Scores of People’s Progressive Party/Civic Supports are presently protesting the Guyana Elections Commission demanding that elections be held within the stipulated 90-day period following the passage of the no confidence resolution.

On Monday, it was reported that the elections body will not be ready to host the regional and national elections until July. This did not go down well with PPP Commissioners who are holding out that the elections can be held.

On the other hand, the Commissioners on the other side of the table have stated that a house to house registration will be needed since the present list of electors has to be cleansed. The commissioners are presently meeting to discuss the issue a specially convened meeting with Chairman and Chief Executive Office.

Hundreds of People’s Progressive Party (PPP) supporters, led by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo took the streets Tuesday in Kingston Georgetown protesting against the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

Led by the Party’s leader, Bharrat Jagdeo and PPP’s presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali, hundreds marched the streets demanding that GECOM set a date for elections.

With police barriers set up at all corners of Kingston to protect the headquarters of GECOM, the PPP supporters believe that the election body is delaying the holding of elections.

Jagdeo told the media that the aim of the protest is to end a small signal to GECOM and the Government that the PPP will not tolerate any disrespect to the constitution.

PPP’s Presidential Candidate Irfaan Ali (in red hat) leads the protest

In his address to supporters during the protest at Red House, the Opposition Leader said that the PPP will continue to keep the pressure on the Government until elections are held by March 19.

β€œIf elections are not held by March 19, from that date onwards, this Government become illegal, unconstitutional. They can’t sign contracts.

β€œWe’re making it clear that the situation will change in Guyana…we’re not threatening violence. We’re gonna use constitutional measures but trust me, we will ratchet up the pressure on this Government,” Jagdeo told the huge crowd who responded with applause.

According to Jagdeo, the PPP continues to brief the international community about GECOM’s role in the matter and does not rule out more court action against the Government.

β€œβ€¦pressure from civil society, we’re hoping all freedom loving people in Guyana and our Commissioners [PPP] themselves have to fight to ensure that GECOM delivers on its mandate. There is a possibility even of going to the court.”

The Opposition Leader urged his supporters to remain strong and steadfast.

β€œLet’s keep the pressure up because GECOM has a mandate, it’s a constitutional body and it has to respect our Constitution. The Constitution of Guyana is the supreme law of our country. It now kicks into effect. It’s not what the PPP wants or the APNU wants, what the Government wants.”

Following the December 21 No Confidence motion, elections are due by March 19, unless the National Assembly agrees on an extension.  Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire last Thursday declared that the motion was validly and lawfully carried.

The Government has already appealed her ruling and according to Jagdeo, the coalition Government has demonstrated bad faith since the passage of the motion.

He said to supporters, β€œWe have to take back our country from this corrupt, incompetent cabal who have betrayed all the people of the country including their own supporters.”

Stupidazz Indoes following Jagdeo to do mischief and empower him to tief more. Why cooolie pppl sooooooooooooooooooooo freaking stupid. Dem muss be blind and dumb. 

Let destiny takes its course. Cooolie ppl should stay home and wuk. Jagdeo will not part wid theifing money and all Indoes will be doing is lament.

No elections until 6 months time. When Granger call out the army, doan blame the man for shooting some alyuh cooolies. More martyrs for PPP leaders to lay mala at their graves.

Blood suckers, Jagans and Jagdeo. Wid all this blood letting, Guyana is still the Wild Coast. Wild eyes men are crazies like the devil has a hold on dem to do evil.

Stupidazz Indoes following Jagdeo to do mischief and empower him to tief more. Why cooolie pppl sooooooooooooooooooooo freaking stupid. Dem muss be blind and dumb. 

Let destiny takes its course. Cooolie ppl should stay home and wuk. Jagdeo will not part wid theifing money and all Indoes will be doing is lament.

No elections until 6 months time. When Granger call out the army, doan blame the man for shooting some alyuh cooolies. More martyrs for PPP leaders to lay mala at their graves.

Blood suckers, Jagans and Jagdeo. Wid all this blood letting, Guyana is still the Wild Coast. Wild eyes men are crazies like the devil has a hold on dem to do evil.

How does one respond to such inane comments? Cuss? Something I do not indulge in. Try to show where it is wrong? Useless, because it will be like throwing water on a duck’s backs day be a waste of time.

just know that I still object to the use of the word β€œCoolies” it is hateful and if you are East Indian, self-hate. 

Z

Why would you call them stupid Indians. All those people make the sacrifices to demonstrate their political rights which they are entitled to. 

You should asked yourself, why you have a building standing idle at Colligen and run from Guyana who is more stupid and dumb... don’t point fingers at people. 

Did Jagdeo and Jagan suck your blood, you can share the experience. Jagan sacrifice his lives for the betterment of the working class. What have you done. 

If Jagdeo didn’t Marshall his forces to a peaceful protest the same you Seignet  will shoot shit from the other side of your mouth β€œ asking what he is doing” .

Zed posted:

How does one respond to such inane comments? Cuss? Something I do not indulge in. Try to show where it is wrong? Useless, because it will be like throwing water on a duck’s backs day be a waste of time.

just know that I still object to the use of the word β€œCoolies” it is hateful and if you are East Indian, self-hate. 

My frustrations comes out that way. I apologise for offending you. Note, I said "apologize for" and not, "if I offended you."

I am an Indian alright and was present in the 1953 elections declaring PPP slogans wherever spaces permit.

The PPP has not progressed one bit, still the boycotts, the demonstrations, the rigging of internal elections, the coercing of the Central Commiitte members, the dominance of one leader, the conclave of lack lustre leaders, the criminalized thinking, the corruption, the excuses and denials.

If cooolie ppl were not so stupid, they would be more aware their station in life and knows where to cast the blame. Instead, they maybe blaming the Negroes, when all along it was his fellow Indian who has been responsible for their suffering, be it CBJ or Jagdeo.

Zed posted:

This born again Christian is all over the place, the devil is acting up in his brain. 

Zed posted:

My frustrations comes out that way. I apologise for offending you. Note, I said "apologize for" and not, "if I offended you."

I am an Indian alright and was present in the 1953 elections declaring PPP slogans wherever spaces permit.

The PPP has not progressed one bit, still the boycotts, the demonstrations, the rigging of internal elections, the coercing of the Central Commiitte members, the dominance of one leader, the conclave of lack lustre leaders, the criminalized thinking, the corruption, the excuses and denials.

If cooolie ppl were not so stupid, they would be more aware their station in life and knows where to cast the blame. Instead, they maybe blaming the Negroes, when all along it was his fellow Indian who has been responsible for their suffering, be it CBJ or Jagdeo.

Zed posted:

BS... frustrated for what . Are you on the home turf campaigning for a better live for Guyanese. 

Why would you call them stupid Indians. All those people make the sacrifices to demonstrate their political rights which they are entitled to. 

You should asked yourself, why you have a building standing idle at Colligen and run from Guyana who is more stupid and dumb... don’t point fingers at people. 

Did Jagdeo and Jagan suck your blood, you can share the experience. Jagan sacrifice his lives for the betterment of the working class. What have you done. 

If Jagdeo didn’t Marshall his forces to a peaceful protest the same you Seignet  will shoot shit from the other side of your mouth β€œ asking what he is doing” .

Some efforts are useless. This cuurent one is so. If the PPP was credible, I say by all means. But to replace the government with known bunch of crooks, certainly Indians should know better and be more responisible. The same zeal they should have to bring democracy to the PPP. Because there -in lies the problems of Guyana. Doan blame the PNC, if a better alternative was present, they will change. Right now, is only ignorance operating.

Cheddie was not a leader of people, more or less he was the follower of the Soviets. Guyana was the place he born and had an unsuspecting following of indians. It is plain stupidity that keeps the Indians with the PPP.  

Zed posted:

Zed posted:

BS... frustrated for what . Are you on the home turf campaigning for a better live for Guyanese. 

My comments are my own. You rite, I am not campaigning. I cannot stop these politicians from coming overseas. "Are they campaigning in North America." 

Better lives for Guyanese do not follow the patterns of the PPP and PNC. The same mentality, the faces in the crowd is different.

Zed posted:

Zed posted:

My comments are my own. You rite, I am not campaigning. I cannot stop these politicians from coming overseas. "Are they campaigning in North America." 

Better lives for Guyanese do not follow the patterns of the PPP and PNC. The same mentality, the faces in the crowd is different.

I understand some of your comments, I am disappointed in some respect also... but we need to unite and get the hogs out. Do I support Irfan - No.... I support PPP. 

There is only two major political parties in Guyana PPP and PNC .. I don’t ever see this changing. 

AFC betrayed the confidence and thrust of the young generation. 

Siggy, the people should exercise their right to vote. If they are going to choose to vote, they do not want to vote for a loser, in effect throwing your vote away. Which party that has a chance do you recommend they support and vote for or which party do you support? Please be reminded that minor parties have never garnered enough votes to be a majority.

PPP will have to do much more than this if they are to force Granger's hands. They need much more people protesting on the streets, civil disobedience to shut the country down and compel PNC to hold elections. If they don't have the critical support of the masses, Granger will prevail in his delaying tactics. The ABC nations have been lukewarm in condemning the PNC/AFC, this spells disaster for PPP. The sloppy crew will chalk this one up to a win. 

Siggy, the people should exercise their right to vote. If they are going to choose to vote, they do not want to vote for a loser, in effect throwing your vote away. Which party that has a chance do you recommend they support and vote for or which party do you support? Please be reminded that minor parties have never garnered enough votes to be a majority.

Do you think the support base of the PPP is aware of what took place in the selection process of the Presidential Candidate?

And if they do, then they should do something before going to the polls. If they do not clean out the PPP and demonstrate that they are responsible citizens then the Indians will elect a government that will not guarantee their safety. The PNC will never cease, they will be relentless.

If the country is ripped apart, it will be the Indians who brings it on, simply by the support of a corrupt leadership in the PPP.

Political Parties have a purpose, to offer alternatives to the electorate. The country is everlasting and sustains generations for generations. During our stewardship, we should strive for improvement in goverance, at all levels. Making things better. 

Do you think the support base of the PPP is aware of what took place in the selection process of the Presidential Candidate?

And if they do, then they should do something before going to the polls. If they do not clean out the PPP and demonstrate that they are responsible citizens then the Indians will elect a government that will not guarantee their safety. The PNC will never cease, they will be relentless.

If the country is ripped apart, it will be the Indians who brings it on, simply by the support of a corrupt leadership in the PPP.

Political Parties have a purpose, to offer alternatives to the electorate. The country is everlasting and sustains generations for generations. During our stewardship, we should strive for improvement in goverance, at all levels. Making things better. 

I think they are aware of the process and accept it. This has been a public issue and was being bombarded in the PNC supported newspapers. Look at their public support. Even, let's say they don't support it, they do not want to see the PNC in office again. They must choose between the lesser of the two evils. 

Well said.. the support base has no time to change the process. Their aim and objective is to get PPP in office and bring back progress in the country. 

So in the mindset of  majority of East Indians, they are more comfortable when their kind are in gov't , regardless who is chosen to lead.

Try to think of the other side, do you think they are comfortable that the life of the gov't they have chosen after 23 yrs of an East Indian gov't, were cut short by frivolous and questionable means. Do you think they see the move to be a grab for power ?

It's not about the lesser of two evils, it's about power grabbing, unfortunately to succeed they need the support from the other side.

Time will tell which side will be the winner.

Well said.. the support base has no time to change the process. Their aim and objective is to get PPP in office and bring back progress in the country. 

It's all about  power grabbing, 23 yrs of East Indian party  in gov't, the country still at the bottom of the ladder. That's is called progress.

The people will decide, not some talking head from overseas with a guilt complex over ill treatment of afro in deh own family.  In fact people believe that the country progressed under PPP and it wasn't Indian rule as we see the PPP cabinet had diversity. You have to be blind and dumb if you believe the country did not progress under PPP rule and went backwards in the past 3 1/2 years. 

So in the mindset of  majority of East Indians, they are more comfortable when their kind are in gov't , regardless who is chosen to lead.

Try to think of the other side, do you think they are comfortable that the life of the gov't they have chosen after 23 yrs of an East Indian gov't, were cut short by frivolous and questionable means. Do you think they see the move to be a grab for power ?

It's not about the lesser of two evils, it's about power grabbing, unfortunately to succeed they need the support from the other side.

Time will tell which side will be the winner.

It has nothing to do with mindset of people. Its about who can manage and run a country/ business  effectively. Blacks have other talents and no one can take that away from them.. its gifted. However,  Until you accept reality that Blackman cannot manage effectively, you will continue to see through your lens ( and I have the feelings you know this but for some personal reason, you live in denial).

The PPP rebuilt 28 years of destruction within 23 years and brought Guyana back on the world map. They left money in the reserve. What did APNU did in 3 years … these suckers are in the negative.

you should stop singing  this mantra " time will tell who is the winner" its NOT going in your favor. The PPP turns out to be the real winner. 

You should be ashamed of yourself for saying after 23 years of PPP government, Guyana is at the bottom of the ladder.

But then again,

- you are NOT a citizen of Guyana.

- you don't live anymore in Guyana.. so what the heck you know.

It has nothing to do with mindset of people. Its about who can manage and run a country/ business  effectively. Blacks have other talents and no one can take that away from them.. its gifted.

However,  Until you accept reality that Blackman cannot manage effectively, you will continue to see through your lens ( and I have the feelings you know this but for some personal reason, you live in denial).

The PPP rebuilt 28 years of destruction within 23 years and brought Guyana back on the world map. They left money in the reserve. What did APNU did in 3 years … these suckers are in the negative.

you should stop singing  this mantra " time will tell who is the winner" its NOT going in your favor. The PPP turns out to be the real winner. 

Keep hope alive !!!

The rest  worth responding to, it's the mindset of  Indo centric. As an East Indian i am not in that category.

The people will decide, not some talking head from overseas with a guilt complex over ill treatment of afro in deh own family.  In fact people believe that the country progressed under PPP and it wasn't Indian rule as we see the PPP cabinet had diversity. You have to be blind and dumb if you believe the country did not progress under PPP rule and went backwards in the past 3 1/2 years. 

Who told you the Africans in my family were treated differently ? you certainly have to be out of your mind.

Now what my family have to do with this conversation.

It has nothing to do with mindset of people. Its about who can manage and run a country/ business  effectively. Blacks have other talents and no one can take that away from them.. its gifted.

However,  Until you accept reality that Blackman cannot manage effectively, you will continue to see through your lens ( and I have the feelings you know this but for some personal reason, you live in denial).

Keep hope alive !!!

The rest  worth responding to, it's the mindset of  Indo centric. As an East Indian i am not in that category.

Haha β€œ as an East Indian” you make my day dude . 

You should be ashamed of yourself for saying after 23 years of PPP government, Guyana is at the bottom of the ladder.

But then again,

- you are NOT a citizen of Guyana.

- you don't live anymore in Guyana.. so what the heck you know.

Isn't a fact ?? prove otherwise.

What my citizenship have to do about Guyana, was born and lived 43 yrs of my life there.My great great grandfather with his family indentured there in 1869. We have contributed while living there, their bones and some off their springs buried there,for you probably that don't count. The johnnys comes lately counts.