PPPC urges electorate to vote progress, not race - and to let democracy, freedom prevail

Written by Vanessa Narine
Sunday, 27 November 2011 06:59
Source - Guyana Chronicle

Presidential candidate Donald Ramotar making his address last evening at the PPP/C’s grand Unity Rally and Concert

EXPRESSING his heartfelt gratitude for massive support throughout the campaign, People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) presidential candidate Donald Ramotar told thousands of supporters last evening at the party’s Grand Unity Rally and Concert at the National Stadium, that national unity is the bedrock of Guyana’s progress and prosperity.

He made it clear that Guyanese must guard the country’s democracy and freedom which was restored after many had struggled for years and paid for it in blood.

“This is one thing we can’t put a price tag on,” he said.

Ramotar noted that this is the freedom that the PPP/C has defended in the 60 years of its existence, and has worked every day to maintain.

He said, “We have brought back freedom and defended freedom … We could not have made the strides we have without freedom and democracy.”

Dr. Roger Luncheon addressing the crowd

OPPORTUNITIES

According to him, general and regional elections are a celebration of this freedom and democracy, and offer Guyanese an opportunity to decide on a government – a government of the people for the people by the people.

The presidential candidate stated that the PPP/C has been tested and tried and will take Guyana to the next level; a level that will add to the foundation laid by the PPP/C; a level that will see the infrastructure in place for an increasingly modern Guyana.

“Who will build this land?” he asked. To which he replied: “It is you the people of this country … We, the PPP/C, will create the conditions to make our country the best.”

He pledged that as long as the PPP/C serves the Guyanese people, it will ensure that more opportunities are created for all Guyanese and will remain a party of national unity; and importantly, a force that stands against racism and disunity.

The presidential candidate added that the PPP/C will also preserve democracy, defend the separation of powers among the different arms of government, and build the infrastructure for a modern Guyana.

Prime ministerial candidate Samuel Hinds delivering his address

Ramotar promised cheaper energy to fuel development, more jobs, solar power development, and advances in the productive sectors, including in mining and agriculture.

“It is you, the people, who have to work with us to realise this dream,” he said. “This is why we have invested so heavily in our people.”

According to him, these investments will see the Guyanese people leading better lives. He posited that, within three to five years, all the Guyanese people will be computer literate, and this is one of the many investments for a better quality of life for Guyanese.

He stressed that the PPP/C will be opening new possibilities for Guyana and all Guyanese.

“We have come a far way … I want to promise you that we are going to spare no effort, and work extremely hard to maintain the unity of our country … Thank you for your support,” Ramotar posited.

VALUE OF FREEDOM

Taking to the PPP/C platform for the last time as Head of State, President Bharrat Jagdeo urged supporters not to underestimate the value of freedom.

“You have been with us on this journey … you know the bumps in the road … you know that Comrade Cheddi Jagan started this struggle for freedom from colonial rule and dictatorship … You must never underestimate the value of that freedom,” he pleaded.

President Bharrat Jagdeo making his final address as Guyana’s Head of State on a PPP/C platform

He stressed that the PPP/C will lead the Guyanese people into the future as the journey continues.

Contending that there is no need to make a case for the Guyanese people to support the PPP/C, he stated that Guyanese who suffered well know what the loss of freedom and democracy had cost the nation.

According to him, the dream of the future is big enough for all Guyanese, and it is up to the people to bestow the power with the PPP/C to improve lives, bring the Guyanese people closer together, and raise the country to new heights.

“Join with us for the future,” he urged.

TRIED AND TESTED

He stated that the political parties’ campaigns have focused largely on the youth, but pointed out that young people must know the records of those who aspire to govern.

“Look at us, we did not come to you to say vote for us because we are the PPP/C … we asked you to give us the power for a purpose,” the President said.

According to him, the PPP/C has been tried and tested, and is the only party with a viable plan for all Guyanese people.

A united PPP/C

“Our debt was 80%; today, it is less than 20%, and still we consider that too high. But read our strategies and plans, and you will see we have a clear plan of where we are going. Read the poverty reduction strategy, the low carbon development strategy, the ICT4D strategy. Do not be fooled by the opposition. The PPP is tried and true, and has a proven track record,” the President said.

Jagdeo stressed that youths must not be fooled by the glitz.

“When we ask you to vote for the PPP/C, we are asking you for a chance to continue progress and let us bring the Guyanese people closer together,” he said.

The Head of State noted that A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC) are largely repackaged versions of politics that the Guyanese people have seen before and have rejected.

A section of the massive crowd at the grand Unity Rally and Concert

“Our candidate is strong, and behind him stands a formidable PPP family. You know us, (and) you know what we stand for. Understand you are important in securing our future. So, tonight, I ask you (to) let Cheddi Jagan’s party obtain another victory. Young, old, come out and vote and secure your future,” Jagdeo posited.

NO TOLERANCE

The President also made it clear that there is no place in Guyana for race and racism, and those who advance such messages and seek to divide the Guyanese people will be dealt with condignly.

“The PPP party is colour blind and religion blind when it comes to development. We stand for unity. That is why we can proudly hold a unity rally today,” he said.

He maintained that the PPP/C is not a party of the past; rather, it looks to the future, and development for the country and all Guyanese.

“Vote for that future,” Jagdeo appealed.

Fittingly, on that note, the end of the President’s final speech on the PPP/C platform was met with an explosion of fireworks that echoed the energy in the performances by soca sensation Destra, chutney performer KI from Trinidad, Classique and Apsara dancers, among many others – all of which painted the true reality of Guyana’s social fabric.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds also addressed the gathering, as well as Dr. Roger Luncheon, both of whom pointed out that the PPP/C has brought consistent and sustainable development to Guyana, and called for no reversal of that success. They rather urged a move towards a Guyana that, good today, will be even better tomorrow.

Caria Caria turned out in support of the PPP/C

Presidential candidate Donald Ramotar’s aunt, Gloria Robertson, standing behind him, waving a flag in support of the PPP/C

This Classique dancer captures and wows the crowd

Singing the Matape song, this performer stirred the crowd’s excitement

Apsara dancers amaze the audience with classical dance moves

Trinidadian performer KI stepping up the pace last evening

Guyanese performer Jomo takes things up a notch

Soca phenomenon Destra taking the stage (Photos by Adrian Narine)

“Our debt was 80%; today, it is less than 20%, and still we consider that too high. But read our strategies and plans, and you will see we have a clear plan of where we are going. Read the poverty reduction strategy, the low carbon development strategy, the ICT4D strategy. Do not be fooled by the opposition. The PPP is tried and true, and has a proven track record,” the President said.

The presidential candidate stated that the PPP/C has been tested and tried and will take Guyana to the next level; a level that will add to the foundation laid by the PPP/C; a level that will see the infrastructure in place for an increasingly modern Guyana.

“Who will build this land?” he asked. To which he replied: “It is you the people of this country … We, the PPP/C, will create the conditions to make our country the best.”

“Our candidate is strong, and behind him stands a formidable PPP family. You know us, (and) you know what we stand for.

Understand you are important in securing our future. So, tonight, I ask you (to) let Cheddi Jagan’s party obtain another victory. Young, old, come out and vote and secure your future,” Jagdeo posited.

I did not realise Guyana had so many People.

You probably don't know where it's located either. For a man who speaks so highly of a govt. he knows nothing about or a country he is yet to visit, I'm not surprised.
Like Belly Wuk gat yuh Bazidee soon marnin??? partybanana
Originally posted by Sheik101:

You probably don't know where it's located either. For a man who speaks so highly of a govt. he knows nothing about or a country he is yet to visit, I'm not surprised.
Originally posted by Nehru:

Nehru , what would you do if you wake up tomorrow and find there's a change in government?
Gramazone, anyone? lol
I dont deal with ifs and buts. I know who the winnwe will be. President Donald Ramoutar.

Now, for arguement sake, let us say APNU wins the Election, I would be the first to Congratulate General Granger and APNU and ask the PPP to work with them to build a Prosperous and Progressive Guyana.

Nehru , what would you do if you wake up tomorrow and find there's a change in government?
Gramazone, anyone? lol
You worst than Mitt Romney now Bhai. yippie partybanana
Now, for arguement sake, let us say APNU wins the Election

I detecting lil doubt hay, bai. like yuh bracing yuhself for the unknown. Big Grin

HAHAHAA!!! Big Grin
Tomorrow is indeed a big day. I'm shaking in meh sharts hay. is wheh meh buddy nehru deh.

Nehru's main concern is the survival of democracy in Guyana for generations to come. He is not against the PNC for any nonsensical reasons. He cares about his country. This election can result in a continuation of progress and democratic rule or we can see a subversion of the rule of law and a drastic decline in the economy. Nehru does wish to see the latter.

Samjay?
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Tomorrow is indeed a big day. I'm shaking in meh sharts hay. is wheh meh buddy nehru deh.

Nehru's main concern is the survival of democratic in Guyana for generations to come. He is not against the PNC for any nonsensical reasons. He cares about his country. This election can result in a continuation of progress and democratic rule or we can a subversion of the rule of law and a drastic decline in the economy. Nehru does wish to see the latter.

Samjay?
You speak with conviction about a man you don't know. What gave you the idea nehru gives a damn about guyana? or its people? If you knew the man like I do, you wouldn't be singing this song.

Samjaj? Big Grin Big Grin lol
Sheik101,

Nehru's posts over the years reflect his yearnings for the continuation of a free Guyana. I don't know about you eating bunjal pork and drinking El Dorado with the man.
You too? Come on billy, it's bad enough that one man can be taken in by these recreational posts that my friend dishes out here for your entertainment and pleasure. If he yearns so much for a free guyana, why doesn't go and enjoy some of this freedom that you speak about. don't be fooled by everything you read my friend. Not everything a man writes comes from his heart.
Please make a mental note that I don't drink rum or eat pork.
Kettel one is the drink of my choice. thank you. Big Grin Big Grin
I can't believe nehru got you guys locked down like this. it's impossible.

When Obama speaks of freedom in Arab Countries it does not mean that he has to go and live there. The same applies to Nehru or any other Guyanese living abroad.
Do you know obama personally to know if he really means what he says?
You're really taking this thing seriously, aren't you.? Me and my friends killing we self wid laff hay. We cannot believe nehru could pull a stunt like this and get away with it. It can't be.
Sheik, Who you care about??? The almighty DOLLAR??? Or your Snakeoil Salesmen called KFC???

When Obama speaks of freedom in Arab Countries it does not mean that he has to go and live there. The same applies to Nehru or any other Guyanese living abroad.
Do you know obama personally to know if he really means what he says?
You're really taking this thing seriously, aren't you.? Me and my friends killing we self wid laff hay. We cannot believe nehru could pull a stunt like this and get away with it. It can't be.
I am yet to see a photo of Jagdeo or Ramouther visiting an orphanage or a homeless shelter,the Palms etc.....I am yet to see a photo of Ramouthar visiting the sugar workers in the field .....
THE PEOPLE OF GUYANA KNOW WHO CARES AND THEY WILL ANSWER AT THE BALLOT BOX TOMORROW. YOU AND YOUR BONCH OF STINKIN LOSERS WOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH CONTINUED PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY. I KNOW HOW MUCH AL YUH HATE PROGRESS FOR THE MASSES. AL YUH LOVE TO SHOW AL YUH POWERFUL AND CARING BUT THE GUYANESE PEOPLE KNOW AL YUH ARE WAITING TO ROB THEM DEY.
Why yuh hallering man? Tomorrow you have a new govt. and all yuh headache done. lol
jAGDEO HAS VISITED THE pALMS AND oRPHANAGES YEARLY AND COME TOMORROW, pRESIDENT rAMOUTAR WILL BE DOING THAT.
Originally posted by Churchill:
I am yet to see a photo of Jagdeo or Ramouther visiting an orphanage or a homeless shelter,the Palms etc.....I am yet to see a photo of Ramouthar visiting the sugar workers in the field .....

PPP BUILD those orphanges , they are run by the government , so what is your point, or was it your momma man who built and runs them? Big Grin
we DONT HAVE HEADACHES. we HAVE THE Love and confidence of the Guyanese People. WE dont want Channa Dhal, Rice Flour, Bongo Squad, Guyline, Daily Blackout, Slavery at Hope Estate, National Service for our Daughters and Sisters.
Why yuh hallering man? Tomorrow you have a new govt. and all yuh headache done. lol
Show some respect Boy!!!
Originally posted by Burhamson:

PPP BUILD those orphanges , they are run by the government , so what is your point, or was it your momma man who built and runs them? Big Grin

There is no need to get personal you bloody fool....

Most orphanages in Guyana were build by private funds and managed by private organisations.....

One such orphanage is the Muslim one in Kitty....
we DONT HAVE HEADACHES. we HAVE THE Love and confidence of the Guyanese People. WE dont want Channa Dhal, Rice Flour, Bongo Squad, Guyline, Daily Blackout, Slavery at Hope Estate, National Service for our Daughters and Sisters.
I see the beers were extra cold tonite at xpress.
Show some respect Boy!!!

this man have to be an idiot. I was getting sick of seeing the same pictures of PPP visiting the orphanages in Guyana, now this churuchill coming on saying he's yet to see IT. I'm basically trying to clerify with churchill to see if he sends someone else to visit the orphans.

sorry sorry, I am didn't mean to get you angry.

There is no need to get personal you bloody fool....

Most orphanages in Guyana were build by private funds and managed by private organisations.....

One such orphanage is the Muslim one in Kitty....

sorry. Ok that's one.

another one private one?

even the private ones are partially funded by the Gog
And the Punani was HOT HOT HOT.
I see the beers were extra cold tonite at xpress.