Successive governments in Guyana, since independence, have been incapable of managing the government services and state owned enterprises.

Therefore, it is time the government sell (or lease) these off to private entities. They also need to outsource a lot of the work done in the public services. I believe that while it may be cruel at first it may be the best, and cheapest, way to increase innovation, productivity and standards in general in Guyana.

• Sell/lease Guysuco
  • Outsource most public service
  • Privatize schools
  • Privatize hospitals
  • Privatize the university, colleges and technical institutes

If  there are no takers for any particular unit then shut it down!

Of course the government will need to put some safeguards in place so that there is no price gouging.

politikalamity posted:

Successive governments in Guyana, since independence, have been incapable of managing the government services and state owned enterprises.

Therefore, it is time the government sell (or lease) these off to private entities. They also need to outsource a lot of the work done in the public services. I believe that while it may be cruel at first it may be the best, and cheapest, way to increase innovation, productivity and standards in general in Guyana.

• Sell/lease Guysuco
  • Outsource most public service
  • Privatize schools
  • Privatize hospitals
  • Privatize the university, colleges and technical institutes

If  there are no takers for any particular unit then shut it down!

Of course the government will need to put some safeguards in place so that there is no price gouging.

There are some functions that a gov't can handle and others that it cannot.

There are private hospitals and schools, so Guyanese have a choice, but the fact is that most cannot afford these.  Ditto tertiary education.

On the other hand gov't has no business in the productive sector.  Marriott, Guysuco, etc., ought to be divested ASAP.  Transition arrangements should be made for displaced workers and other assets that will become unused, such as lands on closed estates.

I am not sure that outsourcing civil service functions will make a difference in a land where the private sector is short sighted, backward, and lacking a sense of social responsibility. 

Maybe NGOs can assume certain functions, obtaining contracts, on a competitive bid process, with termination if certain benchmark performance levels aren't consistently exceeded.

.Racial politics have taken a toll in the homeland.

Guyanese need to own up to their own ethnic insecurities, and stop blaming the politicians.

If Guyanese really didn't want to vote race, then politicians wouldn't pander to their ethnic insecurities.

Jagdeo is running around screaming "black man a starve ahbe" because he knows that there is a market for it. If the sugar workers told him to get lost, as he is responsible for their plight, then he would have to approach them using more mature tactics.

And ditto for the stupid black women who were harassing the protesters talking about "we government". Granger doesn't give two hoots about them, so they need to stop playing stooge for him.

.Racial politics have taken a toll in the homeland.

Guyanese need to own up to their own ethnic insecurities, and stop blaming the politicians.

If Guyanese really didn't want to vote race, then politicians wouldn't pander to their ethnic insecurities.

Jagdeo is running around screaming "black man a starve ahbe" because he knows that there is a market for it. If the sugar workers told him to get lost, as he is responsible for their plight, then he would have to approach them using more mature tactics.

And ditto for the stupid black women who were harassing the protesters talking about "we government". Granger doesn't give two hoots about them, so they need to stop playing stooge for him.

Carib, you fail to realise that coolies became racist because of their survival instinct. The coolie man and others had to put up with the violent nature of the negroes all over the world. If you doubt me, just look at Africa. Some coolie men are no longer afraid of the "big black man" in Guyana. I saw with my own eyes at Rosignol stelling a lil coolie bai, grabbed a vendor's cutlass and forcefully removed a bully blackman from his car spot. Other blackmen just stood here and looked puzzled.

The political tug'o'war will never allowed some on your list to  materialize,not in the next 50 yrs,it boogles my mind why a country under 750,000 with such vast resources cannot move to the top of the ladder.Racial politics have taken a toll in the homeland.

After reading Caribj for this long. You still boogled?

If you were check Django's posts he never confronts me. He usually confronts the Indo KKK set.

Carib, you fail to realise that coolies became racist because of their survival instinct. The coolie man and others had to put up with the violent nature of the negroes all over the world. If you doubt me, just look at Africa. Some coolie men are no longer afraid of the "big black man" in Guyana. I saw with my own eyes at Rosignol stelling a lil coolie bai, grabbed a vendor's cutlass and forcefully removed a bully blackman from his car spot. Other blackmen just stood here and looked puzzled.

As usual "blackman bad, Indians good".

Listen idiot.  BOTH sides have been racist to each other.  BOTH sides have suffered. BOTH sides vote race out of fear. Then BOTH sides are forced to flee to small islands to live. 

Now St Kitts Nevis is going to deport a whole set of them!  Antigua, Barbados and Trinidad have been tossing out Guyanese for YEARS!   Guyanese are treated like scum all over the Caribbean, because they arrive on "vacation" and don't want to leave.

So feel free to scream that its only blacks who are to blame.

The political tug'o'war will never allowed some on your list to  materialize,not in the next 50 yrs,it boogles my mind why a country under 750,000 with such vast resources cannot move to the top of the ladder.Racial politics have taken a toll in the homeland.

After reading Caribj for this long. You still boogled?

If you were check Django's posts he never confronts me. He usually confronts the Indo KKK set.

Perhaps, he afraid yuh going to beat him up. Smiley face