Source:  The American Bazaar.

Air India Celebrates International Women's Day With All Women Crew.

The Indian national carrier Air India successfully landed the world’s longest 100% women operated flight from India Gandhi International Airport in Delhi to the San Francisco International Airport in California, on Monday.

According to the airlines, the Air India flight AI 173 to San Francisco travelled close to 14,500 kilometres for a continuous 17 hours to mark the International Women’s Day. The non-stop flight took off from Delhi on March 6.

Air India said in a press release: “This year for the first time, on the world’s longest non-stop flight, entire flight operations from cockpit crew to cabin crew, check-in staff, doctor, customer care staff, ATC (air traffic control) and the entire ground-handling… were handled by women.”

Air India CMD Ashwani Lohani said the airliner has made history as this is “the longest operated by all-women crew”. He added, “the airline has immense respect for women and it is a symbol of women empowerment.”

Before taking off from Delhi, Captain Ramya Kirti Gupta said, “It’s a proud moment. It’s a 17-hour flight that we are taking, covering 14,600 km with a ground speed of 1200 km. per hour.”

Captain Shubhangi Singh said, “You need to work hard. There is no shortcut to success. I come from a modest family and without any aviation background. I am overwhelmed to be a part of an all-women crew in the history of aviation. It’s a long flight covering various countries; there are several procedures that we’d have to keep in mind.”

The flight AI 173 was commanded by Captain Kshamta Bajpayee and Captain Shubhangi Singh, along with First Officers Ramya Kirti Gupta and Amrit Namdhari.

Air India currently has a total of 3,800 women employees, which includes pilots, cabin crew, engineers, technicians, doctors, security personnel and executives.

Proud of my gene pool,some are really talented.

Django bai, you could have fooled me. Me tawt you gat some negroid genes in you. Thanks for the info.

Django is Indian?  No waaaaaaay!!!!!

Django bai, you could have fooled me. Me tawt you gat some negroid genes in you. Thanks for the info.

He could have fooled you too heh?

RiffRaff posted:

Not because the man has certain views, it makes him a black or indian

dAT IS TRUE and it is difficult to know since Crabdaags and Nincompoops  and Neemakarams are hard to identify.

Gilbakka will be the devil's advocate here. In class/caste terms, those women are not from the coolies or porter group of laborers. So, the term "sahayak" [coolie] is inappropriate. They are INDIAN WOMEN and I applaud their historic aviation feat. 

RiffRaff posted:

If you hadn't showed us your picture, I would have thought you were afro also.

ayuh really need to get out of the mentality that if someone supports a particular party, that they are either afro or indo

you nah does read when i say who i am,Skelly seh i must buy a gallon tar.

Gilbakka will be the devil's advocate here. In class/caste terms, those women are not from the coolies or porter group of laborers. So, the term "sahayak" [coolie] is inappropriate. They are INDIAN WOMEN and I applaud their historic aviation feat. 

I also was wondering about the title of the thread which seemed to demean these women

RiffRaff posted:

dAT IS TRUE and it is difficult to know since Crabdaags and Nincompoops  and Neemakarams are hard to identify.

ker yuh r....s

RiffRaff posted:

nah bring yuh story here bai

flyt_2765812f[1]Photo - Captain Kshamta Bajpayee and captain Shubhangi Singh along with First Officers Ramya Kirti Gupta and Captain Amrit Namdhari pose ahead of their flight at a function in New Delhi.

• flyt_2765812f[1]
RiffRaff posted:

I also was wondering about the title of the thread which seemed to demean these women

Dark skin women are excluded. I noticed that discrimination on the inter flights in India.

RiffRaff posted:

The title was meant to capture the attention of you and Gilly.  It did!!!  In the literary world we call it symbolism.  It was never meant to demean these women.  In fact, I am VERY proud of my kind.  I am an Indian woman first and foremost!

RiffRaff posted:

Dark skin women are excluded. I noticed that discrimination on the inter flights in India.

Yes some people can be such ignorant fools. But they are everywhere, just look at how many are supporting trump. 

Let them Saudi women try dat.

BhARAT mATA kI jAI!!!!

Stormy seen this yet? The dalits are smart people?

You miss my point but one cannot expect that you would get it being over 60 and not yet able to abstract that racism is bad. We are all Dalits in the original distinction created by the word...from upper caste parasitic indians.... oppressed indians.

Dalits are and always have been smart people. In general, all humans are smart providing they are in possession of fully functioning mental faculties. Everyone, given an even playing field, will progress beyond their status it is what humans do. No human will live destitute if they can overcome.

Only some fools miss the fork in the road and think to be "not dalit"  means  finding another to scapegoat as their"outcaste". They remain dalits because they have not  transitioned mentally to the idea that there are no superior race.

baseman posted:
susan posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Yes some people can be such ignorant fools. But they are everywhere, just look at how many are supporting trump. 

I actually like Diamond and Silk!!!

And igar, what does Trump have to do with this!!  Foolish woman you are!!

I am not interested in whether YOU think I am foolish or not nor am I interested in your opinions in general. But feel free to express your opinions if you feel compelled to since I seem to really rile you. Just don't burst a blood vessel doing so! 

Beauty and Brains.  When will that happen in America or Africa????????????

It would take you and Skeldon Ape to miss the the point that these are aspirations and hope for the some 600 million in abject destitution. Baseman been to India. He can advise you what it is for the majority of the population to shit where they live.

Looks like you got carried away,if you are talking about female pilots read up on history.

Is everything has to be explained to you. Read the topic over and over and maybe it will spark!!

baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:
susan posted:

I am not interested in whether YOU think I am foolish or not nor am I interested in your opinions in general. But feel free to express your opinions if you feel compelled to since I seem to really rile you. Just don't burst a blood vessel doing so! 

I am a Trump supporter here are YOU refer to us as "ignorant fools", so YOU are DUMB and peeved!

BTW, Bibi started this thread celebrating the accomplishments of the women of India, but your usual "sour dough" self had to come in and "stink it up"!!!

And I thought you had me on "ignore"!!!

Trump folks are the delusional, duped and idiot others. The idea that some fool will build a fence to keep some one else out and the people who he wants to keep out will willingly build it cannot be more moronic a tale to believe.  And the idea of being great with no plans on how to do it is also for morons.

baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:
susan posted:

I am a Trump supporter here are YOU refer to us as "ignorant fools", so YOU are DUMB and peeved!

BTW, Bibi started this thread celebrating the accomplishments of the women of India, but your usual "sour dough" self had to come in and "stink it up"!!!

I do but you choose to reply directly to me so so I look at what you say to my post but invariably you choose to express in your typical nasty way your disgust that I completely differ in opinion from you. You are entitled to your opinions as I am but There is no need to attack me personally by expressing YOUR disgusted thoughts of what I am. And yes you keep on personally attacking me in the nastiest way. I guess we all get by doing what is natural to us and you are no different. Don't let my opinions rile you so much. 

baseman posted:

It would take you and Skeldon Ape to miss the the point that these are aspirations and hope for the some 600 million in abject destitution. Baseman been to India. He can advise you what it is for the majority of the population to shit where they live.

Everyone "shit where the live", unless you run to the other block to take your dump!!

Now to India, if you mean lack of indoor toilet, it's about 20%-25%% of the people and due mainly to the lack of water!!

Every stat I see says it is more than one half  of the population has not seen a toilet. Also many of the cities are absent sewers. Their planning never included that.

Mars once posted a funny picture of an Indian in the US taking a dump in a flower pot in a crowded US mall. He just followed habit!

456293-kalpana-chawla[1]And let us not forget my favorite of them all the great Kalpana Chawla - she was part of the international crew aboard the U.S. Space Shuttle, Columbia, becoming the first woman born in India to go into space. Sadly, the second mission in Columbia ended in tragedy. 

After earning a Bachelor of Science degree in aeronautical engineering, against great opposition from her father, she went for a master’s degree to the United States of America. She later earned her Ph.D. in aerospace engineering. Kalpana Chawla was the first Indian-American woman astronaut to blast off from the launch pad at Cape Canaveral - Florida and participate in a successful mission in space.

I would love to see Bollywood make a movie in her honor with Kajol playing Kalpana Chawla.  Dem gat wan lil resemblance!!!

• 456293-kalpana-chawla[1]
baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:
susan posted:

I do but you choose to reply directly to me so so I look at what you say to my post but invariably you choose to express in your typical nasty way your disgust that I completely differ in opinion from you. You are entitled to your opinions as I am but There is no need to attack me personally by expressing YOUR disgusted thoughts of what I am. And yes you keep on personally attacking me in the nastiest way. I guess we all get by doing what is natural to us and you are no different. Don't let my opinions rile you so much. 

Hey miss "disgust", you started the "name calling " of Trumpsters so you got a "counter-punch"!!  And sour dough ain't that bad.  Try the bread sometime!

I will express my opinions here but I guard against personal attacks (except for one instance against Yuji which was unwarranted). I only respond to you when you attack me personally and this has only happened over the past few days.  In the past I ignored the vile adjectives you threw my way. And that you might claim that you are not personally attacking me,  does not change the character of the attacks. You think you can bully me and maybe I cannot match your nasty remarks directed to me but rest assured that  I am not going away! 

I get why Redux and Stormborm take you on all the time. You can't try to bully them!

I am hereby bringing an end to this "dialogue" with you. This is a public forum.