Hello friends!!

wht’s up..

just dropping in to se ‘HI” n ask how y’all doing n so on!!

well I am so excited that 1st week is March is gone!! Yayyyyy, April soon come …can’t wait to go walking in the sch yard again!!

Bye bye winter (hopefully very soon)

well ayuh tek care..walk in d karna ..nah stump yuh big toe. N so on n so on..

tata!! For now..

ps

anybody set seeds for the summer garden as yet? Any tips?? Mits bhaiya??

Hello Lynn, thank god winter ends soon. What a shocker, we didn't have any snow this year!

Was busy with work and some home projects. Hopefully 2024 will be the greatest year for my family.

Did my tax and got a nice refund. Will treat family later to a nice restaurant dinner.

Looking forward to a great spring and summer. We'll set seeds for okra, bigan, karila, bora, pepper, shallot and other seasonings.

Three family weddings are coming up and we have to prepare spare rooms for foreign guests. 

Hello Lynn, thank god winter ends soon. What a shocker, we didn't have any snow this year!

Was busy with work and some home projects. Hopefully 2024 will be the greatest year for my family.

Did my tax and got a nice refund. Will treat family later to a nice restaurant dinner.

Looking forward to a great spring and summer. We'll set seeds for okra, bigan, karila, bora, pepper, shallot and other seasonings.

Three family weddings are coming up and we have to prepare spare rooms for foreign guests.

Her Prezzo!!

Lucky u ..we didnt have many snow days but we (Toronto) had quite a few huge storms..

***** more snow forecasted for today/tonite n next week ..

but April  is less than 3 wks away..yahoooooo!!

Man u nah mek joke..u done yuh tax till u get returns!!

Oh..when will u set the seeds ?  I was thinking  to set seeds this weekend …ie for my bird n wiriwiri peppers n dwarf seim

(we dont plant much as we had a huge backyard but it is  rocky n shady..not enough sun to plant.

I usually buy the squash plants from Indian stores n also basil  (Oh.I almost forgot, .my gf mailed me some of her pumpkin seeds..so we  will try it, hope we reap some ..)

well..plenty people getting married..wow!! So u will be bz indeed!!

Wht kind of weddings? R u doing religious ceremony n separate receptions?

I have a wedding reception in May..my daughter’s best friend..she had Nikka in Jan (Pakistani girl n Guyanese-Brazilian boy )

How was Phagwah ?? I saw videos fromGY..massive celebrations …didnt see much activities from NY this yr

anyways..u take care..enjoy yr special dinner with fam..

Lynn

Well hellooooo all, did I miss any excitement, anybody get knock up, knock down, knock sideways?

I took quite a chance and moved end of Jan. Moving to Kirkland Lake at this time was a challenge with a whiteout a few hours outside of T.O our truck and  trailer hit black ice which led to doing the sideways dance, at one time the trailer looked as though it wanted to pass the truck. Quite a nail biter trip but we got there OK after a 6 1/2 hr drive.

Up here they had less snow this year than T.O.

Now hanging out with two of my grandkids, they are spending the weekend with me and dam I don't recall my kids getting me so burned out. Guess is ole age nuh?

@cain posted:

Well hellooooo all, did I miss any excitement, anybody get knock up, knock down, knock sideways?

I took quite a chance and moved end of Jan. Moving to Kirkland Lake at this time was a challenge with a whiteout a few hours outside of T.O our truck and  trailer hit black ice which led to doing the sideways dance, at one time the trailer looked as though it wanted to pass the truck. Quite a nail biter trip but we got there OK after a 6 1/2 hr drive.

Now hanging out with two of my grandkids, they are spending the weekend with me and dam I don't recall my kids getting me so burned out. Guess is ole age nuh?

Cain thats how I feel after 3 hours with the rugrats, how things otherwise

Amral

Hi Lynn, we'll buy most of the plants.  My nephew will set the rest, that's his hobby.  My job is to water all the plants later and reap.   

The weddings are cousins' kids who live nearby. 

@Amral posted:

Cain thats how I feel after 3 hours with the rugrats, how things otherwise

Banna, they came by me on Sat , three days later still here,  it is March break so that's ok.

I'm keeping busy here putting down Klick flooring and some painting as the weather keeps me away from outdoor activities.

@Amral posted:

good morning all, yeah hope we get spring soon. I am not doing any gardening this year. Doing other stuff, like taking more trips.

Enjoy BM!!

we don’t do much gardening as our yard is huge but shady n ground is rocky..

Only squash  basil n lil tomatoes we do..

but last yr i tried the dwarf seim n got 2 trees…so i saved a few seeds!

also tried some bird peppers (set seeds toolate) so by the time cold weather started..they were still YOUNG.

I had a few pots of mini yellow peppers n 1 lil scrawny red wiriwiri tree

chams sent me some pumpkin n jalapeno seeds ..so i will try those n see wht luck i have

Lynn

Hi Lynn, we'll buy most of the plants.  My nephew will set the rest, that's his hobby.  My job is to water all the plants later and reap. 

The weddings are cousins' kids who live nearby.

My cuz pays $2 for 1 wiriwiri plant in NJ..I paid $12 Cdn for 1 ..asked for red but it was the tiny yellow kind that they call ‘seasoning’ pepper,which is very nice…BUT i already had 2 plants ..

i specifically asked (Charlie’s) for red wiriwiri…well he can keep his blasted tree..not paying $12 to get the seasoning kind again as i have lotof seeds

im looking for the very small birdpeppers ..i got some but they r big..still hot but not wht im looking for

well u enjoy yr foreign guests..n wedding..

U cook-up, eat up, drink up n dance up n have a good time..

ciao!

Lynn
@cain posted:

Eheh cainsta..how u do nah??

oh my..scary stuff there but glad to hear u made it safely.

wow 6.5 hrs drive..in snow n white out/icy roads!!! Whoa!!

Well ah hope u all settled in by  now..spring soon come…

nice yuh gran pickney come to keep yr company..

yeah man..all abee ah get ole…tank running low fast these days.

i got injured  on the job..so im on wsib since Jan..

im bored at home as it is-my right elbow..damaged tendon..

can barely turn d pot..good thing is just me n d hubby..

he gat to lift all the heavy pots n dishes..i just stir the pots..

cant pull/push/lift/grip/pinch with rt hand…

started physio 2 wks ago after everything else failed ie brace, ice, anti-inflammatory meds n rubs..(voltaren, LIVrelief, tiger balm rubA535..) n resting for 2 months..

cant wait for warmer days so i can goout n walk in the sch yard…im sick of staying home alone all day with nothing to do..

poh hubby gat to do laundry..vacuum..steam mop..grocery  

d odda day..i had to mek 2 sada roti using d left hand..it come out good though..lol

Well..nice catching up…tek care..

walk in d karna …stay safe

Lynn

Dem pickney big n have energy like energizer bunny!!

Keeps u  active n fit!!

enjoy them as they gorw up too fast these days..u wink n they will be in middles sch ..then high sch

i feel as if my  baby  girl just graduated from high sch..but this-year is 4 yrs since she graduated from university..lol

now a grown woman at 25 ..n i dont know where the years went!!

Time flies!!

Lynn
@Amral posted:

i got 2, (boy 6yrs and girl 4 yrs)

Same ages as my two..the boy turns five in the summer.

Lynn..put heat on the elbow for about ten mins then use cold for ten or cold first then heat whatever you prefer.

Lynn, I built  up the garden last place I stayed, the ground was quite rocky so we used logs approx one foot in diameter placed them one on top the other, made a huge box then filled it with soil. I will be doing the same here. This place is all rock, quite hilly and on occasion you can see rock in the basement where it is actually used as support. Many homes have channels dug in their basement for water to run through and get into the drain, something we never see in the city.

I was surprised to run into a couple Guyanese here. There are quite a few Indians here also, one family owns a 24hr convenience store not far from me, they even carry hot foods, I get my fish and chips from there.

@cain posted:

Same ages as my two..the boy turns five in the summer.

Lynn..put heat on the elbow for about ten mins then use cold for ten or cold first then heat whatever you prefer.

Thnx Cain

yeah i have been putting ice at first but now its alternate cold n heat

getting phsyio..itis brutal!!

after 4 wks.. n now am slightly better..still off work  but meeting with wsib n employer next week to discuss retrun to work with modified duties

Lynn
@cain posted:

Lynn, I built  up the garden last place I stayed, the ground was quite rocky so we used logs approx one foot in diameter placed them one on top the other, made a huge box then filled it with soil. I will be doing the same here. This place is all rock, quite hilly and on occasion you can see rock in the basement where it is actually used as support. Many homes have channels dug in their basement for water to run through and get into the drain, something we never see in the city.

I was surprised to run into a couple Guyanese here. There are quite a few Indians here also, one family owns a 24hr convenience store not far from me, they even carry hot foods, I get my fish and chips from there.

Wow…nice u have settled..so wht crops r u grwoing this yr?

Great idea abt garden boxes..i was telling hubby abt those but our yard is too shady, not enough sun in the back or sides except for the front yard (of course i cant pants eggies there as i will never reap anything..hahaha..some sikhs fellas(old men) does just walk into d yard with plastic bags n pick my roses off the trees with even asking..u wud think they own the property) .  Another young man just walked in to the back n walked out with a big plastic bag of apples 1 time..i saw hime whnhe was leaving n asked him if that is how he does stuff..just walks into someone’s yard n pcik from tree..he was embarrassed..i dont think he knew I was at home. I told him he shudhave asked n i said wont have ‘no’ .

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Wow…nice u have settled..so wht crops r u grwoing this yr?

Great idea abt garden boxes..i was telling hubby abt those but our yard is too shady, not enough sun in the back or sides except for the front yard (of course i cant pants eggies there as i will never reap anything..hahaha..some sikhs fellas(old men) does just walk into d yard with plastic bags n pick my roses off the trees with even asking..u wud think they own the property) .  Another young man just walked in to the back n walked out with a big plastic bag of apples 1 time..i saw hime whnhe was leaving n asked him if that is how he does stuff..just walks into someone’s yard n pcik from tree..he was embarrassed..i dont think he knew I was at home. I told him he shudhave asked n i said wont have ‘no’ .

I collect the large plastic planters from my neighborhood. Big Savings! I use them  for my container planting. It's convenient and easy to move them around for maximum sun light. Bora needs a lot of sun; mine grew to 40 inches.

There is an old lady from Nepal, who asked for flowers since she used them for her Altar and prayers. I gave her permission to pick anytime without asking.

@Lynn, This is the 3 gal planters that I used. They can take 2 to 3 plants. I would put 3 seim plants or 2 eggplants (staked)  or 1 heirloom tomato (staked).  I would fill 3/4 with garden soil and use miracle grow in the middle for optimum production.

Planters Pride 3-gal Black Nursery Pot Product Image #1

@Mitwah posted:

I collect the large plastic planters from my neighborhood. Big Savings! I use them  for my container planting. It's convenient and easy to move them around for maximum sun light. Bora needs a lot of sun; mine grew to 40 inches.

There is an old lady from Nepal, who asked for flowers since she used them for her Altar and prayers. I gave her permission to pick anytime without asking.

Thnx bhaiya..last yr we used big pots..but we have to keep shifting then to get sun…(as i mentioned..i only had 5 seim seeds but only got 2 plants. ..

i had plenty pepper plants but they started to bear late because i set the seeds in april (too late)

(pS…even the 2 squash trees we had were in those big white buckets) as the only thing that grows in the back n side of yard is tomatoes…we planted some bird peppers between the roses in front yard)

thnx for the tips..

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I have no problem giving flowers bro..but the coupleof old sikhs guys walk into the yard as if they r woners..bring plastic bags n pick my ROSES..lol..

A lady once asked me for annual flowers..i let her pick..

but the guys BREAK the roses off the trees if they ask i can cut 1 or 2 roses

just mentioned it because i cant plant veggies infront of yard as i wont get any!!

last yr my italian neighbor gave me some romano bean plants which we planted infront along the fence..people walked in n picked them..(i am at a corner of 2 main rds..n infront of the mall, so heavy traffic(pedestrian)

i used to have plenty hollyhock trees..people just picked the dry seeds as they passed by but i have no problem with that…

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Oh geez man I expected something like

There is an old lady from Nepal who asked for flowers to stick in her navel

The flowers wilted..her navel tilted she now asks for flowers be stuck in her....flowerpot.

Lynn you should see about growing a cowitch tree...tell dem guys the fruit good for the skin. Anybody in our yard that don't belong there, dem rass would find out what a jumbie lash is.

I heard stinging nettle good for pain. Perhaps how it works is like you does be too busy scratchin fo worry about any pain.

Finally we seeing grass up here and I can actually see the house across the street but tomorrow and Thur is snow in we rant.

It musbe Trudeau fault nuh. Or do as everything else that's screwed up the blame is placed on Covid.

A relative of mine had purchased some goodies from a Guyanese bakery, something he's done every couple of weeks for years and as he was about to leave he enquired if they had any calenders, the woman walked away and brought one for him. He then asked if it was possible to get two seeing he was also picking up some of the goods for another person but the answer was no. When he asked why not the woman told him " it was due to Covid and tings all messed up nowadays"

He has not been back since and this was a guy who spent a fair amount with each visit

@cain posted:

It musbe Trudeau fault nuh. Or do as everything else that's screwed up the blame is placed on Covid.

A relative of mine had purchased some goodies from a Guyanese bakery, something he's done every couple of weeks for years and as he was about to leave he enquired if they had any calenders, the woman walked away and brought one for him. He then asked if it was possible to get two seeing he was also picking up some of the goods for another person but the answer was no. When he asked why not the woman told him " it was due to Covid and tings all messed up nowadays"

He has not been back since and this was a guy who spent a fair amount with each visit

Covid killed all dem ‘free-cos’

as we used to. Say “tings dry”!!

Fuh real though…

COVID  ‘changed a lot in life..everywhere u go…shortages..

Many Drs closed their clinics..nurses left jobs..even lab staff left…many moved to the States.

2 wks ago i went o buy 2 Samosas from Rajdhani lil express store in d mall here n i was shocked to see it was $1 each!!

I dont buy often but i know before covid it was 3 for $1 n last Aug I was in Brampton n met a freind in the same restaurant there on Bovaird..it was .85 cents each!!

IZ COVID buddy!!

Smh

ohh..before covid i used to pay $25 for a 30-min massage at a salon/spa..after 1st lockdown it went up to $40..after covid they charge $55 (not RMT mind u..just a salon massage )

wht we guh do buddy!!!

We got to roll wid d times…

Lynn

These days I try to shop for sales items, so if I feel like doin up some salfish and it not on sale, my mouth gonna run for lil salfish for a lil while longer, the next week I might try for crab. The most I might do this year is help my daughter in her garden, she has beans, lettuce, onions, tomatoes, pokchoy and others I couldt remember. She is apparently planning on trying banana, I once saw a banana tree planted out front of one of the buildings our company was located in, uptown T.O. I dug it up to try it indoors as it was getting cooler....it was a waste of time, I kept forgetting to water it.

Wha..banana sucker here..wow!!

We had plenty bananas back in our yard ..it was similar to cayenne but bigger..the peel didnt turn very yellow, it looked half-ripe so u had to ‘feel’ them to know whn they were ready to eat.  The bunch was HUGE so my dad had to get greenheart  post to support the suckers..

the bad thing w as ..the whole bunch ripened at same time so we had so many that my mom used to put 1/2 on the donkey cart n distributed tot he hospital n police station..

the bananas we huge too, as a kid i couldnt eat dinner if I ate 1!!

i rem we used to cut the ‘bunch’ n hand it in a store room under our kitchen  n cover with rice bag or cloth..

My late bro used to ‘feel’ every morning n would steal 1 or 2 before they were fully ripe…if my  ma found out , she would ‘cuss’ he out saying he like ‘raakas or daakas’ (i dont rem but it was a hindi word meaning glutton , i think)

Lynn
@cain posted:

These days I try to shop for sales items, so if I feel like doin up some salfish and it not on sale, my mouth gonna run for lil salfish for a lil while longer, the next week I might try for crab. The most I might do this year is help my daughter in her garden, she has beans, lettuce, onions, tomatoes, pokchoy and others I couldt remember. She is apparently planning on trying banana, I once saw a banana tree planted out front of one of the buildings our company was located in, uptown T.O. I dug it up to try it indoors as it was getting cooler....it was a waste of time, I kept forgetting to water it.

I buy saltfish whnever it is  on sale n keepin fridge ..so whnever i feel like eating..i always have in d fridge !!

Sou get saltfish to buy up there??

Btw i only eat salted COD fish..dont like the POLLOCK , for some reason I get upset stomach whnever i eat it so nowi dont ..i cook it for family though as they dont have  similar problem with it

Lynn

Well, today is a dal n rice kinda day..

with bhajee, baigan choka , n fried karailla with  tuna fishcakes

Happy sunday ..

i may decide to make couple aloo roti if i am in d mood , ( i just saw my gf from Italy oosted her aloo roti..she added parmigianna cheese to her filling ).  Recently i saw someone added mozarella cheese to her aloo bake filling..i find that interesting so i will give it a try using mozarella as i dont have parmagianno (maybe i can try grated Parmesan?? )

….if not , i will settle for 2 sada roti

Lynn
@Amral posted:

it was a boring day yesterday for me, I did cook some food though. Back to work today

I  airfry drumsticks…made-my own marinade n sauce  with everything mix up..lilbit of everything

lemon juice..an italian salad dressing (from costco.) , garlic powder, pepper sauce, honey, mustard , smoked paprika…

End product…nice flavor..lol

Lynn
@cain posted:

Oh rant man, I just took a peep outside...snow tarass, I guess summer done.

It seems to snow here on my daughter's birthday which is on Thursday this week so should be no surprise.

D winter na want leff we ..place cold ..imagine itis 0deg whn i coming home from wrk!! I had to pull back out  my winter jacket !!

Lynn