This makes-me remember d ‘katareel’??

made with the empty thread spool..the ends were made into zigzag to form ‘wheels’ , rubber band was threaded thru the holes lengthwise..n 2 sml pieces of pointer broom held the rubber band..

they u had to ‘wid up’ 1 side n whn u set the thing down..it moved!!

fascinating eh…

wish i can get a pix of that.

so share wht kinda toys u grew up with…we used to call it play-ting..as the word “toys’ was not in our vocab back then

Lynn

Oh d thread spool was called KATA-REEL !

well we used to cut up boxes..like ferrol compound boxes n make playing cards asmy Maa used to bun up d real cards!

i rem pretending to have jhandi..we stuck a red hibiscus flower on 1 end of pointer broom n stuck in sand..we mixed sugar n flour n ate for the parsad..omg!!  Sometimes we stole d powder milk n added sugar for parsad. My cuz used to wrap up in d flour bag sheet to-look like d pandit .

Lynn

My sis n i used to pick up the lil baby coconuts that fell down..we used to dig out the inside..(these were like cookrot sizes ) n fill them in the sweet drink corks..then put them in sun to dry..they came out like ‘cakes’

so we played ‘shop’ ..used sand as sugar ..boocie as flour..coodie as rice ..water as oil

we used to put on hats n tiptoes as if we wore high heels …lol…buttons were d paisa!! If not we buy ‘trust’ making note with chalk or charcoal on d brick pillar

my bro used rubber bans n rolled up paper as sling shots..dat thing sting bad bad

fun days whn we had nothing, yet we were contented

kids these days have so much n yet they complain n r miserable

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

So i saw this pix on fb(stole it from fb)

how-many of u  made this ingenious creation..my bros did

I did, also cut of the top of tin can and punch 2 holes in it and run a piece a string between and make a deadly spinner. You could do the same with a big button too.

Amral
@Amral posted:

I did, also cut of the top of tin can and punch 2 holes in it and run a piece a string between and make a deadly spinner. You could do the same with a big button too.

Omg i rem this..the boys did that with ..it was scary almost like a weapon!!

Now this reminds me ..they also used to tinin cups with a string attached..pretending that it was a phone or walkie talkie!!

My goodness..the image of that ‘spinner’ in my mind now..honestly i would have never remembered this n also the name!!

Lynn
@cain posted:

We used to be oh so poor we couldn't even get matchbox so my mother uses fo throw me in a corner an tell me fo go play with myself, as I aged I made many friends.

So u nah had no buddy or sissy or cat or dog ..u alone play wid yrself??  So i guess u r an expert in talking to yr self??

well we were 4 sisters..me being d ‘baby! Big sisssy had mumma role..ie fuh look after we..so we get licks like peas..she didnt play with us!! The 3 of us n 1 cuz my age used to do plenty pretend games.  We play shop of we just play like town family visiting country..or play somebody rich..or a star girl. If u see how the pretend on eused to chamkay n put on ‘airs’ n accent etc..eh eh , how we play ‘town gal’ n cut up some English n so.  Sometimes we play like 1 ah we gat big belly so we stuff some old clothes to create baby bump.  My sis was mostly the actor..he was the eldest of the 3 of us n my cuz. N she could drama..played old granny and all..(btw whn we dress up playing town gal, we used to wet red kite paper n daub pun we lips n cheeks because nobody wore lipstick etc back then .  I enjoyed the pretend shop ie grocery store whn we complained abt the high prices n the ‘shop kepper’ would buse u out n raid u out of the shop!!

Oh we used to ‘tease up ‘ we hair to obtain the big MUFF hairdo like dem stargal used to have until 1 day we couldnt comb out the knots n we get some good licks as scissors had to be used to help ‘untangle’ the knots…hahahaha

Fun times …

Lynn
@cain posted:

Cheer was/is the name. Nowadays if dem people put a toy in the box they would up the price by another $6.00 for the 10 cent toy.

Lol…nothing free these days!!

Were in in Gy whn the inside of the sweet drink caps used to have numbers..

i dont quite rem clearly but i. Rem we used to collect the corks ..many times were duplicates but then u could have exchanged with other to get numbers u didnthave

alos there used to be a lil iron-on stikcer in those laundry detergent(soap powder) boxes

or was it in ‘sweetie’ wrapper?? Or was it a wash-off kind of tattoo?  I have this vage blurred image of that little piece of paper

Lynn

I do recall the numbered caps..vaguely the tattoos.

We made parachutes out of scraps of cloth or plastic for our army figures and tossed them in the air or dropped them from a height.

I was just telling someone about the red rat sweeties hanging from their tails on a line running across the shop.