December 28 ,2020

Police are on the hunt for a Cuban national wanted in connection with the gruesome murders  of a Princes Street, Lodge mother and her 11-year-old daughter.

The suspect has been identified as Joel Rodrigues who shared a relationship with the thirty-four-year-old deceased, Tara Krishnaram also known as Vannie of Lot 14 ‘B’ Princes Street, Lodge. The dead child has  been identified as her daughter, Larissa Singh of the same address.

The murders are  believed to have occurred between 8pm on December 25, 2020 and 9pm on Saturday, December 26.

The police said that enquiries with the father of Tara revealed that the suspect and Tara had an argument at about 5.30 pm on December 25 and a fight ensued between the couple.

The father retired to bed since according to him the couple would  fight routinely. At about 8 am  on December 26 the father woke up and did not check on the victims, having thought that Tara had gone to work and had taken her child as is customary.

At about 8.30 pm yesterday, the father after realising that he was locked inside made checks on the room of the victims and discovered his daughter and granddaughter lying motionless on a bed and the ground, respectively.

There was a wound to the back of the head, left temple and the left side of the face of Tara. On the girl, a wound about six inches in length to her neck and what appears to be blood on her private parts were seen. A blood-stained hammer and knife were also retrieved, the police said.

The bodies are currently at Lyken’s Funeral Home awaiting autopsies.

When Stabroek News visited the scene of the crime, no one was at home. A nearby resident who asked to remain anonymous shared how horrified he was at the heinous acts adding that he knew Krishnaram since they were children as she grew up on the street. He shared that a while ago, it was noted that the woman was in a relationship with Rodrigues as they often passed by his home together. He said that he did not know anything of the incident until he saw an ambulance arriving on Saturday night. Two other neighbours said they did not hear any commotion during the time the victims were believed to have died.

Meanwhile, representatives of the Cuban community here have since come forward calling for the capture of Rodrigues. Pastor Oscander Rodriguez of the Hispanic Ministry at the Central Baptist Church who spoke with this newspaper  stated that he and fellow Cubans are appalled by this  crime.

“We are shocked over [what has happened]. This is really sad and we want to send our deepest condolences to the family of the victims of this terrible [crime]. All the Spanish community of Guyana is really very sorry about what has happened. Nothing can justify his actions. We totally [condemn] all [and] any kind of violence,” Rodriguez said in a statement.

Latin host of Hola Guyana aired on MEGA 102.1 FM, Alfredo Ballesteros has since made a public post on his Facebook page on behalf of himself and the Cuban community in Guyana offering  condolences to the family and friends of the victims. He said that a number of Cubans in Facebook groups have since requested that any information on the  suspect be transmitted to the police and added that they wished justice for the family of the victims.

@Tola posted:

They should give him a life long experience in prison and fry his ass there.

Hopefully when he is caught, tried and imprisoned, Bubba and his friends will enjoy his addition to the group.

@Tola posted:

Prisons have become a Hilton hotel for many.  They need to restore hanging in Guyana, to deter these type of crimes.

They also need to stamp out bribery and corruption. As you rightly mentioned, prisons have become hotels. This might sound Draconian but hanging is just a few minutes of suffering. They need to be condemned to a life of hard labor.

@Tola posted:

Prisons have become a Hilton hotel for many.  They need to restore hanging in Guyana, to deter these type of crimes.

They can avoid hanging by taking a plea on a lesser charge such as man-slaughter and not go to trial for murder.

@Mitwah posted:

They can avoid hanging by taking a plea on a lesser charge such as man-slaughter and not go to trial for murder.

Not versed in law but wouldn't the lesser plea have to be offered to them?

Last edited by GTAngler
@GTAngler posted:

Not versed in law but wouldn't the lesser plea have to be offered to them?

Sometimes a good lawyer can show that the killing was done in the heat of passion; which then makes it manslaughter. Can the prosecution prove to the jury that the murders were planned and premeditated? If not, then they will offer a plea bargain.

@GTAngler posted:

They also need to stamp out bribery and corruption. As you rightly mentioned, prisons have become hotels. This might sound Draconian but hanging is just a few minutes of suffering. They need to be condemned to a life of hard labor.

The people, through their government's hanging, become criminals, too! Hard labor gives time to reflect on your stupidity! There is NO death!

@Mitwah posted:

Is that true in Guyana, Mit? Or are you talking about Canada?

Am not a Lawyer, but 90% of these cases are resolved this way while addressing victims' interests during plea negotiations.

Victim Participation in the Plea Negotiation Process in canada (justice.gc.ca)

In Guyana, money talks bullshit walks.

Princes St. murders: Cuban national allegedly confesses; says he killed child from testifying

Joel Rodriguez, also known as Yoel Rodriguez Barientos, has allegedly confessed to the murder of his 34-year-old spouse, Tara Krishnaran, and her 11-year-old daughter at Princes Street, Lodge, Georgetown.

Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum confirmed this during an interview with this publication.

Blanhum said that after the 11-year-old girl would have witnessed the entire ordeal, Rodriguez decided to take her life in a bid to prevent her from testifying during the trial.

Nevertheless, Blanhum said that a file would be sent to the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) to determine the way forward, and then Rodriguez will be hauled before the court.

Guyana Standard had reported that the woman’s father, who also lives at the same address, told investigators that the couple had an argument at about 17:30 hrs on Christmas Day, and a fight ensued between them.

The man said that he retired to bed, given that the couple would usually fight. At about 08:00 hrs on Boxing Day, he woke up and did not check on the woman and her child since she typically took her along to work.

However, at about 20:30hrs, the father realised that he was locked inside the house and decided to check his daughter’s room and made the gruesome discovery.

He saw his daughter and granddaughter lying motionless on a bed and ground, respectively.

Police said that Tara was discovered with wounds to the head, left side temple, and left side of the face, while the child had a wound about six inches in length to her neck and what appeared to be blood on her private parts.

After committing the heinous crime, the Cuban national fled the scene but was later caught in Amelia’s Ward, Linden, on Sunday.

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/JOEL-RODRIGUEZ-ALSO-KNOWN-AS-YOEL-RODRIGUEZ-BARIENTOS.jpg

The reason why these Cubans are well behaved in their country is that the Castro Brothers do not mess around when it comes to the swift execution of the death penalty and very tough prison sentences.  When you go to prison you go to work for free for the state for a very long time. Those of us who can remember Carter's boat lift can also remember how much trouble the Cubans made in America.  The United States had to beg Cuba to take them back.  Many Guyanese East Indian women have been brainwashed to find the lightest skin man possible for marriage.  No consideration for heritage or culture.  That is why it is vitally important that the Government take steps to change the citizenship act to protect the country from Venezuelans, Brazilians, Haitians, India Indian vultures and China Chinaman.

@Prashad posted:

The reason why these Cubans are well behaved in their country is that the Castro Brothers do not mess around when it comes to the swift execution of the death penalty and very tough prison sentences.  When you go to prison you go to work for free for the state for a very long time. Those of us who can remember Carter's boat lift can also remember how much trouble the Cubans made in America.  The United States had to beg Cuba to take them back.  Many Guyanese East Indian women have been brainwashed to find the lightest skin man possible for marriage.  No consideration for heritage or culture.  That is why it is vitally important that the Government take steps to change the citizenship act to protect the country from Venezuelans, Brazilians, Haitians, India Indian vultures and China Chinaman.

Whuh? Guyana is paradice an yuh gat fuh protek yuh wimmen frum odur harny men frum odur kuntrees? Treet yuh wimmen rite fust den dey wont waant odur men! Guyana men iz sent frum hevven, nuh!

Prash, my understanding is that inFidel let the worst prisoners out to let them embark for the US and take advantage of US humane laws! Hahahahahaha......

Princes St. murders: 11-year-old girl was sexually active – PME

A Post Mortem Examination (PME) conducted on the 11-year-old girl, who was killed along with her mother by a Cuban national, has found that she was sexually active.

Government Pathologist Dr. Nehaul Singh conducted the PME at the Georgetown Public Hospital Mortuary.

“The doctor reported that the juvenile was sexually active, and he cannot determine whether she was raped.” Police had said that blood was seen on the girl’s private part.

The PME also found that 34-year-old Tara Krishnaran died from blunt trauma to the head while her daughter’s cause of death was given as an incised wound to the neck and blunt trauma to the head. The bodies were handed over to the relatives for burial.

This revelation comes a few hours after Joel Rodriguez, also known as Yoel Rodriguez Barientos, confessed to killing the duo.

This publication had reported that the woman’s father, who also lives at the same address, told investigators that the couple had an argument at about 17:30 hrs on Christmas Day, and a fight ensued between them.

The man said that he retired to bed, given that the couple would usually fight. At about 08:00 hrs on Boxing Day, he woke up and did not check on the woman and her child since she typically took her along to work.

However, at about 20:30hrs, the father realised that he was locked inside the house and decided to check his daughter’s room and made the gruesome discovery.

He saw his daughter and granddaughter lying motionless on a bed and ground, respectively.

Police said that Tara was discovered with wounds to the head, left side temple, and left side of the face, while the child had a wound about six inches in length to her neck and what appeared to be blood on her private parts.

After committing the heinous crime, the Cuban national fled the scene but was later caught in Amelia’s Ward, Linden, on Sunday.

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/JOEL-RODRIGUEZ-ALSO-KNOWN-AS-YOEL-RODRIGUEZ-BARIENTOS-1.jpg

Sexually active? Is this doctor nuts? The blood from her neck dripped down to her vagina, huh? What kind of damn fool they give licence to speak medical nonsense in Guyana now? Pathological fools? Take away his licence before he does more public damage to the medical profession! He must be a friend of BhaRAT Jagdeo!

@Mitwah posted:

Perhaps the mother caught him raping her daughter.  Hence the double murders.

You could be right, Mit! You make more sense than this stupid 'doctor'!

You saying he didn't do a good job the previous times, cain? The police had better check up on you! A serial rapist? Hahahahaha......

Are you for fkin real, something this serious you make fun of? You certainly are a certified arsehole.

@cain posted:

Are you for fkin real, something this serious you make fun of? You certainly are a certified arsehole.

Obviously, you ARE mentally hadicapped by your obeah, obeah man! I was making fun of your ignorance of the effects on a fked virgin! Stick to Tiger Bay whores and their well-worn thangs! Or, go fk yourself!

You're the peanut butter in my tuna, the hair in my pasta, the ketchup in my cereal, in other words, you're fkin disgusting and by the way, I'm not insulting you, I am describing you.

Government Pathologist Dr. Nehaul Singh conducted the PME at the Georgetown Public Hospital Mortuary.

“The doctor reported that the juvenile was sexually active, and he cannot determine whether she was raped.” Police had said that blood was seen on the girl’s private part.

Why is the doctor  revealing this type of information to the public? Should this not remain confidential?

Is the accused a pedophile?

@Hugh Jorgan posted:

Watch story hay. Dis banna jus ask a man fuh eat he. Like he trollin fuh l*lo.

Don't be anxious! There's enough for both of you! But you will have to wait until he is finished his repast!