Trotman says no protocol breached in releasing gag ruling

By Pushpa Balgobin

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan

The Alliance For Change (AFC) confirmed that the party is committed to moving past the Rohee issue in light of Speaker of the House Raphael Trotman’s ruling on Friday.

Party leader Khemraj Ramjattan claimed that the issue has always been and continues to be Rohee’s poor performance as minister.

According to Ramjattan, it is possible that the party will shut down all motions tabled by the minister.

“We are going to vote down every bill he brings because he must understand that if we do not have any confidence in that minister, why should we vote for a bill coming from him?” Ramjattan stated.

He said the AFC will continue to push the government to adhere to their call for Rohee’s resignation as minister, a move observers say will be another time wasting expedition by the AFC, as it continues to push an anti-development agenda in the House.

“I can’t see the operational function in policy like this,” Ramjattan said in reference to the president’s refusal to reassign Rohee.

Speaker of the House, Raphael Trotman

Ramjattan, who has been preoccupied by Rohee, claimed that the minister has been given numerous chances to address the National Assembly for years and has failed to bring comprehensive initiatives and plans aimed at reforming security inefficiencies.

“The AFC position is simply, we will respect the ruling and move on… the commands of the House should be respected,” said a volt-face Ramjattan.

For his part, Trotman stated that through research, legal opinions and the ruling made by the chief justice on the matter, he wrote Friday’s ruling, noting that the manner in which it was presented in his mind was constitutionally correct.  He noted that it made little sense to wait for the final court ruling on the matter, stating that it seemed to be taking too long and that the court had made a ruling on January 11, which it was not likely to change.

In regards to the A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) claim that the ruling was not legally bound due to its manner of delivery, Trotman stated that “the registry of the Parliament issued the ruling to every member of the House, with a covering letter both, electronic and in written form… I was asked and I said ‘yes’, you may issue to the press, but make sure that the members get it first. So I have no control over the registry.”

At a press conference held by the AFC on Wednesday, Ramjattan refused to comment of the legal soundness of the Speakers ruling.  As it stands, both opposition parties have come out and stated their respect for the Speaker’s ruling; however, neither party is willing to work with Rohee in his current capacity as minister.

While the AFC, like APNU has been calling for collaboration with the government, and to move the security sector forward, it is unclear how this hypocrisy is possible, as they have refused to hear bills and amendments aimed at reforms tabled by the minister.

It is clear that the PPP people really stupid.

The Supreme rule of law - the Constitution does not allow the Speaker to shut up Rohee for things he did OUTSIDE of Parliament.  If Rohee misbehave in Parliament - he backside will get dragged in front of the privileges committee.

Slowly now for those PPP DUNCES - the Parliament cannot sanction ROHEE for things he did OUTSIDE of Parliament.

WHAT HAS  NOT CHANGED:

THE AFC HAS NO CONFIDENCE IN ROHEE as the SECURITY TSAR.

Thus, the AFC will vote against everything he put forward in the SECURITY SECTOR. 

But if ROHEE put forward an issue in AGRICULTURE and it will develop Guyana, the AFC will vote for it.

HOW HARD IS THIS FOR THESE PPP DUNCES TO UNDERSTAND THIS?

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

The Supreme rule of law - the Constitution does not allow the Speaker to shut up Rohee for things he did OUTSIDE of Parliament.  If Rohee misbehave in Parliament - he backside will get dragged in front of the privileges committee.

Slowly now for those PPP DUNCES - the Parliament cannot sanction ROHEE for things he did OUTSIDE of Parliament.

WHAT HAS  NOT CHANGED:

Thus, the AFC will vote against everything he put forward in the SECURITY SECTOR. 

But if ROHEE put forward an issue in AGRICULTURE and it will develop Guyana, the AFC will vote for it.

Don't you ever call the PPP dunces in my presence. Now, let's refocus on the Ramjattan hypocrisy. You guys are good at sidelining and derailing the subject matter at hand. 

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:
Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

WHAT HAS  NOT CHANGED:

Don't you ever call the PPP dunces in my presence. Now, let's refocus on the Ramjattan hypocrisy. You guys are good at sidelining and derailing the subject matter at hand. 

NEHRU dont go knocking on my brothers that cut cane most of these guys is smarter than rohee

ASk that FOOL Ramjhaaaaaaaaaatan if he ever heard of ANY Parliament deciding on the firing of a Ministe's based on his/her performance????

The problem is the Burnham Constitution, which President Ramotar says he loves. Raphael did the right thing even though it is a bastardized Constitution. The AFC has to work seriously to outline a vision of constitional change. 

What has the AFC/PNC done, to date, to effectively make the changes?

The pointed issues of the "Burnham" constitution exist for a long time.

They have said they support constitutional reform but have done little to back up their stated intentions. Your beloved President Ramotar, on the other hand, explicitly said he sees nothing wrong with the Burnham Constitution. 

Originally Posted by TK:

They have said they support constitutional reform but have done little to back up their stated intentions. Your beloved President Ramotar, on the other hand, explicitly said he sees nothing wrong with the Burnham Constitution. 

The fundamental issue specifically relates to what is the AFC doing, regardless of the Government's approach?

Originally Posted by TK:

The fundamental issue specifically relates to what is the AFC doing, regardless of the Government's approach?

Why don't you ask them whilst apologizing and dodging for Ramotar? 

Originally Posted by TK:

Why don't you ask them whilst apologizing and dodging for Ramotar? 

When the AFC presents their plans, it will then be apt to seek answers from the Government.

AFC mission is to bring down Minister Rohee along with all PPP ministers one by one. The AFC made a statement to cut the 2013 budget without first seeing it. The AFC said they will vote down every security bill under Minister Rohee before hearing it. The AFC is busy playing the executive government of the day. AFC is too busy cuddling with Benschop. AFC is busy sending their top crime agent, Gerhard to fingering poor people TB's around the country. AFC don't have the time to bring fourth any meaningful proposal to the government for consideration. You people are bunch of losers.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

This continuous grandstanding by Ramjattan is extremely annoying.

He needs to take a course in government and stop thinking like a layer who is raping the criminals pocket for the cost of their defense. 

This continuous grandstanding by Ramjattan is extremely annoying.

He needs to take a course in government and stop thinking like a layer who is raping the criminals pocket for the cost of their defense. He is no yet a politician to say the least.

I believe Ramjattan feels because he is a lawyer that gives him the right to act arrogant and irresponsibly. Berbicians in NY who once supported him are now disappointed with his behavior.

And we all know where that will leave him and his sapsucker supporters.

Originally Posted by TK:

The problem is the Burnham Constitution, which President Ramotar says he loves. Raphael did the right thing even though it is a bastardized Constitution. The AFC has to work seriously to outline a vision of constitional change. 

If SHIT had wings, your name would have been SHIT Face!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

That's not the way to address the honorable professor, Nehru. 

Originally Posted by TK:

I see the pressure of daag donk in yuh head escaping through yuh mout, ears, nostrils etc. 

TK, you shouldn't let temptation get the better of you. You're not only seen as a professor, but an economic adviser to a parliamentary party of Guyana. All this daag donk will heat up against you. You can't speak from the gutter and tell posters they're from the gutter.  

A recent research has shown, the AFC has a very dwindling support, their downward spiral was accelerated by the lies that comes out of  Nagamootoo mouth each time he goes to Parliament

Originally Posted by Conscience:

A recent research has shown, the AFC has a very dwindling support, their downward spiral was accelerated by the lies that comes out of  Nagamootoo mouth each time he goes to Parliament

Yes, research from the esteemed department of political dark arts in the basement of freedom house!

Aren't you a shame to support a party that is clinging on straws?  

Do you see me representing myself as a member of any party? I represent myself and it is pellucid that the PPP is a part of crooks who would do everything to preserve their access to the nations till. Think where those church mice would be if they could not steal their way into obscene wealth while our people suffer.

Political dark arts = strength and focus of Stormborn.

TK, you shouldn't let temptation get the better of you. You're not only seen as a professor, but an economic adviser to a parliamentary party of Guyana. All this daag donk will heat up against you. You can't speak from the gutter and tell posters they're from the gutter.  

====

My term as economic advisor was done on Nov 27, 2011. Where are you getting this information from? Listen...save your crocodile tears. 

Originally Posted by TK:

====

My term as economic advisor was done on Nov 27, 2011. Where are you getting this information from? Listen...save your crocodile tears. 

You have NO SHAME. AS soon as you realised you are NOT getting Minista Wuk, you said SHIT with that and jumped on EZ Jet. SHAMELESS INDEED BUT HONEST!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

Dem Guy:

This is a very important point you raised.  What is the AFC doing about the flawed constitution?  Are they visiting the villages and mobilizing the people or are they doing another Press conference?

The revolution will not be won in a Press Conference!

Constitution reform require total non - violent RESISTANCE against the oppressors.

It require not buying from their friends in the business community, planting more food, not buying any imported stuff, not attending any official functions, not co-operating with the oppressors and yes - PEACEFUL PROTEST action.

Press Conferences and press releases will not cause the constitution to change.

THE PPP will now DIG in after this victory in ROHEE-GATE. 

Originally Posted by Devindra:
Originally Posted by TK:

Dem Guy:

This is a very important point you raised.  What is the AFC doing about the flawed constitution?  Are they visiting the villages and mobilizing the people or are they doing another Press conference?

The AFC has spent their political capital waging unnecessary wars against the GoG.  They have shot themselves in the foot.

The "revolution" happens at the ballot box...too bad for you.

Originally Posted by TK:

Dem Guy:

The AFC has spent their political capital waging unnecessary wars against the GoG.  They have shot themselves in the foot.

Let us agree to disagree, the revolution will happen when the tief man them stop tief!

Originally Posted by TK:

Dem Guy:

Let us agree to disagree, the revolution will happen when the tief man them stop tief!

You missed it in 1992.

Originally Posted by TK:

====

You have NO SHAME. AS soon as you realised you are NOT getting Minista Wuk, you said SHIT with that and jumped on EZ Jet. SHAMELESS INDEED BUT HONEST!!!

===

I have more important things to do than file away FAFSA forms as you do. You cant keep the feces from pouring out, eh? 

you certainly have no morals, shame or dignity. you are indeed a true politician. something i knew a long time ago.

I do not drink henny and eat poke cuttahs paid for by a government of Guyana Visa card. I have carved my own niche, something you can never do in this life time. 

TK, stop showing off on your fellow countrymen.  As a professor, this is shameful conduct.  However, as a representative of an opposition party, you folks will stoop to anything and step on anyone. 

Originally Posted by TK:

you certainly have no morals, shame or dignity. you are indeed a true politician. something i knew a long time ago.

I do not drink henny and eat poke cuttahs paid for by a government of Guyana Visa card.

I have carved my own niche, something you can never do in this life time. 

Every one carves their own niche.