Home > TOP STORY > Rohee says Opposition is biggest impediment to economic development
Rohee says Opposition is biggest impediment to economic development
From left are Zulfikar Mustapha, PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee, and Mr Manzoor Nadir

Rohee says Opposition is biggest impediment to economic development

– as PPP/C lauds Guyana’s economic success

GUYANA has recorded an average five per cent growth in the economy, the highest in the Caribbean Region; and General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party, Mr Clement Rohee, yesterday congratulated the Government on attaining this level of growth in the face of global economic realities and regional and local factors.

The PPP General Secretary, however, slammed the Opposition as the “greatest impediment to economic development and social progress” in Guyana.
He said: “Unfortunately, (there) continues to be the joint opposition in the National Assembly. They slashed $19B and $32B from the 2012 and 2013 Budgets respectively, thereby depriving the economy of nearly $51B that would have been spent, and from which the Guyanese people would have benefited.
“They have voted down massive foreign-funded capital projects, such as the Cheddi Jagan Airport Expansion Project, the specialty hospital, the Amaila Falls (Hydro power) project, hinterland airstrips expansions and renovations, etc.”
Rohee said the Government has had to make use of constitutionally enshrined powers and other methods to restore the projects. However, months elapsed before this was done, depriving the economy of these massive financial injections.
“The Amaila Falls Hydro Project was killed completely!” he said. “The capital cost of this singular project was 25 percent of the size of our economy.”
He added that the approach of the Opposition in not supporting these projects — particularly those involving international financiers and contractors — continues to “tarnish and besmirch” Guyana’s image as an investment destination.
“This is an image that we took nearly two decades to create,” he said. “Investors are no longer as willing to invest as they were before. Muri Brasil pulling out is a good example.”
Rohee also referred to the Opposition parties’ stance on the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) Bill, which was returned and is currently before a Parliamentary Select Committee. “The economic consequences of this blacklisting are now being felt; and from all indications, they will gravely affect the economic trajectory of our country,” he said.
Rohee mooted that Guyana might have progressed further economically had the Opposition been “progressive, responsible and patriotic” in their approach to politics, rather than being “spiteful economic saboteurs who are masquerading” as political leaders.
He also acknowledged that greater progress, and hence prosperity, had been adversely affected by globalization and the adverse weather conditions affecting the agriculture sector’s productivity.
However, he lauded the Government’s diversification drive. Rohee said: “This (diversification) has minimised our dependence on a few industries, rendering our economy more robust and resilient. While we faltered in sugar, rice and gold recorded the highest production in our history. Tourism continues to grow, and our records of visitors remain one of the highest in the Region for 2013.
Construction continues to boom (and) information technology (ICT) remains one of the fastest growing areas in our new and emerging sectors.
“So while the Government has had to grapple with all these challenges, farmers, miners and workers right across the divide have stood by our side to achieve the phenomenal performance which our country has recorded.”

CONTEXTUAL CONSIDERATION
Rohee also called for the performance to be considered in a broader context in order to engender appreciation for Guyana’s success.
He said: “It is necessary that we examine this achievement against global economic realities as well as regional and local factors, all of which conspire in having an impact on our economy.
“It is a fact of notoriety that the world economy was plunged into its worst economic recession in recorded history approximately five years ago. Presently, while there have been some discernible improvements, many of the major economies — especially in North America and Europe — continue to reel from the impact of the recession. They continue to endure negative economic growth, with the attendant social repercussions which are the natural consequences of economic stagnation. Unemployment, inflation, debts, crime and poverty remain high; while income, social benefits and job creating opportunities remain low.
“The impact of this in the CARICOM Region, largely made up of small economies that are heavily dependent on tourism coming from these erstwhile powerful economies now in recession, (has) been devastating.”
Rohee said the economies of the Eastern Caribbean countries have been forced to seek balance-of-payments support to sustain basic social services to their people and to pay public servants’ wages.
“Last year Jamaica enlisted IMF (International Monetary Fund) support to fund its budget. The oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago is experiencing full employment with negative economic growth. Barbados was forced to announce recently that 3,000 public servants are likely to be laid off, along with a devaluation of the nation’s currency,” Rohee said.
He stressed that the entire CARICOM Region is in dire economic straits, and reiterated that it is against this background that Guyana’s eight years of consistent economic growth must be viewed, particularly with 2013’s five percent being the highest.
“Only then one gets an accurate picture of how well we have done,” Rohee said, as he called attention to the local factors that have contributed to Guyana’s success.
He said: “Indeed, our achievement has been publicly recognised and acclaimed by political leaders in the Region, regional commentators and the international financial institutions. It is imperative also that we examine certain local factors which have had an impact on the Guyanese economy.”

(By Vanessa Narine)

Sorry....crooks and corruption are the fundament to democratic rot. Wherever these arises democratic deficits arises in equal proportion. The PPP are that; corrupt. Success cannot be measured as a side business to corruption. The rise of the new sybarite class with obscene wealth is not progress. It is plain and clear theft and deprivations to the people whose assets are pilfered and to whom equal access to the instruments of state were denied.

Looks like Rohee is gearing up to be the next president. What do you think folks ?

Only one as daft, and completely bereft of any connection to reality can contemplate such an aberration of reason as a logical choice for the head of state.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Sorry....crooks and corruption are the fundament to democratic rot. Wherever these arises democratic deficits arises in equal proportion. The PPP are that; corrupt. Success cannot be measured as a side business to corruption. The rise of the new sybarite class with obscene wealth is not progress. It is plain and clear theft and deprivations to the people whose assets are pilfered and to whom equal access to the instruments of state were denied.

Minus all of your shouting, to date, the AFC/PNC has been able to prove Zero, yes Zero in a court of law. So much for your shouting out in the cold. Bring me the evidence that will be proven in a court of law.

Until then, you are only blowing smoke and engaging in "Dem Boys Seh" mentality. That's what separates the men from the boys.

Minus all of your shouting, to date, the AFC/PNC has been able to prove Zero, yes Zero in a court of law. So much for your shouting out in the cold. Bring me the evidence that will be proven in a court of law.

Until then, you are only blowing smoke and engaging in "Dem Boys Seh" mentality. That's what separates the men from the boys.

you dumb prick, who convicted any in the PNC against whom you liberally leverage various and sundry claims of extreme knavery?  Sending a jackass to obedience school does not yield any success. You are what you are.

Since the PPP never prove anything in a court of law against the PNC for their 28 years of rule, can we surmise that that all the claims of misdeeds against the PNC are false?

you dumb prick, who convicted any in the PNC against whom you liberally leverage various and sundry claims of extreme knavery?  Sending a jackass to obedience school does not yield any success. You are what you are.

Fact: The AFC/PNC has been able to ZERO in a court of law. We live in a civilized society where you prove your claim otherwise you are just blowing smoke.

I should report this post...asses should not be allowed to bray on GNI

Imagine that, you are redefining what scholars all conclude to be crooked behavior. Do you think those who call Mobutu a crook or Markos or Suharto, or Teodoro Obiang Nguema; should have first allowed them to have their day in court before calling them out on corruption and thievery?

How about the world's most acclaimed genocidal maniacs from Hitler, to Stalin and Khrushchev,  to Mao? How dare anyone call them genocidal maniacs when they were not convicted of any crime?

Should I go back to the thread where you and the Rev were waxing   on   Obama being the most corrupt president ever?

As I said, jackasses do not make good candidates for obedience school

The joint PNC/AFC opposition and the DIRTY PNC Indians can complain, condemn and criticize all they want----but nothing they do can stop progress and development in Guyana.

* Good news for Guyana and Guyanese will forever be bad news for the PNC/AFC and the DIRTY PNC INDIANS.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Guyana continues to move forward under the PPP.

WHO VEX, VEX.

You can sing and dance all day long, but you are able to prove ZERO. Until then...keep blowing smoke.

I am not singing or dancing. I am highlighting the obstinacy of a dunce.

Danyael:

* You are a graduate of that black glorified high school---Howard University.

* You ought not be referring to anyone as dunce.

* It's amazing how arrogant and pompous  folks like you and redux are.

* You Danny boy attended a glorified high school(Howard University)---and redux has never had a real job in his adult life---he is a 3rd rate intellect who has deluded himself into thinking he has a 1st rate mind.

Danyael:

* You Danny boy attended a glorified high school(Howard University)---and redux has never had a real job in his adult life---he is a 3rd rate intellect who has deluded himself into thinking he has a 1st rate mind.

You are a dunce! LOL! You still have to dream up Redux to be Mr TK? You are one insecure man. Your pleasures come from inventing a straw man. LOL! Your willy must be one inch. LOL! 

The honourable Yuji refuses to engage in gutter type behaviour and vulgarity and will not engage with you any further. You call for higher standards but your posts reflect your true personality and those in your beloved PNC.

Admin needs to take a close look at your posts and your disgraceful attacks on other posters.

Skeldon_Man is right! POSTER JB IS A MAN PRETENDING TO BE A WOMAN.

* Lots of weirdos on GNI.

Whatever inventions you and Skeldon_man wants to feel secure. 

JB thinks he is smart. He is of the thinking that posting as a woman, the posters will treat him with kids gloves. What an opossum? He is now exposed.

Danyael:

And who are you that can stand on a podium and make these declarations? Get real punk. I am as arrogant as I want in the face of  of ignoramuses as you.  Get rid of the cartoons and silly use of  asterisks  and write complete sentences. Maybe then you can have some foundation to your ostentatious declarative sentences about your prodigious brain power.

The honourable Yuji refuses to engage in gutter type behaviour and vulgarity and will not engage with you any further. You call for higher standards but your posts reflect your true personality and those in your beloved PNC.

Admin needs to take a close look at your posts and your disgraceful attacks on other posters.

The admin needs to put on his reasoning cap and sanitized the place of its insect infestation.

JB thinks he is smart. He is of the thinking that posting as a woman, the posters will treat him with kids gloves. What an opossum? He is now exposed.

Hey Gal JB leh meh kno now before meh go get marriage License, YUG GAT WAN HOLE IN THE FRONT SECTION OF YOUR BODY????

How polite! I wonder if I press that little button to the admin as YugYug is wont to do if he will think this vulgar? Maybe YugYug and his sanitizing team are already on the case....not!!!

What an ignorant man you are.

you right you is the typical example you being a antiman pretending to be a macho man

How polite! I wonder if I press that little button to the admin as YugYug is wont to do if he will think this vulgar? Maybe YugYug and his sanitizing team are already on the case....not!!!

You think I want to get married and then find out is Elton John I married to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Rev won't hire David Granger to shine his shoes, but yet you have the DIRTY PNC INDIANS here on GNI longing for Granger to be President of Guyana----weirdos and sickos.

* Would you allow a filthy man like Granger to touch that ?

Only in your petty mind the position would avail itself.  You and that Goytree chap are such pretentious punks!

You think I want to get married and then find out is Elton John I married to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

would not for the remotest of reasons think you are that discriminating...elton too old for you...into the younger crew?

The Rev won't hire David Granger to shine his shoes, but yet you have the DIRTY PNC INDIANS here on GNI longing for Granger to be President of Guyana----weirdos and sickos.

This is very racist. I hope the moderators are observing. 

its go to show you know nothing about dressing is that the best shoe you can find you have no class i will not wear a shoe like that if i get it free but then again you hardly can find a racist collie man that know how to dress stick to you white pants and red shirt

wHEN SOME aL yUH TALK I DOES WANT TO piss, DONT BE AROUND ME WHEN YOU SPEAK.

Danyael:

* Do you honestly believe a rank shythound like David Granger has the vision, the initiative, the foresight and the skills needed to lead a booming country like Guyana ?

* That man should be working as a garbage collector---Georgetown needs him in that capacity------he is not qualified to lead a progressive country.

This is very racist. I hope the moderators are observing. 

It is pretentious piffle...specific to us it is a disease called dalit recidivism....ie where the residual sense of castism seeds a compulsion to pretension.

You rite. Yu only wear ladies' shoes. Kwame always by dem fuh yu heh?

wHEN SOME aL yUH TALK I DOES WANT TO piss, DONT BE AROUND ME WHEN YOU SPEAK.

coward you will be too scare to be around me 

Danyael:

* Do you honestly believe a rank shythound like David Granger has the vision, the initiative, the foresight and the skills needed to lead a booming country like Guyana ?

* That man should be working as a garbage collector---Georgetown needs him in that capacity------he is not qualified to lead a progressive country.

I have not had the option to interrogate his intellect. Guyana has a bunch of baboons at its helm so I cannot expect worse.

What he should be is not up to you or me but up to him.