I watched the SOTU by Stacey Abrams, it was all that america needs to be confident of a progressive America. Thank you Stacey
Rass...ah thought for a minute yuh talkin good bout SOCU
SOCU is run by Cunumunu and lamatas
Bhai, I watched the SOTU and Stacey. Her delivery was excellent but her message does not align with republicans and some independents. It is appealing too far to the left.
The Democrats need to move away from the left and align their policies more to the centre to win the election. The republicans are now labelling them as Socialists (we know that they are not) so they have to be very smart going into 2020.
The speech was low energy, Trump sniffing something, rehashed garbage. He does not want to be investigated. When he got to the immigration part, I went and hit the showers, watched a little basketball and hockey. Caught Stacy Abrams response. Trump's speech was a dud.
yuji22 posted:Bhai, I watched the SOTU and Stacey. Her delivery was excellent but her message does not align with republicans and some independents. It is appealing too far to the left.
The Democrats need to move away from the left and align their policies more to the centre to win the election. The republicans are now labelling them as Socialists (we know that they are not) so they have to be very smart going into 2020.
What you have to say about Donald Duck? He lacks energy , he spent most of the time threatening FEAR, the MS13 will come and kill Americans. He still stuck with the Roman Wall and scared no hell about the investigations. It was a speech for his Base and nothing for Americans. Melania brought a boy that name Trump who is Bullied but Donald choose not to mention the boy. Why, he is the problem.
Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
kp posted:yuji22 posted:Bhai, I watched the SOTU and Stacey. Her delivery was excellent but her message does not align with republicans and some independents. It is appealing too far to the left.
What you have to say about Donald Duck? He lacks energy , he spent most of the time threatening FEAR, the MS13 will come and kill Americans. He still stuck with the Roman Wall and scared no hell about the investigations. It was a speech for his Base and nothing for Americans. Melania brought a boy that name Trump who is Bullied but Donald choose not to mention the boy. Why, he is the problem.
It was a sight to watch the freshman group of congresswomen wearing white cheering when Trump said his policies allowed more women to be absorbed in the workforce. How true. He had hoof and mouth disease when he stepped down from the podium. I bet when his speech writer wrote this piece, he never realized that Trump will be made a laughing stock.
Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
This Medicare for all thing, I am not sure about that. I think this will be too expensive. How about improving Obamacare and call it Affordable care, just to trip up the rednecks. I think this can still work.
Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
Ray, they will lose if they stay too far to the left. They did the last time around.
The republicans are now throwing around the socialist label on them and we all know that it is far from the truth but American politics is as such so the Dems have to play it carefully or lose.
skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
This Medicare for all thing, I am not sure about that. I think this will be too expensive. How about improving Obamacare and call it Affordable care, just to trip up the rednecks. I think this can still work.
it could work, however the insurance companies, doctors, drug makers and hospitals will be up in arms. Treating medicare patients is not too profitable.
Drugb posted:skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
it could work, however the insurance companies, doctors, drug makers and hospitals will be up in arms. Treating medicare patients is not too profitable.
It might be a disaster. It would kill all private insurance companies and put millions out of work. I can see lowering the age for Medicare to maybe 60. Medicare for all will kill Medicare as it is now.
skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
That is why I am stating that the Dems need to align themselves to the centre. This election is for them to win but their leftists policies might come back to haunt them as the Republicans ratchet up their false propaganda and scare tactics machinery and sadly, Americans buy into it.
Trump made a statement that he needed LOTS of legal immigrants. He is just using a scare tactic of illegal immigrants to keep his base in line. The Dems are asleep at the switch.
yuji22 posted:skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
That is why I am stating that the Dems need to align themselves to the centre. This election is for them to win but their leftists policies might come back to haunt them as the Republicans ratchet up their false propaganda and scare tactics machinery and sadly, Americans buy into it.
Trump made a statement that he needed LOTS of legal immigrants. He is just using a scare tactic of illegal immigrants to keep his base in line. The Dems are asleep at the switch.
Trump's "socialism and immigration" speeches are for his base...less than 40%. It's all red meat. He started campaigning since inauguration day.
Skelly Bhai, Americans do not like the word Socialism and labelling the Dems as such will be another election propaganda campaign for the republicans. This was not directed to his base alone. I saw Bernie ducking when he mentioned socialism. Bernie should just go away and not let the stigma of socialism stick to the Dems. This is a targeted campaign and the dems can win if they can demonstrate that they are not socialists and far left leaning politicians.
They must not allow the republicans to set the agenda. They have momentum and must use it intelligently to carve out their 2020 campaign strategy early on. They are known to stumble over themselves.
There have already been petty internal fights among the dems.
Since Jan 2017 America is Communist since Putin running things
Nehru posted:Since Jan 2017 America is Communist since Putin running things
True dat. But Trump is like the AFC selling snake oil and some Americans are still drinking.
yuji22 posted:Skelly Bhai, Americans do not like the word Socialism and labelling the Dems as such will be another election propaganda campaign for the republicans. This was not directed to his base alone. I saw Bernie ducking when he mentioned socialism. Bernie should just go away and not let the stigma of socialism stick to the Dems. This is a targeted campaign and the dems can win if they can demonstrate that they are not socialists and far left leaning politicians.
They must not allow the republicans to set the agenda. They have momentum and must use it intelligently to carve out their 2020 campaign strategy early on. They are known to stumble over themselves.
There have already been petty internal fights among the dems.
Bernie day has come and gone just like Hillary. He is no Democrat. Why is he trying to dictate what the Democrats do? Stay independent Bernie.
Bernie is a major Democrat liability. The Dems will have to deal with this devil in their camp ! Bernie has a young and loyal following. He was partially responsible for Hillaryâs defeat and reminds me of Jackass Ramkarran in Guyana. They always want their five mins of fame !
The Dems need to sort all of this out early on. They need to act fast and carve out their campaign strategy early on. Trump is beatable but the dems need a precise election campaign strategy early in the game.
Remember that the economy is strong so taking him on the economy is not the best strategy.
They first need to strip him of the wall strategy. Hit him where it hurts. Give him nothing and let his base start seeing him as not fulfilling a major promise ! Trump is a bit weak right now and the dems have to stranglehold him on the wall. Only 40 percent of Americans support a wall so the dems can take advantage of this.
President Trump came across well as expected and received lots of standing ovations on his SOTU address to the nation. The Democrats rebuttal by Stacey Abrams was good as Democrats would expect. To add, the first lady and Nancy Pelocy steal the spotlight. They were finger licking good as Trump appeared tame from his usual bullying tactics. I believe Trump is trying to kill flies with honey rather than poison.
skeldon_man posted:Drugb posted:skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
It might be a disaster. It would kill all private insurance companies and put millions out of work. I can see lowering the age for Medicare to maybe 60. Medicare for all will kill Medicare as it is now.
My understanding is this is meant to apply to affordable care market place recipients, not the type of insurance yo receive through work. Private insurance will still exist.
Drugb posted:skeldon_man posted:Drugb posted:skeldon_man posted:Ray posted:Dems has to stay to the left to win...no half ass middle
My understanding is this is meant to apply to affordable care market place recipients, not the type of insurance yo receive through work. Private insurance will still exist.
I think when they say Medicare for all, I think it means all. That's how I heard some political pundits described it. We will have to wait and see.
Sadly, we have health care for all in Canada and it works. America is the only major western nation with a messed up health care system. All you try and sort it out deh !
Being center is a losing strategy...times have changed
I want Medicare for all
Medicare for all is fair but Americans are not ready for it. Big money with their scare tactics will make it a losing strategy. Dems will lose if the align themselves to the left. They will definitely win if the move to the centre. Times have NOT changed.
They can start to unravel Trump by giving a penny for the wall. Thatâs all and he can determine how to build it with a penny. He said that he will get the Mexicans to pay for it. Let him prove himself ! Just unravel him.
Ray posted:Being center is a losing strategy...times have changed
I want Medicare for all
It will never happen. Lobbyists!!!!
Nehru posted:Since Jan 2017 America is Communist since Putin running things
Absolutely correct, Nehru.
yuji22 posted:Bhai, I watched the SOTU and Stacey. Her delivery was excellent but her message does not align with republicans and some independents. It is appealing too far to the left.
Quit parroting republican and fox news bullshit. A tax on the rich to 70 percent existed for until the late 50's To deem medical care as fundamental is what all first world countries aim at except the US. Insisting that education is free up to two years of college returns more to the country than it puts in. Environmental consciousness is a necessity. The neglect of any of these platforms makes the US poor.
It is expensive if you continue with the same metric. Use a preventative health care system like Britain. It does not break them and they are not dying from lack of care. Obama care could have been revamped where it was week....the mandatory penalty on the young. It was however effective in having the most people covered ever and it is still growing even if they try to cripple it in a dozen ways.
D2 posted:yuji22 posted:Bhai, I watched the SOTU and Stacey. Her delivery was excellent but her message does not align with republicans and some independents. It is appealing too far to the left.
Quit parroting republican and fox news bullshit. A tax on the rich to 70 percent existed for until the late 50's To deem medical care as fundamental is what all first world countries aim at except the US. Insisting that education is free up to two years of college returns more to the country than it puts in. Environmental consciousness is a necessity. The neglect of any of these platforms makes the US poor.
We shall see in 2020.
Nehru posted:SOTU
I watched the SOTU by Stacey Abrams, it was all that america needs to be confident of a progressive America. Thank you Stacey
Stacey Abrams: Trump tax reforms have 'rigged the system'
On February 5, President Trump delivered his second State of the Union
On February 5, President Trump delivered his second State of the Union address.
The lengthy speech touched on areas of finance (tax reform, the U.S.-China trade war, job growth and the market at large) amongst other expected contentious topics (the U.S.-Mexico border, national security and drug prices.)
Stacey Abrams, the first black woman to give the democrats rebuttal in a State of the Union address, harshly criticized President Trump and the governmentâs stance and policies across all areas â namely voter suppression, the education system and immigration reform.
Source and rest of the article -- https://news.yahoo.com/stacey-...BHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzYw--
Stacy Abrams was wrong on Trump tax cut as well as on other points. Fact-finding will prove her wrong.
yuji22 posted:Sadly, we have health care for all in Canada and it works. America is the only major western nation with a messed up health care system. All you try and sort it out deh !
Why is it a sad affair?
kp posted:yuji22 posted:Sadly, we have health care for all in Canada and it works. America is the only major western nation with a messed up health care system. All you try and sort it out deh !
Why is it a sad affair?
What he rass fail to tell you is that they have to wait 3 months for an appointment if it is not an emergency. Also many procedures are considered as cosmetic. Imagine a man need a root canal in Canada and he is told that is a luxury and they give him a few aspirins. Ask coCainE, he pull out all he teeth because he couldn't afford the dental care ova deh.
DrugB,
Dental work is not part of the Universal health care. Dental is covered by private Insurance plans. Most working folks have private coverage for dental.
Our Universal health care does have some problems but it works perfectly for all Canadians.
Demerara_Guy posted:Nehru posted:SOTU
Stacey Abrams: Trump tax reforms have 'rigged the system'
AOL.com editors, AOL.comâĒOn February 5, President Trump delivered his second State of the Union
On February 5, President Trump delivered his second State of the Union address.
The lengthy speech touched on areas of finance (tax reform, the U.S.-China trade war, job growth and the market at large) amongst other expected contentious topics (the U.S.-Mexico border, national security and drug prices.)
Stacey Abrams, the first black woman to give the democrats rebuttal in a State of the Union address, harshly criticized President Trump and the governmentâs stance and policies across all areas â namely voter suppression, the education system and immigration reform.
Source and rest of the article -- https://news.yahoo.com/stacey-...BHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzYw--
Honestly, Stacey delivered a lot more than President Trump in ten mins of her presentation. Excellent delivery but I honestly think that it is too far to the left.