he stressed.
Granger added that after scrutinizing the third list he realized that it was unacceptable and he began a search for his own nominee in keeping with the constitution.
âI realized at that stage that after the submission of three lists that there was an intention on the part of the Leader of the Opposition to submit a list that is not going to be acceptableâ. He said that at one stage he considered approaching the matter differently that is, the establishment of the high level committee but âI donât have the authority to go outside of the constitution to initiate any sort of bipartisan search. It is entirely the Leader of the Oppositionâs responsibility and it would be unconstitutional of me to intrude on that process. He must do so and he has not done so over a period of over nine monthsâ.
The committee was to be established if the third list was found to be unacceptable. âThere is nothing in the constitution which authorizes me to do that and it would have been an error for me to proceed in that directionâ, he stressed.
He explained that during the meeting with Jagdeo he indicated âquite clearlyâ that he had a candidate in mind and said that Jagdeo was provided with Pattersonâs Curriculum Vitae.
Patterson told the media that though the job may be a demanding both he and the president thinks he is up to the task. Asked about the criticism of his age, he said that the president doesnât have an issue with his age and he pointed to the fact that one of the most fertile intellects in law, is US Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. A mere four months separate their ages. âShe would do 20 pushups at my age so I donât think it mattersâĶâ he said.
Asked if he can cope with the rigours of an elections period for 24 or 36 hours without little or no sleep, he responded âI have been a student at the bar you know and that is more damaging intellectually and otherwise than politicsâ.
He urged politicians to make an effort to fight for the unity of the country even as he described the state of affairs as âdishearteningâ. He was that he was never skeptical about accepting the position, pointing out that as a judge âyou encounter more difficult situations, more trying than thisâ. He said that his opinion of why he is the best person for the job does not matter. âIt is the selectorâs opinion that matters and he thinks that I am the best personâ, he said.
He could not say what his immediate priorities are.
Congratulations to the Slop Cyan Crew! Alyuh bad laka rass tho!
Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
As long as he has people like you with one foot in the grave supporting him, he will ensure another 27 years of destruction. I don't follow how you can continue fetching pnc slop on this site, you must have bought a powerful respirator to block out the stench.
Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
As long as he has people like you with one foot in the grave supporting him, he will ensure another 27 years of destruction. I don't follow how you can continue fetching pnc slop on this site, you must have bought a powerful respirator to block out the stench.
Unfortunately Sir,you are out of your mind.Django will be around for a while which is destined,you need to take closer introspection of thyself.
A INHUMAN BASTARD LIKE THE GADAHA IS NOT JUST A DICTATOR BUT HE IS WORST THAN A HO AT GAUMONT. THIS SHAMELESS DONKEY TOOK OVER A YEAR, WASTED DOCTOR JAGDEO TIME AND ENERGY BUT ALL ALONG KNEW HE WAS GOING TO APPOINT A RIGGER. AND I THOUGHT MUGABE WAS THE WORLDS MOST DANGEROUS IDIOT. I HAVE TO ADMIT I WAS WRONG BECAUSE THE GADAHA TAKES THE CAKE, THE WHOLE FRIGGIN CAKE!!!!
Django posted:Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
Unfortunately Sir,you are out of your mind.Django will be around for a while which is destined,you need to take closer introspection of thyself.
This is doubtful with your poor health habits and ill advised support of the corrupt pnc.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Congratulations to the Slop Cyan Crew! Alyuh bad laka rass tho!
So you are slop consumer too?
The brother said that only Granger's opinion matters. The opinion of the Guyanese people doesn't matter. Sounds like how things were during Burnham's days.
Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
This is doubtful with your poor health habits and ill advised support of the corrupt pnc.
How do you know what are my habits ?? You are a stupid fella and seem to predict what are other people's lifestyles,it's my choice and right to support whom i want,is it not the same for you ??
Banna haul your ass and go speak to lil children.
Django posted:Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
Django, he seems to forget that longevity does not run in his family. He lost his father and his brothers when they still had more productive years. Dem seh those whom God wants to destroy He makes them crazy.
Mitwah posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:Django posted:Drugb posted:As long as Granger has slop can carriers and the US behind him, he will continue to be a dictator. Once Guyana's oil is drained, he will be cast aside by his puppeteers in the West.
Django, he seems to forget that longevity does not run in his family. He lost his father and his brothers when they still had more productive years. Dem seh those whom God wants to destroy He makes them crazy.
Something is definitely wrong with that fella,me thinks he gets too personal,rather than stick to the topics,always trying to belittle other posters.
The two AFC guys, Rumjaat and Nigamoto are now part and parcel of a Dictatorship Government. I say, the people MUST rise up, National strike, Country wide protest. Shut down the country for one day, civil resistance. Indians buy foreign exchange, book your flights out of Guyana, get your girl children overseas. This is all about the dominance of OIL.
If Guyanese do not rise up and Protest in large numbers NOW then they must not blame anyone or seek help from anyone!!!! Nothing comes easy and sitting on your asses will never bring PROGRESS!!!!
Django posted:How do you know what are my habits ?? You are a stupid fella and seem to predict what are other people's lifestyles,it's my choice and right to support whom i want,is it not the same for you ?? Banna haul your ass and go speak to lil children.
What I can predict with certainty is that the stench of the pnc slop can will eventually be the end of you, no respirator can protect you from the inevitable. Not even lilmohan words of comfort or consuming black bigan daily will stave off the inevitable.
Django posted:Zed posted:Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:Today I had a discussion with my cousin and told him Granger have the power not pick the GECOM Chairman from the list Jagdeo submitted,not because the PPP did that,Granger is obliged to do so,he was mad with me,i told him the Constitution of Guyana gives too much power to the President.
True,
Guyana never had a true Democracy,with rigging and one party rule, due to a slight ethnic majority support at the polls.Some of the Politicians used divisive methods in the multi ethnic society to stay in power, race based voting is encouraged,hopefully the Guyanese people will wake up and stop being sheep.
True Democracy is in the hands of the people,Guyanese wake up cast the divisive politicians in the Atlantic Ocean,a small nation with abundant resources can benefit all,choose political leaders who have the whole nation at heart and not the ones who are there to fatten their bank accounts and receive hefty pensions.
This deranged FOOL cannot help himself. What hogwash and Bullshit!!!!
Nehru posted:Django posted:Zed posted:Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:Today I had a discussion with my cousin and told him Granger have the power not pick the GECOM Chairman from the list Jagdeo submitted,not because the PPP did that,Granger is obliged to do so,he was mad with me,i told him the Constitution of Guyana gives too much power to the President.
True,
This deranged FOOL cannot help himself. What hogwash and Bullshit!!!!
Poor you,
too deep,refute what i have written,instead of calling someone deranged,may be you fit in that category.
Sixteen yrs i am GNI,haven't seen you wrote anything of substance,no ideas,nothing,just empty.
HAHAHA An idiot like you talking about substance. Stick to ASS KISSING and BATTY WASHING. You are GREAT at those functions!!!!
Nehru posted:HAHAHA An idiot like you talking about substance. Stick to ASS KISSING and BATTY WASHING. You are GREAT at those functions!!!!
Banna take a hike,same over and over,you are empty.
Meh neighba seh the truth does hut belly!!!!
The outcome is not surprising. I said this would happen months ago. The dumb ass President appointing a dead man as FITand proper has to be the joke of the century!
ksazma posted:The brother said that only Granger's opinion matters. The opinion of the Guyanese people doesn't matter. Sounds like how things were during Burnham's days.
The shit is so high up Rumjhaaaaaatan nose the smell becomes normal!!!!!!!!!!!
VVP posted:The outcome is not surprising. I said this would happen months ago. The dumb ass President appointing a dead man as FITand proper has to be the joke of the century!
Funny but so TRUE. I do not want to toot my horn BUt I warned Carijb and Slop Can this will happen also. Caribj like the Namakaram, he very quiet hoping that this will go away.
ksazma posted:The brother said that only Granger's opinion matters. The opinion of the Guyanese people doesn't matter. Sounds like how things were during Burnham's days.
This is according to the constitution. The constitution makes him or any President, a dictator.
Time for shared government. The President comes from the winner of the electoral vote. The Prime Minister comes from the Opposition party.
Ramjattan turned out to be the biggest disappointment with these comments. He should have all least waited for the fire to cool down a bit before opening his mouth.
Moses seems to be playing this carefully with no comments from him so far.
Paging Chruchill.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Time for shared government. The President comes from the winner of the electoral vote. The Prime Minister comes from the Opposition party.
Yes but only if the elections are free and fair.