I try not to read or watch too much TV or movies.

I recently watched WATER FOR ELEPHANTS ( took me 3 days)

I like period pcs…maybe it’s the costumes

of course I watch frivolous shows like 90 day fiancé and all it’s franchises

also watch bachelor and all that follows

i watch Kelly Clarkson, The Social and Ellen

not all episodes and never in one night. I don’t watch lots of screens  in the day

Anything about Ancients, I am hooked. Got the fever when in Standard 3, Torani Sane introduced the class to Classics Inllustrated. Then for PSC, we studied Tales of the Ancients. I was bowled over.

For sure, the reason why I believe in the episodes of the Bible. The Book of Enoch was also another text that have me consumed in the Ancients, God is known in that book as the Ancient of Days.

Love also, Romantic Comedies.

@Amral posted:

I look mostly now at Historical and Documentaries on YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/channe...lvyJe7aHZmcvzvubDFRg

I watched every Netflix, Disney and Prime movie based on history. (I like costumed shows. Also like the masked dancer.)

lots of them showed how the whites had class/caste system and how they suppressed the poor even killing their own blood for power….how could one have expected them to show any compassion for  non-whites.

W
@seignet posted:

Anything about Ancients, I am hooked. []

Love also, Romantic Comedies.

Same here…love romance and comedies and when u put them together it’s bonus.

Recently watched ‘ Water for elephants’ ….Fatherhood and all the Jane Austin related movies

Sig tell me what movie is considered of the Ancients…give an example pls

W

Hubby likes the 1-hour crime shows....NCIS, Law & Order, Chicago Pd, Bull, etc. I watch one/one episode with him.  I am more of a reader, and will often sit with him and read as he watches his shows.

I really like Masked Singer and JLo's World of dance.

If I am bored I will watch AGT and The Voice.

And of course, I am also a big fan of Romantic comedies......actually any romance movie!!

I also like spy movies like....Mission Impossible, Bourne series and all James Bond.

Kinda lost interest in Bollywood movies a few years ago. Used to watch a lot of them at one time.

Villagebelle
@Wildflower posted:

Same here…love romance and comedies and when u put them together it’s bonus.

Recently watched ‘ Water for elephants’ ….Fatherhood and all the Jane Austin related movies

Sig tell me what movie is considered of the Ancients…give an example pls

All the stories of Homer Iliads.

Hubby likes the 1-hour crime shows....NCIS, Law & Order, Chicago Pd, Bull, etc. I watch one/one episode with him.  I am more of a reader, and will often sit with him and read as he watches his shows.

I really like Masked Singer and JLo's World of dance.

If I am bored I will watch AGT and The Voice.

And of course, I am also a big fan of Romantic comedies......actually any romance movie!!

I also like spy movies like....Mission Impossible, Bourne series and all James Bond.

Kinda lost interest in Bollywood movies a few years ago. Used to watch a lot of them at one time.

Pakistanie have some nice stories-Fawad Khan did a good job on atleast two series.

@wildflower   Glad you enjoyed the movie! I found it really funny.

Anyone watching - The Masked Singer?

Season 6, Episodes 1 & 2

The costumes are so beautiful and they have had grammy-winning singers on the show!! 

Won't be a 'spoiler' just in case anyone's watching but not watched Episode 2 as yet......."Pufferfish" was revealed to be a 7-time grammy winner.  Would have liked to see her go to the very end.

Villagebelle

Seen it once.

There is a new one on CTV called "Alter ego" the singers stay behind the stage wearing wires while a computer generated "person" steps on stage and performs to the singers voice and movement. It's wild seeing this thing carry on a conversation with the judges and performing, when done, with the flick of a finger "poof" gone.

I had stopped watching Survivor......but watched the last season and really enjoyed it. Might watch the next season too.

New season of Amazing Race just started.......hubby and I watching it

We record and watch next day so we can fast-forward commercials

Villagebelle

Any recommendations for Netflix movies?

Hitman bodyguard wife or something like that ….

just watched Don’t look up….not my cuppa tea

The Bucket List

Poms…with Diane Keaton /not sure if on Netflix

W
@seignet posted:

Just a run of the mill movie. Love the ones filmed in Ireland and Tuscany.

"Shadows in the Sun" on Youtube. Lighthearted story.

Seigzy do u mean the Christmas movies? I liked the one filmed in Scotland and Ireland.
Under the Tuscan sun was nice

W

This Is Us!!! Love it

Steve Harvey has anew show called “Judge Steve Harvey”

i have seen all 3 episodes n it is HILARIOUS.

I Love  the Game TV channel..

Chain Reaction, People’s puzzlers, Family Feud (not the Canadian 1 as that is so boring) n  America Says

Lynn

"This is US", I watched it on Netflix everynight until one espisode. Just knew something bad was going happen to Kevin. So, I stopped watching. I am told or reminded, "it is only a show." Never went back to the show. Strange.

Anyway, Michael Douglas was in a series on Netflix. I followed that one until the end. I like the shenanigans of his character-mischiefs of old men. How liberated sex becomes after reaching a certain age -men and women.   

This Is Us just started 5 th series

nah it’s still going good..

all the ‘children’ have ‘issues’ that they have ‘carried’ with them into their adult lives.

Ilike how they deal with these ‘issues’ in relatable ways ..  

it can b very emotional at times .. but that what makes it good..that viewers  can connect emotionally .

Lynn

Bollywood.. saw Thappad ( means ‘slap’ n we GY would pronounce it as ‘Thapar’ )

Tapsee Pannu is the actress i I saw her in Naam Shabana , Badla n Mulk n a couple of others n I think she is a great n talented actress  . She doesnt do the typical song n dance movies .
She recently acted in Sanya ( based on true story od Sania Mirza , India’s tennis star .

A new movie of hers is now advertising .. cant rem d name but it is based on a female athlete

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

I watched all of previous seasons of THIS IS US

This is the final season, I have not watched any of it as yet. … pvr

today I watched a movie called THE STOLEN based on a true story ( love movies based on true story)

which is why I loved MERCY and Harriet Tubman

no porn bro👹. only did that when hubby was around ( confessions of an inhibited woman….or is that shameless😁😁)

of course I still watch frivolous stuff like Bachelor and Joe Millionaire

Keenan, Call me Kat, Home Economics etc

W

Love Indian Idol, SaReGaMaPa

n (n lil champs too) n the dance reality shows like Dance Deewane n India’s top dancer

Currently looking at India Got Talent n Hunarbaaz just started last nite

Lynn
@cain posted:

I watched something de other day but now I start typing I forgot what I talkin bout.

Schuuuupssssss!
ole ppl😄😃

ummmmm was going to tell u something ah never mind…nope I didn’t forget😉

W
@cain posted:

I just remembered what it was...yep..it was CP24 news. Exciting taranted.

Another big grin….time for me to turn off cp24 get out of my bed…so much to do and so little time

Since my last post on this thread, i watched 2 Netflix movies…Chocolat and Dangerous Beauty..based on true stories

also watched Hallmark’s The Wedding Veil

W
Last edited by Wildflower
@cain posted:

Since my last post I watched CP24 again...gotta keep up with the weather report no matter how wrong they usually are, you know.

I dint know you had TV service up there. Is there a Walmart and Shoppers?

@Mitwah posted:

I dint know you had TV service up there. Is there a Walmart and Shoppers?

Thankfully no super large dollar store aka Walmart. No Shoppers neither unless I drive to Lindsay. Strange we have two drugstores in town, one a Pharmasave the other Guardian Pharmacy , a minute's walk between them.

One grocery store, Sobeys.

Best of all, two cannabis stores and another about to open, all within a two minute walk.. This in a town of about 2000. Talk about priorities right?

Last week I watched

HOW TO MAKE LOVE TO ENGLISHMAN

its a comedy…I try to stay away from too much serious stuff ( it’s what my therapist recommended after the trauma I recently went through)

Yesterday I started to watch “10 items or less”. I may finish it tomorrow

I still enjoy all the tv comedies

W
@Wildflower posted:

Watched

Dr Cabbie

filmed in Toronto…stupidly unreal movie…loved it😁

also enjoyed 10 ITEMS OR LESS

not sure what to watch today….

I saw Dr Cabbie..n enjoyed it too..Love Kunal!! (Big Bang theory guy, Rajesh)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I saw Dr Cabbie..n enjoyed it too..Love Kunal!! (Big Bang theory guy, Rajesh)

He’s coming in a news show…saw him on Kelly Clarkson talk show

he had a beard…didn’t recognize him until I heard him talk

W

SHAGIRD..

I saw this movie Whn I was abt 8-9 yrs..i dont rem  the story-line  but I rem the songs n love them! Saira Banu n Joy Mukherji

(I rem after we came out of the cinema , my Ma said that she didnt like the stargirl because “she acte like she crazy” lol

Shagird aired on Zee TV on Thurs n I recorded on PVR, I will look at it soon !

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

I have not watched an Indian movie for a while…

last one was Pink

yesterday I watched Tyler Perry’s The Single Moms’ club

baby sleeping now so maybe I start a movie

I’ve seen many of TP’s older movies but no recent ones!

looked at India got talent after my usual SaReGaMaPa.

I've never seen Mughal-e-Azam but I recorded on Friday ! I love Madhubala n Dilip Kumar as well as the songs .

Mughal-e-Azam was the first black-and-white Hindi film to be digitally coloured, and the first in any language to be given a theatrical re-release. The colour version, released on 12 November 2004, w

Lynn

I like TP movies!
recently watched Why did I get married…have to see how to watch # 2

saw Mughal …love all those oldies songs

i used to watch lots of old movies when my girls were younger

now it’s mostly me and due to vision issue I limit

W
@Wildflower posted:

I like TP movies!
recently watched Why did I get married…have to see how to watch # 2

saw Mughal …love all those oldies songs

i used to watch lots of old movies when my girls were younger

now it’s mostly me and due to vision issue I limit

I have all TP older movies on DVD n Madea lol

saw Breakthrough after the game.. liked it !!  

Lynn

Ive never seen jab pyar kisse se hota hai althought my #1 fave hindi song is in it(sau saal pehle). It was on Zee TV today 1-430 pm.. set PVR.. dont know whn i will get time to watch, I recorded 3 already.. Shagird n Mughal E Azam .. lol

Lynn

Saw Splendour  in the grass last week..beautiful Natalie Woods!

i rem reading this novel as a 2 nd yr UG student. My gf/batchmate used to read thise op‘big fat’ novels that took a week to finish. I used to read them whn she put them down.. then we talked/discussed the stories. I rem reading books like Thorn Birds n all the Danielle Steele books..

the Bourne(identity)  series..

i dont rem all the names of books/authors now ..

many of these novels were made into movies ..

my gf loved Lobsang Tampa books., i started to read  them n was intrigued .. but i felt it was more fiction ie i didnt take it seriously.. to me , they were stories

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Last week I was in the Woods with beautiful Natalie..we smoked some grass...that was sheer Splendour.

I rem the name of an author..J.O Cutteridge.

Cutteridge made a cow jump ova de moon and he tell dem Tom Tom the piper son...steal a pig an away he ran. "From the song Dan is de man in de van.

@Lynn posted:

i rem reading this novel as a 2 nd yr UG student. My gf/batchmate used to read thise op‘big fat’ novels that took a week to finish. I used to read them whn she put them down.. then we talked/discussed the stories. I rem reading books like Thorn Birds n all the Danielle Steele books..

my gf loved Lobsang Tampa books., i started to read  them n was intrigued .. but i felt it was more fiction ie i didnt take it seriously.. to me , they were stories

Lobsang Rampa i meant..oops

the Third  Eye,  Living with the Lama, the Rampa story, Dr from Lhasa, Saffron Robe , Chapters of Life, The Hermit..

Looking back now..I cant believe I found these interesting lol

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@cain posted:

Last week I was in the Woods with beautiful Natalie..we smoked some grass...that was sheer Splendour.

Cutteridge made a cow jump ova de moon and he tell dem Tom Tom the piper son...steal a pig an away he ran. "From the song Dan is de man in de van.

Sparrow said, he was a scientist.

@Lynn posted:

Ah! Natalie Wood, my first feelings of attraction. I walked around for a whole school year in the imaginations as a James Dean. Rebel Without a Cause. I was the Rebel and Ena was the girl.

@seignet posted:

Ah! Natalie Wood, my first feelings of attraction. I walked around for a whole school year in the imaginations as a James Dean. Rebel Without a Cause. I was the Rebel and Ena was the girl.

you dah man Sigzy

first love Natalie

I know a guy who was in love with Veronica …ARCHIE comics

W
Last edited by Wildflower
@cain posted:

Cainstah I always ‘dissect’ those old time nursery rhymes…like why beat Tom after the pig was eat? An why name him Tom if is last name is already Tom…Po thing had to go cry pun de street.

what nonsense is it…that the cow jump over the moon…and have u ever seen the cat playing with a fiddle, is that what the cat preferred? Hmmmm

anyway, I am happy for you and your Natalie…smoking up and doing your thng …something about wood omg, I cannot even go there with that😁😁

W

The last movie I watched was a repeat

Madea family funeral

this was after I watched MADEA HOMECOMING on the day it came out.

if I don’t go out for a walk, I will watch MADEA big happy family

i also have been watching Joe Millionaire for richer or poorer

W
@Wildflower posted:

The last movie I watched was a repeat

Madea family funeral

this was after I watched MADEA HOMECOMING on the day it came out.

if I don’t go out for a walk, I will watch MADEA big happy family

i also have been watching Joe Millionaire for richer or poorer

I have abt 8 dvds with the 1 st set of Madea movies .,

Lynn

Well i had lot of faves..but Clint Eastwood (man i had a teenage crush on this guy) N Paul Newman,John Wayne , Charles Bronson!!

Gregory Peck, Robert Redford, Dustin Hoffman, Al Pacino, Richard Burton, Burt Lancaster, Charlton Heston, Warren Beatty  , Anthony Quinn, Michael n Kirk Douglas, George Kennedy

how abt Yul Bryner..??

loved kung Fu movies too Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Chen Sing n the Silver Fox

comedy..Jerry Lewis, Bud n Lou

Elvis Presley, Chubby Checker

Lynn

Ladies..#1 Liz Taylor n Sophia Loren !!

Meryl Streep, Audrey Hepburn, Kathryn Hepburn, Lana Turner, Greta Garbo, Barbara Streisand, Judy Garland, Ava Gardner, Lauren Bacall, Natalie Wood, Lucille Ball, Ginger Rogers, Betty Davis, Debbie Reynolds .

U can tell that i used to see a lot of old movies!!

I rem Plaza used to run oldies ..many times for an entire week, 1 per day n my gf n i went every afternoon after work to see them!! Trainee days..n ever after graduation, we went to a movie almost every weekday afternoon ..Astor, Metropole, Strand, Globe but mostly Plaza.  Now I see these movies on TCM n AMC channels n rem the teenaged n early 20’s days with my gf… Just lasy week, I was telling her i wish she can come visit me (she lives in St Lucia) n we can have an oldies marathon n reminisce the good  old days

Lynn
@cain posted:

One of my fav movies of all time is, Scent of a woman with the great Al Pacino.

Dat gurl was nice nice like a perfect woman and the way Pacino moved her around is like he was having foreplay on the dance floor. The scene reminds of an Instructor in Tech School telling us, "dancing is a vertical fulfilment of a horizontal desire.

Tango is about that. 

@Lynn posted:

Ladies..#1 Liz Taylor n Sophia Loren !!

Meryl Streep, Audrey Hepburn, Kathryn Hepburn, Lana Turner, Greta Garbo, Barbara Streisand, Judy Garland, Ava Gardner, Lauren Bacall, Natalie Wood, Lucille Ball, Ginger Rogers, Betty Davis, Debbie Reynolds .

U can tell that i used to see a lot of old movies!!

I rem Plaza used to run oldies ..many times for an entire week, 1 per day n my gf n i went every afternoon after work to see them!! Trainee days..n ever after graduation, we went to a movie almost every weekday afternoon ..Astor, Metropole, Strand, Globe but mostly Plaza.  Now I see these movies on TCM n AMC channels n rem the teenaged n early 20’s days with my gf… Just lasy week, I was telling her i wish she can come visit me (she lives in St Lucia) n we can have an oldies marathon n reminisce the good  old days

I like Audrey's take on the relationship between a man and woman (I must stress it). "No need for marriage, just call up your best female friend." I tink she endorses friends with benefits."

@Lynn posted:

Well i had lot of faves..but Clint Eastwood (man i had a teenage crush on this guy) N Paul Newman,John Wayne , Charles Bronson!!

Gregory Peck, Robert Redford, Dustin Hoffman, Al Pacino, Richard Burton, Burt Lancaster, Charlton Heston, Warren Beatty  , Anthony Quinn, Michael n Kirk Douglas, George Kennedy

how abt Yul Bryner..??

loved kung Fu movies too Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Chen Sing n the Silver Fox

comedy..Jerry Lewis, Bud n Lou

Elvis Presley, Chubby Checker

Montgomery Cliff.

Glen Ford

There is also an English fellow as well, his name doesn't come to mind right now.

Cool men with great acting talent.

@seignet posted:

Montgomery Cliff.

Glen Ford

There is also an English fellow as well, his name doesn't come to mind right now.

Cool men with great acting talent.

Michael Caine??

i forgot Sean Connery m Morgan Freeman in my list..

i am sure i left out a few names….(long long tim ago..talking abt 1977-81 ..the days whn i was going to cinemas several days a week..lol..weekends we hit Liberty esp Sunday nights (830pm) but again..it was only oldies from 60’s-70’s..didnt really care for the newbies in 80’s)

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@seignet posted:

I like Audrey's take on the relationship between a man and woman (I must stress it). "No need for marriage, just call up your best female friend." I tink she endorses friends with benefits."

I saw a movie (1/2 way)  with her the other day on TCM…dont rem the name ..hubby looks at TCM n AMC a lot so. Movies r always showingn i see pieces of movies lol

. Audrey Hepburn n her famous FRINGE hairstyle ..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I heard abt Lola B….not sure i saw many of her movies…

Gina Lollobrigida was smitten with Kabir Bedi which led to his breakup with Parveen Babi and Parveen's downfall thereafter. I'm reading up on Parveen and am intrigued

Wow

ASJ bhaiya did write up on her

sad abt her mental illness n how she died..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Lard u going n undress URSULA  now!! Look story !

My fren had a Playboy magazine showing her with James Bond in a hot part in Dr No they had her as Ursula Undress. I only saw that page in my fren magazine.

@cain posted:

My fren had a Playboy magazine showing her with James Bond in a hot part in Dr No they had her as Ursula Undress. I only saw that page in my fren magazine.

Of course..once u eye ketch dat page..u not looking elsewhere!! Yuh eye freeze!! Lol

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Last episode of This Is Us is tear-jerker!!

I haven’t watched any of this final season nor one of my fav Outlander…all on pvr n waiting for me to binge watch.

last few days I watched a movie “ I want you back”….I cannot watch too much serious stuff

W