Keith Lowenfield

Chief Election Officer Keith Lowenfield

June 9 ,2021

The Guyana Police Force has announced the intention to institute a charge of conspiracy to defraud against Chief Election Officer Keith Lowenfield, Deputy Chief Election Officer Roxanne Myers and Region Four Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo.

Attorney Nigel Hughes who represents the three officers told Stabroek News yesterday that during interviews at the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) they were informed that they will be charged with “Conspiracy to defraud the electors of Guyana”.

He declined to offer any other comment on the situation.

Lowenfield, Myers and Mingo have since September, 2020 been called on to defend themselves against a litany of charges related to their actions following the March 2 General and Regional Elections (GRE).

Clairmont Mingo

The CEO is already facing three charges of misconduct in public office and three counts of forgery while Myers is defending herself against two counts of misconduct in public office.

Mingo has been individually and jointly charged with forgery and conspiracy to defraud. He was charged along with PNCR Chairman Volda Lawrence with one count of conspiring to commit fraud. Individually he is charged with four counts of misconduct in public office and also jointly charged with APNU+AFC agent Carol Joseph with one count of forgery. He further faces two counts of conspiracy to defraud.

It is alleged that following the March 2 GRE, Mingo and others conspired to rig the results of the Region Four elections in favour of the incumbent APNU+AFC.

Roxanne Myers

The dispute over the Region Four count led to a painstaking 35-day recount scrutinized by CARICOM, the Organisation of American States and local observers.  It also resulted in several protracted legal cases which were eventually adjudicated by the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Following all of this,  the PPP/C was declared winner of the 2020 elections and Mingo and others placed before the Court.

The three officers however retained their positions with the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

Last week, the government-nominated members of the Commission submitted motions calling for their immediate dismissal.

In the motions presented by Commissioner Sase Gunraj and seconded by Commissioner Bibi Shadick, Lowenfield is accused of acting in a manner which has caused a loss of public confidence and public trust in the electoral process.

Myers is accused of aiding and abetting Lowenfield’s actions while Mingo is accused of discarding his oath of office and failing to act fairly and impartially or legally in the discharge of his duties.

Additionally they have all been accused of failing, neglecting and abdicating their functions, duties and responsibility to ensure both compliance with the provisions of the Constitution and the electoral legislative framework and the essential criteria of impartiality, transparency, fairness and credibility to the operations of the Elections Commission and its Secretariat.

Lowenfield faces two more elections fraud charges

– Called into CID along with Myers

Jun 09, 2021 News, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...tions-fraud-charges/

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/06/lowenfield.jpgCEO of GECOM, Keith Lowenfield

Chief Elections Officer (CEO), of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Keith Lowenfield, will be facing two more elections fraud charges.

The information was relayed to this media house after Lowenfield was yesterday called into the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) at Eve Leary, Kingston, along with Roxanne Myers, the Deputy Chief Elections Officer (DCEO).

They both arrived at the CID headquarters sometime after 15:00 hrs. yesterday with their respective lawyers.

Crime Chief, Wendell Blanhum, said that the Guyana Police Force (GPF) would be instituting two additional charges of conspiracy to defraud against Keith Lowenfield. He added that Clairmont Mingo, the Returning Officer (RO) for Region Four, was also called in and today the media will be updated on whether or not he and Meyers will face additional charges.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/06/mingo-1.jpg

Region Four RO, Clairmont Mingo.

Lowenfield, Myers and Mingo are currently facing multiple criminal charges related to alleged attempts to rig the March 2, General and Regional Election held in 2020.

Lowenfield was slapped with three counts of misconduct in public office and three counts of forgery, while Myers was slapped with two counts of misconduct in public office. Mingo also faces four charges alleging that he misconducted himself in public office by failing to disclose the number of votes that were counted during the March 2, 2020 General and Regional Elections.

Apart from those charges, Mingo was jointly charged with former APNU+AFC Coalition Minister and current Chair of the People’s National Congress, Volda Lawrence, as well. The joint charge alleges that on March 5, 2020, in Georgetown, with intent to defraud the public, they uttered a certain forged document, that is to say, a report purporting to be a true declaration of all votes cast in District Four for the March 2, 2020 General and Regional Elections, knowing said report to be forged.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/06/myers-1.jpg

GECOM’s DCEO, Roxanne Myers.

He also faced another joint charge with Coalition activist, Carol Smith-Joseph, which alleges that on March 13, 2020, they uttered a forged document purporting to be a true report of all votes cast in the March 2, 2020 General and Regional Elections, while knowing that the report was forged. The trio is currently out on bail.

It is unclear at the moment as to what led police to institute two more fraud charges against Lowenfield, and why they requested the presence of Myers and Mingo at CID as well.

Recently however, Kaieteur News had reported that the controversial Region Four Statements of Poll (SoPs) for the March 2, elections were handed over to investigators at CID.

The handing over of the documents followed an order by the Chief Justice (Ag), Roxane George-Wiltshire, for them to be turned over to police by the Supreme Court’s Registrar, Sueanna Lovell.

The Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), Shalimar Ali-Hack, and the Commissioner of Police (Ag), Nigel Hoppie, had filed an application in the High Court for the SoPs and the Statement of Recounts (SoRs) to be released to investigators.

They had requested the elections documents in order to facilitate a fair hearing for the charges against the key GECOM officials.

June 9 ,2021

By Lincoln Lewis
News that there are likely to be more charges against Chief Election Officer, Keith Lowenfield; and Deputy Chief Election Officer, Roxanne Myers suggest the Guyana Police Force has not done a good job from the beginning of laying charges against these persons or is acting on political direction. Some are inclined to think it’s a combination intended to harass and defame these persons.

What is also striking is that as the Police is seeking to lay more charges, the Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has at the same time asked Mr. Lowenfield and Ms. Myers to show cause why they should not be dismissed. This is based on motions brought by the People’s Progressive Party /Civic (PPP/C)- nominated Commissioners. Even to the casual observers it seems as though there is a move to remove these two officers, regardless of. And it would appear that if fair means does not work then foul means will do. If this is not the intent of the Force, GECOM or Government then they must prove otherwise by their actions.
In light of what is unfolding it would be difficult to dissuade  reasonable questions, whether the police, GECOM and PPP/C government are serious about pursuing justice in the 2020 Election or bent on creating scapegoats. Mr. Lowenfield and Mr. Myers, while ultimately the head and deputy of GECOM, and it could be argued the buck stops at them, revelation from the Recount showed what a tangled web some weaved when they seek to deceive.

For instance, in many strongholds of the PPP/C and in the areas where GECOM declared in their favour there were massive irregularities.

The Returning Officer for Region One did not comply with the legal requirements in accounting for the ballots in the boxes. Another area where more than 10,000 votes were tallied, i.e. is the lower East Coast Demerara which is a PPP/C stronghold there were problems. In this area 47 ballot boxes had no documents except the ballot. Those boxes were managed by Presiding Officers. Corresponding in the Opposition strongholds these irregularities did not arise.

The stated are two instances among many. Not one of the Presiding Officers for those 47 voting stations or the Returning Officer for Region One has been questioned by the police. At the most basic of deduction it would appear that there is no attempt to question, much less charge them,  in an effort to pursue justice for what happened in the 2020 Election.

Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo has said that Guyana will not have another election with Mr. Lowenfield or Ms. Myers in their present positions. He seems unbothered about the 47 Presiding Officers and Returning Officer of Region One, to mention a few.  A pattern is emerging and it is not enticing for achieving justice with regards to the 2020 Election. Given the prevailing scenario, the Chairperson of GECOM, PPP/C-nominated Commissioners, the Guyana Police Force and Government would find it difficult to convince a significant section of Guyanese, based on the aforementioned, that they are pursuing justice.

@Django posted:

June 9 ,2021

By Lincoln Lewis
News that there are likely to be more charges against Chief Election Officer, Keith Lowenfield; and Deputy Chief Election Officer, Roxanne Myers suggest the Guyana Police Force has not done a good job from the beginning of laying charges against these persons or is acting on political direction. Some are inclined to think it’s a combination intended to harass and defame these persons.

Simply an opinion expressed in the OP-ED section of the news-media on the matter which can be good, bad, indifferent, etc..

Is wuh kinda bush tea yuh drink deh Mr. DG?

Shaddow-boxing has turned you utterances to vague, meaningless nonsense. What happen, missing your Backdam buddies?

DG, you are giving Lincoln Lewis way too much credit. In fact this is just incompetence on his part. If he had only managed to take a few more minutes to extract his head out from his confirmation bias he may have reached the conclusion that the additional charges of fraud were based on new evidence obtained from the recently released Statement of Polls.

Maybe he would have also considered the reasons the police did not pursue the election fraud investigations or charges against the PPP are exactly the same reasons that the Chief Justice denied the election petition. By the way, election petitions are the instruments for addressing the issues Lincoln Lewis addressed. Clearly the courts did not think the issues were of merit.

As I said before, I think Trump got his playbook from these guys. Claim election fraud no matter what the evidence and the courts say. Also make sure you have enough knuckleheads in the press to push the vast conspiracy theory.

L
Last edited by Locutus

These are three black people who has no trust in any PPP government. They have witnessed and lived through its first 23 years after being back.

Like all revolutions, it takes only one mind. Whose mind was it, Lowenfield, Myers or Mingo. However, the conspiracy was in unision. They are the faces we see and hear of, but anyone attentive to the events would know they were many more involved.

If the PPP is going to hang them for sedition, then they will be martyrs like their kins over the centuries since they were brougt to colonies of Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara.

To heal a nation takes great courage, sad, the PPP lil men and women have little minds. Visionless Indoes.

@seignet posted:

These are three black people who has no trust in any PPP government. They have witnessed and lived through its first 23 years after being back.

Like all revolutions, it takes only one mind. Whose mind was it, Lowenfield, Myers or Mingo. However, the conspiracy was in unision. They are the faces we see and hear of, but anyone attentive to the events would know they were many more involved.

If the PPP is going to hang them for sedition, then they will be martyrs like their kins over the centuries since they were brougt to colonies of Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara.

To heal a nation takes great courage, sad, the PPP lil men and women have little minds. Visionless Indoes.

Your flippant use of the words "revolutions" and "martyrs" try to convey that the actions of Lowenfield et al. were somehow high minded and based in some moral and ethical compass. Well the truth is it was a blatant attempt to subvert the will of the people in order to facilitate a power grab.

An analog for your argument is a case of someone who sets fire to a house because he has a grievance with the home owner. Your solution is to not prosecute the arsonist in order to facilitate the healing between the parties. I am not sure you will support this course of action.

Similarly I don’t think you can heal the nation by ignoring the attempts to subvert the will of the people by rigging the election. Where does it stop? What if you had a bloody coup attempt akin to the Jamaat al Muslimeen coup attempt in Trinidad in 1990. Do you let that go in order to heal the nation? Or lets consider recent events in the US. Should the US Justice Department ignore the January 6th insurrectionists for the sake of healing the nation?

What was attempted last year wasn’t a minor infraction of election laws it was a blatant coup attempt. Look around the world, the regression of democracies are rarely happening with an armed coup but instead by a thousand cuts over time (Myanmar being the most immediate exception). This is most visibly happening in Hungary and Poland, however you can also look to the US which was supposedly fortified by a system of checks and balances. One recent example was illustrated by Trump’s actions to pressure Georgia’s Secretary of State to “find” him the necessary votes so that he can win (by the way he is now under criminal investigation by the Georgia Attorney General for this action). The Senate failed to convict and remove him from office so Republican state legislatures are now emboldened to pass legislation that gives partisan politicians the right to determine the outcome of an election despite what the vote count says. No different than what Lowenfield and cohorts attempted. Prosecution is necessary to put a stop to the thousand cuts to democracy.

L

Guyana has been in the dark ages since the British gave it up. We struggle to find ourselves as a unified country. Attempts are constantly made to marginalize one race depends who has the government.

It is sad, that one race of people would find it necessary to go to the extremes of stealing an election because they fear for their race. The past has its history.

What took place at GECOM is part of what happens in a country in the dark ages, first there is tryanny, then the oligarhs and then democracy.

So far, it is a see-saw between the oligarhs and tyranny.

I cannot see democracy in the horizon, ignorance prevails in one section and arrogance in the other. The moderates are afraid to speak, afraid to make that change bcz the fear of mistrust.

@Locutus posted:

Similarly I don’t think you can heal the nation by ignoring the attempts to subvert the will of the people by rigging the election. Where does it stop?

It would seem that your position is that cheating at the 2020 general election was done by APNU-AFC only

What has so convinced you that the 47 boxes with missing statutory documents, and other irregularities identified, gives the PPP a free pass not to be called-out as cheaters at that election?

Why the lies?

Are you going to use the argument that the international community said it's so, so it must be so? Let me tell you, the APNU-AFC supporters think otherwise and that is based on what they saw and knowledge of who they're dealing with. This is so whether you like it or not!

Let's see where Guyana goes from here

There is statistical evidence that the PPP rigged the 2020 elections.  This is especially so in Region 4.  There has been no plausible explanation for the pattern of voting being different in the most vote rich region of the country.  It is also possible that after being caught unprepared for the PPP vote manipulation the Coalition reacted clumsily in trying to fix the outcome.  However, the courts are yet to pronounce on the legitimacy of the elections and on the criminal charges against Lowenfield et al.  What remains true is that democracy is not only about free and fair elections.  It is government of the people, by the people and for the people.  It is not government of some people , by some people and for some people.  Guyana does not have democracy right now.  Jagdeo doesn't believe in it and Ali is too dumb to understand it.  And, to answer someone seeking the ethical grounding of the alleged Coalition's desperate move to right the results:  go and read about consequentialist ethics and then we could have a discussion. 

@Totaram posted:

There is statistical evidence that the PPP rigged the 2020 elections.  This is especially so in Region 4.  There has been no plausible explanation for the pattern of voting being different in the most vote rich region of the country.  It is also possible that after being caught unprepared for the PPP vote manipulation the Coalition reacted clumsily in trying to fix the outcome.  However, the courts are yet to pronounce on the legitimacy of the elections and on the criminal charges against Lowenfield et al.  What remains true is that democracy is not only about free and fair elections.  It is government of the people, by the people and for the people.  It is not government of some people , by some people and for some people.  Guyana does not have democracy right now.  Jagdeo doesn't believe in it and Ali is too dumb to understand it.  And, to answer someone seeking the ethical grounding of the alleged Coalition's desperate move to right the results:  go and read about consequentialist ethics and then we could have a discussion.

These liars think that people are stupid, that if they repeat the lie enough that APNU-AFC cheated and the PPP didn't, it will stick.

I say good luck to the liars, they play a dangerous game in a place like Guyana

@cain posted:

Dude, what the PPP is doing right now is that dangerous game you speak of

They humiliate and openly laugh in the face of those they don't consider their supporters, all on the back of the lie that they won an election without cheating and help from others

Nigel Hughes give time-stamp on Lowenfield, myers and Mingo court appearance

June 11 ,2021

Prominent lawyer, Nigel Hughes who is representing several high-ranking  GECOM officials who are charged with electoral fraud in relation to March 2, 2020, General and Regional Elections have responded to media reports about his clients failing to attend court on Wednesday.

Below is the statement issued on Thursday evening by counsel:

Several media outlets have reported that Mr. Keith Lowenfield, Ms. Roxanne Myers, and Mr. Clairmont Mingo failed to attend the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts on June 9, 2021, before Her Worship Ms. Sherdel Issacs.

The following is the chronology of events which has led to the misrepresentation of the circumstances leading to the issuance of a summons to attend court for the above persons.

Mr. Keith Lowenfiled and Ms. Roxanne Myers were invited to attend the CID Eve Leary on Tuesday the 8th June 2021 at 3.30 PM. This invitation was issued by Senior Superintendent Mitchell Ceaser via Nigel Hughes in his capacity as Attorney-at-law to Mr. Lowenfield and Ms. Myers.

In keeping with the request, both Mr. Lowenfield and Ms. Myers attended the CID HQ  at 3.30 PM where they were informed in a video recorded interview of the intention of the Guyana Police Force to file two criminal charges of conspiracy to defraud the electors of Guyana between March 2nd, 2020 and August 2nd, 2020.

At the conclusion of the video-recorded interviews,  Mr. Nigel Hughes specifically inquired of Mr. Mitchell Ceaser when would Mr. Lowenfield and Ms. Myers be required to attend court. Mr. Ceaser indicated that he would contact Mr. Hughes to inform him of the date and time as the charges had not yet been filed.

Mr. Ceaser then requested the presence of Mr. Mingo the following day and it was agreed that he would attend the CID HQ at 8.15 AM the following day.

On Wednesday the 9th June 2021 at 8.15 AM,  Mr. Clairmont Mingo attended the CID HQ with his Attorney-at-law. He was informed in a video-recorded interview that the Guyana Police Force intended to institute two charges against him of conspiring with Keith Lowenfield, Roxanne Myers, Volda Lawrence,  Carol Joseph, and others to defraud the electors of Guyana in the 2020 national and regional elections.

After the conclusion of the interview,  Mr. Hughes inquired of the officers when would Mr. Mingo be required to attend court. He was informed that they were unable to say as the charges had not yet been filed. Mr. Mingo then left Georgetown to return to his home in Beladrum, West Coast Berbice.

At 10.52 AM, Mr. Ceasar called Nigel Hughes and asked that all three persons attend court at 11.00 AM. Mr. Hughes informed Mr. Ceasar that it would be impossible as  Mr. Mingo was on his way back to West Coast Berbice and it may be difficult to attend court in eight minutes.

He further indicated to Mr. Ceasar that he would have to contact Mr. Lowenfield and Ms. Myers to inform them of the requirement to attend court in eight minutes which at that point would be impossible in Georgetown.

When informed Mr. Mingo immediately started his return to Georgetown. At 10.55 AM,  Mr. Ceasar called Mr. Hughes again and informed him that the matter had been fixed for 12.00.

At 11.45,  Mr. Mingo and Mr. Lowenfield were standing outside of Georgetown Magistrates’ Court  3 awaiting the 12.00 hearing when the court prosecutor informed Mr. Hughes that the matter was called at 11.00 AM and was adjourned to the 29th June 2021 as there was no evidence that the defendants had been informed. He indicated that the Magistrate has ordered that a summons be issued to the defendants.

It was indicated to the Prosecutor in the presence of another Senior Police Officer that the request to attend court was received at 10.52 AM. Ms. Roxanne Myers attended the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court 3 at 11.50 AM.

The only notification to attend court at 11.00 AM was issued by way of a telephone call at 10.52 AM to Counsel for Mr. Lowenfield, Ms. Myers, and Mr. Mingo.

@Spugum posted:

@Django: The Facts don't matter!

The position is 'why bother me with facts? my mind is already made up'

APNU-AFC tried to rig the 2020 election - story done!

APNU-AFC aren't the only one , who tried clumsily in 2020, the PPP/C is heavily involved in rigging the 2020 Elections ,the glaring trend started by the PPP/C in 2015 and rolled over in 2020. No one looking at Freedom House ,trying to cover their tracks.

Noticeably ,GECOM removed records of past Elections  https://gecom.org.gy/post/get/results

I have ballot box results for all divisions from 2011.

@Django posted:

APNU-AFC aren't the only one , who tried clumsily in 2020, the PPP/C is heavily involved in rigging the 2020 Elections ,the glaring trend started by the PPP/C in 2015 and rolled over in 2020. No one looking at Freedom House ,trying to cover their tracks.

Noticeably ,GECOM removed records of past Elections  https://gecom.org.gy/post/get/results

I have ballot box results for all divisions from 2011.

The tide will turn, Django, eventually

A foundation built upon lies will not stand

@Spugum posted:

The tide will turn, Django, eventually

A foundation built upon lies will not stand

You're still standing, even after.making that statement, despicable liar!

Only that you're no longer bent over! Now wipe your mouth, nancy!

Internet access and a computer must be the greatest thing that ever happened to you, you're living your best (sick) life.

In real life you're just a scared little man who feels life has past him by and no one gives a shit.

You're full of rage - I say die in your rage!

How original nancy dearie! That will be better than you dying of AIDS, moron!

I'm scared, nancy? Why don't you come and find out, bird shit?

How original nancy dearie! That will be better than you dying of AIDS, moron!

I'm scared, nancy? Why don't you come and find out, bird shit?

Find out what you old trilobite?

All l need do is put a spanner in the spokes of your wheelchair. BTW, has it got a squeaky wheel?

@Spugum posted:

Find out what you old trilobite?

All l need do is put a spanner in the spokes of your wheelchair. BTW, has it got a squeaky wheel?

You're so brave, nancy, why don't you come show me how brave you are, you n cur!

lf l turned up it would scare the living daylights out of you, old fart. You are a wimp!

listen up, yuh days done!

You'll hear a knock on your door one day. lt'll be the police come to take you away for all that child porn you have on your computer.

Hahahahahahaha

@Spugum posted:

lf l turned up it would scare the living daylights out of you, old fart. You are a wimp!

listen up, yuh days done!

You'll hear a knock on your door one day. lt'll be the police come to take you away for all that child porn you have on your computer.

Hahahahahahaha

Django is a hypocrite but your paramour, huh, bird shit n?

@Django posted:

Take a rest ,you need it .

Shallyv is suspended.

I hope he goes to the backdam. Last time I read their site, compliments of you linking to them here, he's got a lot of folks who worship him over there. Kutty Putty can continue to fawn over him there.

He can be uncle Dave's sidekick and he can find the gratification and attention he so desperately craves.

He can instruct Pandit man on how to defy gravity, so Pandit doesn't fall into the gutter anymore while he's drunk on Liberty

@Totaram posted:

There is statistical evidence that the PPP rigged the 2020 elections.

Oh yes, the old go-to claims of statistical evidence to add an air of legitimacy to claims which are not really supported by the underlying data.

How to make a vote-fraud claim stick: Misread a ‘statistic.’

Trump’s supporters pluck ballot numbers out of context to give them the veneer of fact.

https://www.washingtonpost.com...istic-trump-ballots/

By James Surowiecki

James Surowiecki is the author of "The Wisdom of Crowds" and a business columnist for Marker by Medium.

November 11, 2020 at 6:00 a.m. EST

President Trump has gone all in on his contention that the 2020 election was stolen from him. Republican leaders, for their part, refuse to oppose him or the Hail Mary legal cases he is feverishly pursuing in every state he can. But the real battle to delegitimize this election is being waged on social media, where for the past week Trump supporters, and everyone else, have seen a barrage of claims about supposed election fraud — claims that, even after the president steps down, will leave tens of millions of Americans convinced that Trump was robbed.

You’ve probably seen the most basic of these claims, which focus on individual cases of alleged fraud: the blind woman in Nevada who said her mail-in ballot had been stolen and filled out by someone else; the election worker in Georgia captured on video angrily crumpling up a piece of paper that Trump supporters insisted was a ballot. (It wasn’t.) But the more common, and more effective, claims have been those that purport to be dispassionate statistical analyses documenting election fraud — or at least the possibility of fraud — by just presenting the numbers.

These tweets, Facebook and blog posts, and website pieces — bearing titles like “There Is Undeniable Mathematical Evidence the Election is Being Stolen” and “The Statistical Case Against Biden’s Win” — started appearing almost as soon as the election results did. They purported to document implausibly high turnout in individual states, and highly suspect election outcomes. When you dug into the numbers, the “evidence” of fraud turned out to be neither undeniable nor “statistical.” Yet that’s done little to stop the parade of misinformation.

In some cases, the numbers at issue were simply invented out of whole cloth. One chart that made the rounds on Twitter last week included what were supposedly voter-registration numbers in various swing states next to vote totals from Tuesday’s election. They were meant to show that in these states the number of votes cast had been larger than the number of registered voters. The numbers were wrong (they were from 2018, a midterm election, when registration numbers were much lower), and the claim was ludicrous. But you can still find people retweeting it today. Similarly, conservative operative Harlan Hill — who was, all on his own, a veritable fount of misinformation about election results — tweeted last Wednesday that Wisconsin’s voter turnout had risen from 67 percent in 2016 to 89 percent in 2020. This, also, was untrue. (Wisconsin’s turnout this year is around 72 percent.) But before that claim was flagged by Twitter as potentially false, it was featured by Donald Trump Jr. in a Facebook post, and retweeted by Eric Trump with the tagline “Absolute fraud!”

Flat-out false numbers are, of course, easier to debunk. So the more artful way of presenting dubious numbers has been to simply omit any context, and to suggest the numbers are self-evidently outrageous. When former federal prosecutor and Trump ally Sidney Powell appeared on Maria Bartiromo’s Fox News show Sunday, she said her group had identified “at least 450,000 votes” in “key states” where the ballot had been marked for Joe Biden but for no other candidate. This, Powell argued, was clearly problematic, while Bartiromo, for her part, said it merited a “massive government investigation.” The only problem with this analysis, as many people have pointed out since, is that “undervotes” — ballots where voters don’t vote in all the races listed — are surprisingly common in the United States, so much that in 2016, close to 2 million more votes were cast for president than for Senate candidates. The 450,000 number, then, isn’t especially surprising.

But to know that, you would have to know how common undervoting is, and most Americans — quite reasonably — don’t. (Bartiromo, in this case, did not inform them.) Omitting context thus transforms an unremarkable statistic into one that seems like a sign that something fishy is going on. The same is true of turnout numbers. In a recent piece for the Trumpist site the National Pulse, Steve Cortes — a senior adviser to the Trump campaign — claimed the 84 percent registered-voter turnout in Milwaukee this year “def[ied] reasonable expectations.” What Cortes failed to mention was that registered-voter turnout in Milwaukee in 2016 was 80 percent. So the increase to 84 percent, far from defying expectation, was predictable, given that turnout in Wisconsin as a whole was up about 5 percent. Hill, meanwhile, was at it again for Minnesota. He mockingly said it was “totally believable and consistent” (meaning it wasn’t) that certain Minnesota counties showed preregistered-voter turnout numbers that were above 90 percent. What he didn’t mention was that an apples-to-apples comparison to 2016 showed that same turnout number was almost 91 percent for the entire state (and was higher than that in certain counties).

In other words, this year’s turnout numbers are both believable and historically consistent.

Of course, these claims can be debunked reasonably easily (I spent a good chunk of last week on Twitter doing it), since the relevant data is literally just a few clicks away. But once these claims escape, as it were, into the wild (or onto Facebook, which has far more reach than Twitter), it’s hard to limit their spread, particularly because social media is perfectly designed to amplify them. Hill, for instance, had his tweets casting doubt on the legitimacy of Wisconsin’s turnout numbers picked up by both Trump brothers (with their millions of followers), and then retweeted by Wall Street Journal op-ed columnist Kimberley Strassel, who said the 89 percent registered-turnout number was “not feasible.” The number was not just feasible, it was unsurprising. Her tweet was nonetheless picked up by Sean Hannity and featured on his show on Fox. This chain of transmission doesn’t just spread misinformation; it also, in some sense, launders it, making it seem more respectable and, therefore, more plausible.

By this point, you’re probably a little weary of all these numbers, a little tired of trying to keep the various claims straight. And that, in a way, is the point: No one’s really trying to prove these claims, because they can’t; there is no meaningful statistical evidence of election fraud. What they’re doing is trying to create uncertainty, and doubt, to make it seem like something — even if not the particular thing they’re talking about — is wrong. They’re playing on our instinctive sense that where there’s so much smoke, there must be fire somewhere. But there is no fire. There are just lots of toxic, billowing clouds of nothing, blown here and there by a remarkably efficient smoke machine.

L
@Totaram posted:

“Statistical evidence” sounds complicated and definitive so please share with the rest of us. Although I am sure my simple brain will not be able to comprehend the sophisticated analysis you will put forth. But here is what I understand, I understand pattern recognition. I personally prefer brightly coloured patterns but what the hell I will try my best to discern patterns in numbers. So in whatever analysis you put forward please include the following to help my simple brain:

Part I

1. the percentage of voters from the 2011 election who switched from the PPP to the PNC in the 2015 election by region; (ii)the percentage of voters from the 2011 election who switched from the PNC to the PPP in the 2015 election by region;
  2. the percentage of voters from the 2015 election who switched from the PPP to the PNC in the 2020 election by region; (ii)the percentage of voters from the 2015 election who switched from the PNC to the PPP in the 2020 election by region;

(Note: I assume the brilliant strategic minds at the PNC would have had the foresight to collect such exit polling data).

1. The sum of the numbers in 1 and the sum of the numbers in 2 would indicate a reasonable estimate of the quantum of the electorate that can be persuaded to move between parties. After normalizing for turnout please show if the movement of the flexible voters from the PNC to the PPP in 2020 was materially greater than the movement of flexible voters in the previous election cycle. If it is, then I think we have what you smart fellas call a statistical anomaly that may indicate fraud and warrants further investigation – hence the region level data.

Part II

For each election since 1992 and for each Electoral District (each polling station if possible) plot the following information on a 2-d histogram:  % Voter Turnout on the x-axis and % of Votes by the Winner on the y-axis. Maybe you can accommodate my love of colours by using a different colour for each election. A troubling sign about the integrity of the 2020 election would be if in a specific region there was an unusually high turnout and the PPP got a higher percentage of the vote than has been historically normal (data skewed towards top right). This is where you would see the impact of dead people voting and the bloated list. If you want to see what the patterns would look like in a rigged election plot the same data for the elections from 1967-1985.

Unfortunately for you the onus is not on me to prove a negative. Over to you. Until then I can’t be convinced by talking points propagated on social media.   

L
@Totaram posted:

However, the courts are yet to pronounce on the legitimacy of the elections and on the criminal charges against Lowenfield et al.

Um.....I think they have. The election petition challenging the legitimacy of the elections was denied by the courts.

L
@Locutus posted:

“Statistical evidence” sounds complicated and definitive so please share with the rest of us. Although I am sure my simple brain will not be able to comprehend the sophisticated analysis you will put forth. But here is what I understand, I understand pattern recognition. I personally prefer brightly coloured patterns but what the hell I will try my best to discern patterns in numbers. So in whatever analysis you put forward please include the following to help my simple brain:

Part I

1. the percentage of voters from the 2011 election who switched from the PPP to the PNC in the 2015 election by region; (ii)the percentage of voters from the 2011 election who switched from the PNC to the PPP in the 2015 election by region;
  2. the percentage of voters from the 2015 election who switched from the PPP to the PNC in the 2020 election by region; (ii)the percentage of voters from the 2015 election who switched from the PNC to the PPP in the 2020 election by region;

(Note: I assume the brilliant strategic minds at the PNC would have had the foresight to collect such exit polling data).

1. The sum of the numbers in 1 and the sum of the numbers in 2 would indicate a reasonable estimate of the quantum of the electorate that can be persuaded to move between parties. After normalizing for turnout please show if the movement of the flexible voters from the PNC to the PPP in 2020 was materially greater than the movement of flexible voters in the previous election cycle. If it is, then I think we have what you smart fellas call a statistical anomaly that may indicate fraud and warrants further investigation – hence the region level data.

Part II

For each election since 1992 and for each Electoral District (each polling station if possible) plot the following information on a 2-d histogram:  % Voter Turnout on the x-axis and % of Votes by the Winner on the y-axis. Maybe you can accommodate my love of colours by using a different colour for each election. A troubling sign about the integrity of the 2020 election would be if in a specific region there was an unusually high turnout and the PPP got a higher percentage of the vote than has been historically normal (data skewed towards top right). This is where you would see the impact of dead people voting and the bloated list. If you want to see what the patterns would look like in a rigged election plot the same data for the elections from 1967-1985.

Unfortunately for you the onus is not on me to prove a negative. Over to you. Until then I can’t be convinced by talking points propagated on social media.  

All you suggest has been done and shared on this forum and elsewhere.   Regarding your love for "brightly coloured patterns":  perhaps you should get yourself a Madras rumal.