A People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)-organised public meeting at Mocha, East Bank Demerara (EBD) was disrupted by supporters of the coalition government.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

This was revealed by the Party’s General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo during a press conference on Thursday.
Jagdeo, who is also the country’s Opposition Leader, said the meeting got underway on Wednesday in the community, but it had to be cancelled.
“[The supporters] took a vehicle and started announcing their (coalition) meeting around and around very loud, so people can’t hear our messages,” Jagdeo recalled.
As a result, he explained that the Police advised the PPP/C representatives to cancel the meeting – a move over which Jagdeo expressed disappointment.
“Rather than encouraging them to stop their activity, the Police urged our people to cancel,” he reasoned.
According to Jagdeo, this behaviour is most likely encouraged by the leadership of the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition.
He referred to instances on Nomination Day when APNU/AFC supporters prevented other parties, including the PPP/C, from accessing the venue at Umana Yana.
“What was particularly worrisome on Nomination Day was the acts of thuggery led by prominent people in the PNC (the largest party in the APNU),” Jagdeo stated.
“They were urging the people in their procession to block our procession from going to the Umana Yana,” he contended.
“There is something called decency; they campaign on a slogan of decency and the decent thing to do is after you submitted your list is to go back peacefully and allow other parties to present their list, but they sought to block us from going to Umana Yana and they were actively urged to do so by members of the leadership of that party,” Jagdeo expressed.
Regarding the cancelled meeting in Mocha, Jagdeo said that his Party has a message for the residents there, regardless of whether they would vote for the PPP/C.
“We may not get a lot of votes in Mocha, but we want them to hear about our plans too because their children are going to receive the $50,000 per year grant when it comes about and they are going to have their free water too whether they vote for us or not,” Jagdeo explained.
Moreover, Jagdeo expressed concern that the election observers “are not around yet” to take note of these instances.
Nevertheless, the General Secretary said his Party would not be “intimidated”.
“None of these acts of intimidation will deter us from our campaign and from going to communities,” he posited.
In further illustrating the type of “intimidation” members of the PPP/C face during this period, Jagdeo referenced instances where party flags and paraphernalia are being taken down by APNU/AFC supporters.
“But we will put up more flags and put up more billboards and we will ensure people get our message,” Jagdeo affirmed.
Just recently, Police arrested a man for pulling down PPP/C flags from a utility pole at Westminster, West Bank Demerara.
Additionally, on Nomination Day, a female APNU/AFC supporter assaulted a female Police Officer who was on duty.
The crowd of coalition supporters was trying to enter the compound, where only select individuals were allowed.
The female supporter was asked by the cop to step away from the gate; however, she refused.
She then began to shove the police officer and physically as well as verbally abuse her.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/ppp-...apnu-afc-supporters/

THE THUGS ARE EVERYWHERE. 

“What was particularly worrisome on Nomination Day was the acts of thuggery led by prominent people in the PNC (the largest party in the APNU),” Jagdeo stated.
“They were urging the people in their procession to block our procession from going to the Umana Yana,” he contended.

You people are wimps...always running to the white man or the police

Hey Vish, did you see the I asked you to explain something I don't know?
If you can explain to me how is that cows, goats, and horses eat grass and their shit is all different, I'll explain what you want to know.

Bai, the animalistic behaviour of some of PNC supporters will never end. That’s why they will be booted out of office. Democracy and democratic institutions will never be respected by these PNC animals. 
Granger raped the constitution so they feel as if they have a god given right to behave like animals. 

I agree with u in part.  Running from the  PNC and their supporters is a favorite PPP past time.  Them and the WPA of times gone by. They could never hold their ground. Sad state of affairs I must say. I bet if PPP supporters try to disrupt an APNU meeting nuff licks would pass. And why did the police tell Jagdeo that they should cancel their meeting? That's not rite. The PPP needs supporters with balls of steel to confront these people. Sadly, they're all here safe and sound on GNI 

Last time Gajraj buss dem balls, dem PNC still running around till today like antimen saying dat 500 dead.

Look, PPP don’t want to start violence like PNC animals. They are acting in accordance with an election mandate and respecting the international community ambassadors call for a peaceful campaign.

The same can’t be said for PNC animals. 

That is a very IGNORANT statement. I am not sure you will know that!!!

Where is the ignorance , elections are race based in Guyana with sprinkles of cross over. March 2,2020 will  be worse.

Last time Gajraj buss dem balls, dem PNC still running around till today like antimen saying dat 500 dead.

Look, PPP don’t want to start violence like PNC animals. They are acting in accordance with an election mandate and respecting the international community ambassadors call for a peaceful campaign.

Listen up chap. Its not what the PPP want. One way or the other, violence will be meted out to them and their supporters. They need to stand up and be steadfast. Stop the eyepass.

What you think the security Forces will do IF the PPP supporters use violence? And please do NOT give me any BULLSHIT answer!!!!

I agree with u in part.  Running from the  PNC and their supporters is a favorite PPP past time.  Them and the WPA of times gone by. They could never hold their ground. Sad state of affairs I must say. I bet if PPP supporters try to disrupt an APNU meeting nuff licks would pass. And why did the police tell Jagdeo that they should cancel their meeting? That's not rite. The PPP needs supporters with balls of steel to confront these people. Sadly, they're all here safe and sound on GNI 

Shiek, maybe the police was outnumbered and realize cancelling the meeting is the best option. 

If you recalled recently in GT, the police shoot an alleged criminal and these holligans burn tyres on the road, and the police had to retreat...the fire even caught on the electrical wire and almost burned houses nearby. 

This incident happened behind Brickdam not far the police station. 

PNC is attempting to start a very violent election campaign. PPP is not falling for the PNC trap by not retaliating. 
Is sheer desperation for PNC. Guyana is back to Burnhamism under the constitutional rapist Granger. 
PPP is headed to a majority and PNC is sinking like the Titanic. Nothing can save the PNC and their hapless election campaign. 

Where is the ignorance , elections are race based in Guyana with sprinkles of cross over. March 2,2020 will  be worse.

True bai. Too bad blacks wouldn't care to support you the way you are killing yourself to support them. You are fighting a losing battle deh. 

Violence is the only way the PNC knows. That is expected so no one is surprised. The trouble is the Police should have ordered the hooligans to disperse and allow the PPP to campaign peacefully.

What you think the security Forces will do IF the PPP supporters use violence? And please do NOT give me any BULLSHIT answer!!!!

The PPP like any other party reserve the right to have their meetings and defend themselves against any aggression. The security forces will have no other option but to quell any disturbances should it occur . It's their job unless they prove otherwise. That has not happen.

True bai. Too bad blacks wouldn't care to support you the way you are killing yourself to support them. You are fighting a losing battle deh. 

Banna , i mingle with Afro Guyanese ,some are my good friends, grew up in a mixed community.

DJ, Kacz is referring to the cannibalistic Mobs NOT every AfroGuyanese!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If we look at it that way , every ethnicity have a percentage with such traits.

Bai, the animalistic behaviour of some of PNC supporters will never end. That’s why they will be booted out of office. Democracy and democratic institutions will never be respected by these PNC animals. 
Granger raped the constitution so they feel as if they have a god given right to behave like animals. 

Same reason PPP got the boot. A new party is needed, not the same bunch of fricken crooks.

Banna , i mingle with Afro Guyanese ,some are my good friends, grew up in a mixed community.

I grew up in GT amongst a mix crowd as well. And I've learnt that there are *******s in every race. Strange enough, there are some blacks who cant stand the PNC . They threw their weight behind the WPA back then. But u can't tell this to the Annandale chap. He might ketch 'fits' like he is now.

DJ, Kacz is referring to the cannibalistic Mobs NOT every AfroGuyanese!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When was the last time you spot a Mob of PPP supporters burning Tires, property and running aroune molesting and assaulting innocent citizens. A little thinking before hitting enter is a good thing!!

I don't have a problem with that bai. I have black neighbors too and we are cordial with each others also. What I am referring to is when it comes to Guyana politics, blacks wouldn't care to support you the way you are killing yourself to support them. No doubt Indians wouldn't care to support blacks either but blacks can worry with that. I have to look out for myself and my people first.

When was the last time you spot a Mob of PPP supporters burning Tires, property and running aroune molesting and assaulting innocent citizens. A little thinking before hitting enter is a good thing!!

Essequibo protest gets fiery; farmers block roads demanding payment

I don't have a problem with that bai. I have black neighbors too and we are cordial with each others also. What I am referring to is when it comes to Guyana politics, blacks wouldn't care to support you the way you are killing yourself to support them.

No doubt Indians wouldn't care to support blacks either but blacks can worry with that.I have to look out for myself and my people first.

To each his own, bhai.

What does that have to do with Nehru question- what the Rass . The organizer of the protest is a AFC . 
You did wonder to exposy the AFC / APNU. 

What does that have to do with Nehru question- what the Rass .

The organizer of the protest is a AFC . You did wonder to exposy the AFC / APNU. 

So every person in that protest was AFC ? So my rebuttal doesn't apply to the post ?

The organizer of the protest is a AFC . You did wonder to exposy the AFC / APNU. 

So every person in that protest was AFC ?  So my rebuttal doesn't apply to the post.

Read and Re read my response... take your time pal. 

So every person in that protest was AFC ?  So my rebuttal doesn't apply to the post ?

Read and Re read my response... take your time pal. 

Seems you have a difficulty with the English Language.

I don't have a problem with that bai. I have black neighbors too and we are cordial with each others also. What I am referring to is when it comes to Guyana politics, blacks wouldn't care to support you the way you are killing yourself to support them.

No doubt Indians wouldn't care to support blacks either but blacks can worry with that.I have to look out for myself and my people first.

To each his own, bhai.

I agree. They wouldn't bother to support you the way you would to support them. They are rightfully looking out form themselves.